The end of our temple run

31 65
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

It's the end of our Indonesian tour. In case you missed it, here are the previous articles about it.

Quickie in Bali - read about temples and beach

Visit at Borobudur Temple - travel 20 hours to visit this 7th century temple. Although I did feel like a millionaire there, the worth of items and services there are by the thousands so that million will be gone in an instant.

So now the end is here.

From our visit at Borobudur Temple, we then checked in to a hotel, more like a homestay near the Malioboro Street. We freshened up, rested and then out again to check out this shopping district.

These are colorful bicycle rickshaws called becak. It's a one man transport with the driver behind the seat giving you full access view to what lies ahead. We passed by these bikes on our way to Malioboro.

First order of business was to eat. We ate in one of the cafes there. When we were done, we walked the whole street and tried to find something interesting. I was able to buy some stuff to the kids back home.

There were also street vendors called pedagang kaki lima along the street and we tried some of the food. Because of language barrier, I couldn't communicate well with the vendor but what we ate were delicious. I remember it to be not as greasy as what I was expecting. It was seasoned just right as well and not that salty.

There are lots of things happening on the street and as much as we wanted to stay longer, we already felt weary so we rode a becak to take us to our hotel to rest.

We were up early the next day for our visit to Prambanan Temple. From our hotel to Prambanan is about an hour away.

Prambanan Temples are of Hindu structures. Borobudur on the other hand is a Buddhist one that's why they differ in how they were built. However, there are also Buddhist temples within the compound. This is a perfect example that we can live together as one even if we don't have the same beliefs. We just have to respect each other.

While both seem pyramidal, Borobudur has larger base while Prambanan temples are tower like that gradually shapes into a pyramid.

These temples are younger by a century as compared to Borobudur. It is said that there are around 500 temples within the compound.

Source

Although Candi Sewu is the largest second largest Buddhist compound in Indonesia (Borobudur being the first), this is the largest in Prambanan.

Just like in Borobudur, we were again asked to don sarongs while within the compound.

It is noticeable the destruction of both nature and human. Earthquakes and war, looting and stealing had left the compound almost totally destroyed. During our visit, lots of repairs and restorations were being done. We were not even allowed to enter one temple because of possible collapse.

After our visit, we then ate lunch in one of the nearby shops. Jasmine tea is served everywhere. That's why the aroma of Jasmine hangs in the air.

We then returned to our hotel after that and we explored the nearby places.

This fort was turned into a museum. It started as a wooden fort in the 1760s then a more permanent structure. It was destroyed by an earthquake and rebuilt in the 1800s. During the war, the Japanese took over and turned into their headquarters and prison. After renovations and repairs, it was until 1992 that the Indonesian government opened the museum to the public.

Source

Here you can see dioramas of how Indonesia struggled to gain their independence. There are also historical artifacts within the museum.

The photo on the right is an interesting structure that we saw outside the museum compound.

If there was a marker describing this art installation, I must have missed it.

I'm not sure if it was even an art installation. That is huge maybe about 20 feet tall.

I tried searching online about it but I came up with nothing.

Do we have Indonesian friends here who can tell us about this one?

I tried Googling it but unfortunately, on Google map, I don't see this anymore. In its place is a silver lion.

I don't even see these lamp posts anymore.

Next we went to Kraton Palace.

We continued walking on from the museum to the palace.

When I think of a palace it is how the palaces of the Europeans area with towers and turrets that's why it is interesting to see how the Javanese designed their palace. It's like a one big area covered with roof but no walls. The posts, pillars and ceiling were decorated though. There were other buildings where there are musical instruments and other artifacts. Without those it's almost bare. That is why there were no tour guides to take you around. Except for the personnel/guard at the gate who collects fees, we haven't encountered anyone else. In my mind I was questioning if this is just about it.

You can check out more about the palace here.

We headed on toward the street on the right side of the palace. We saw some shops there and bought more souvenirs. I couldn't find the kind of shirts that our dad would bring home back when he worked in Indonesia.

Anyway, with that, we headed back to our hotel and rested.

The next day before heading to the airport, we took a side trip to Goa Rancang Kencana and Sri Gethuk Waterfalls.

Goa Rancang Kencana is a cave said to have been home to prehistoric humans. It was also where the anti-Dutch movement held their secret meetings plotting. It was through this movement that paved the way to Indonesian independence.

Sri Gethuk on the other hand is a secluded place that one would have to write a raft or you can swim in the river to get to the waterfall. Because this was just a side trip for us and our flight back to Bali is going to be in a couple of hours, we didn't swim. After a few minutes spent there, we then headed back and then to Adisucipto International Airport to catch our plane going to Denpasar. It was probably an hour or two flight. When in Bali, it was already late so we tried to visit nearby shops after checking in a hotel. Our flight back to the Manila was early morning the next day.

Thus ends our Indonesia trip.

It was a wonderful experience that I surely will want to go back to again and probably stay longer.

Thanks so much for taking the time to read and thank you for your support as always.

Cheers!

16
$ 4.62
$ 4.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Sana all nkapunta ng Indonesia 😁 creepy yung last statue..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Next destination na yan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot naman ng statue kuya paggabi pero sanaol naka Indonesia na 🙈

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Buti nga sa lugar na kitang kita e pag tago siguro mas nakakatakot lalo na pag gabi hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana lahat talaga travel lang. Ever since, kinakatakutan ko talaga ang mga statues.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe oo din katakot pati mga dolls

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It saddened me that I can't view the photos in here due to slow internet connection. 🤧 Were the temples huge or just the ordinary ones?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Really huge. They even used big blocks of stones to build them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This historican site really amazing. I'm also trying to locate the one you mentioned on the right side but unfortunately I can't find it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They took it down because some claimed it to be indecent as per this report. I had to google translate this one :D https://kbr.id/nusantara/02-2014/pemprov_yogyakarta_izinkan_patung_akar_didirikan_lagi_di_malioboro/56912.html

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also did a little search on the Statue of the Rooted Man and didn't find anything either. This excellent, very interesting and well detailed. I'll come back a little later to search the Internet deeper. If I find something I'll let you know.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's simply called the "root statue," I think.

This root statue was first exhibited at the 2011 Biennale Jogja. The statue is colored bright red and is 6 meters high. The sculpture made of fiber was the work of eight artists. They are Agung Sukindra, Basuki Prahoro, Felix S Wanto, Ghouse Modhin, Herry Maizul, I Wayan Cahya, Michael Maxon and Nawa Yanuardi.

I had to google translate this one :D https://kbr.id/nusantara/02-2014/pemprov_yogyakarta_izinkan_patung_akar_didirikan_lagi_di_malioboro/56912.html

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I initially thought that you traveled to Indonesia during the pandemic, I almost felt envious. Haha. Is it like the Philippines there? How about the weather and pollution? Because I'm torn between Thailand and Indonesia, I'm thinking about which to visit first.

But I think that 20-feet tall statue of half a man, half a withered tree, as well as the temples make me realize that I may visit Indonesia first.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Both offer a lot of things so. I'm partial to Indonesia for I had a bad experience in Bangkok but I would still visit if given the chance. Weather is almost the same but Bangkok is like Manila. While Indonesia is hot as well the air is cooler. As far as pollution, waterways in Bangkok is dirtier although I haven't noticed much the canals in Indonesia.

I'm not sure if that statue is still there. As I can see in Google maps, that is no longer there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Borobudur and Prambanan are the main destinations for cultural and historical tourism. I only went there once

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If given the chance I would like to visit them again but at a different time of the day, either sunrise or sunset :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello,

An excellent traveler review. In these times that we are going through, tourism is greatly affected, so reading a post like this one, also written and entertaining, allows you to make the same journey with your words.

Thanks for sharing it with us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Things are starting to pick up so I hope tourism industry will soon be back again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love it as well as the other two blogs you've written about Indonesia. It looks like it's worth a visit

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It truly is! I wish you can visit it too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Incredible what you find in Indonesia, everything wonderful, it provokes to make a trip like that and enjoy all the art that you describe. Thank you for sharing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have only scratched the surface. There is so much more to find in Indonesia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

While Bali remains my favorite, I want to explore more of Indonesia. It is full of hidden gems, thanks to this article I have one more place to put on my list.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wanted to see all at once when I was there lol! Truly, so many more to explore and experience.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just want this pandemic to end, I really want to revisit Bali.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanaol talaga eh no? Hehe! Parang Philippines lang pala rin. Pero maganda at malinis places nila ang sarap pasyalan

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo kaya may familiarity. Ganda jan promise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na amaze ako sa statue na may maugat na legs Kuya, napakaganda. My I and my ate planned to visit Bali before but covid says NO huhu, I wish I can visit that place puhon. ❣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mag save na ng pangtravel pera pag okay na ang lahat, go na :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a beautiful place! Pleasure to see it. Thanks dear.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope I can go back again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago