Gobble glug gloom

89 89
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Let's celebrate the first day of the month with a cake.

The sun played a prank on us today. He came out so sudden but gone faster than he came. The rain prevailed.

It's amazing what little sunray can do. It will give you hope and cheer you up even for just a little.

That made us decide to go visit a cafe that we saw online. Our initial prospect, however, needs reservation. We didn't see that in their page or didn't check it properly for we were not used to such arrangement yet. Pre-pandemic, you are free to walk in anywhere. As long as there's a vacant table then you can be accommodated. This time around, because of safety concerns, you have to check if an establishment needs reservation or not before going there.

So on to the next cafe we go.

We have been seeing this online as well being posted by others in a page that I subscribed to which is all about the city.

Good thing we had a backup plan else we would have ended braving the rain and strong wind for nothing.

The area where we first went there were a lot other cafes nearby but it's not a good idea to go walking in the rain for cafe hunting. We don't have a car so we only utilize public transport.

Don't be fooled by the cafe's name: That Little Cafe. There's nothing little or cafe about it. I find 'little cafe' redundant but I guess we all have different interpretations of how little a cafe should be.

Let met show you the cafe

That photo above is the greater part of it. On the left is yet another room. I guess it can be used as private function for there is a glass door that separates it from this main dining area.

Good thing there were only a few customers then. We chose to sit by the window which has the view of the city.

But, what view?

That building on the foreground is the Inna Mansion and across that is Burnham Park. Oh, you can't see the park? Me too!

I'll give you a better view.

Now that's better.

We were given the menu and we ordered beer right away. Just one bottle each. Here's to the weekend and to a new month!

We settled for sisig for my partner, burger for me and mango oreo cheesecake to top it off.

I was impressed for our food was served around 5 minutes of waiting. That's a good start.

The sisig and and cheesecake were served first. Of course I have to take the obligatory photos before they will be devoured. You have to mix the egg with the meat before it gets cold. The burger was served last after a couple of minutes.

The sisig was salty according to my partner. He wasn't able to finish it all. It was not his original order and this was his second choice so he was not up to it. His prior order was not available unfortunately so he had to settle for the sisig.

I haven't had cheesecake in a long time. I love eating sweets before I even proclaimed myself a sweet tooth. I still love sweets but I don't eat as frequent as I used to.

So tasting and eating this cheesecake was a bit of a letdown. My expectation was not met. I couldn't taste the mango in it. The consistency of the cake was okay though. The sweetness was okay as well at first but about halfway through, I grew tired of the taste and the sweetness seemed to have increased. Maybe I was eating too much. My partner finished the rest.

The burger on the other hand was okay. I finished every piece of it. However, about halfway through I was getting fed up or sated (umay as we call it) but I kept at it. Good thing the sweet potato fries took some of the umay away.

We additionally ordered French fries or crisps (depending on which part of the work you are. Right, Kuya Ed?) and coke for me and bottled water for my partner. We were sated by the whole meal.

Overall, it was okay experience. The place has a nice view of the city. It is well lit and the ambiance is great. The high ceiling and almost floor-to-ceiling glass windows gave it a pleasant atmosphere. The seats are comfortable enough. The staff is welcoming. The service is fast but the food needs more improvement. It could be that the combination of food that we ordered were not compatible. Food is a bit pricey as we can eat the same kind of food but tastes better at a cheaper price some place else. Our tastes differ from one another so if you find yourself in Baguio City, try That Little Cafe located at the 6th floor of the The Orchard Hotel along Legarda Road just across Holiday Inn. Who knows, you might love the taste of the their food.

Are we going back? Of course! I like to take my chances. There are still lots of food on their menu that we haven't tried like pasta, salad, noodles and other main dishes.

They seem to have an eat-all-you can setup so we might avail of that in the future.

After eating, we walked towards the restaurant nearby where we love their dimsum. We ordered that on the go and beef broccoli for our dinner. We were so full from our meal at the cafe that we haven't eaten dinner yet. Maybe later. We were thinking of ordering pancit but decided against it.

How was your first day of the month so far? I hope you have welcomed it with open arms and ready to face another month.

24
$ 9.91
$ 8.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
+ 20
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Not that little pala..hehehe laki ng space eh..

The photos show they look good... don't judge a dish by its photos..hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Dami talaga food na ganyan. Gang picture lang hehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems the place is very comfortable and there are many delicious food menus there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's right. I like the place overall. It has a nice view of the city. I have yet to try their other food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, where I live in a new regulation. If I go to a cafe, I can't eat or drink in place. This is due to the higher covid pandemic

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This pandemic has robbed us a lot of experiences. I hope it ends soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! It seems like you welcome your month beautifully. Awee how I envy those gloomy weather you got there. 🥺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm getting tired of this gloom though lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh why? Can we exchange places? Lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! Yes, please!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First day of the month ain't that much but i'm grateful dear.,!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Being grateful as really important. That's a great start!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, let's make this month a memorable one for all of us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the spirit! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe just staying positive through it all sir.,! 😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We all need that in this trying times :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir,.! Can you visit my articles to sir if you have., 😊😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought I did lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You already did, just now sor., Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cheers! Keep writing :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yessir, I'm on it, trying to hang on making one per day., Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's cool! It's my goal too for this month :D Good luck to us :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha good to hear im not alone in this craziness sir., Haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! A lot of us are :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looks like a very comfortable cafe to be spending hours in. Love natural light. Though you ordered beers, come one...you should at least have a cup of coffee. It's a 'cafe' after all. LOL. The coffee would be a better complement to the cheesecake. I love how you photograph some of your foods. Look like they were floating on air. LOL. In the last photograph, at a quick glance, I thought I read "FARTING WELL" hahahaha..thought that was funny.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I didn't notice that farting but that's funny lol! I was actually thinking of coffee but beer is really tempting. Thanks for appreciating!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang sosyal naman jan, saka yong sisig shutek 🤤🤤 kakatakam. Kahit yan nalang ung sakin makikikain pooo. Haha kaso kahapon pa pala arehh 🤧🤤🤤

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Tara kain ulit tayo dun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Libreeeee poo 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sige sige. Libre mo naman pala e. D ako tatanggi hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Halaa Ikaw ang mangttreat ee hindi ako 🙉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay haha! Sige ba. Akyat na pag okay na ang lahat :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That little cafe name is a scam lol, kakatapos ko lang po mag almusal and yet I'm hungry, you did a very great start for the month of August, when my time comes graduate and have a job I'll gonna treat myself to wherever I want to be. But right now I'll gonna keep complementing those who has better days. Do you use your phone's camera to take a shot? Or you have digital camera? Because they're all great. Seems like I'm looking at a magazine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You will get there. Keep focusing on your studies for now. I did use my phone for this, yes. I used to have a camera but when it was destroyed, I didn't buy a replacement. I find it heavy and bulky. Thanks so much!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You left me hungry with this post. Too bad the cheesecake didn't meet your expectations because it seemed to look yummy. ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I guess I expected too much. It's one of my bad habits. I have to keep reminding myself not to expect too much so as not be disappointed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you can continue going to your favorite places so that you can fulfill your desires and try many menus.

They are nice pictures.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really hope so. Once the rain lets up, we will surely go find places to dine :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow ... Apart from the rain, and the fact that most of the food wasn't compatible, you guys had a nice time... And that's the most important thing

I wish I could see this small cafe that isn't so small too..... But this is merely wishes

The way you described everything makes me feel as though I was there

Maybe, they should have customers feedback portfolio so you guys can leave the feedback you have concerning the food... What do you think?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think you can always say right away about your feedback about the food. I should have done that. Next time I'll make sure to make a comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiles..... There is no problem 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My goodness, your shots are so beautiful, just can't get over them. I envy you because you have the freedom to go out :( Ingat po lagi. I love the cafe. How was the beer?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The beer was cold and delicious :D I think it was last year since I had the last one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awws di na kayo ngayon umiinom? Hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Matagal na hehe. Paminsan minsan na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kape na lang, malamig na po panahon hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cafeeee tour! but that is a huge "small small restaurant" indeed. Sad naman sa mango oreo cheesecake! hmm parang natikman ko nung dinescribe mo haha.

to the bucketlist it goes..!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ganda ng view, can't deny that. Yun talaga pang bawi nila hehe. Di ko din feel un Christmas lights na sinabit haha! Kahit wag na lang sana nilagay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, seeing that cheesecake, I just dream of biting into it right away, I don't mind if my face gets messy. Lol I don't know exactly how much you spent visiting the Little Cafe but I can tell you that it's a decent one with a very interior and view. It's unlike the cafes we mostly have here in Nigeria. You definitely had quite the fun on your first day of the month. Me, I've not done anything or visited anywhere remarkable but I hope to enjoy this month to the fullest.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It would be interesting to see cafes in your place. Maybe you can write about it and show us some photos :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. I'll think about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh myyy yung food talaga yung umagawa sa atensyon kooo. I love the place but I love the food even more 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I love the place lang pero di masyado ung food haha! Siguro un ibang food nila. Try ko next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like this place judging by the photos. If the place is nice, the service is fast and good, then just the price and the food they need to work on a bit more, which is very important. If you go back next time it means you had a good experience overall.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Undoubtedly, the view is what stayed with me the whole time. I plan to go back and will try different food :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really went to enjoy yourself,what a nice outing to start the new month

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you had great day welcoming the new month :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes sir,thanks and you too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Another place to visit in baguio pero nagan anu diay raman diay makan sir nagmayat plating na kasla nakaim imas ah kanen hehe

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Madi siguro jay na order mi. Try mi na lang sabali nga food next time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a great way to start your month, Lee.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It truly was. We wanted to start on a positive note. Having constant rain, damp, cold and fog for weeks is depressing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May little cafe na pala na malaki haha. In fairness ang ganda ng baso with beer 🍺 Nabusog na din ako kaka view ng pictures ng foodssss haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga haha! Expect ko talaga parang isang room lang ganun. Parang buong floor naman pala hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow. I like the view, the food, and the photographs.. Especially the fog 🤣..sarap magstay jan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Take it all even the fog haha! We are really getting of it :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahem my pacake.. Andaya, penge ngarud kahit yun sisig na lang 😂🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di ko natikaman un gawa mo e kaya yan na lang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang swak ng title talaga. Anyway, totoo nga parang misleading ung little cafe hahha! pero sarap ng foods, gobble. glug, gloom, burp.. busog! heheh!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kulang nga ng burp hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the view would be perfect if there is no fog... sana next visit nyo food will be great na. :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga e. Depende din sa mood kasi minsan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to go there too if I can go to Baguio this year. It seems like it is cold and rainy out there. I think you enjoy so much the first day of this month.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cold and rain is okay as long as it does not take weeks like what's happening now :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, bet ko dyan hehe. Inviting yong place and yung sisig though kung maalat :D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe...next time I'll remember na mag request ng less salt :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo noh, at least na try nyo na hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

omg ang ganda ng view, sarap tumambay sa ganyan tas pachillchill AHAHAH ge lang 6 months nalang

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe maghanda ka ng pang kape mo pag nandito ka. Dami cafes dito sarap mag chill :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

susulitin ko ung 2 weeks na bakasyon kuya, for sure sobrang mageenjoy ako

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayos yan! kung 6 months na lan, feb ka nandito? Saya sana panagbenga month yun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Plano ko po kase mula feb 9 to 23 bakasyon ko, diko alam kelam flower fest dyan sana nga umabot

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Alanganin pa magka festival ngayon pero dbale dami pwede puntahan dito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

1st day of month, I'm lazing around at home. Must agree that is not a little Cafe as it's huge. Fridge Cheesecake is my favorite,

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We all need a little break sometimes :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayu mayat ya! Asideg ba daytoy jay Prince Plaza?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wen. Maymayat kuma jay kunami mapan mi nga first.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jay Prince? Barbaru ba dayta?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mejo baru. Ada siguro two years nan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago