Distractions. I do welcome them.

62 87
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

It's free writing again. It's the weekend. It's raining outside. Not that strong. Just a lazy rainfall. As lazy as what I feel right now.

It's gloomy, dark, wet and cool. The world on my end has retired early.

I am just done with my tasks so here I am with read. I haven't posted yesterday for after work, I did some noise and then slept early for I went for a morning jog earlier today.

I do love my job. However, sitting in front of the computer the whole time is no fun. I used to have the energy to sit in front of the computer all day and all night. Now, I think I am reaping the effects of that. It's been years since I stopped doing that. I have been sleep long enough every night so it's not about lack of sleep. Most have trouble sleeping but I am the opposite. I'm that kind of person who can sleep in an instant.

Once I logged in, checked my files and started doing them, not more than two hours I'd be yawning and having a hard time keeping my eyes open. An hour or two more and I'd find myself dozing off even having some dreams that I of course I couldn't remember. Good thing I work from home. No supervisor to worry about.

So here are the things that I do to keep me awake.

Shopee Games

For those who are not from the Philippines, Shopee is one of the famous online shops here in the country. When pandemic started, I did some shopping online as well including clothing, laundry and bath items and other supplies. I have not shopped a lot for I have not even reached the silver tier of membership. Mind you though that some of the shampoo and liquid body soap that I ordered haven't been used up yet.

I do like playing the games within the app. You can earn points that you can use to redeem coins and those coins can be used within the app to purchase or pay bills. Last month, I was able to save PHP300.00 (around USD6) from the bills that I paid - PHP200 from coins I earned through playing and PHP100 from voucher.

You can get a lot of discounts from the app if you know what you are doing. Using the vouchers and coins are a big help.

Once done playing, I would continue doing my job. When I feel sleepy again, I'd go back to playing.

Hot drinks and food

Sometimes playing games is not enough to perk me up. When that happens, which is almost all the time, I'd make myself something like coffee or milk or choco drink. Right now, I try to avoid coffee so I drink lemon juice. I'd do that many times a day depending on my need.

I love nuts and these are effective in keeping me awake. Anything crunchy will work too. Sometimes I'd make myself a sandwich or just plain bread, depending on my mood.

I'd eat whatever is available. Now that some of the fruits are in season, those are what we buy and it's what I eat sometimes.

It really depends on my mood what to eat and what to drink.

I don't like energy drinks for it doesn't do the job and it makes my urine smell bad.

Read.cash and Noise.cash

Good thing I can insert these two whenever I wanted to in between my tasks. So while I am not productive in one, I can still be productive in the other. I have to be careful though for it does eat a lot of time just like playing games so I have to be mindful of how long I stay.

When I know that there are only few tasks, then that's the time that I spend more time in these platforms.

My work is still my priority.

Other social media

Back when I have not come across read and noise, I'd be spending a lot of times watching whatever interests me online. I'd go to youtube or facebook or whatever, sometimes even watching movies. Not watching the whole thing though. Just a few minutes at a time.

When all else fails...

Take a nap.

That's the best thing so far of all the things I have mentioned. Doing some few minutes of exercise works before but now it makes me even sleepier. They say drinking or eating something sour will also help but it doesn't work for me.

That's why power naps are the best.

A 15-minute nap is enough to energize me to do the rest of my tasks. What I like about my job is that I can do it in my own pace. However, I do like to finish them as early as possible so I can focus on other things.

What do you do to keep you awake?

Thank you so much for your support and taking time to visit.

Happy weekend!

32
$ 10.80
$ 9.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 23
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

I don't know what has come over me these past months, I usually wake up especially at night to do other things and most times I feel sleepy during the day and this happen when I finished eating. Only if I could just open my eyes wide open to do things I needed to do but I think I sleep a lot during the day and night. Most times when I need to be awake, I would pick up my phone or listen to music but before I know what's going on, I am already in the Dreamland. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! You probably needed the sleep anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What keeps me awake is the noise in our neighborhood hahaha. It annoys me tho.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel you. There are so many man-made and animal-made noises all. the. time. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napping is my favorite distraction along with food.. I guess there would be no people in the world who doesn't love these two haha 🤣🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol! I agree :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its the opposite in me sir I am a kind of person who takes hard time to sleep especially when someone or something disturbs me during sleeping I can't go back to sleep anymore.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are the same with my partner.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A cup of strong black coffee with no sugar, that's what keeping me awake. It's always effective. 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I need more than one cup of black coffee to be awake :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lovely writeup! What i do to keep awake is basically watching movies or reading cheesy novels. Sometimes I actually just surf the net.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes watching and reading will make me sleep too lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here HAHA. Mga 15 palang nakakatulog na ako lalo na't puyat na puyat ako.

Nice to meet you 😀

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di na ako malakas sa puyatan di tulad noon hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Power nap works best.

I also fell asleep fast but I am a light sleeper, so any little noise, I woke up but fell asleep right away.

I didn't no about shopee having games that can earn points. Are the games easy?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sometimes I am a light sleeper too and can go back to sleep easily as well :D

Yup, really easy games :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malapit nanaman po ulit ang 10.10, daming mabibili gamit ng coins. Ang hilig ko din po matulog since mas naging immersed sa internet at computer hehe. Salamat pp sa sponsorship! 😻

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Buti na lang di ako madaling mabudol sa mga sale na ganyan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu nagiging antukin aki nung tumuntong ako ng college kuya eh. Ewan, lalo na talaga pag bagong ligo, sarap matulog eh buong araw. Hindi din epektib sakin yung kpe. Nararamdamn ko lang effect pag gabi na.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Paminsan minsan lang umepekto sa akin ang kape na di ako antukin hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, hanga ako sa ganun tao na mapasandal lng tulog agad, ako kasi tagal bagi makatulog

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehe dala na din siguro ng puyat kaya nasanay na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right now my only source of distraction is the need to sleep as a human. Sleep is necessary and I wish I could take that part away from me... unfortunately it's part of what makes us human.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed. Rest is a vital part of life as well :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never tried any shopee games. I think I should try this since I am fond of shopping online. Mamahal pa naman ng mga pyesa. Malaking tulong na makaless kahit kaunti

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should. Laking tulong din un PHP 200 or more na bawas hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am also a person who can sleep easily and nothing wakes me up 😅 If I could get paid for sleeping, I would be very rich! Read and noise.cash are sure great distractions.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right? I wonder if the facebook post about NASA paying people to sleep is true lol!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If it is, send them my way, I'll work' for them :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

lol! I would too :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

my baby keeps me awake sir.haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahaha! Matagal tagal pa yan :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We really lose track of time when we are immersed in the computer. I don't have a problem sleeping either. After I finish here I go straight to bed and fall asleep. Lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed. These gadgets keep us busy :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Games keep me awake also. Most especially candy crush

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I miss that game! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon ko lang po nalaman na may games pala sa shoppee haha.. Sabagay hindi naman ako mahilig don mauubos lang pera kapag nag open ako ng shoppee lalo na kapag sale .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di rin ako nagpapabudol sa shopee hehe. Pag talagang need lang tsaka ako bumibili.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Read and Noise distract me too. And although I love them, they are time-consuming. Especially, Read. And eating and drinking coffee also distract me, LOL But I don't usually take naps because I've never been good at taking short naps, hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Now am back to watching movies/series. I find it a convenient escape.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good work being your first priority. I think you posted after a few gap. Good you prefer lime juice to coffee. Getting a nap instantly- lucky one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

My preference is like the weather - unpredictable sometimes :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🙂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same tayo, basta pagka tapos ng giangawa ko pag nag decide akonh matulog makaka tulog agad ako. Pero, may time lang minsan lang naman yong pag gising na gising pa rin ang isip ko ba. Yong di talaga dalawin ng antok haha, yan hirap na ako makatulog nyan. Another is pag punong puno ng isipin ang isip ko hahaha. Di lang talaga din maiwasan. Anyways, yang mga nabanggit mo - mas lalo ako inaantok pag ginagawa ko yan. Yong bigla nalang babagsak sa mukha ko ang selpon ahahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Buti ka pa may naiisip. Ako kasi walang laman talaga ang utak haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like them to implement those games here, where you can earn some coins to redeem at the supermarket. The first thing is work, but you also have to take some time off.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yup, I need to work more :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before nung wala pa si RC at NC sa buhay ko ,panay YouTube, TikTok at Facebook lang ako tapos tulog 😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bumabalik ako sa netflix lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When all else fails take a nap you know Clee I just wanna tell you that I'm here at read now because I feel sleepy and seeing your article makes me more sleepy. Naglalaro din po ako ng shoppee games pampalipas ng orass

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kakaantok din magbasa kasi hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako, when about sleeping? Especially at night. The only thing that make me keeps awake ay yung sobrang init haha But, day time I don't even taking a nap I don't know why I am energize at day. Some of us especially at noon can't fight sa pagka antokin hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I guess you have well rested sleep at night so you don't have problem staying awake in the morning :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My weekend just started. I plan on resting through it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good plan :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww how to have that quick 15 minute nap? Di ko kaya. Hehehe!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ngayon 10 minutes okay na ako hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

15 min nap to recharge yourself? Oh dear, I need an hour & half to feel so.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It only lasts for as long though so I need more 15 minutes lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tagal ko na din d ngShopee hehe, may games pala don. Good for you that 15 minutes can power you up already. It gives me a bad headache if I only nap that short, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mas deep sleep pay nu dadduma jay 15 minutes kaysa jay one hour hehe. Nu one hour met isu pagsakitan ulok. Better nga tuloy tuloy ladtan nga iturog hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago