Kind Words Cost Nothing

82 112
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

You will never know how a few nice words can change someone's entire day. It can be short and easy to say as long as it is true and kind, its power is endless. How our genuine smile can brighten up someone's day and our laughs can infect others. With our actions and words, we can speak blessings over our future.

I'm working in a carpet shop. You will never know who will come into the door. Sometimes, I am torn between letting them have a look in peace or approaching them in case they need my help. And I can tell you it was never easy to have the right move because sometimes as soon as I approach them they are ready to leave so it's just safe to observe and good timing is a must. There are difficult customers and there are customers who look so grumpy. And I have a goal in the shop, I want customers to leave the shop with a smile on their faces.

A customer will ask if they need assistance and if they are only there to have a look they don't want to be approached. If they say, "It's okay I'm only having a look." I will tell them that there's plenty for inspiration and show them the sizes and different patterns and encourage them to take pictures so it can help them to choose when they need one. I always try to connect and build a rapport. I say words to make them smile and laugh. And I'm very good at that. It doesn't matter if they don't buy, what matters is they remember my service.

Today at work, I felt extra special. I wasn't well because of my blocked nose and throat but just like any other day I put my best face to customers and deal everyone with a smile. My first customer this morning was a familiar face of an old man carrying a rug with him. He asked if he can change the rug to a bigger size and he is just going to pay the difference. And so I told him, not a problem and that I'm happy to help and he told me,

"You are always happy. The last time I was here with my wife you helped us and you are very nice."

He was smiling and I laugh. I thank him for the compliment and told him, "Because if I'm happy, I can make you smile and it feels so good if you start smiling and laughing too. And surely you will not be back if I'm frowning." He thank me after and left the shop with a smile. Again.

Most of the customers today told me,

"You are very pleasant."

"You are such a nice girl."

And a group of friends who bought 4 rugs I heard them talking before leaving the door saying, "She's very nice."

And it feels so good. And those words fuel me to be the best at what I'm doing. Because I feel I'm being appreciated. Is it important? Yes. I will give you an example. Imagine you are working hard being a full-time housewife and you are doing everything. You are exhausted. Tired beyond words. You clean, cook, look after your kids and your husbands do not even see it. He will not say thank you or give you a compliment for your accomplishment. How would you feel?

But if your husband appreciates you and tells you, "The house is very clean. You cook a lovely dinner. You look beautiful, darling. I love you and thank you I know you work hard today." How do those words feel? Those words can erase all the tiredness and tears. That will be me, doing more because I'm appreciated. Because it feels good to be appreciated.

There's a man today taking pictures of the rugs asking for my help. He is not going to buy today but having a look at what's his option to show to his wife. And I help him and he started to show me the picture of their living room and showed me different paintings mostly Japanese inspired and he told me he painted all that and we are laughing and he is such a great artist. It felt like we are good friends at that moment. He said he will be back and thanked me for my time helping him. Most of my customers about 75% of them are old people and they are the sweetest! For me, there's no such thing as "I'm wasting my time for they're not going to buy." It's not just about sales. Customer service is beyond that.

And this one, I will never forget. I was busy assisting a few customers at the counter and some are patiently waiting. The time consuming is rolling the rugs and securing them with tape because some are massive and very challenging to wrap so I can just take my time and assist them on a first come first serve basis. They are very nice too and wait for their turn. While rolling a big rug I look at a Mom and daughter in front of me waiting for their turn while they're carrying the rug. My eyes went straight to the girl's hair as it's so beautiful. And I told her with a smile, "Your hair is gorgeous!"

She's in her 20's I say. She was a bit shy and smiles and say "thank you." And when it's their turn she told me,

"I just finished my chemotherapy last week and this is just a wig."

Needless to say, she lost her real hair. Her Mum said, she's conscious of her wig. But I told her, "It doesn't look like a wig, it's gorgeous and suits you." And that's true. I didn't say it just to say something nice out of the blue. I congratulate her for getting done with chemotherapy and told her she's awesome. Ah, she was teary-eyed and say thank you again. Before she left she said,

"You made my day."

And she made mine.

For me, those words I say, are just a normal thing. If I see things I love, I compliment. I love to appreciate things and other people and let them know. But we never know that those words can have a big impact on others. Nice and kind words fill up a person with positivity. You give them a boost with those few words. It makes up their day and sometimes it changes their life. We never know what others going through.

Words are powerful, use them wisely. Be gracious and kind to others, in your words and action. It feels good. Trust me.

Thank you for reading.

It feels so good to write again. I missed you all. And thank you for your patience in my absence. I'm positive that you are doing well! A big fat hug from @tired_momma

43
$ 17.35
$ 15.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.15 from @HappyBoy
+ 35
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

Beautiful write up as always. Sometimes seeing people happy always makes me happy also even though I don't know the reason why they are happy. We all have every reason to be kind always. It always bothers me when I see people vent out their anger on others who simply had no idea on why they are upset. It doesn't make sense at all and it of course doesnt makes them feel better, instead it causes more damage

$ 0.00
2 years ago

tired momma, you are right ..I follow your noisecash posts 6 months ago and love your angel Tia.. you are a real BCH enthusiast ..hungry for your bch news cheers stay safe darling

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya pala hindi ko nakikita yung pangalan mo sa notifs ko Ma'am.. Hmm.. Anyways, glad to know na kahit may iniinda ka po, pinairal niyo parin pagiging mabait niyo..❤️☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw you're so sweet and kind sis kahit may iniindang sakit sa katawan. Glad to see you back!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It that just simple words of appreciation can change anyone's mode as long as it is sincere. I missed you momma this was your latest post. Happy to chatted with you momma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

momma it has been a while I read from you and I really missed it, hope you are doing well. words are like spirits which when spoken goes into the heart either to destroy or to heal, so just like you we are meant to always be so kind to all no matter what, thanks for this momma, you are amazing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First, you have no idea how much it means to me to read your post tonight, momma. It has been a while and I missed you.

You have always been pleasant, you have always been nice and kind. A gold fish cannot hide for long and that's why you spread the fragrance of your goodness everywhere you go. You are one of the most down to earth and kind people I know. You are loved everywhere so you can make it anywhere.

Thank you for making they young lady's day. You gave her the strength to keep fighting and keep pushing because now she would feel good with herself and know that your compliment was heartfelt. God bless your heart, momma. You've been amazing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

❤❤❤ I can't give you more hearts. And I missed you loads!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I missed you so much, momma. ❤️❤️❤️🥰😍😘😘😘😘🥰😍🥰😍🤗🤗🤗🤗🤗💋💋🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakaproud ka naman sis...Sana lahat ng nag assist ng costumer katulad mo po...heheh...good job po sayo and sa wakas naka published ka ulit sis ng articles..heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana lahat talaga kagaya mo sis ,yung iba kasi maganda yung service ,like what happen to me last week ,bumili sa isang department store dito sa amin ,nagtatanong ako ng sizes ng tsinelas ,hindi ako pinansin😅at bumili din ako ng christmas light ,ako nalang talaga ang nag adjust kasi yung mukha ng saleslady talaga ewan ,para naiirita sa hinahanap kung kulay😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Naku Chelle, ako din naganyan na ultimo tingnan ka mula ulo hanggang paa na para kang walang pambili. Diba, nakakasama sa loob? Saka diba di mo na gugustuhing bumalik ulit? Tayo na lang talaga mag aadjust pero bhe ako, leave na lang. Bibili ka naman you deserve to be treated right man lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww🤗 so good to have you back momma because I have missed you so much And the most important thing is how good your customer remember you and sure you are such a darling bat work and I can see all the beautiful comment

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Glad to see you Esthery and you changed your profile pic! Missed you lots. I'll make sure to check on you darling.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I changed it to my real picture

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with what you have written. A smile changes everything. And a kind word goes a long way. I didn't lose my hair completely when I was exposed to my chemo. I just lost a lot of hair on the front of my face. But I didn't wear a wig because I didn't feel bad about my strong hairless receding hairline. I wish I would have met someone like you so you could have given me your best smile.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Gertu, you are one of very nice and kind person that I encounter here in Gertu. You always have the positivity in you and I admire that. Big smile my dear!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yupiiiii thanks for your big smile. God bless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

bat ako ang naiiyak dito...you are really kind momma ...I can justify that with the way you raised you children ,,kudos to you for making your costumers smile and you making their day is much more than the salary you'll receive

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Mommy Kim, siguro sa dami ko ring hirap na pinagdaanan mas naappreciate ko makipagkapwa tao kesa pera. Money follows.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so inlove with the words you shared my friend. I hope people will be able to instill these thoughts in their minds. I appreciate people who have this mindset.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for your kind words, love. Xx

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I super love this 🤗. You both made each other's day po. Iba talaga yung customer service na naibibigay ng mga Pinoy hihi. You are right po, we should learn na mag appreciate ng mga tao sa paligid natin. It's maybe just a simple word for us, but it can be a great one for them.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I forgot to mention, when theyre asking kung taga saan ako and I tell them Philippines, they always say, Filipinos are really good workers. Nakakataba ng puso bhe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are doing so great momma. Your kind act spreads even to your place of work. A kind word can go a long way in helping people.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Should I change my username now to HappyMomma? :D Missed you dear!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That would be nice😂. I miss you too... say hi to Dad and the kids. Oh! Yes-and grandma too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The secret of communication and relationships are kind words! Let's utilize it to the fullest

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes to that!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Momshie, while reading this, I feel so proud of you. Binabandera mo ang pagkapilioino natin and ang pagiging hospitable natin sa bansang yan. Teary eyed din ako dun sa nakawig, you really made her day.. Continue with what your good at doing momshie! You are always kind naman talaga..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oo Momshie kapag tinantanong nila ako kung taga saan ako and when I tell them Philippines lagi nilang sinasabi that Filipinos are great workers. Nakakataba ng puso. Natouch talaga ako di ko naman din akalain na wig yon ang ganda ganda talaga kasi curly na brown, at naboost yung confidence nya ulit! Apir tayo Momshie, ganyan tayong mga Pinoy kahit saan magiiwan ng tatak.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Apir momshie! ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are an excellent person. The customer visiting there getting to know but we know it before. We all have faces but how many of us contain smiling faces? Haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha, darling if I'm not smiling and not talking, there's something wrong. HAhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

awesome sis! you are such a great example! i wish everyone's like you! keep making everybody's day bright !

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If I make them smile, I keep myself happy. :) Miss you sis. Buti na lang nagkikita tayo sa noise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so good

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mwjo na cry cry naman ako sa last part dun kay girl. And yeah, a simple words can really brighten up everyone's day. I'm really not good with that kasi shy talaga ako pero sayo natural na yalaga ano. Wish i have that too 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiling alone without any words goes a long way in the life of everyone, it melts the heart and makes it so lovely. Saying thank you will now crown the smile made. I am very sure you will be the one making more customers to come because you are just too sweet to attend to them . so might not even want to buy but will like to visit and say hi to you in particular.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is great, you have a great mind to leave a mark of kindness on your customers it great that might even come back because of your kindness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I missed your articles here and I understand you are always busy especially with your offline job.

Sincerely, there are some people who do not have customer's service to people. They frown their faces always and it leaves you in shock to see how they behave.

I really admire those people complimenting you that "she's very nice"

Truthfully, it would also make my day too. I use to smile at People including strangers at least to feel my positivity always.

I also do compliment people not for just sake but to make them smile and be happy.

There are those who needs to hear such words and feel better. We never can know the good we are doing to people until we hear it from them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is very touching, the stories you told, the scenarios you experience while you're on your work. I specially love the part about when you told someone about her hair and it turns out that she is battling something. Surely your genuine appreciation to her hair make her heart happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was so nice of you. Yep being a litttle more nicer to someone can make a big difference. So let's just continue to spread kindness and make this world a little better each day. Stay nice and loving momma!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly I have missed you momma… I was really waiting for some lovely pictures of the family and our little friend too.. It goes a long way to say just few words we may not see the impact now but that person held onto it and has given him or her a reason to live…

God bless you for those words that touched that ladies heart… I love to have you back and take care ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I totally agree with you,words can have wonderful impact on others, actually words are our true power. I am glad to know the way you handle all your customers and the way they come to appreciate you, for your generosity. Believe me there is a no lie in this statement, you are such a nice and cute girl. By the way good to see you here after a long time,and really missed your outings with family.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung Sa Pinas, not sure parang walang Makaka appreciate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God, you're active again momma. I've been waiting for updates from you hehe. We missed you po💗

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Missed you too ganda!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kindness really makes a difference madam. You did well ❤ When I was still in the call center industry, we are told to smile while talking because we sound nicer and approachable if we do. Even if they can't see the smile on our faces but surely, they can feel the light mood.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha, Jeaneth naku kahit yung tatawag lang ako para magcomplain sa customer service nakangiti pa rin ako sa telepono tawang tawa asawa ko ako lang daw ang nagkocomplain na nakangiti pa rin. HAhaha. :D And totoo when you smile over the phone kahit di nila nakikita they surely feel it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diba? Smile translates it even through phone talaga. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your story madam😘kahit reader ka lng mafefeel mo ung impact sayo..

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Adrielle!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And this made my day momma.. Indeed. Nkakagaan namn tlg ang loob kog beautiful words and sabihin syo.. It only shows that you are beautiful inside and out momma 😁...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ay kasarap naman kung galing sayo madam! Xx

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are amazing and you will always be amazing - fact " 👏 👏

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You know PVM I havent heard or see you talk bad of others and it just shows how cool and awesome you are. You just choose your words and choose peace. That's also a fact.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When others are spreading hate... be a beacon of kindness ✨

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's no easy task to work in a shop because there are lot of customers entering in it looking for something, going to buy or just sight seeing. And I admire your dedication to your job. Smiling to everyone will spread positivity and I know you're doing great because of the compliments you are taking from your customers. That last part, I didn't expect that one the she's just wearing a wig. But you made her day as she said. Nice work madamm

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you Lazysnail. Oh I deal with different customers most of them are so nice and some are challenging but always happy to help. :) Thank you for the appreciation dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's being a long break of you. Almost three or four week has passed . We really miss you so much.
And not only our words but also our physical acts, thoughts, everything matters a lot.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Everything matters love, only I'm sharing this because that is what happens today. If I discuss all of that physical, thoughts, one article is not enough. Glad to see you again. And I know, it's been a while and I'm happy I can write again. Cheers

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wanna see more post of you. Especially your daily life posts.
I hope Tia and Jigz also doing good. May god bless you and your family 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You get used to your job and you adapt to it, and you get the impression that you are quite successful.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Darling, I'm just so happy and enjoying my job. Meeting different people and I always get extra pay as well. So I'm grateful for it. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saying a nice word and appreciating people really goes a long way, and it shows the kind of person we are

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes.. kind words go a long way even without the giver knowing it .. like yesterday on noise I was feeling a bit down about my read cash earnings and then someone on noise cash told me how good he felt I was and how I have inspired him over time … it was the best for me I started smiling like a child 😂😂😂

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww, see?! I'm happy for you. Keep inspiring others dear. 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ma

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You article also made me feel better, I had this challenge with my new boss he want me to always be harsh on our work, which isn't my style, every morning I great them and ask questions how was your night, hope you slept well. He had to call me and warn me not to be concern about there night and doing that they can build on it not delivered effectively.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Your boss needs some light. He must not know customer service needs to build a rapport. If it's not doing any harm why he did not just let you be. Do what you do the best dear. Teach your boss how to do it right. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Beautiful words also open the iron door. It’s a saying in my language, that’s true. I like to hear nice words, I try to use them too 😊

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And it just makes our world a better place and our life, lighter. Cheers, Musician.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Words are really powerful and could change everything. We must choose our words carefully every day, in every situation if we want to be happy. You are very kind person. I enjoyed reading.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

And isn't it good that we have a choice? It's not easy to filter every word but learning when to zip our mouth when we have nothing good to say takes a lot of courage. Thank you, dear, I remember you as you always say good things as well. Thank you again for your nice words my lovely.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you're right. It is very good that we have a choice and because of that we must be careful when we choose our words. You're welcome.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all sis gaya mo. Ksi kdlsan dinededma pa mga customers tpos pahirapan pa mkipag usap. Sana gnyan din sa pinas. Sino ba nmn ang hindi mapapa thank you sayo, na guide mo sila kahit hindi nmn bumili plus bunos pa ang smile. Good job!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Jean, experience ko rin naman yan. Kahit nga tingnan ako mula ulo hanggang paa na para bang sinasabing "may pera ka ba" pero siguro kasi I know how it feels then I know not to do it. Sales are not for everyone who doesn't want to serve customers. Mahirap yung magtrabaho lang para sa pera.

Salamat, bhe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes natry na ntin yan na kulang na lng sabihan kang ang poor mo hahaha.. Nagwork din ako dati as saleslady sa big store dito sa amin at nasa infant section ako. Aba mga buntis ang tataray hahaha, sabi ko 1st come 1st serve at isa lng katawan ko. Ang gaisano capital dito sa amin puro paganda mga saleslady kaya sbi ko wala bang pwede matanungan dito? Nagsitaguan ang mga lecheflan hahaha...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes,you are always positive and we can feel your energy. I imagine you just with smile even when you are tired.So I suppose your customers are happy having you .Keep smiling,it will open many doors.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's true and I always believe in that. There are many doors of opportunity and many ways to open them, one is to be positive and have a grateful heart. Thank you, dear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Appreciation word ca make someone feel love and appreciate and their is someone out there who need it to have confident.

$ 0.05
2 years ago