Quickie in Bali

93 135
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I was reading a post of @wilddreamings about getting lost only to discover wonderful things when I was reminded of our travel to Indonesia. I commented in her post about our experience in Yogyakarta where we didn't have a plan on our visit there. We just went out of our hotel and walked towards the direction of the shopping district, Malioboro.

I will not talk about that (maybe in my next article) but I will talk about our first couple of days in Bali.

Quenching my thirst with this delicious lifesaver

It was August 2014 when we first traveled outside of the Philippines. Maybe we were feeling romantic joining the hype of eat, pray, love. That's a movie by the way kids. You might want to look it up. However, I will not recommend it as I didn't like it that much for I was bored most of the time. Don't take my word on that. It's still best to watch it yourself.

So, Bali.

In preparation, a year before, we have been searching for the best flight deals. We waited and waited until me and my partner agreed on the price that we saw and booked the date. We searched for places to go in Bali.

On the day of our flight, we had to travel five (or was it seven?) hours to get to the airport. Mind you, coming from work, we traveled right away. We were young. We have all the energy.

We arrived at the airport but we had to wait additional four (although I'm pretty sure it was more) hours for our flight was delayed because of a storm that time.

It was my first time to ride a plane. Lucky me, it was on a bad weather. Thankfully, we took off Manila and landed in Denpasar without any issues after 3 hours or so.

I didn't know what to expect but a warm weather greeted us. After going through the inspection and customs, we then decided to eat ice cream upon seeing one ice cream store at the exit. You see, we mountain people melt in the heat. We are used to cold, fog and rain.

After that, we checked in at a nearby hotel which we later learned from our tour guide that it was expensive. We didn't gave this a lot of thought but that is where we stayed for two nights.

We checked in and freshened up and rested for a while. At the airport, there were pamphlets of different tour agencies and maps for free. We took some of those. Since it was already afternoon when we were ready to go out. We searched one of the pamphlets and called a tour guide. My brother's friend gave us a sim card that he used when they went to Indonesia so all we did was load it at a nearby loading station.

If I remember it right, our tour guide's name is Putra. We waited for him at the hotel lobby and discussed which place can we go at that time. He suggested Uluwatu, perfect for sunset viewing.

ULUWATU: TEMPLE, MONKEYS AND KECAK DANCE

According to Wikipedia, Uluwatu is from the words ulu meaning land's end and watu meaning rock. Uluwatu is at the tip of Bukit Peninsula so the name of the place is befitting. It makes me feel dizzy looking down the cliffs.

View of a cliff and the sea

I love the stunning blue of the Indian Ocean.

A Hindu temple sits at the edge of a cliff and it was named after the place where it was built.

Aside from the tourists, there were lots of Macaque monkeys. We were wary of them because of reports that these monkeys will snatch your things so we didn't dare go near them.

I was busy taking photos when all of a sudden my camera died. No problem, I thought. I had my extra battery with me. Good job! I replaced the battery with my extra only to realize it wasn't charged too. Good job indeed!

Even our tour guide was disappointed. He was more disappointed than me.

The last thing we need to do is watch the Kecak Dance. Read more about the dance here. It is mostly done by men about fifty or even a hundred. They will form a circle in the middle chanting and swaying. The dance is a story about Ramayana, a Hindu epic.

I was entranced by their performance. Their voices raised in the dying hours of the day coupled with lovely sunset, it just takes you to a whole new level. A whole new level for my partner too for my partner was too tired from the travel and kept nodding off the whole time, not enjoying the show at all.

Too bad I wasn't able to document that for my camera has no battery. However, I enjoyed it immensely for I am more focused on the performance rather than fidgeting with my camera keys just to get a good shot.

Before heading back to our hotel, we stopped by Jimbaran Bay for dinner. I don't remember what food we ate there but it was a relaxing place to eat by the beach. A great ending for the day.

PADANG PADANG BEACH

This is one of the beaches in Uluwatu and this is where we found ourselves the next morning. After breakfast, our guide fetched us from our hotel and brought us here. We brought with us change of clothes and I made sure I have my batteries charged. My travel photos have been saved in a disc but unfortunately it suffered in the fire. Good thing I have some saved in my other social media accounts. Nowadays, it is important to backup your important photos on a hard drive and virtually.

From the road, we followed the stairs that leads to the beach. Again, there were monkeys along the way. At one point, we found ourselves going down narrow stairs carved in between rocks only to end to a beautiful beach. We took photos and then tried the water of course. We swam to the warm sea and relaxed.

A structure built on a rock
Surf in the distance

There is a cave further from the beach that we checked out. It was not that deep though but there were a handful of bats at that time. There is a smell of bat urine and poop coming from this cave.

After resting from our swim, we decided to go.

There were stalls at the beach selling food, refreshments, swimming attires, souvenirs, etc. The beach was starting to be full as we headed back to our car. There was a place for you to rinse yourself at the parking lot where you have to pay a small fee. We rinsed and changed to dry clothes.

That ends our Bali experience. We had to catch our ride going to Yogyakarta to visit more temples there that's why our Bali tour was cut short.

Where was your first travel outside of your country? or outside of your town/city? If you haven't been outside of your country, which country would you like to visit first?

Leaving you now with this in case you need it. I couldn't fit it all but you can scan the rest if you want.

I have to look up the names of some of the places above for that was a long time ago and I couldn't recall the names right away.

Thank you to all of you who continuously support and subscribe.

36
$ 19.28
$ 17.40 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.55 from @Pichi28
$ 0.20 from @Pantera
+ 24
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

OH, I miss Bali. WE stayed there for a month with my husband.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I instantly fell in love with Indonesia, at least the places that we have been to so far :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That feeling of excitement when you were able to book a ticket to Indonesia, but months before the travel date you receive a message informing the flight is cancelled ๐Ÿ˜ข.., It's been a year, galang gala na ako ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Why was it canceled? Sayang met. Nagpintas ti Indonesia. Nagmayat ti weather. Napudot man ngem han kasla Thailand or Manila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sayang garud.., this November na sana un.., wala namang reason si ceu pac, nagsend lang na cancelled ung flight sana ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awts...pandemic ya. Baka restricted met Indonesia.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wen cguro.., bareng mabalin en next year ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

will add this to my bucket list. It's almost full and we are again in hard lock down. ๐Ÿ˜ after reading a lot of travel articles, my bucket list will be overflowing soon. hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I aim to travel locally when this pandemic ends. I will visit everyone who is in read.cash and noise lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bali!!!! Balikan ko yan! Lols... Wah gusto ko puntahan yung padang padang!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

May nga nakita nga ako nagsurf dun e. Ganda dun sarap mag swim.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kota beach lang nasilip namin. Mag surf sana pero kinabahan hahahaha. Beach bumming na lang.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tara balikan natin. Gusto ko lang mag beach at kumain haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oi bet! Game!!! lols

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was really nice trip, while reading I experienced like that I was there, I felt everything you told. One thing which was about making backup of our photos and files. Touched my heart you know why, let me tell you, I had 27gbs data of my 7 years memories in my mobile phone. Last time I restored my phone, I made my backup in encrypted-media format and transferred it to other phone. After restoring mobile I put it back first mobile. But my bad luck, I left it in encrypted-media format . Few days ago, I was deleting mice files and I deleted my encrypted-media file too.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh the horror! I'm sorry that had happened. We just have to move on and make fresh ones, right?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

travel while you can and earn while you can also. so that there will also be a story of memory to say. travel to the open world. Nakapagsave ka latta ti picture uray napuuran dagijay disc u.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

wen garud imbag ta ada ladta naupload jay fb.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How much po nagastos nyo? My science teacher migrated there and he said na Indonesia is a great country naman daw unlike sa mga nakikita ko sa social media. I am also looking forward na makapunta dyan. Maliban sa indonesia, i want to visit Singapore and Japan. Pero siguro medyo matagal pa hahahaha. Tamang ipon muna at hanap ng magandang work

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di ko na maalala kasi tagal na to hehe. Pero napagastos kami talaga sa pag travel sa Yogyakarta kasi un un talagang pakay namin. Pero next time sa Bali lang talaga magfocus hehe. Japan talaga ang top list ko kaso mejo mahal. Kelangan talaga pag ipunan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the horror when batteries are not charged..happened to us a lot of times and I blame the husband always because that's his task... hehe... I am glad you two enjoyed the country.. i wish to go to Bali and other neighboring countries too .. God willing

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! Poor husband :D Yes, see you on the road soon :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm from Indonesia and live on the island of Java, I've never been to Bali. ha ha

btw, which country are you from? in the article, you mentioned going to jogjakarta and malioboro. I live there

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm from the beautiful mountain ranges of the Philippines :D Lucky you for you can just go there if you want.

If I have known you earlier, I would have met you there and we could have a lot of fun! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I really want to. but its very difficult to go out because of the covid pandemic. Also, I don't have enough money to travel there haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope soon we can travel again. This pandemic has made us miss a lot of things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Auto add to dream destination kaagad ang Indonesia hehe. Sa ngayon, learn and work po muna heheh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tama yan. In time mararating mo din ang Indonesia. Unahin muna ang mga priorities :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the virtual ride. Bali is on the list of the places that I would like to visit one day, and not precisely because of Eat, Pray, and Love because it bored me too, hehe. I loved the photo from the cliff, I think I couldn't have taken it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish I could show more but our focus then was to visit Yogyakarta because of the Borobudur and Prambanan temples. Next time I'll just tour Bali and explore it more.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indonesia, especially Bali is one of my dream destinations. Swerte nyo naman po, first plane ride out of the country agad :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat sa Diyos at nagkaroon ng pagkakataon na mapasyalan un. Gusto ko balikan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why not po? Some day you will :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Woah ๐Ÿ˜ณ breathtaking view of clif near sea ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It truly was. It's a different experience if you are there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all po nakakapunta sa ibang bansa..hehe haay ganda ng mga topic niyo po laging travel at food parang dinadala niyo na din kami diyan hehe...ako po gusto kong puntahan ang paris po hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Balang araw makakapunta ka din. Ipon muna tayo dito sa read at noise hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haaay sana po ma'am makaipon ako dito hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tiwala lang. Kayang kaya yan :) Sir, po ako :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

opo sir nalaman ko lang po kay Ma'am jeytee hehe pasensiya po diko po alam hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's okay hehe...di ka nag iisa. dami nagkakamali din hehe kahit sa noise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

same name po ba kayo sa noise sir?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

leeart ako dun :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uhuhu nakakaingit naman mga travel nyooo ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ. Sanaol nakakapag travel talaga. Gusto ko pumunta sa uluwatu. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Someday mapuntahan mo din siya. Tiwala lang at tuloy lang ang pagsulat para makaipon hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice write up about the place in detail. Lovely photo shoots. The place looks pleasing for the young and old to travel

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right on that one. It is a place for everyone. Even the kecak dance is a learning and wonderful experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When kaya makaka travel outside the Philippines ๐Ÿคง. Salamat sa po sa pag share ng magandang lugar na ito. Sana marating ko to kahit sa panaginip lang ba ๐Ÿคง๐Ÿคฉ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sure mababasa din namin ang travels mo soon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Even our tour guide was disappointed. He was more disappointed than me." If he'd all of a sudden produced a fully charged battery, I'd instantly crown him as the King of all Guides! LOL. My daily adventure is not exploring caves with bats' urine smell. It's sitting in my study room, working, and whenever the wind blows my way, getting whiffs of cats' poo and urine from next door. But I'd like to go to Bali one day. I understand they have some mean bbq restaurants there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! I just wish he was. I felt like he wants to drag us back to our hotel and charge our batteries if only we have the time. I didn't know about the bbqs. I hope next time we will a chance to explore more food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sanaol nakapag Bali. Ako di pa ko nakapag out of the country. Kung papipiliin gusto ko sa France. Hehe! Pero out of town, meron na. Kasagaran mga beaches pero di kassi ako mahilig mag picture2 kaya wala masyadong documentation

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mas maganda pa din un ineenjoy mo ung experience at hindi focused sa camera hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay oo, kaya nga wala ako masyadong pics kasi feeling ko di ako nag eenjoy kung hawak ko phone ko

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nung nagkaroon ako ng camera nun ako nagiging photographer pag may pinupuntahan kaya di ko din naeenjoy minsan kasi mas iniisip un pix na ma post hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napapansin ko, puro travel to ah. Baliiiii, one on my bucket list next to Singapore! Sana soonest makapunta na din, after this pandemic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Yun kasi ang gusto ko maging content ng account ko. Mas maraming travel blogs. Parang identity ba hehe. Ganda din jan sa Singapore. Kahit sa aiport ka lang solb na hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

may YT ka din? Kaganda nitong content. ๐Ÿ’— Kaya nga. Sobrang ganda e. Sana soon mapuntahan ko na.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Meron ako yt pero eto wala pa ako yt nun kaya di ko nagawan ng video.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So.. Hanggang virtual tour nalang talaga muna ako eh noh..hihi๐Ÿ˜… Hmmm..Sana'y makapunta rin ako sa ganyang klaseng lugar..

Anyways.. Anong app yan? yung plagiarism result?๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sa Taiwan madami magagandang lugar dun haha!

Website siya pero di ko sure kung may app https://plagiarismdetector.net/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahhh ganun ba.. sige Thank you link na to..โ˜บ๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana makapunta rn ako Bali ๐Ÿ˜ Naging banner na yang plagiarism result. ๐Ÿคฃ

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tara pag okay na lahat hehe. Ganda dun.

Yang banner na yan parang silent protest ko yan haha! In your face ba :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I travelled again with this artjcle po..huhu. I will go there someday ..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, claim it! I will go there again too :D :D So many places to visit there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't yet travel outside the country but bali is also one of my travel destination soon and also iceland to witness aurora borealis. Natawa ako sa may extra battery pero lowbat din ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, yes! Iceland is one of dream destinations too. They have one of the best waterscapes too.

Kainis lang talaga un part na yun pero di ko na pinansin. Inenjoy na lang un time :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Iniwan nio nnman aq taz ang gaganda ng pinuntahan nio๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Pagipunan na natin yan para mapuntahan ulit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now i miss Bali... Actually i miss traveling

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I miss it too that's why I like posting my travels to remember those moments.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe jeeez I'm feeling old when I've read the title and yah haha I have been brought and had a glance of your quickie adventure in Bali. ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! It really was a quick one for we haven't been to a lot of places.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to go in Bali someday. And travel in other countries. I'm also the person who always document something or taking videos and photos for the remembrance but also it is great when the eyes will be the one to capture the beauty of the place.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nothing beats just soaking it in. I actually prefer that especially when it's my first time in a place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dagita title mo ti makapaisem man. haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Tiltila ladtan man nga title

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maragsakanak haha. Ngem nu han koma kastoy ket intayo dita Bali. Balak ko dita mapan koma daytuy 2020. Awan manen.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen intayon tu. Han mi met lang napasyar nga usto dita. As in dayta lang napanan mi idi. Bitin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay isu. Mayat jay adda swing swing na. Nu han ha agtravel agency umanay 15k per person en

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen nu within Bali lang. Ti dakkel nagastusan mi idi gamin ket pamasahe ta nagplane kami pay napan yogyakarta.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Travelling outside the country is one of my bucket list, I wanna travel different places. And experience their traditional. I wanna go to Japan, ice land, israel and many more. Maybe I'll put Uluwatu too in my list. But for now what I wanted to do first is to earn more moneyyyyyyy

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You and me both. We have to save for our travel :D Japan is my top of the list. We didn't consider Japan then because of not enough budget.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahhhhh๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ๐Ÿ˜ญ traveling to Japan needs a bunch of money. Imma sell my organs just to go there

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Right? lol! I have to save up a lot for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To begin with, I know Eat, Pray, Love even if I haven't watched it. Lol Your adventure to Uluwatu must have been an enjoyable one but it could have been more remarkable had your camera's batteries not pulled the ghost on you. Haha, I could imagine why even the tour guide felt bad mostly. Dude was prolly ready to show off his world to you guys and have you in awe but the camera ruined it all.

Well, I've never been outside my country but the first country I'd love to visit is Australia. It's a country of many wildlife beauties and I'd like to treat my eyes to those beauties pretty soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I felt his pain lol! I would feel exactly like that if it happens to someone here in my city.

That is a great country indeed! I would like to see those animals too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My ultimate dream too soon is to travel, ang ganda po nung cliff photo. Galing nyo po marami na kayong travel experience!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Soon mapupuntahan mo din yan. Sama ako pag punta mo haha! Sarap balikan jan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sana nga, sigi ba kayo po tour guide ko charot ๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Mawawala lang tayo pareho pag ganun :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago