That was supposed to help me through the week

46 72
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

WanderingMedStudent posted about summer job experience and you can read it here.

This reminded me of my short stint in one of the fastfoods here in our city. Since I was a kid old enough to be accepted in summer job programs that our institution have, my mom applied me for that. Working during the summer has not been a problem for me.

When I was still studying in college, I applied in one of the government agencies summer job programs which is open for students who belong in families that have low income. I can't remember now what was the requirement for that but luckily or unluckily we belong in that bracket. Therefore, I was eligible to avail of that program. The first time I did I was underage so I applied the next year after that.

During my first application, I was sent to a donut shop only to be informed by the manager that they don't accept any more applicants from such the government agency. I went back to the agency and told the staff there and she was frustrated and called the donut shop right away reprimanding the manager for not informing the agency that their application is already filled up. It was a waste of the agency's time and my time and all that.

That is when she sent me to the fastfood.

I worked midshift and closing and once or twice as an opener. It was fun. It was exciting. It was my first time to work in a fastfood. Most of us who there were students and were friendly enough but I never had built a relationship with any of them. For me, they were work colleagues and that's just it. I like the work environment, however, it's not something that I would want to do permanently.

During one of my working days there, I saw applicants lined outside the store. I just clocked in at that time and went to the dining area and the next applicant in line was my sister's batchmate so we chatted for a bit and she asked me how I got in and I told her. I then headed to my designated area and prayed that she will be accepted. It would be nice to work with someone you know. Unfortunately, she didn't make it for I never saw her during my working there.

One time, my mom visited me and she handed me some money so I can use it for my fare allowance that week. You see, I haven't used an ATM before. Nobody told me about that. I wasn't oriented regarding our payment process. I thought it will be handed to us every payday only to find out it will be sent directly to our bank accounts. Yes, they told me to process my ATM before I got in but I have no idea what was that for. That's why I asked my mom for fare allowance at that time for I haven't received payment yet. I was thinking maybe it will be given to us at the end of my summer job as lump sum.

Anyway, I placed the money in one of my pockets and did not think about it. Two of my coworkers approached me sometime during my shift borrowing some money. I told them I have none. Only to realize later on that the money I received from my mom fell out of my pocket somehow that's why why approached me that time. They have that mischievous grin that you know something is up but at that time, how could I?

One time that I worked as a closer, me and another buddy were finishing up in our area but my buddy got the laziness out of him and decided not to check one spot of his area. We divide and conquer and I made sure that I cleaned mine. Before we leave the area, we have to ask the manager to come check if it was clean enough or something else needs to be done.

When the manager came to check, she saw a used cup in my buddy's area and he blamed me for that in a jokingly manner but I replied that was not my area and the manager said to my buddy that he tried to sabotage me. It was all in jest and from then on I made sure everything is clean even on his part before calling the manager.

You see, what I learned from that experience was people can destroy you no matter how much you do your work honestly. They will take advantage of you without you knowing it.

We question people why they have trust issues? Then think again what made them to be that way? As what I always say, we create monsters by how we treat other people. Let's keep treating each other better.

30
$ 13.52
$ 12.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 21
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Sayang naman Yung pang allowance mo N Sana nawala pa. At my Mg tao talaga na kayang manira ng iba

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ohhh, that was sad. But having expectations from people is useless so just ignore and move on. Let the God handle it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's good that there are these kinds of jobs for students, it doesn't always happen here, they don't always let students work, it's a little annoying, but that's life.

There are many good people and many bad people. The best thing we can do is to treat them all well, but if we see that a person is not trustworthy, keep a little distance from that person, just enough so that he or she doesn't cause us any problems.

The good thing is that you had an experience at work that helps you to improve and to be more aware of others and of yourself, it prevents you from being harmed.

Yes, it is really annoying not knowing who to trust, but you have to be positive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah that's too bad. It's a good learning experience if they do.

That's true. Maybe that's the reason why I don't have a lot of friends lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are the same haha I think I have more friends and acquaintances in read.cash than around me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's so sad that you have to be in that situation but also a learning opportunity for you. It just tells me that not all of our workmates can be our friend. And some of them have the capabilities of ruining us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. We have to be careful who to trust.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi na nga kita masyado nakikita sa noise lee..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We always find a person who enjoys doing evil, probably because they are not good workers and want everyone to be up to them.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang kalat yan ngayon kuya mga walang magawa sa buhay kaya ayon naninira ng kapwa without knowing na the struggles of that person been through.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Kung anong satisfaction kaya nakukuha nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Summer jobs are always appreciable. Here it is very rare. Children become more responsible. Appreciate your responsibility also.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I guess it's not for everyone :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have had similar experiences in the past. No matter how much I do try, it's not everyone that would appreciate my efforts and it kind of makes me feel bad. But as I grow older, I came to the realization that if one person rejects or snub me, a dozen more would appreciate me.. there I found peace of mind

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like that. One person snubs you but more would rather have you. Well, it's the loss of those who snubbed you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mga walang magawa sila sa buhay talaga. Hilig manira ay. Lalakas ng trip. Kaya may mga trust issues nga naman na tayo. Hirap na maloko ulit.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Gahhh, di talaga mawawala sa buhay mstin ang ganyan no. Makaka encounter at makaka encounter tayo ng mga taong bored ata sa buhay kaygagaling manira. Pero mas ang dahilan kasi din ata is inggit talaga or baka trip lang. Maiba ding makipag kaibigan nalang basta basta sa panahon lalo ngayom. Dapat don't give your trust fully.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sarili ko nga di ko matrust ibang tao pa kaya haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman yun :(. That is why, you reall have to be wise in choosing people that you woll let gey in your circle. Minsan, nagagawa tu ng iba dahils a selos eh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mismo! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This reminds me of my too good to be a true friend who took advantage of my situation before. Very sad but I just let God handle it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You coworkers probably knew you got the money from your mom, and still went on to ask you for some knowing you're a student and that was all you had. Isn't one supposed to borrow money from those who have more than they need at that time?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I just hope that the money was used in a good way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very interesting to read your story and these programs which help students I like that. To be honest I have trust issue too ahahah

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I totally understand if someone has trust issues :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father experience this too, it's because of jealousy, ayaw nilang malamangan kaya ayon nagpapabango sa mga amo habang naninira ng ibang katrabaho. Mabuti kung may kakampi ka pero kung wala tanggal ka talaga sa trabaho.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Kawawa pag walang kakampi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko talaga kwri mag work sa fastfood or sa mga malls. Tinitingnan ko pa lang trabaho nila, alam ko nang hindi ko yun kaya. Hahaha.

Meron talaga sa workplace na ganiyan eh. Iyon bang mga inggit sa'yo tapos isasabotahe ka. Mga hindi propesyonal magtrabaho. Hays. 😔

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Feeling ko hirap tlga magwork sa fastfood..lalo na kpg madami customers.. D ko carry yan..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mga ka work ko lang din nagturo sa akin pano umiwas sa dami ng work e haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree with you because you jab ap kbhe kisi k sath acha krty hain to iski umeed chor do k ap ne us k sath kia hai to wo bhe axha kre ga q k log kisi ko Ahsan ka badla nh dety aur ye bat sub se buri lagti hai hamin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay grabi naman yung workmates mo dati Kuya. Walang mga konsensya. Ang sad lang talaga kasi may mga ganyang klaseng tao.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganyan talaga ang buhay Lee kahit super bait ka pa ay pwede ka pa din ipahamak. Naranasan ko na yan kya minsan naisip ko ang saklap maging mabait lol...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe hindi rin. Sabi nga, it's between you and God. Kaya tuloy lang pagiging mabait :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabeh naman yan. Cge lng mas marami pang blessing darating sayo sir.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They say working in a fast food now isn't easy because of the attitude of the employees there who belittle the newbie, one of my friend experienced that. But maybe di lahat ng fast food po. Yes, people do something to us that makes us have a trust issue.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Which is not supposed to be. Kahit saan siguro may ganun na pambu-bully e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama yan sir lee kahit gaano ka pa ka buti na tao. Gagawa at gagawa parin ng hindi maganda yung mga taong nakapaligid sayo. Grabe naman sila sir lee. Dapat may respect naman sana sa isa't isa. Wala ka namang ginagawa na masama sa kanila pero grabe ganun sila. May mga tao talagang may mga ganyang ugali at natutuwa pa yan sila sa mga ginagawa nila. 🥺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hey dear, you ok? Felt like you are somehow sad and a little bit angry as you were sharing those memories. I understand your feelings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm okay though thanks! I don't let these things get to me. It's just a sad reminder that I wanted to tell that everyone can relate to I believe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, how could they do that to you, they should have returned the money to you. Tao nga naman

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe bareng a nausar ti nasayaat jay kwalta :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

friendly enough but I never had built a relationship with any of them. For me, they were work colleagues and that's just it.

Same here. I actually don't mind if I'd appear as some loner or whatever, I just come to work, and socialize when needed, and learn when I have to, and that's about it; unless, I want some long-term friendship outside work.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Apir! hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, we should treat others good because when we treat others bad they turn into our enemy or hate us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago