What Type of Customer Are You?

54 84
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Working in sales means meeting different customers with different personalities. Some are nice, some are just cool and there are some terrible customers too.

Shop assistants should have the skill of dealing with different kinds of customers. Genuine interaction, a smile, and a proper approach are crucial in customer service.

Here are some of the customers that I deal with at my work. See which one are you.

  • The Buyers

One thing I learned working at the carpet shop is if a customer needs it, you don't need to do sales talk. You just have to assist if he/she asks for your opinion or your help.

Usually, they know what they want. They are on a mission to get something. But unlike at our shop, there are too many choices and your job is to help them decide.

It's always a pleasure for me to help and I don't care about rolling 5 rugs if I know that customer is going to buy them.

  • The Browsers/Lookers

We call this back home as window shoppers. They will not buy anything, they just want to look around. And there's nothing wrong with it as we love window shopping especially me.

Some lookers when they see something out of the blue turn out to buy it especially when I add some sales talk.

Some Lookers are like this. There are instances when you just greet them, "Hiya!" or "Good morning." and their initial response is,

"I'm just looking!"

Wrong Answer! ❌❌❌

I just greet you. With all honesty sometimes I just want to say, "I'm just greeting you." Like it's part of my job to greet my customer and try to interact.

Is it hard to just say, "Hello, there!" Or just smile at me? But it's part of my job to deal with every customer so smile and move on.

When this happens I just let them browse and keep looking.

  • The Researchers

These are the customers that are looking for inspiration and ideas. They are the ones who are getting new furniture or planning on redecorating so they're getting ideas of what colour to get that can easily match with. They are not going to buy now but they will likely be your future customer.

I love to be of help and most of the time even though I know that they are not buying yet. It's always my pleasure to show different colours and patterns that they might be interested in. I give them helpful suggestions as well.

  • The Loyal Customers

I've got so many loyal customers. Most of them wave at me every time they pass me at the shop. They are the ones who get rugs more than enough. I have a customer that changes rugs every month. A customer that will get any new big carpets when it's green.

They are the customers that keep coming back and refer you to his/her friends.

  • The Bargain Hunters

Oh, that's me. We love "Sale". And who wouldn't want to save money? At the shop, we always got a Sale section. Most are half the price.

I don't think people are Cheap Charlie when they look for bargains. I think they are the smart ones!

I love customers when they are straight to the point and asked me for cheaper rugs. I know it's getting tough now and rugs are not a necessity so when I saw customers looking for the ones in front which are on sale I always point out that there are more on the other side for the same price.

For example, our 6Γ— 4 carpets are ranging from Β£40 - Β£65 and the ones on Sale are only Β£25 and most of them are really a good bargain!

  • The Moaners

These are the customer that goes into the shop and will start whinging about the price of the rugs and their quality of them.

They are also the ones who will proudly share their latest buy from another shop that is according to her, better than this shop.

And I met a few. And I just say Thank You before they live.

  • The Indecisive

These are the customers that will challenge your patience. These are the ones who say they going to buy something, who needs something and you assist them, roll everything to them, if the heavy ones off the rail and at the end, they will say,

" I can't make up my mind. I'll be back again".

(It's your 2nd time around or maybe 3rd this week, love until now you can't make up your mind.)

"Is it okay if I just take a picture and show it to my husband, see what he thinks?"

(Honey, believe me, your husband will only say, "It's up to you, whatever you think.")

"I'm not sure of the size. I should measure it first."

(After I roll all these 8Γ— 5 rugs that you are sure off, you telling me that you should measure it first? Why you didn't measure it first before coming here?)

Hahaha and no I don't say those. I keep it to myself. Because no matter what I got paid to do my job and this is part of it. Customer is not always right but I always value them. And I understand people. ❀

These are just some of the customers I met at work. Sometimes I have to know when to greet or when to approach. And the best question that I couldn't go wrong is when I give them a big smile and ask them,

"Are you looking for inspiration?"

And from their response, I should know what to do.

So which customer are you?

Thank you for reading.

28
$ 3.18
$ 2.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 17
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Comments

I'm closer to the caregiver group. If I like it, I will be a loyal customer. god help you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am definitely a buyer. I don't go to anywhere without knowing what I want to buy and I hate to bargain too. I just pay and leave. I am also an impulse buyer. I might see something that catches my fancy and I just buy too.

I admire your resilience in dealing with all kinds of customers. You will charm them with your smile and they won't even see your frustration.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i am definitely a buyer cos i will buy. i dont like to put people hope high and then fall their hand, i wont like it at all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I have money, I would be a buyer hahahaha! But honestly, I am any of those.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol, some costumer's are funny and some of them are literally annoying. I've been a sales clerk for almost 2 year's inside the biggest mall in our province. Lots of people come and go everyday and I have encountered different types of shopper's already, and yeah window shoppers are always around. Indecisive costumer's would literally challenge you, perhaps would drain your energy. When I was working in the mall I am selling electric fans, different types and some of them are normally heavy and yet I'll be going to encounter a costumer who likes to try all the electric fan's just to make comparisons and eventually he/she would only say's, okay I'll ask my husband first or my mom first which one she likes 🀦. My God, that's literally annoying 🀣.

However loyal costumer's are still there to save your day, they are our angel πŸ₯°. Oh anyway, mostly I belong to window shoppers. Lol.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Thank you for sharing your experience! I can relate!!! It's good when someone understands what I'm talking about. The patience and of course there are other customers but you choose to serve them and took all your time and in the end they'll not going to buy. All the effort and one are really heavy and all they can say is they'll be back. Though some never did. 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rofl πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ I can tell huh..they are so exhausting lool πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚ πŸ˜‚...and some still bossy whew lol....I would prolly keep quite till they are done

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't really think I can deal with different people every day because I can be cool some days and someday I might not be cool but my work is to always put up a smiling face. You are really doing a great job out there.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Oh my, dear. Can't give my 100% all the time but I always try my best. I'm sure you are good at it too!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha! I think that's the pinoy spirit being bargain hunters, I admit I am one of them, lol!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hihi, madam basta my sale talagang hunter 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

certainly I am the browsers hahaha

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Haha suki tayo Jan bhe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaa apir!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm part of the loyal ones. I'm into buying and selling and I know how it feels to disturb a seller. I don't do that because if someone does it to me, it will hurt me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha the service customer. Never know what your going to get when you start a shift. Reminds me of a box of chocolates.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Oh truly is. Sometimes even if you summon all the positive energy you still attract customers that will challenge your patience. 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not easy to deal with different customers with different personalities. You need a very long patience. As for me, sometimes I am the one who likes to just window shop hehe

$ 0.03
1 year ago

I have the patience but I need sales too lol so wasting my time for 1 who will not buy vs the one who is really gonna buy I need to know which is which.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everyone should work in the service industry to have an idea how hard it is to deal with different kinds of customers every sing day and that hopefully will give them a wake up call to be better customers.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

And one must know if there just gonna waste your time and energy or if you have to move on to the new customer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I belong to the category of a buyer whenever I go to buy anything first try to know the actual price of the product then I will try to convince him to give me that product in its half of the amount but it needs alot of bargaining haha

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Glad everything has a price tag. I will not buy anything unless there's a price tag on it, especially the bargain ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naaliw ako sa article mo madam. Yung moaners ha, ang rude lang. 🀷

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Meron din nyan anlalakas pa ng boses pinaririnig sa iba.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The window shopper 🀣 ako yun .tamang tingin2.mkasi kapag bumili isa..sunod2 na yun..sira.budget baba

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Kaya mahirap mag window shopping andami nating nakikita na nakakasira sa budget madam!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako at first tingin tingin lng din then if nagustuhan at pasok sa budget bili if ndi tamang window shopping na lng.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Hihi ako basta bargain at Alam kong sale talaga go 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe, if may budget ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grave iniimagine ko if keri ko ba yung gantong klaseng patience

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Naku bhe pag walang pasensya mapapasagot ka na lang din. 🀣 Kung sa aten mamumura pa at mapapalayas hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You got a great point of view of market! This is actually what you explained! Worth reading article!

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I belong to that category which go for buying then buy that things at any cost whatever price is low or high

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have all been here and many times, we don't blame these customers especially the indecisive, moaners, lookers etc but in other times, some customers would frustrate the hell out of you but that shouldn't make them leave because of our attitudes.

Sometimes, I don't agree when they say customers are always right. This is because no matter what they do or say, we still have to accept them so we don't scare or push them away.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Doon ako sa bargain huntersπŸ˜†, naghihinayang ako lagi bumili ng mga mamahalin.. Minsan kasi marami naman mas mura pero quality

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I go to buy a product in my village, I try to reduce the price. But I can't reduce the price if I go to buy it outside.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm very bad at negotiations when purchasing products and later I found I could save some bulks. LOL

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha daming nakaka relate nito maam yung nakaka irita na masyado ang costumer pero pinipigilan mo lang dahil trabaho mo ang alalayan sila sa kanilang pag pili pero sa huli wala paring nangyayari yung iba hinahanapan ka ng wala sa display tapos pag meron di naman bibilhin.kaya nga di ako pabor sa logic na "customers are always right".

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have to face every type of customers when we are shop manager or Shopkipper. At carpet shop, I can observe more bargaining customers. I love loyal customers that give you Smile always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm the browser because I love to check first which one is available and best. I will go home and be inspired to work in order to buy that thing. Then on my next visit ill be the buyer. I rarely become the bargain hunters hehe because I'm too shy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Windoe shipper lang ako momsh, haha. But I don't do it often. Di kasi ako masyado nakak punta sa mga malls, and good thing may shopee, browse browse lang ako pag nag window shopping, kung mahal yung shipping fee ay next time nalang.

I appreciate your kindness and patience sa mga customers mo sis, I hope you'll sell much more than your qouta every month. Heheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh yeah I can relate thoroughly with number 1 the buyers....don't tell me otherwise haha πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜†πŸ˜† Because I know what I am looking for and once I set my eyes on it I am paying asap.

Number 3 the researchers...I am included...lool πŸ˜‚....I think when I have a something in mind but I am in total confusion so I make research about it and if it's good I am paying asap.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba iba talaga yung mga buyers. Yung ayaw ko yung magsasalita ng di maganda. Yung ikukumpara yung binili from other shops.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahmm, I am the buyer but most of the time, the lookers lang po. Hahaha. Gusto ko lang busugin yung mata ko and then pag may napusuan tsaka bibilhin haha. Nakakaloka po talaga yung mga customers na pinagawa na lahat lahat tapos hindi naman pala bibili. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I belong to the category of buyers. If I have to buy something, I will must buy it, and will also get the help of the buyer.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

That's very good to know. Some won't go to the shop unless they want to buy something. You're a very good customer. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Being on sales really challenge your patience and it will always test your patience. I think I am a loyal customer, because I only have one store to buy every week.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Good for you bhe! Ako bsta may nakitang sale pinapasok ko 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa mga nabanggit mo po, nangibabaw yung "The Browser/Lookers" sa'kin. May mga times talaga na hanggang tingin lang ako lalo na kung alam ko'ng hindi kaya ng budget. Hehe. Pero pag meron naman, bumibili. Tas tinitingnan ko talaga yung quality nung product kung akma din ba siya sa price niya. May iba kasi na ang mahal tas hindi naman kagandahan yung quality.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Totoo yan lalo na ngayon ang mahal na ng mga bilihin kaya tingin tingin muna at mumuni munihin kung dapat bang bilhin at hindi lang impulse buy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Choose wisely, spend wisely na din po talaga, kasi ang hirap kitain nang pera ngayon. Lalo na ako, walang stable na trabaho..

$ 0.00
1 year ago