My Unforgettable Flying Experience

65 133
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Flying is an exciting adventure that turns out to be a nightmare when things go wrong. That sleepless night before the flight, the anxiety of thinking if you have everything you needed, those butterflies in your stomach are for real.

When you are well prepared, you did some research and reading then you don't have to worry much but when it's your first time, you can't just be sure.

I have so many unforgettable experiences when it comes to flying. I fly with my daughter since she was 7 months and I travelled internationally before that. I've flown many times now. Some of the countries I've been to from the Philippines are Thailand, South Korea, United Kingdom, Morocco and the last one was Turkey.

When we landed at Incheon Airport and felt the freezing temperature, I thought to myself "I want to go back home! I'm going to freeze to death here in South Korea and I will not make it to see an Oppa." Hahaha.

Aside from the long queues in the immigration, another passenger's bare feet up on my armrest, I'm beside someone who snores like a rhino, a girl's long hair hanging on my television screen ( I swear I want to get a scissor at that time) and you have a 7-month-old baby to entertain to make it to your destination are some of the things I have to deal with.

These are my unforgettable experiences:

Tia's first time on the plane

Tia will gonna meet her Granny and Granda for the first time in Northern Ireland. She was only 7 months at that time. The security checks for a start was a struggle. Imagine, I have to take off my carrier, my jacket and shoes while holding my daughter. And because I have to bring milk and bottles I have to take out everything from the bag and they have to check all 4 bottles while I have to wait while carrying her standing on queues. It wasn't easy let me tell you.

Onboard

I prepared an earplug and I gave her Calpol to help her deal with ears popping during the flight. And she cried hysterically upon taking off but settled afterwards.

They have bassinets and the flight attendant was kind enough to help me set it up. She's used to a cradle so I had a hard time putting her to sleep on this. She only sleeps for good 30 minutes and she woke up. She will only sleep in my arms.

It's a struggle to go to use the toilet while carrying her and changing her nappy as she won't lay down on the changing table. I don't know how I manage to change her at that time. After 9 hours we reached Abu Dhabi Airport. I was already rejoicing coz this would be the last flight then my husband will pick us up at Dublin Airport, then just two hours drive to get home. I just want to sleep.

I don't have Irish Visa

As soon as we landed in Abu Dhabi, I'm at ease. And just waiting for my next flight to Dublin, sitting pretty while carrying my baby while we're waiting to board. Then there's this beautiful attendant started checking passengers passport and boarding pass. I gave her a big smile because she looks like an angel. I gave her our passports.

But the next thing she said, caught me off guard. "Can I see you and your baby's Irish Visa?" And I was like what Irish Visa? We only have UK Visa. We are going to Northern Ireland. And I thought she's asking me nonsense. But that's after her explanation, and some googling, the realization kicks in. I'm flying to Dublin, and Dublin is in the Republic of Ireland. Northern Ireland is under the UK. I need Irish Visa if my last destination in Dublin.

So what do I need to do? She wants me to book a flight right away. She will let me board the flight if I can book a flight from Dublin to any UK airport. And I tried but it's not working. I phoned my husband to let him know what I'm dealing with. He tried as well but still cannot book a flight, the payment won't go through.

I was shocked in disbelief at what's happening. We were offloaded even before we board the plane. I wasn't able to book a flight from Dublin to any part of the UK. My husband was so worried because he knows how exhausted I am. We have to wait in the airport for 8 hours until my husband sorts it out and was able to book a flight from Abu Dhabi to London Heathrow to Belfast City.

I can tell you my arms are numb, my back was giving up as I was carrying Tia in my arms. I can lay her flat on the airport seats for a short time but she won't lay down for too long.

Abu Dhabi to London Heathrow

Finally, we are flying to the UK after 8 hours of waiting. I thought we passed the worst. It was nighttime as soon as the plane switch off the light so passengers can sleep, Tia cried nonstop. I received dirty looks and heard passengers complaining. I apologize but surely I pity myself too. I want to sleep as well. Tia must feel bad, there's something wrong with her. Maybe her ears or her head was sore like mommy.

When we landed at Heathrow and board the last plane to Belfast I was so relieved. And seeing that view down below feels so good. At last!

I forgot my bag at the Airport's Toilet

Another one that I will never forget when we fly again from the Philippines to Northern Ireland. I think it was from Abu Dhabi to Manchester. At Abu Dhabi, while waiting for our next flight, I change Tia's nappy and I use the toilet as well.

So after changing Tia and relieving myself I check the scheduled board and headed to the boarding gate flashing on the screen. We're just sitting and Tia was playing when I noticed that my shoulder bag was missing. My heart drop. My passport, wallet, boarding pass, everything was there!

I only use the toilet. But which toilet will I check?! I can't remember which one we went to. I carried Tia and run and check every toilet and luckily found my bag on the second toilet that I went to. I forgot it in the baby's changing cubicle. Luckily no one uses it after me.

And I was on time for boarding. Luckily! Phew!

Turbulence

This is a funny one as I hate turbulence. Tia eventually gets used to flying. There's this flight going to Hongkong that the turbulence was really bad. I was holding on to my armrest firmly while praying. Tia at that time already got her own seat. I was shaking inside, I'm so nervous. I thought the plane will crash.

And here comes Tia smiling just staring outside looking at the window as if nothing is happening. She's perfectly fine while I feel like dying already. 🀣

We're late!

Have you ever experienced being late on your connecting flight? And I'm so worried that we will miss our flight because another airline was delayed! I kept asking the attendant and we were told that the next flight will be waiting for us. But didn't satisfy me.

And you know the aisles, the boarding gates I think we run from Gate 6 to 61! I ask Tia, "Please Tia we have to play, you have to beat Mommy in running!" And it feels like we join the marathon for how long we have to run just to make it on time. We're the last ones to complete the boarding. At that time, I felt like we can compete in the next Olympics.

And there you go that's my unforgettable flying experience! I'm just happy that now Tia is used to flying and I don't really bother much. No more carrying in my arms, no more sitting in my lap, no more crying on the plane. All is well as long as she got some snacks and things to play with.

What's your unforgettable flying experience?

Thank you for reading.

31
$ 11.09
$ 10.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.10 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

Wla pa nman po ako sis na experience of flying siguro sa bus po hehe sobrang mahaba po kung idedetalye ko dito siguro ggawa din poko ng article about dito hehe take care always po...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehee, You had traveled to almost all the favorite places. Btw, I didn't get experience of flying yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tia's is so pretty and adorable😍😍 I've never experienced pa talaga makasakay sa eroplano pero by just witnessing it from your photos I think it is a must try bwahaha yet I do have fear of heightsπŸ˜…

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ako rin naman non afraid of heights pero pag natry mo na sa una wala na okay na. 😁 Kailangan mo lang talagang itry muna at namnamin. Iaappreciate si ulap 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tia has travel experiences and I have zero πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£. I must make up for it soon hahaha... Blackpool...here I come...

What an experience you shared here, momma. I can imagine how frustrating that experience would be with the Irish passport. Tia was obviously exhausted and sore which was why she was crying.

And the bag at the toilet part πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£ glad you found it at least.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes, that bag I will not forget. That's why since then I didn't bring two bags. I usually have 1 backpack and bag for the documents. Now just 1 hand carry that has everything. 🀣

Common, Blackpool is waiting for you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha I think that's smart, momma. Better that way than to be searching afterwards.

I am ready for Blackpool too πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°. Thank you, momma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tia is so cute, this was a bitter sweet experience and I really laughed hard she was showing off....I would the same too ☺☺...

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hahaha, Until now I'm not used to turbulence but Tia seems enjoying it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wasn't it so stressful to travel with a 7month old baby Sis you really tried eh though I haven't entered plane before but soon I will that's my believe Tia is so cute when she was a baby and now she's a big madam that loves to snap because she now look more beautiful

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you Esthery, time flies. She's a big girl now and I'm not bothered now when we fly. She loves the plane.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I can see that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't travel out of my country before and I really wish to fly all around the country

Tia is really beautiful even when she was a baby

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you Grace. And yes you will fly around the world and every country you wish to. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen sis that's my prayer too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap nun bigla kayo hinanapan ng Irish Visa momshie. Tapos wait ng 8 long hours. Tayong mga adult kakaya nin natin yun pero ang mga babies. No wonder grabe ang iyak ni Tia nun nakasakay na kayo..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Grabe yung una momshie madadala ka talagang bumyahe. Saka sobrang sakit sa katawan. 😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga eh, I can feel tour agony at that time kahit nagbabasa lang ako.. And I'm sure, super worried din si husband mo that time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe.. Ang brave naman ni Baby Tia mo Ma'am. Haha. Yung ikaw na nerbyos na nerbyos na tas siya chillax lang.. Ang cute. Kung ako din siguro, mahihimatay sa kaba. Pero, never pa ako nakasakay nang plane. Aguyy.. Ang tanda ko na, pero di pa naka-experience..Haha..

More fun time with your baby Tia Ma'am. God bless you.. Ingat po kayo sa mga susunod na flying adventures niyo..πŸ˜‡β£οΈ

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ay talaga Ren, young nerbyos ko nangunginig pa laman ko kasi sobrang uga! Tha k you hopefully next time makauwi na kami sa Pinas

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nawa'y maging safe yung pag-uwi niyo soon Ma'am. Wag na muna sa ngayon kasi nga may pandemia pa. hehe <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand the difficulties you face for not having an Irish visa,and the trial of long 8 hours must be frustrating but Thank God finally the problem was solved and luckily no one used the toilet after you,So you found your bag save there.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I'm just happy now that Tia get used to flying and is always excited if we're travelling by plane. Those were the days now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I read a lot of international travel stories but yet I don't travel by Aeroplane. In your last topic you told about you are facing difficulties in visa. You travel so many countries now I invite you to travel Pakistan specially our northern areas , hopefully you will said " I have never seen such type of beauty in the whole world 🌎"

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ahh, that's sound beautiful already. Can you name a place in the Northern areas that is really worth visiting? I'm intrigued.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naran kagan, murree, Gilgit etc

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So adorable little Tia. That was fun but at at the same time exhausting experience. Imagine 8 hours of waiting with a 7month old baby with you. That was tiring indeed. But it's worth since grandma and grandpa are excited to see their apo and Daddy is more than happy too.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Oh yes! The long flight is worth it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha πŸ˜‚ look at little Tia. I have no flying experience, but I hope one day I'll have one story to tell

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Let's cheers to that! Very soon dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never flew before but I'm afraid to do so because I'm scared of height πŸ˜… your experiences are exciting and also stressful, especially the part about the turbulence

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Oh until now turbulence scares me to death. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe ang daming pinagdaanan ninyo ni Tia sa flight. Luckily your a brave momma na di basta basta sumusuko, ang lakas ng fighting spirit. Diko siguro kakayanin ang lahat ng yon kung sakin nangyari phew!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Pero talagang nadala all nung una ayaw ko na ulit magfly kundi lang talagang kailangang bumalik sa work non. Nakakadala na sulit naman din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your such a great and brave talaga kasi di kaya yon ng mahihina ang loob, tapos mawalan pa ng bag, My God magpapanic n siguro ako non, ang cute cute ni Tia nong natutulog xa πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so brave ma'am. Tia is so cute πŸ₯° Naalala ko tuloy nung flight ko din mag isa nagkaproblema din.. ☺️ Ingat ka always ma'am..πŸ™

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you Ramona. Nakakastress kasi minsan kahit gaano ka kaprepared may mishap pa rin. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have read lots of flights stories and this is unique, as funny as it was to me read it, I can feel the stress you went through.

I haven't flown yet and I hope I achieve that someday in life, it would be a spectacular experience for me because I am scared of height.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

The first flight I've been I nearly peed myself 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Are you serious? Honestly, I know I will be scared so I wouldn't try to sit by the window but the view is always amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow this was really an unforgettable experience, I wish Tia could understand what was happening at that point she won't have disturbed you. Visa policy are truly challenging and frustrating at times a but need to adhere strictly to save stress and embarrassment at airport.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap po talaga lagi kapag first time, kahit naman ako madam kapag sasakay ng eroplano siguradong malilito at kakabahan din ako, lalo na kase di familiar yung place. Buti na lang po at nakasurvive kayo sa lahat ng yun, bilib na ako sayo madam, alam ko na hirap na hirap kayo patahanin si Tia nung umiiyak siya sa plane sabay tumitingin sayo mga tao.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tia cutieeee! Hihi. I experienced flying once only and I forgot the feeling, all I could remember was I entered the plane, then I fell sleep and woke up hahaha. Grabe yung pinagdaanan mo ate, ang brave mo po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe madam hirap tlga nun. Ayoko tlga ng connecting flights tas yung my lay over... Pro worse experienceko nung pauwi akl nf pinas from HK.. Muntikan na ako malate. Ako nlng nag iisanf hinihintay nla 🀣🀣 early ako pumunta airport. Pri late pumasok after mag check in. kc akala ko ay wala ng iba gagawin pa. At akala ko ay nsa kabila lng mga planes. Jusmi.. Dami pa pla gagawin nung last hours na. At need pa sumakay ng train papunta sa kung saan ang departure area 🀣🀣.. Nkakahiya tlga yun. Takbo ako ng takbo kc ilang minuto nlng..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ayan isa pa yang train na yan sa manchester bus ay kakakaiyak takbo ka talaga haha naimagine tuloy kita. 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobrang hirap talaga magtravel pag may baby. Marami kang dadalhin. Halos lahat ng yun ay para kay baby.😁 At pinakaworst ay yung mag-iiyak ang baby mo.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Oo tapos nakakahiya as bang pasaherong gustong magpahinga at ikaw na nanay gusto mo ring magpahinga. Sobrang hirap pag long flight.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aigooo. All the hardships you had to go through for that travel. Mahirao lalo og nay baby ano? Pero worth it naman kasi nameet ang knyang grandparents. πŸ˜„ Ito yata ang rason bakit "Tired momma" ang username mo. Just kidding. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha exactly last year kagagaling lang nmin ng Turkey sobrang pagod ko kaya ginamit ko ng username 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May tinama naman pala ako. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap pala pumunta sa Ireland from Philippines. You're so brave madam ❀️ tas ang ganda mo po at cute ni tiaπŸ˜πŸ’

$ 0.10
2 years ago

More than 24 hours yung una nming punt kakaiyak. πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naiimaginr ko yung pagod mo ate momma 🀧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti madam malakas din loob ni Tia at kahit ikaw ay takot sya ay super relax at nag-eenjoy hehe.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha kaya nga nanginginig na ako sa takot sya relax lang. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So far all my flight everytime I had my vacation in my province went smooth and I don't encounter any problem. I just don't want it when the airplane will going up and my ears will aching. They said I should chew a gum which I did and it work :)

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Ah that's what I keep doing and I give Tia her bottle when she was wee so she can keep swallowing. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh my.. grabe ung experiences mommy.. i now know the story behind your username hehe

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Mula 7 months kasi is Tia every six months kailangan naming bumyahe pinas to uk. Tapos laging kami lang dalawa kaya sobrang hirap wala ka man lang kapalitan pag pagod ka na more than 24 hrs flight pa naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i understand ung struggle nyan momsh... ngayun I believe pro na si tia when it comes to traveling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cute ni Tia madam. Yung turnulence talaga. Nakakatkot. Buti naman t naging kalmado lng πŸ˜…

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Grabe yung s Hongkong na yun tapos ang tagal tagal pa nya parang wala ng katapusan long flight pa man din. Yun lang talaga din nakakatakot pag magplane ka. Ikaw ba sanay na?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once palang ako nakasakay ng plane eh. CDeO to Cebu. 30 mins flight lng. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot po talaga kapag may aberya sa flight mo....

Btw Ang kyot ni TIA she's so little paaaa....

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha, naku nung maliit yan napakaiyakin talagang atungal! 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago