Some superstitions that has been part of my life

33 61
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
1 year ago

Hello everyone! Today is Friday the 13th, so what? Actually I grew up believing that something bad things might happen or this is a very unlucky day. Well growing up in a province, this was a normal belief. Like everyone in the neighborhood have the same opinions with regards with all the superstitions beliefs that has been passed on from ancestors up until now. Now, living in the city for more than two decades I got to ignore some of this but others remain. But what surprise me more is that my husband who live his whole life living in the city is a much more believer of these superstitious. He is the one who always reminds me about things not to do or not most specially in some important events of our life. His justification, "wala namang mawawala, kung maniniwala" (nothing is lost by believing)

Preparing pancit (noodles) at celebrations specially birthdays

Celebrations will never be completed without pancit. As they say this has something to do with longer life. The noodles represents it that is why the more pancit there is, the longer your life will be. And a pancit lover, this is what I always look in every celebrations. Practically speaking, cooking pancit can easily be prepared without spending too much.

Respect Elementals living on the other side

I know this has been a very old practice, but I am still doing it despite living in the city for long. I even taught my kids to always say "tabi, tabi po" whenever they had the urge to pee in the middle of knowhere. Even though I don't have a personal encounter with any elemental spirits, a part of me still believes in them. And just like what my husband would always tell me, there is nothing lost with believing them. Whether they are real or not as long as nothing bad happened to me or to someone that is closer to me.

Blame missing things on elves

At first I don't believe in this not until I got to experience it inside our house. My husband was looking for his favorite shorts that according to him it was his favorite, he was thinking that he might have left it in the hotel where we stayed on our last vacation in Bicol. It took more than a year before it appeared and guess what where I found it, in our laundry area. It was very impossible not to see it since I am always at the laundry area and I have clean that place every now and then. Up until now it is still a mystery to me where did that shorts go and how did it appeared one day in that particular area. Your guess might be the same as mine.😱

Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty

Includes money when giving wallet and bag as a gift

I don't know where this originated but I just found myself doing the same thing. According to them if you put or include a coin or paper bills in the wallet or bag that you are about to give to someone this will ensure a prosperity or success to the receiver. Last February my friend gifted me a Michael Kors bag that was included in the package she has sent to me. I have used it a few times so I have left some coins inside of it. Just last week I run out of coins as I was looking for extra coins in that bag, I found out in one its extra compartment a one dollar paper bill. I guess my friend is also a believer of this superstition.

Itchy palms means money is coming

This is my favorite one. Hahaha! I know a lot of you (Filipino readers) can relate well to this. According to the old ancestors that has been pass on to every generations, the moment your palms become itchy it means money is on the way. So are your palms already itching? Just make sure your hands aren't dirty or maybe it is itching because of some insect bite.

How about you? What are the things or superstitious belief that has been a part of your life? Care to share it in the comment down below and let's talk about it.

While you are let me share to you some of my previous posts.

Lead image from Unsplash

Thanks for reading and see you next time.❤

12
$ 3.16
$ 2.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Ling01
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 11
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Nangangati ang mga palad ko ngayon ate. Hmm. Money is coming. Hahaha. Hind ko napansin nagpalit ka po pala ng Picture. Nanibago ako hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Itchy palms, I remember it, It was fun. Now I realise why I don't have any money now, hehe! Now remembering about them I feel so silly.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha! I know right, well it has been a beliefs that has been pass to every generations:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The only one I've heard is about itchy hands, my parents believe in that and the truth is I don't know how true it is but it's fun to believe in some things from time to time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh well as they say nothing is lost when you believe for the sake of our old ancestors beliefs. Just that don't rely on it too much, like for example waiting for your hand to get itch to get money, instead work hard to get the real money.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang sa akin sis ay iyong makating palad, ang sbi nila may blessings or pera na darating. Hahaha. Iyan ung mlimit kong mading. Nkkaecite kapg gnun noh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tama:) nakakaexcite naman talaga un😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

haha friday the 13th is not bad, masaya kaya kasi its payday!

belief? wag maghanda ng chicken sa new year, para hindi maghirap,lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha! Happy payday sis, naku next month pa mageffect ang aking allotee kaya wala pa anda today.

Hala baliktad samin sis, we don't prepare chicken during new year kasi lilipad daw ang swerte. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha next month keri na ulit budget.

Isang kahig isang tuka daw kasi kapag chicken

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha! Kaya nga eh kaya tipid tipid muna at baka maubos ang budget

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One superstition I still find disturbing in my place is that babies shouldn't be left to sleep between 6-8pm, they believe that evil spirits are rampant during this times.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh that's the first time I heard about that, thanks for sharing though:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I lived with my aunts and cousins, my aunt let us stir the rice porridge before the New Year until the break of the new year so our career will be "thick and sticky" lol.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Talaga sis? As in? Ang alam ko lang eh maghanda ng something sticky para swerte daw;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe Iglesia yun sis pero naniniwala sa mga Inchik lols.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha! Di ba walang pasko ang ang iglesia?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis, New Year lang meron sila.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I only know about tabi-tabi po and itchy palms :D

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha! Dami pa ngang iba di ko naisama:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's quite a lot of superstition. I do hold some of this though

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh that was a only a few for we have a lot more that I haven't included yet:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Itchy palms pero may buni pala haha! I find some superstitions funny but we should respect it even though we do not believe on it kasi yung ibang tao ay beliefs nila to. We also serve pancit during bdays :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha! Exactly may allergy din pala kaya nangati. Pancit talaga kahit walang beliefs na yan eh peyborit kong ihanda tuwing may birthday😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Itchy palms means money is coming! That one got me. Never knew it was a common superstition, very much popular in Africa

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oh really? Glad to know you have that kind of superstitions too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako sis legit saakin kapag nangati yung right palm ko. Basta kapag nangati na siya, kinikiskis ko sa dibdib ko tapos expect ko nalang na may dadating na pera maliit man o malaki pero diko sure kung saan manggagaling. Highschool palang ako ganon na kaya naniniwala ako. Hahahah.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha! Check mo nga baka nangati na. Sakin di pa mukhang walang padating na pera pero at least mejo omok na si bch wag lang bumaba pa😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I respect your beliefs with what you have mentioned above. For me, even if my parents are having their superstitious belief, but I didn' t lived following them.

I solely believe in God's authority above all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's okay sis, no problem;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Part na Sya sis nang life ang mga superstitions pero may iba di na rin maganda, like for example Kung everyday ka makakakita nang itom na pusa pag gusto mo pumasok sa trabaho which is Sabi nang matatanda bad luck daw o pwede ka maaksidente sa byahe di ka rin magtatrabaho the whole week. Ang dami Kasi matatanda sa amin kaya nasabi ko to. Sorry. Karamihan na din sa mga kabataan ngayon di na sila naniniwala sa ganyan. Pero yung mga naisulat still nag eexist pa din sya sa mga naniniwala.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha! Yung pusang itim dito samin wapakels ung iba kasi it is just a color. Un lang iba kasi ung nakasanayan natin noon kesa nakasanayan ng mga kabataan today. Puro rely lang tayo sa mga sinasabi ng matatanda ngayon may google na. Pero andun pa din talaga ung ibang paniniwala di natin maalis yan:)

$ 0.00
1 year ago