"Hard times will always reveal true friends"

49 69
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

That was posted by a facebook friend and I saw it in my feed. I don't know who the author is. It gave me the idea what to write here. I was supposed to write about something else but I can't formulate how to write about those topics.

Do you agree with the title?

I have shared here about an experience when our house burned down to ashes. Our family only managed to save a few items and the clothes that they are wearing. That was our family house. It's where we grew up and made memories but all those gone in just minutes. The fire started in our neighbors house and our house burned down with it.

We were at a loss that fateful day. We don't know where to go. What to do. Where to sleep. Where to eat. Where to live. It was traumatic.

However, help came in every form from everyone we know, relatives and friends, and people we don't know, neighbors and other Good Samaritans.

That was two years ago and our house is not yet finished. Times are hard.

The beginning of this year, our grandfather died and my dad had an accident. My dad was in the hospital being treated when our grandfather unfortunately suddenly died. It was a double blow and it's hard to come back from that. Although dad is now home recovering from the accident he had, there are other ailments that have been found so he is still being treated.

Again, help came from a lot of people and we are grateful for the blessings that we receive.

Now back to the title:

"Hard times will always reveal true friends."

We all go through struggles in life. We don't know what is really happening with others. What is going on in their lives. What are their worries. What are their problems. Not every one wants to peel off the mask they wear and show some of their emotions that they have been hiding.

With the misfortunes that I have mentioned above, I was grateful for every little help that we received - from monetary to clothes, food, housewares to assistance in helping rebuild our home such as working there for free to prayers, etc.

We all go through hard times such that how can we help others if we can't even help ourselves?

Should we unfriend those that we felt didn't help us during those times that we needed help? Do you help others hoping to get something in return sooner or later?

There is a chat group for our high school batch and whenever someone needs help, it is posted there and we do help in every way that we can. It's frustrating sometimes that I can't even give back to those who have helped us in times of our needs now that they are the one needing help.

So when we fell into unfavorable circumstances, it's not all about the money. Think that others are going through tough times as well. Be grateful with whatever help that you receive even those prayers and words of comfort.

We can only give as much and do as much. Don't expect too much from others like your friends for you will only be frustrated in the end. It's understandable that we lash out at the peak of our emotions that's why have a more understanding heart. Understanding is a key to acceptance.

How do you measure friendship? Have you checked on your friends/relatives lately?

30
$ 8.10
$ 7.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @ShameemS
$ 0.06 from @MD_Tibro
+ 23
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

For me, I love to help if he/she needs my help, even if no return, because the Bible says, much better to give than to receive.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True.. It's not all about money.. More appreciated yung moral support..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm so sorry for all that has happened to you and your family, God you are strong for enduring such hardship.

I agree with the title, I have lived it, those who were supposed to show support, and I don't mean monetary support, weren't there, and people I didn't expect to lend a shoulder to cry on to, appeared. For me is not too much about what you can offer in materials and such, is about the moral and support, even from the distance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I'm glad to have family and friends to help me cope and endure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Definitely dear. The true colours are revealed at that time. No second chances for them in your good days.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Have checked my relatives, now I know they are totally unhelpful. I'm happy to know that you got help from people during that bad phase, it shows there are still lots of people with humanity. I personally don't think while helping. But when I need dire help the first person I think about are those whom I helped. So unsure about myself here, haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's best not think those who you helped before but rather be thankful with what help you receive :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmmm, napaisip ako dun ah. Kasi naman wala akonh friends. Pero base nga sa mga nangyayari sa paligid din natun, kahit sino naman basta may kakakayahan na makatulong tutulong yan sila ng walang pag aalinlangan. Hindi natin yon sila kaibigan ha. Pero pwd siguro maapply tu sa ibang ano, basta ang hirap ipaliwanang. Ang simple nong tanong pero kahirap sagutin.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Naisip mo na ba? haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kuu nawawala pa rin isip ko now. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly I believe that sometimes helps comes from family not in blood with heart. I am not a friendly type in person but I always help in a way I can everytime someone in need.

I am glad you and your family received in those bad time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This quotes that “when times are tough, friends are few” statement has held true well into adulthood. Hardships definitely test the strength of friendships. They show that even the most loyal of friends will disappoint on occasion, creating feelings of abandonment. But with all these some friends won't leave you and they are the real ones

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's very intelligent of you to see this line the other way. Sometimes people don't help because they don't want but because they can't. And also the most important thing is stop helping others if you think that you will be returned the favours. Do it selflessly and it will come exponentially.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I like the fidelity of friendship. When I need my friend, may he be there and know how to give me a word of comfort. Receiving help from people when we are in a situation of misfortune is very encouraging. Many people feel identified with tragedies and help. Being a friend is a different situation and is achieved with mutual interaction and through the years.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The title is true to me but in other side. I collected fake how are you's and criticism at my lowest. The more they step on me and laugh at me because I am still the same, living the same, same place same fashion.

Although that was my case, I still can relate to your article. Most of the time all I can do is cry that I can't give but prayer is all I can offer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I believe in the power of prayer. It's mostly what I can offer as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, I completely agree with you. We know our friends in difficult situations. For our own comfort, we should not expect from others. But when we see in disbelief the friends who rush to our aid in times of trouble, even their simple consolations, the memory of them always keeps alive in our hearts.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There are many difficult situations that many people in the world are going through. These times of pandemic have put many truths in front of us, among those are that neighbors became true brothers and those who work in health could do such a beautiful and selfless work. We continue to rely on friendship and solidarity in a world so beaten now even by war, so we keep the faith that we can as humanity move forward. Have my blessings from Venezuela my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely. Believe in the goodness of others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes, even if those friends of us are dying to help us, but they have no means to do so. We shouldn't judge them right away and unfriend them. Your are right kuya Lee, ew shouldn't expect too much from people.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We should help someone because we want to, not because we're expecting something in return. And we should understand na not all the time our friends or relatives can be with us and help us kasi we don't know what they've been through.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nadale mo :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

From the title alone, I can't say it any better than that lods. I'm always checking those inner circle of friends from time to time, with cousins and friend, we have a group page for our family clan both sides of my parents.

Friendship can't be measure as long as is it genuine. The only extra that separate friends from being family is how much these friends can walk the extra mile to help us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Very well said!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When hardship or tragedy strikes, there will be people willing to extend a helping hand, and they will not necessarily be people you know or those you would expect to help out. But you just have to be grateful for every form of assistance coming from even strangers and not use it as a measure of friendship, otherwise you will be disappointed and add to your burden.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed. Manage your expectations :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

para sakin ok lang kahit walang ma ibigay kahit na piso,mas mahalaga sakin yung presence nya, Sorry for your loss. at sana maging ok na din yung papa mo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes its true to know who is your real one in bad moments. But its my bad luck I lost my best one. He did heart attack and after that still now I remember him and feeling sick.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry for your loss.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with everything mentioned above. I've been in situations where I was abandoned by the people I thought will stay with me.. Since then I've been sceptical about having friends,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I feel you. Reason why I only have a few selected friends :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am very assertive when it comes to receiving a resounding NO answer from a friend. I value more the sincerity that you express to me when you can't help me, than when you lie to me and then I receive nothing, waiting for the friend. Interesting your reflection

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm sorry about your grandfather, and i hope your dad is doing well now. I can remember that he was doing PT, so hopefully recovery is near. Regarding friends, I don't measure friendship with their capacity to help, though I'm always grateful for any help I could get.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! My dad is still doing therapy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I define friendship as one of the best ingredients in my life. My besties added bright colors to my world and even in my dark times, they stayed and brought me to light again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm so sorry about your grandfather, Kuboy! :(

We should indeed help whenever we can and without expecting anything in return. I've always thought that noble and kind people will always receive a helping hand in the end when they need it. Even if it doesn't come from the same people who received their help. So do good without looking to whom.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I try to be there for my friends as much as I can, although I cannot help monetarily at all times, I offer them my shoulders and my ears. I am lucky that I have great friends who were there for me when my mom died and when I lost my job.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Being there as a support is priceless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree kahit moral support nga lang po okay na :D Yung iba nagmamilestone pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Messuring friends is infact a big question. True we can see their true colours only when we are in trouble. As told even words of comfort will have a soothing effect friend. Hope your home gets completed very soon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well base on my experience a true friend is better than a relative during hard times. Hugot lang sir.😄

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo din pero di naman lahat hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Through challenges makikita mo at malalaman mo yung mga taong real sa atin sir lee. Yung times na kailangan natin. It's a chance too na malaman natin yung truth kung sino yung totoo sa atin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! That's why we should be happy if we are experiencing some challenges in life because it doesn't only make us strong but to reveal those friends who are true to us than those who are just there for the joyride.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True friends are known in difficult times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those friends who left us in times we had problems in our life isn't a true friends at al,sad to say that there are people that they does'nt know what really friends are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jaan mo makikita if sincere ba talaga sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago