We moved but then we stopped

77 106
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Take me back to 2020

That felt like 2010.

Before that time, we have been reading news about this virus. There was a concern then from experts. We were still able to move about and free to go where we wanted to go.

In fact, late 2019 and early 2020 we have been searching and checking apartments. We can't always rely on photos online. We had to see it ourselves. While apartment hunting is fun, it is tiring yet exciting. I'm sure you know what it feels like. There are many things to consider like location, the neighborhood and environment, convenience, etc. Nowadays, it is a must to have an internet connection so one must factor that in. Since I am working from home, I had to make sure there is internet and if not, how quick would it be to have acquire one.

In January 2020, we found the right apartment but the move in date was March 2020.

By then the COVID had been spreading fast such that there were talks of lockdowns and restrictions.

We have just settled in when indeed lockdown was imposed. It started with restrictions but then cases started to rise. It was decided that no one should go out of their houses unless authorized. One must acquire pass. No one should cross borders. Many lost their jobs. Many lost their livelihood. Everything was put on hold and everyone don't know what to do.

It was fear that gripped us all. Not right away though but when people started dying from it, that's when realization sank in.

The company where my partner worked started to send their employees to work from home. It's a huge adjustment for most of us and some are adjusting still.

During the first few months of lockdowns, some farmers donated their crops for they can't travel to sell them anyway so why not give it away instead. We would hear loudspeakers informing us of available vegetables for free so we would go and take what we need.

Some organizations gave away provisions.

Online shopping, food delivery and errand services proliferated. Being cooped up and not being able to go out, these are the services that have been sought out for.

I have bought essentials and household items online and some groceries too. Mostly that is what I buy anyway. Aside from that, I bought clip on lenses. This was recommended to me by Bloghound. It comes with macro, fish eye and wide angle lenses. The fish eye and wide angle does not work with my phone for it has multi-lens. Using those two is not compatible. I was after the macro lens. I saw photos of Bloghound and admire how close and beautiful her shots are so I wanted to have one. That photo was used using the macro lens. Notice the vignette. Even the macro lens does not work properly on my phone. This was really cheap but pretty useful.

Then there were groups and pages in facebook where you can buy and sell items. There was a page dedicated to our area that's why I kept browsing and checking what items can we buy there. Mostly were homemade products. These spreads were the first thing that caught my eye. I am a lover of peanut butter that's why I tried this right away. There's a chunky, peanutella and plain. I like the chunky and peanutella the most. From the word peanutella, you have guessed it right. It is peanut butter mixed with Nutella. I think I have bought three times from the seller. The fourth time I asked if she has supply, she said wasn't able to procure some due to the continuing lockdown. I soon found out there's a shop in the market that sells this same brand of peanut butter.

Around May 2020, my computer started shutting down on it's own just like what it is doing now. As much as I don't want to go out, I had no choice but to go have since this is my lifeline and have it checked out. The mall was eerily quite and most shops were closed. I had been checking their page what is our scheduled to go there. Good thing the shop where I bought my laptop is open.

The warranty has lapsed but since COVID hit, there were considerations and adjustments made. The problem was the hard drive but they have no replacement yet since stocks have been hard to acquire. The option was to install SSD but it was an additional expense since that is not covered by warranty. When stocks for HD are available, I can return and have it installed. However, until now I have had no chance to do that.

Now, my laptop's battery is shot. It is plugged directly but it just shuts down on its own. Any ideas why and how to solve this?

So anyway, it's now more than a year and we are still in the same situation that we have found ourselves in since March 2020. Delta and lambda variants are at our doors and no chance of having vaccinated yet.

Have you had your vaccines?

Can you still remember how it all started?

I hope you keep staying safe out there.

My posts are now becoming random lol!

I wanted to stick to travel blogs but when I scroll through my galleries, there are photos there that give me idea what to write. I'll still be writing more about my travels though.

Thank you again to all of you for your efforts and time reading my articles.

31
$ 10.66
$ 9.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 27
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Kung ako naman ang tatanungin, di ko pa talaga tanggap na nangyayari ang lahat ng ito sa atin. Gustuhin man nating tanggapin nalang at yakapin nalang ang bagong pamumuhay parang di ko pa ata kaya. Nakakamis po iyong mga ginagawa mo na wala kang kinatatakutan. Iyong feeling free ka talaga. Haixt. Kelan pa kaya matatapos ang lahat at bumalik sa normal na nakasanayan na talaga natin. Pray lang po tayo at mangyayari iyon. Tiwala lang

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama. Pray lang tayo at tiwala talaga. Tas mag ingat pa rin lagi. Mas mabilis na ang hawaan ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh. Doble ingat tayo ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello my dear friend, how are you?

It brings me memories to read you, without a doubt our life changed in 2020, it is incredible how everything happened in your country, that generosity of the people, that way of giving a helping hand to those who needed it most says a lot about the great heart they have, and of that patriotic love that they enjoy, my true respects.

I am glad that today the situation is a little better, although we are still under the Pandemic, we have undoubtedly learned, we have grown in many aspects.

I remember 2020 as a year in which my life was going to change, I would start a new adventure in another country, however the Pandemic arrived, and my plans were temporarily thrown away. They were months of anguish, fear, disappointment, frustration until at home we caught COVID, however we learned, evolved and here we continue, greetings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right about learning, evolving and continuing on. We have to adapt to situations for us to survive. Things are getting interesting now and I hope soon we will get back to normal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here, the first months of the pandemic were difficult, and everything was more complicated because of a fuel crisis. So farmers also gave away crops, and in the city, everything got more expensive.

My laptop has been without a battery for months. I should think about buying a new laptop. But I keep dragging it out as far as I can.

I have not yet been vaccinated, but I hope to get an appointment in the next few days for the first dose.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Now the farmers are able to sell their crops which is good unlike the first few months although there are still some when restrictions were implemented in their area.

Good luck with the vaccines! I hope you get it sooner.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ito yung kinababahala ko kpg umuwi na ng pinas. Sure mag iiba life ko..huhumm dto kc normal lng. Parang walang covid

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Malaking adjustment talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, my posts are also becoming random! Hahahaha. Anyway it's so much better to have fresh vegetables as food giveaways rather than only canned goods. As for your laptop battery, oh no... I don't know much abt computers. I also experienced that before using my old computer so I only plug it in without the battery. Hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I can't remove the battery for it is inside or it might be built in. I have to have it checked tomorrow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yun lang pag built in battery. Problema nga.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

"Nowadays, it is a must to have an internet connection so one must factor that in" - Yes, the importance of this is right up there with water, electricity, and air!

I hope you did not lose any important files due to the hard disk failure. If you move your laptop around a lot, it is advisable to get an SSD drive though they are expensive. But if it's stationary, then a normal one would suffice.

If your laptop shutdown, do you know if the battery charges? If not, does it work with the battery removed and the laptop plugged in directly? If it doesn't, have you tried with another charger? It could be a faulty charger. Since you were at the computer shop, you should have asked them to run a diagnostic. Well, good luck in getting it fixed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

@Just1dood It used to charge but drains quickly. Now, it doesn't charge even if plugged directly. Sometimes it indicates that the battery is full but then right after the laptop shuts down. I don't have any other charger to try.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If your battery is still inside, it's most likely your battery is the problem. You'll need to change it. If your laptop still works if directly plugged in (powered directly by the current) without the battery, then it's pretty certain your battery is the problem. But if directly plugged in does not yield any power, then the charger could be an issue. From your explanation, I think it's the battery. I've experienced a similar issue with battery full but drains very fast on one of my old laptops.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think it's the battery too. I'll bring this to shop this weekend. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice read. Nice experience which we all went through. Hope all of them get through safely in this pandemic period

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope we won't have to experience this kind of event ever again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It’s still so vivid in my memory how we are in the office when the lockdown was announced and how I was able to go home to the province so as not to be stuck in the city. Grabe, just like that, who would have thought aabutin ng ganito katagal. Kayamot talaga mismanagement ng govt hahaha hay ingat na lang palagi :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Nagjo-joke pa kami na baka lockdown ganyan. E nangyari nga. Hindi nakakatuwa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang nabago lahat. Yung biglang nasa bahay na lang.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nasanay na kasi ako na work from home. Un lang restrictions sa paglabas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Namiss ko lalo face-to-face classes. Hang out with friends. Hays. Anyways, wala pang vaccine dito samin ay meron pala pero priority seniors tsaka yung mayayaman siyempre haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Iba din talaga ang may pera ano? Kainis lang haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh..the hassles of going out. i was pregnant when the lockdown was announced, my husband does the groceries and I remember how stressed he was! hahaaha

the pandemic opened to a lot of opportunities too for businessmen but most are just affected negatively especially those who are public drivers, construction workers and more...

i am just thankful that our jobs are not disrupted and wfh was a blessing for a new mom like me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pandemic or not, going to the grocery is stressful lol!

That's right. Because we have to find ways to survive, we got creative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

find ways to survive, we got creative.

groceries are for women..hehe i wonder why but it is not stressful for me..ehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was so devastating and pressuring period of my life. Glad we survived.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Some survived, some didn't. You are right about it being devastating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mental Health issues arose during this pandemic. Here in our city though, there aren't many restrictions. I just hope people will follow minimum protocols, vaccines still aren't available for people not in the categories A1-A3.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We have to take upon ourselves to be cautious and be safe all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Andaming maperwisyo na ng. pandemiyang ito..huhu.. At mukang mas malala pa pag di naagapan ang delta..nako po .paano nalang mga nalockdown sa ibang lugar.. Didn't take the vaccine yet..but I'm planning this month. 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tas may lambda pa. Good luck sa pagpapavaccine :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit wala pa kayong vaccine? Well, siguro dahil nakaprio tung mga nasa MM hmm..My partner and I don't have jobs yet dahil sa Covid and I recall yung school ng anak ko nastop and they didn't have their graduation. Sayang. Oh well, life matters most.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wala pa talaga e hehe. Sana nga matapos na ang pandemyang eto para makabalik na tayo sa normal. Tagal na e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di bale may dumating nang mga 5M doses ata :) Pag di pa kayo nasama dito ewan ko na lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa po vaccine is me e, hindi dahil sa ayaw ko kundi bulok po pamamalakad dito samin 😅. Sana mawala natong mga virus na to, kasi dahil dito hindi na ako makakapag aral e. I stopped for 1 year and then skipping another year again for this upcoming s.y, so I'm planning to work nalang :( grabe plot twist sakin ni covid

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Dami din talaga natigil sa pag-aaral e. Karamihan walang pera o kaya naman walang gamit tas ung iba pagod na din sa set up ng online class. Hopefully makapag work ka na muna. Sideline mo na tong read at noise :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

naka pag pa 1st dose na ko pre nung friday lang last week

yung laptop ko problema din kasi may mga keys na di na mag function tapos sabi nung binilhan ko mali daw yung drive na na install pwede ba yun?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Buti naman :)

Di ko din alam haha! Try mo balik sa binilhan mo kung pwede pa. Bukas papapacheck ko na tong laptop ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And daming plano ang hindi natuloy dahil dito sa pandemic. Aside from that, ang daming pamilya din ang nagkahiwalay dahil sa lockdown. Sana mawala na ito.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Ang daming naudlot. Dami nawala. Dami namatay. Nakakalungkot pero tuloy pa rin ang buhay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Memories of the 2020 lockdown are still fresh in my memory. At a point I was beginning to lose my mind because of having to stay indoor all day without electricity to kill the boredom m my phone battery was mostly low and there was no avenue of having fun. I developed depression at a point that I completely stopped talking to anyone. until everything suddenly stopped. The lockdown was lifted and we discovered that the Corona virus wasnt even in my country but the government used it as an opportunigy to embezzled money. I'm referring to Nigeria. CNN and BBC actually put it on the news, this made us know the real story. Well, I'm glad I got my life back.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Until now, the government is still making profit out of it with or without COVID, at least in some countries. Here in our country I don't know who to believe anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ka pa po ba nakakapagpavaccine Kuya? alam ko po imamandatory po kaya nagpalista na po kame, ipapasched po sabay interest kung meron na available schedule schedule vaccination.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi pa e. Sana nga mavaccine na kayo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Covid is no joke and back in 2020 it was just soul shattering. Like there were times whe I thought it wasn't getting any better and I just felt defeated. I'm just immensely grateful for my family cause without them it would have just been hell for me. Things are still not the same but at least it's getting better. I'm hopeful.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We are blessed to have someone help us through it all. We have our loved ones to comfort us and be our strength. Don't lose that hope.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could remember when we went on 1month lock down it was really terrible....so many things happened, for those who lost loved ones and families please be strong.. it's so painful that stuffs like this could be happening for this long now my school has resulted to online learning. My phone is taking the heat now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's another thing, online learning. It really is a big adjustment to us all. The first months were really fully of uncertainty until now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This Covid period taught me a lot in life but one of the most important thing is that we just have to keep moving ,existing and surviving that’s all we can do for now . Nice one 💪

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right about that one. It's a survival for sure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pandemic has a big impact in our daily life. I hope this will end soon so that we can go back in the old life

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is what we all hope for. This has gone way too long.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so frustrating that life nearly stopped for most everyone because of the pandemic. But the upside is that people learned to cope in spite the many limitations. We are still adjusting to the constantly changing scenarios we are subjected to. So, let's just keep praying and adapting.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. We are still adjusting while it's sad that others have not especially psychologically. Prayer will truly help us all.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

How long could we endure this? I mean, people are dying and the alive are barely living

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's is what everyone is asking about right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agpalista kayon habang nasapa pay. Narigat nu awan proteksyon tau. Ingat kanayon.

Jay laptop ko, dead metten battery na isu nakapirmi saksakan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Puro met sinovac hehe.

Sabali gamin daytoy ta ada jay uneg baterya na han nga jay makalkalas lang ket awan tools ko pang open hehe. Pa check ko tu na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinovac ak met. one week lang met side effects na haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Covid is really dangerous that's why even we are vaccinated we must still aware what may be possible to happen. It's better to be safety first.

More blessings to you ARTicLEE..🙏❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right on that one. We shouldn't let our guard down.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes and we must practice this kind of mindset ARTicLEE...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not yet vaccinated here, aguray pay hehe. I remembered we went for a drive thinking to visit my friend in the afternoon. When we were in the town proper, we noticed there were a lot of policemen along the road and signaling cars to stop. We didn't know it was the first day of lockdown then, they asked us to go back home so umuwi na lang kami and never went out for 3 straight months!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When It was announced that there will be lockdowns, I didn't go out for months too except for that one time that I had to have my laptop checked. It's eerie, like I'm in a movie.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same feeling din hehe. Labas lang to buy groceries then home again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My whole family has taken the both Vaccinations, It is mandatory here now to attend the office or public gathering. But still is not gone many people are still getting covid infection and loosing their lives. Don't know when it will be ended.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good for you! Let us continue to be vigilant still.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No . We are afraid to be vaccinated. Because, when Duterte tells that he want to lessen 20% of the people in the society and he will leave 80% to lived. Galing mismo yan sa bunganga ni Duterte. I'm not against DDS but, marami na din nagalit sa kaniya eh. You need to watch also the videos and read more. And also, sabi nga ng mga doctors. For how many years di pa sila nakagawa ng vaccines for brain symptoms and so on. And then, within 2 years may vaccine na with the virus.

In short di pa kami sure if magpapa vaccine kami. Mahirap kasi magpa vaccine if mahina yung baga or lungs natin. Kasi nga sa mga side effects nito. But, di naman dibah plitan yan?

Kaso sa mga nabasa ko, Duterte said that " if di daw magpa vaccine, kailangan ipakulong". Haystt.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Isa yang papakulong e. Dapat choice mo pa rin kun pa vaccine o hindi. Parang ngayon lang nabalita na magfade ang effect ng sinovac in six months. Buti kung alam lahat ng tao yun. E pano pag hindi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well it started with a one week class suspension, now its been a year. My laptop's battery is dead too, what I do is I just remove the battery and directly plug the charger. Stay safe because all these variants are becoming deadly. Great article!. I hope that you keep on writing more!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'll try to remove the battery too. I think that is the issue.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Covid is horrible. I have known few people where their lives had went upside down because of this virus. This is literally a curse upon the humanity. I really hope we all survive this monstrosity of a virus. You really put the words in the article about how exactly we all felt about the virus. Good one!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope for the same too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waiting for a sked ti vaccine, tapno kanu makatravel hahha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! Wenen. Ngem dapat jay mayat nga vaccine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago