When He Passed Away

74 114
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Today we visit Dad (my father-in-law) in the graveyard. We tidy up his gravestone, pull some weeds and grass. We throw some of the old flowers and pots. We will get new flowers for him. I missed this man so much.

You know, when I first came here to Northern Ireland from the Philippines, I don't know what to expect. Being a foreigner here made me worried about what my life would be or how will I cope up but I take the chance, left work and fly to Northern Ireland with my daughter and soon after my son. And how grateful I am to meet nice and kind people. My in-laws treat me well just like how they treat other people. They were the nicest.

Dad loves gardening. He just loves moving about. He and Mum will wake up at 7:30 in the morning every day. And every morning Dad will shave and make sure he is neat looking. He used to cut the hedge and me and Mum do the cleaning up in the lane and that makes things faster. Tia when she was young always with Dad in the garden planting and watering the plants. She's a Lolo's girl.

Tia on her 1st Birthday

And every day at 10:00 am I will be shouting to Dad, "Dad tea time!" and he will reply, "Right!" with a big smile and thumbs up!

They were constantly on their feet. You will not see them in bed unless it's half 11 then it's bed time. They always out doing something.

Dad, even he had strokes didn't stop him from living life. Even his hands are shaking terribly, you will never hear him complaining. He will ask for help if he needs it. And every occasion he makes sure we get something. He is full of humour and easy to please. Whatever Mum cooks, he will eat. And he loves dessert!

Then one day he was working in the shed using the circular saw and cut his fingernails. We even thought he cut the finger as it's too bloody. But he cut the whole top of the fingernail. He was treated and went home but he was bad the next week and we took him to the hospital. We were in hospital almost every day when he was there. He's always excited to see Tia and tell the nurses that this is his "Ba".

And as we go to the hospital the next time they said the dreadful news of Dad got cancer and will not live for too long. That's in September 2018.

We all cried after knowing that and how are we meant to tell Mum and knowing how she will feel about it. But we accept it as Dad tells us not to cry. We look after Dad despite having carers coming to the house. I learned to use the shaver and razor because he can't shave anymore. And I love to give him a manicure and pedicure. He has lovely legs like a woman. Mum always says too. Dad used to tell me, I will be a good nurse or carer. He is very sweet and loving.

25 December 2018

Everyone is excited, it's Christmas. We are looking forward to opening our gifts and see what we got. Mum and Dad are excited to see Tia, as to which gifts she will go to first. And we make our bet.

Waiting for Tia

Early morning of 25th

The carers arrived to check out Dad. He was diagnosed with cancer but he doesn't seem to have one. Dad wasn't feeling well and told the carer he will have a lie on and stay in the bed in the meantime. Mum gave them a box of sweets each and greeted Merry Christmas.

Then Dad asks Mum if Tia is awake. Dad gathered up his strength and told Mum to help him get up and change. He should be ready for her "ba". Then I came and help Dad. Dad keeps asking about Tia. It was past 11 and Dad said to get her up.

And so Tia came to the door and when she saw all the gifts her eyes went big. And which one does she go first? The tellytuby on the pram. Dad guess it right!

We open our gifts. Dad was very happy when he got our gift which he always complains that he is cold. This will keep him warm. I remember the exact word he says, "This is the best gift I've got, this will keep me warm."

Their last photo together.

Mum got a grandfather's clock. She was crying coz she loves clocks and always wanted a grandfather clock.

Then I took photos of everyone and told Dad to smile, and Dad said "I cannot smile."

You can see that he's not looking well. That's before he took a turn.

And that's when we noticed the change in his face. Dad said he is hungry so I run to the fridge and got him yoghurt and as I gave a spoon in his mouth his tongue-twisting and was not able to eat the yoghurt. I told my husband to phone for an ambulance. Dad's having a bad turn. He looks as if he's having a stroke.

The ambulance came and ask too many questions when dad is not in good condition. When they took Dad in the ambulance Tia cried. And that's the last time she saw Dad alive.

Christmas Dinner

It's only me and Mum at the table. Tears falling in her eyes. She's shaking. I hold her hand. I hug her tight. I wasn't able to say a word. Mum said, he didn't even have his Christmas dinner. We didn't eat together.

That night we receive a call from the hospital. We have to go to the hospital because Dad is deteriorating. I didn't know that that's the word they say if they want to tell you that the patient is dying. It's too late when the brothers went to the hospital. Dad is already dead.

After the funeral Mum, sort Dads things and send them to the charity shops. All the clothes and shoes, old and new. Nothing was left. Mum cut the trees in the garden. All the apple and pear and the maple tree.

Mum never want to show when she's sad and crying. Mum said Dad told him when he dies Mum shouldn't be crying. Mum said she's glad that we were here. That Tia was here. She can bear losing Dad because Tia put a smile on her face.

Now, every time I see an ambulance it reminds me of Dad and him not coming back after the ambulance took him. I don't like to see an ambulance again. And Tia still talks about him up to this day. She never forgets him. One day we are in the car and Tia said, are we going to the hospital to visit Lolo? Are we going to bring him home coz I missed him so much?

She keeps asking when he's coming back. And we cry every time she cries for her Lolo. And today, Mum had a bad turn. We have to phone the ambulance as we cannot just watch Mum suffer.

When they took Mum, Tia said,

"Bring back my Lola, please. You took my Lolo and he never comes back."

Hearing that makes us all sad. She still remembers. She never forgets.

Dad left a hole in our hearts but he filled our memories with smiles, laughs and love.

Thank you for reading.

35
$ 14.04
$ 12.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Ruffa
$ 0.20 from @Crackers
+ 23
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

I cannot continue reading straightforward. I cannot hold back the tears. Just remembering too my grandpa then because i was used to be grandpa's little girl.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Big hug xxx

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am crying as I read this

I am sorry about dad not returning

I am sorry the sight of the ambulance reminds of it

I am sorry Tia hasn't forgotten about dad and this makes you all sad and teary when she asks for her Lolo

I hope that mum is fine

And I hope that the Almighty will console all of you...

$ 0.10
2 years ago

That's touching. Thank you dear. ❤ Mum is trying her best to recover. And she will. Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad to know that mom is recovering. And, definitely, she will.... Fighting!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madam, so sorry for your mom-in -law... anyare parang kelan lang present sya lagi sa mga articles mo at so healthy.. okay na po ba sya?

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Lyca, it seems that this Shingles is a painful process. Natutumba na rin sya at nanghihina. But she's doing her best to recover. I'm doing the cold compress on her head now. Sobrang masakit any ulo nya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ai uu matagal recovery sa shingles po. Minsan umaabot pa 3 months ung pain. Kawawa nmn, mahirap talaga matanda na magka shingles kc less na tolerance sa pain. I just hope for less pain by God's grace. Prayers for your mum.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May his gentle soul continue to rest fervently in perfect peace. Also, may God grant your mother-in-law quick recovery.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is making my eyes water.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Big hug. I need one too madam.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Big air hugs, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh gosh i am tearing up ... i can't help.. I can feel Tia's sadness especially what she said when the ambulance came

$ 0.10
2 years ago

❤❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good story but gives me a teary eyes today .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, how touching this story that you tell us my beautiful friend, I can't lie to you, this made my eyes get small, I almost cried, because you tell something so beautiful, but sad the end, sad that people like this great man, leave this world, they are unique people, who should be eternal, I know that wherever he is, he is taking care of all of you, with that beautiful smile he used to have.

I hope your mother-in-law is better, much strength and success, you are an incredible woman, my respects to you and your family, greetings.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you my dear friend for the sweet words and well wishes for Mum. It's just hard to cope when the person close to your heart left the world. But surely they will forever in our hearts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got teary-eyed while I was reading madam. I remember the exact scene when my cousin fetched us to go to the hospital because Lolo was already deteriorating. Saying goodbye was heartbreaking. I pray that mum gets better 🥺🙏

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Kaya pala ayaw nyang sumama sa ambulance. Last na pla yun. Di man lang namin nakitang buhay man lang sa ospital. 😭 Tapos nung pasko ng 2019 sabi ni Tia kay nanay, i will have a present for you. I will get lolo in the hospital and take him home for you so you don't cry and you'llbe happy. Iyak kami nyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The innocence Tia has brought to the house is real. 🥺 nakaka drama talaga eh. 💔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also missing my loved one's who passed away only memories left with us and our prayers with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tia, you cutie little angel, lemme hugggg youuu 🥺🤗❤️ She loves her "ba" so much. This one made me cry... "Bring back my Lola, please. You took my Lolo and he never comes back." It breaks my heart . Praying for mum's recovery . ❤️ God bless you!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you BreadChamp. She will recover soon, in Jesus name. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nakakaemotional masyado ate, nung namatay lola ko ang sakit nun lalo na pag sila close mo. diko naabutan yung lolo ko both side kaya sa lola ako lumaki, sending hugs for tia!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ansakit talaga lalo na pag napakabuti sayo. Mamimiss mo lahat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis naiyak naman ako. Ang swerte mo kasi ang babait talaga nila sayo. Di ko pa nararanasan ang mamatayan at isa yan sa mga hindi ko alam ang gagawin ko kapag nangyari yan. Naisip ko nalang, ang magagawa ko lamang ay lubos lubusin na ang pagmamahal ko sa mga magulang ko pero talagang darating din sila sa sitwasyon na yan. Nakakaiyak si Tia, 😭

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Alam mo bye di talaga nya makalimutan Lolo nya hanggang ngayon. Tapos may time pag nasa sasakyan, sasabihin nya are we going to the hospital to see lolo? I alreadybexplain to her that he is dead now but she doesnt believe. He will come home yun lagi nyang sinasabi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Bring back my Lola, please. You took my Lolo and he never comes back."

This leave me in tears 😭😥. I am so sorry for what happened. Naawa ako kay baby Tia :(. This was so emotional.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Sequoia I cried a lot while writing this even after publishing. She really can't forget her Lolo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot naman po ang content mo pero parang niremind ako nito na "pahalagahan at mahalin sila habang nabubuhay pa." Kasi kapag wala na sila di na talaga sila babalik.

Ang saya din siguro nila na nakasama kayo dahil naging mabuti kasyo sa isat isa. Nakaka-sad yung part na nagsalita ang anak mo, siguro mas nalugkot kayo lalo. Hayaan mo, lagi lang sila nasa puso nyo at nandyan lang sila nagbabantay sainyo.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Pero Alam no nung namatay si Tatay never ako natakot sa multo nya siguro wala akong guilt. Kasi ginawa namn ang kaya namn at pagmamahal at alaga walang nagkulang sobra sobra pa. Lagi talagang nasa puso namin sya. Salamat.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear friend, my heartfelt condolences for your loss. Your daughter had the great pleasure of knowing and enjoying her grandfather. My son remembers my dad. He was the only grandfather he ever knew. It has been 10 years since he died and my son does not forget him.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I don't think Tia will ever forget her Lolo and surely your son will too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh Gosh, nakakaiyak naman madam 😢, grabi yan talaga ang masakit ee. Yong darating ang time na may aalis, na may mang iiwan. Di naman natin mapigilan dahil time na nila yon 😢. I just hope, maging maayos na si Mum mo. Tia is waiting too 🙏🙏🙏

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Kanina lang natumba sya wala kami. Buti tumawag si Jigz kasi di nya kayang itayo. Nawawala na yung lakas nya. Hinang hina. Makarecover na sana aya grabi rin iniiyak ko masakit ding makitang ganito si Nanay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt so sad. I felt lonely for Tia. I'm sorry for what happened to your dad sis.. Be brave sis and always pray to God. I'm hoping that you're mum will be fine and I know God will help her...🙏🙏

God bless you sis...🙏

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you sweet and Amen to that. I really pray for her fast recovery. It's hard for us to see her like this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome sis.. be strong sis, trust to God and he will surely there beside to your mum and help her...🙏🙏🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eh naiiyak ako sis. Naaawa ako kay Tia. Sobrang close din kasi ng baby ko sa lola niya. Sana magiging ok na mommy mo para hindi na malungkot si Tia.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Araw araw nya tinatanong how are you, do you feel better? But for Tia she will say yes just for her not to worry. I know she will get better just this is a slow process.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakalungkot naman madam pero masaya pa din kasi puro good memories naman ang iniwan nya

Sad ako para kay Tia kasi nawiwitness nya at tumatatak na sa isip nya ang mga ngyayari, pray for granny Tia and I will include her too in my prayer..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you Adrielle. Totoo tumatatak sa isip nila at di sila nakakalimot. Maliit pa lang si Tia non kala namin makakalimutan din nya pero alam nya pa rin babalik si Lolo nya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh god bless them in heaven.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Feel so sad when reading about this, and my heart feels damp with lot of mist feeling, couldn't feel less for you, i know it must be really hard on you , I pray you will get over it soon. Please stay strong and be the strength of the family moma

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you dear. Thank you for the support! I need it really.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bat nakakaiyak to madam 😭😭 wrong timing tlga pagkawala nya. Or baka hinintay nya muna yung moment na yun bago umalis ng lubusan. . . D ko ata carry to kpg mangyari kela mama 😭😭

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Kasi diba Madam bakit naman pasko pa? Pero talagang naghold on lang talaga sya para sa araw na yun kaya pala pinagigising nya na si Tia. Siguro may nararamdaman na sya. 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

IAM so sorry to hear about about that😪😪 Father always try to give everything when they have nothing in his pockets , even your dad know he is a cancer patients but he would trying to see you happily 😪 I know no one filled this space and no one like Father. IAM praying for your mom hopefully she will be fine

$ 0.10
2 years ago

that's a sad Holiday to have spent. so it's been a few years already 😞 at least you got to meet them and spend as much time as you could with them before he passed. big hug for tia tho cuz she has an ambulance trauma now

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes Hanz, of all day Pasko pa but to think of it he might just hold on till that day that he can see Tia open her gifts. Kaya nga. Kakaawa din kaya pag ganyan sinasabi namin na ang ambulance to treat them make them feel better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww...I don't know why but as I read this and jump to another paragraph...my eyes became teary and ..yeah..there's tears that fall down to my lap..sorry for your loss po and I know that he's watching Tia now as she grow up.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes he surely is. Thank you Leymar!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just read an article that almost made me cry and this just opened the gates. My heart goes out to you and Tia. I just want to hug her. So young to suffer such loss. I am praying for your mum as well. Praying for strength to you all. Hugs!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you ARTicLEE, thank you for the prayers and well wishes. We need that. God bless you. And thank you for the power hugs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

'ba' tia is soo cute, surely misses her lolo so much.. Praying her lola will get better soon

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Nakaka sad naman. Na feel ko rin iyan noong mawala ang mama ko. Pero ganun ang buhay eh. Hiram lamang. Pero dapat tayong mga naiwan ay mag patuloy lamang dahil hindi naman talaga sila tuluyang nawala. Naandito sila sa ating mga puso forever.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

You made my tears flow in my face. I'm crying right now I swear. I'm so sorry for your lost. Thank you for sharing this story on us even though it's hard on your part. Tears flow on me while reading and it will be more painful for your part when you write it.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

That's why I have to wait this morning as I cried so hard last night. It's been 3 years since he left us still it feels like yesterday. Just wishing for Mum's health to be back. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry for your loose madam, everytime I read like this it makes me cry because I also remember my sister died due to severe illness. Stay strong madam, cherish every moments you have together with your family, give support and love to your mother in law so that her health will get better.❤❤

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes, that's what we are doing. It's hard to see her suffering. She will surely recover. She will feel better. She will get back her health. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sad, but at the same time beautiful that your memories from him are full of smiles, laughs, and love. I hope your mothers-in-law get well soon, and she'll stop feeling pain.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you so much dear. And Amen to that. I'm starting to worry but I'm trying to be positive for her. I get too emotional too when things are not right. Thank you for your well wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is how great men are been remember because their works never died after their exits it speaks after them and makes there family miss them. Tia has been a lovely girl right from her childhood lolo and lola loves her, keep up remembrance of the one who set up your husband as a man

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you dear Adereign. Those people remains forever in our hearts. ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was an emotional reading for me, Momma. I tried to picture the images in my head as I read them and your pictures did justice to this also. Wow. He was so full of life and you could tell he was a funny one.

"I am always grieved when men of real talents dies because the world needs them more than death does. I know he voted to die because death doesn't surprise wise people, they are always ready to leave. Sleep after toil, port after stormy sea, ease after war, life after death, does greatly please." I know how hurting it would be after being so close to him to watch him leave.

I wish mama strength too. I hope she is getting better now?

$ 0.10
2 years ago

My dear Olaquare I really pray that Mum gets better. She's losing strength, she just fell on the floor today. Her legs losing power and we don't know what to do. I really need to be strong for her as well. Thank you my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am so sorry, Momma. Please, be strong for her and I am offering my words of prayer for strength as well for her. Tia's words kept coming to me and I know mama would be back home for Tia and everyone. Stay strong, please. 🤗🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"Bring back my Lola, please. You took my Lolo and he never comes back."

I wanted to cry with that statement she made. She really missed Grandpa and she doesn't want to miss her Lola I hope grandma is strong again for her so she won't have to keep missing both of them.

Sorry about your Dad.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you Princess and yes to that! I only want for Mum to feel better now. I want her health back. I want to see her walking about the garden watering the plants.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so sad. I know it must be so hrd writing this one, but ypu managed to. I know ypur amazing dad is happy wherever he is right now. Poor Tia, she must miss her grandparents so much. Keep being strong and always ask God for strength. I hope your mom gets well.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Give me hug for Tia, sis.. I feel sad for you guys most especially to this young sweet lad.. hoping your mum be fine..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you graeden. She will recover soon. I just want her to feel better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago