PHOTOBLOG: Walk and Talk in Bontoc

61 90
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I hope I can come up with a better title for this but I just can't.

That's the new capitol of Bontoc. Notice the horns on each side of the name? We parked here waiting for our companions who went to the market that time to buy provisions.

I read about Farmgirl's post about Farmboy's photography skills during their weekend drive. This reminded me our road trip to Bontoc.

We arrived at our paternal grandparents' house late in the evening. We had to hike about 15 minutes and I believe longer just to reach the house. Nobody lives there now. There were two other houses beside it but the occupants of the other house moved as well.

We were all tired from the drive coming here and then the hike. After preparing the beds, we slept and rested.

This is the house of my dear grandparents, bless their souls. It's made of galvanized sheet and wood. It is divided in two major rooms - the dining and kitchen in one and three bedrooms and living room in the other.

There are still available source of firewood nearby and some of us went to collect while the others prepared our food. We brought with us a portable stove to cook our meals. The wash area is outside which is shared by the three households.

Memories came back during the times when we visited this place when we were kids. For me, I only came here at least four times. My other brothers visited more often. Our eldest had his internship in the hospital in town.

All around the house are fruit bearing trees. There is a pigpen next to the house and there were pigs being taken cared by our neighbor. The pigpen of my grandparents a few steps from the house is still there but it's not being used anymore. I remember the house to be bigger then but I guess I am bigger now so it's seemed smaller. However, it just feels empty and sad. Anytime the house is about to fall. I'm surprised that it is still standing.

When our cousins or brothers would come visit Bontoc, that's the time that this house comes to life again.

Once breakfast is finished, we prepared and locked the house then headed down the mountain to go to Barlig. Check out Cold or hot? Which one would you prefer?

Then, we went back home to rest.

We went to the market the next morning.

This is the view opposite the mountain where we stayed. It's beautiful here during the early morning hours for mist and fog rolls by. Perfect view while sipping your coffee.

A relative lived in one of those houses. Before she moved to the city, she was living with our aunt. When sees that the light on my grandmother is on, you would expect her the next day paying a visit.

Along the path is this rice storage. This is how they store rice here. I haven't seen the inside of it though.

From our grandparents' place to the town proper is about 15-minute drive. Along the way are rice terraces such as this one. The river on the foreground is the Chico River.

At the town proper, you can see murals like these ones painted on opposite sides of this shop's entrance. This was taken during our previous visit with my partner when we went to Ifugao.

This is a roadside shop which serves coffee and pancakes. While waiting for our ride going to Ifugao, we had to fill our stomachs first. We coupled that with cup noodles. Notice the painting of an arm in the background?

Everywhere in town there are paintings here and there. It might be surprising if you come across one of them at night especially the murals of people.

There are lots of churches in Bontoc and one of the major ones is this Anglican church.

Since we don't have any other place to go, we let the kids visit the museum accompanied by some of the adults. I didn't go in. At that time, I felt weary and sleepy so I took a nap on one of the benches on the premises. Those who went in enjoyed the visit.

After that, we then headed to the market before heading home.

That night, we had bonfire at the dap-ay. It's a place, mostly circular made of stones and rocks where you can have a bonfire.

Earlier in the day, we did go to Sagada which is about a two-hour drive but everything was closed to tourists because it is their cleansing ritual. We tried the next day but it's still the same. No luck also for there is no sunrise view because of how thick the fog was. Good thing one place was open and it is the Blue Soil Mountain.

This mountain is called Kaman utek or looks like a brain. It is said to resemble a brain hence the name. However, I can't see it. Maybe at the right angle but I haven't found that angle. It can be accessible from Sagada and Bontoc for it sits on both lands.

That ends our trip. We went home to our grandparents' house to rest and then traveled back home early the next morning.

Of note, early morning found us in Bauko. The road is in between mountain ranges so we cannot witness a sunrise that is why we settled for what we can see. Thankfully, we were graced with landscape like this. Bauko is my mom's hometown and the first town of Mountain Province you reach when you travel from Baguio City. I haven't been to this place yet and that was my first time although it was just short lived. We have planned then to visit this one next.

One of the questions circulating here is what makes you smile or makes you happy. This is my answer. Going to places helps me to appreciate people more and the wonders of nature. The memories of it makes me relive those amazing moments.

25
$ 10.53
$ 8.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Jumper-01
$ 0.40 from @Pichi28
+ 16
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

I would like to visit the blue soil mountain. It could be cool to see a pic of the mountain from a drone to see if it truly seems like a brain. It seems you had a nice visit to Bontoc. :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The blue soil covers an huge area so I wonder where they got the idea of a brain or from which angle they saw a figure of a brain.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

ang ganda.. we've been to bontoc on our way to sagada ata un.. i remember we have to go down the bus and then walk the bridge kasi parang di kaya ng bridge na may bus or any heavy vehicle..at the end of the bridge, another bus is waiting, same busline...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ou dadaan ka ng Bontoc pag punta mo Sagada. Pwede maghike mula sa house ng grandparents ko papuntang Sagada pero di ko pa natry. Mga 4-5 hours siguro na hike. Mga kapatid at pinsan ko ang lagi jan e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to try that someday drinking my first cup of coffee for the day with that view! and the fog of course or the clouds rolling by. Hopefully I can stand the cold. Awesome captures sir!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di gano maginaw jan hehe kaya sarap ang morning jan :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"di gano"? Pramis? .. sana malapit na yung soon haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ou. Mas maginaw Baguio hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The view of the rice terraces gives you that sense of peace and tranquility. I've never been to Bontoc this article made me feel like I've just had my virtual tour of the place. Thanks again for another article sir Lee.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We should have gone to the terraces. Maybe next time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wooow ang ganda naman place. Salamat sa pag share. And oh, yung bahal ng grandparents mo, ganyan din bahay anmin dati nung bata pa kami 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Nakakasad lang isipin na wala na nakatira dun. Paminsan minsan na lang mapasyalan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read once, visit outside to see nature's wonders so you can amazed from them and see God's Creativity. This makes me feel happy too, an instinct of fresh breeeze into soul poured while looking at nature. Your article remind me my visit towards the northern areas of Pakistan, which has similar view

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Your country is one of the places I really want to go. Hopefully soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

warmly welcome you here, and I bet you cant forget it once you visited

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks a lot! All in God's time :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napaka ganda naman sa kaman 😍 kakaiba siya sa mga bundok dito sa pinas. Ganda naman diyan sa Bontoc .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga e. Sana noon ko pa pala pinasyalan yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, you had a walk in our municipality... ❣️ We had planned to visit kaman utek but it was postponed. I was excited then but I don't know when will it be scheduled again so I can see it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ifontok ka met? hehe That's my dad's hometown. It's exciting to get to see it. I hope soon you will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ituvengak, one of barangay of Bontoc. Yeah, I hope so too. ❣️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ah madik amo dayta hehe. I only know Alab :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's because you didn't grow in here. 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! True, true.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat po sa pa-tour, atleast, for now, nakita ko ang lugar nyo. Hope you had fun :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Okay naman kahit wala ganu napuntahan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala pa kayo ganu napuntahan sa lagay na yan :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe ou :D Un talaga tourist spots hindi namin napuntahan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit di tourist spot maganda pa din po. I think I sent a blank response, sorry am typing in one hand.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Napansin ko nga un blank reply hehe. No biggie :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks po :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww. Na-miss ko po tuloy ang Sagada pati na rin dun sa Blue Soil Mountains. Kailan kaya ulit ako makakabalik jan? 🤧

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Hanggang throwback na lang muna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The blue soil mountains is the place that really interests me as those soils are my favorite turquoise color. I am really happy for you to have numerous adventures throughout your province, it can be memorable!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was really interesting. I wonder how widespread is the coverage of that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung kaman utek. Ganun tlga kulay nya? Kakaiba

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ou tas nagcha-change daw yan depende sa weather pero parang close din sa ganyan na color.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also enjoy visiting new places. But most importantly, I love going back to my roots, to places I knew and stayed in while growing up. The state of mind I'm put in whenever I do that is priceless.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. Nothing feels like home.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As usual. Beautiful captures. Lagi ko nakikita sa pictures yung Bontoc museum. Yung munisipyo ng Bontoc, aba parang resort. Hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Napattern kasi sa mga dating itsura ng mga bahay noon. Parang wala na ako nakitang ganun na bahay jan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda nun kaman utek, parang mafeature na ta yan sa kmjs.. Ang ganda ng color at parang brain tlga itsura.. Maganda na ba daan papunta ng bontoc?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok naman ang daan nuon. Mas napahaba lang kasi daan ka ng Bauko. Ewan kung okay na ngayon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana kao din sis mabalikan ko din yun dating tirahan ng lola ko noon. Medyo malayo kasi sa Davao. Habang kinukwento mo yun about sa tirahan ng grandparents mo eh naalala ko un tirahan namin noon, ganyan din kasi hehehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Halos ganyan din sa maternal grandparents ko pero upgraded lang un lutuan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for calling you sis again, di ko pa alam na bro ka pala nun nagcomment ako dito, hehehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe delayed talaga ako magbasa ng comments :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice to live in rural areas like this. It's even nicer to see the scenic view of your grandparents' place. Your photos say it all. Maybe, you could also include some stories or photos about the people who live there, e.g. their way of living, their agricultural crops or their daily struggle in the farm. But I'm sure people there are approachable, accommodating and heart-warming. Congrats for this very artistic article.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. I have to really plan for that next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a town called Bontoc here in our province. I thought you were there haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Interesting. It's only now that I've learned there is another place called Bontoc :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As always, your photos mesmerize me❤ and completed by your stories about them. It's really good to visit places, it connects us with people and we get to have a glimpse of how they live. I have never been to Bontoc but my family had and farm boy too. Have been to Bauko but not the whole of it :) It's a beautiful town!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wonder why we didn't consider going to Bauko but now that we did pass it, I know it's going to be worth the visit if we do go.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It will be, especially that it's your mom's place :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You seem to have a great time Kuya Lee. I love all the photos you took. It reminds me of our province in Davao.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really hope I could get to visit your place.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully, puhon kuya. 💗

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's a wow!I hope we can travel and take that pictures like you did. Tourist attractions here were closed so my everyday is house and shop only.More power!!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope we can all travel freely soon.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

ARTiCLEE you really love those childhood memories of yours, reminiscing good ol memories of your love ones is the best. Once again I have no word to say for your photography skills juts woaw for that one. If not reading the word ifugao I would actually think it's from other countries but no it's from ours. I think I should think of travelling too, just to see the beauty of our country.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's good to explore places so we can appreciate what we have :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago