The ride that was

50 72
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

zolabundance2 wrote about her experience with rough waters while in vessels traveling to other places. Feel free to read it here.

That reminded me of my travels to other places where we needed to ride a vessel to get to our destination.

I haven't traveled by sea yet but here are some of the experiences that I have had. We live in the mountains and the closest we have here is a boat ride in one of the parks here in the city where there is a man-made lake. I have only been in a boat ride there once.

(Side note: I belonged in a singing group when I was in school and that group was called Vessels. It was one part of my life that I enjoyed the most for I like singing and we would go from place to place singing for people.)

I have written my experience riding a roro/ferry during our visit in Indonesia. You can read it here. For those who haven't, during our travel from Bali to Java to see the temples there, particularly Borobudur and Prambanan Temples, we had to take the ferry to cross the Bali Strait. This body of water separates Java and Bali. This strait also connects the Indian Ocean and Bali Sea. In my blog I wrote there it took us about an hour to cross but reading some posts online it takes about 25 minutes to cross. To me it felt like an hour at that time maybe because we have been traveling by bus the entire day that I felt tired and weary that all I wanted was to reach our destination.

Also, the water is calm, it was nighttime, the pleasant sea air and the sound of the engine is lulling me to sleep at that time.

Another memorable experience that I had was when me and my batchmates attended a wedding by another batchmate of ours. You can read it here.

The day after the wedding, we headed to a nearby island where we spent the day and had an overnight there.

We rode a motorized boat to get there where in fact we can get there by land but it will take us longer. We were excited and full of glee like kids!

At the beginning of the journey, we were all noisy and laughing and enjoying every minute of it.

Midway through, the waves were getting bigger. For us who are not used to the sea, the sudden dip and rise of the boat is making us nervous so much so that it silenced us. Every time the boat goes over a wave and then down again, we felt like we are going to drown.

Imagine our relief when we arrived at our destination. One of our batchmates noticed now we all became silent during the rest of the ride and she was trying so hard not to laugh but couldn't hold it in any longer when we arrived at the beach. We had a good laugh about that and to this day it is a moment that we shared together that will always be remembered.

There were other boat rides that I have had since then but nothing compares to that experience with my batchmates.

I have yet to cross from my list traveling by ship.

27
$ 9.84
$ 8.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
$ 0.07 from @UsagiGallardo215
+ 20
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

I've pitty my moms story when she told me her experience in riding a boat. She vomit evey minute and she was put in clinic filled with a serum because she can't eat, she'll eat a little and she takes it out all over again. They either want to stop their journey but they couldn't afford to stop the ferry. She dosent know that it's gonna happen to her. She dosent want to ride ever again

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seasickness is really a challenge to some.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Traveling by boat is wonderful, especially if the boat is small, every scare you get when the waves jump. Good experience

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanaol talaga nakapag travek na sa iba't-ibang place kuya Lee. I envy yo but not in a bad way. I also want to experience such things before I get married or what.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala na nga di na makatravel hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was amazed knowing that youre part of a singing group and through your talent you get to go yo places just to sing. I must say you do have a lot of good memories and experiences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the easiest group to join :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried so many times to ride a pump boat crossing raging water from one of the widest rivers in our province before. Next was when I went to Macau crossing the sea thru roro from HK. This experience makes me feels dizzy for the few minutes of the ride.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't recall if I ever felt dizzy on my first ride in a roro :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never pako nakapagsakay or travel by the sea. Sa banana boat palang 🤣

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yan naman ang di ko pa natry hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sampol naman po ng kanta hehe. Anyway, hindi ko pa nasusubukang sumakay ng barko o barge hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala na tagal na di ako kumanta hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanaol nakapag tour na sa ibang bansa. 🥺 Pero nakakatakot rin yan na experience ah. Na try ko na yan nung pumunta kami sa cebu may tumalon pasahero kaya yung barko muntik malunod kasi lahat ng mga pasahero dun sa may side kung saan tumalon yung lalaki. Resulta na out-balance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Katakot nga yun ganyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi pa ako nakasakay ng barge , pero barko nakasakay na ako , pero nakakatakot din lalo at hindi ako marunong lumangoy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko din matry sakay ng barko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Twice lng ako nkasakay ng barge pero buti na lng mbait ang dagat at masydo maalon. Pero yung pumpboat nku many times tlga at nasanay na din ksi mukhang beach kmi hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Meron pa din kaba minsan e kaya ako gusto ko may lifevest hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agboat ka pay lang dita Burnham :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha wen to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

:) in God's time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Boating anyone would love to. I could imagine the situation you have gaced when it goes up and down. Anyway lucky you are to have such adventure in life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can still remember the feeling :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was a child I used to travel a lot by sea, because I used to go to my uncles' house a lot and the fastest way to get there is by sea, there are boats that take 15 minutes to get to a town and then from there you could take a bus to the town where my uncles live or you could take a ferry that takes you directly to my uncles' town, but the ferry can take between 2 to 3 hours to get to the place.

You can also go by road, but it is too many hours, it is about 6 or 7 hours of road and the road is not very good, it is really dangerous.

But since many years ago, maybe 15, I have not traveled by sea, so maybe I will be a little scared when I get on a boat again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That sounds like fun times :D

I'm sure the familiarization will be quicker and your body and senses will get used to the ride once you did go.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, the more you travel and especially as a child, the more your body gets used to that kind of movement.

Also as a child I used to travel by road from one state to another. I am from Sucre, Venezuela, but now I live in Anzoategui, Venezuela. My parents still live in Sucre so from time to time I go to visit and stay 3 or 4 days with them. The trip is really 45 minutes if you have your own car, but the public transportation is very slow and the streets are broken, so I can spend 3 hours in an uncomfortable bus, for me there is no problem, since I am used to it, but my couple has not traveled much, so even though he has been traveling with me for the last 6 years, his body has not gotten used to the trips and he always gets dizzy, nauseous or hiccups. I think it's really hard for her body to get used to those movements. I also think that something similar would happen to me if I get on a plane, since I have never traveled that way, besides that I am afraid of heights and planes, yes, that's right, I am afraid of planes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Before my first plane ride, I was nervous too maybe excited as well but really nervous I was holding my breath the whole time the plane taxied to the runway and then sped up and lifted off. I have only been in a few plane rides but every time it's the lift off and touchdown that gives me nerves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It actually sounds a little scary to me haha but I know the flying experience will be weird and amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fun fact is that I have never been on sea before or travel by see before. I have phobia for it and get scared easily while looking down to the bottom of river and I prefer to travel by land.

That's a scary experience because we don't know what could have happened if the boat has drowned

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to that looking down at the bottom. There's something about the deep that is overwhelming.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I could travel by sea it really going to be of wonders

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i remember one time back in college..i went back to bohol and i was onboard a ship..then by midnight, there was chaos as the waves were strong.. i woke up annoyed by the noise , saw people wearing lifejackets already and were praying while I was just sleepy and returned to sleep. by the time I woke up again, we were already at the destination.hahahahahahaha if that boat sank, I might be one of the first to get drowned

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's crazy lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes it was crazy.. i cant help but laugh at myself even until now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naiimagine ko un eksena e haha! Pero naremind ako sa story ni Jesus at Peter na kung saan nasabi ni Jesus ang Peace be still. Yung faith mo ang nagpa kalma sayo that time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehhe yeah i believe so sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have ebjoyed boat ride but in some small places where there less chance to get drowning. And I have also travelled through ferry on big rivers but with safe distance from water. I also got on the steemer on the sea but it was risky little but I was in the ground floor so it did not scared me that but I don't want to travel through seas anymore because I can't swim. I don't allow the fear for enjoyment, tgere are a lot of ground places to enjoy than in the water.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I tried lots of ways to maneuver in the water- rubberboat whitewater rafting tops the most scary of all, haha! I even tried the boat ride from Iligan - Manila before 2 days, 2 nights... Guess, I'll write about this then hahah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Un ang gusto ko try, water rafting hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't traveled by sea yet too but I've experience of journey by boat in river.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That I haven't tried yet :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the mention and the link to my post!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yw! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While reading this ,I remember my experience before of riding a barge for the first time when we go to the island,it's little bit nervous because of the waves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate :) The waves give you panic attacks :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes,I feel anxious,and my heart beats fast,but I'm trying to relax because of my kids are with me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Riding on a boat is a fun experience already. How much more riding with friends and singing altogether. Reminds me of a movie wherein couples ride something by the sea and the man who steers the boat is singing too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was so much sir lee but somethin' nervous too due of big waves. Yan talaga weakness ko sir lee. Yung mga malaking habang nasa dagat lalo na pag wala ka ng makikita na isla tas during night. Kinakabahan ako sir lee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rarely have boat rides. Actually I prefer mountain trips than sea or river cruises & adventures.

$ 0.00
2 years ago