Bonfires and Parades

35 77
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

It's that time of year again. Remember all my posts last year about bonfires and bands? Yes, it's The Eleventh and Twelfth of July and that's the occasion which we are celebrated here in Northern Ireland. Time flies and here I am again showing some towering bonfires in flames and men's on their kilts while playing the bagpipes.

Let's start with the bonfires. It's normally made up of wood pallets. They stop putting tires, still have some but not as much.

Then on the Eleventh Night, this massive bonfire was lit to its glory and goodness gracious it can cook you if you get near.

Everyone is gathered to see the bonfire. Most have drinks in their hand. Have set up chairs and tables outside their homes near the bonfire. Eating and drinking with families and friends. The kids love it!

The flames are raging and I got scared when it started falling to the banks and burning the grass. Thankfully the firefighters were there just in case some things like this happen.

Look at these flames! You can dry your clothes or grilled some meat. If it's not well done, surely it will be cremated!

So we went to three different towns to see their bonfires. They are all massive and getting near even if you are far felt like you are being roasted.

Here's us enjoying the heat from afar.

The last bonfire that we went to see is in our town of Comber. A big crowd gathered to see the bonfire being lit and now watch it collapse.

Lol, the cheer of the people. I can still hear it.

And that's the Eleventh. Now let me show you what the parades were like yesterday for The Twelfth.

The main parade was held in Ballygowan. We waited two hours for the bands to march where we are. They go to different towns and villages and quite a long parade it is.

When we went there the street are already crowded. Most of the elderly were there early and set up their chairs.

Look at that little girl with Bella! Dressed for the occasion with a hat and baton. The old people smiled just looking at her.

And finally, we can hear the band and when we see King Billy on his horses then that's the parade started.

Waving to King William!

And here's a GIF of photos of some of the bands that match yesterday. Your favourite men in skirts (called kilts) are present!

And there you go! Had two days of fun. I hope you enjoy the pictures.

I'm on Hive now as well! Most of you are there I know lol. Not surprising that I'm there now too. It's nice to see us all around different platforms. It's hard not to plagiarized my own content but I will try. I don't know how you can keep up but I'm happy to share in Hive too. New adventure!

https://hive.blog/@tiredmomma

Thank you for reading.

24
$ 4.84
$ 4.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Comments

That must be fun. I have never experienced one. I hope your kids also enjoyed it quite a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wooow impressive. huge flames. it looks very fun. I want to be there too, my love. hey why are they wearing skirts

dear hive, how can we withdraw our earnings to the wallet? Can we share the articles we share here?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm glad you had a wonderful time and the kids too sis, I'm on hive since last year, see you there. what age are those old people sitting sis? they look lovely!

and the men with kilts too. aruym nasayangan ako sa wood pallets sis, dito ksainag mahal ng mag yun tapso may nakita pa akong video an magagawa yung kama at cabinets..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello there po! Nice to meet you :) It seems like you really enjoyed the 2 days of your life po. That bonfire was so huge, and I haven't experienced it for a long long time.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Hiya, welcome here in read, Lyn! Thank you for checking this out and yes it's huge. Enjoy sharing post and engaging that's the key. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I haven't seen a bonfire in a long time myself, I usually watch a bonfire when I'm at camp. and this is the first time I've seen a bonfire that high, it's so much fun.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yes and it's very hot too even from afar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang nkakatakot nmn ung bonfire sa laki lalo na nung nahulog ang ibang planks na nkasindi. This is the biggest bonfire too that I have seen, thanks for sharing this unique tradition of them.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Naku madam sobra akong kinakahn pag may mga dumadaan kami anlapit lapit pa sa bonfire ay pikit mata na sana wag silang mapatakan. Pero thank God all good naman yun nga lang sa banks talagang may sunog na part.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That bonfire is huge! That's the biggest I have ever seen. At first I thought it was just a decorative structure, until I saw it on fire before I realized that's the bonfire itself πŸ˜† I wouldn't go near something like that though, it looks dangerous

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Oh Kushy even you're far and that's the way we are because I'm scared of the kids playing and running towards it. Still, it's raging. Very hot!!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Celebration looks grand. Its nice to get a view of this celebration through you. Here we have a festival where all old items are piled up and burnt the previous night of the festival. People throw coins also. When I saw the pile of fire, it reminds me of this

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a nice celebration in Ireland. The bonfire is quite scary if you are near but having that large one in the middle of a big space and some firefighters around, it will be enjoyable. But if here in the Philippines, I think it is so hard to find an adequate space and place to make this kind of big bonfire. So just enjoying looking at the photos here and gifs. Also Tia have so much fun as well as your whole family.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've never seen a bonfire as big as this.😳 I can remember the last bonfire i saw was the one we were forced to make when there was unrest in our community. We use it to warn and wade off the robbers overnight.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

what's the story behind the bonfires sis..so massive nakakatakot ung natilaob

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang ganda ng bonfire, nakakaenjoy pa naman yang pag masdan,

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am on Hive too. I hardly can remember last band and Bonfire of my university. I enjoyed this event a lot. I hope these beautiful events will not end in our life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's being a while ma and you've just about reminded me more of my sweet burn fire time back in the days at school. It's usually an unforgettable moments of joy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang iniisip ko paano kapag nagcollapse na yong bonfires waaa, meron nga haha. Papel kaya yong ginawa nila? Mabuti na may firemen agad para iwas aksidente. Nag ejoy si Tia at ang iba pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't think hellfire flame will even pass the flame of this bonfire. No one can even dare to near this at all, if anyone does that, death is at Hand It's just by the mercy of God, that made you experience the bonfire and parade of this year as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang saya jan madam.. Kakatakot lang yung bonfire. Sobra laki

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang sarap siguro. Manood ng ganyan kalaking bonfire momsh then you're with your family pa.. Dito nga makapanood lang kami together ng fireworks dispkay eh super happy na.. And ang galing ng parade nyo, di masyado crowded, i mean may mga chairs lang sa gilid. Dito jusko dudumugin ng tao yan.. And I love the photo of you and the kids

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yay. Parang girl scout lang. Pero with different kinds of people. Ang ganda ni Tia game na game.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hello, why do they celebrate in that way, through a bonfire, ang laki ng apoy, mukhang napaka init nga naman. At ang ganda NG photos mo Lalo na si baby girl and the three of you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

grabe ang laki po ng bonfire. giant bonfire na. ang init po nyan kasi sa mga siga lang sa bahay, mainit na.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Ay naku kung kahoy bahay dito sunog agad!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Missed your posts! Missed you!

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Aww PVM! I suddenly reminisce about how we all started here. We are all excited to check the new articles we published. Haven't seen @moregainstrategies for a long time either. What happened? Lol. Maybe read wasn't as big when we started. We're crowded now, hard to keep up. But I missed you and your post too. Lol you know even though I know nothing about don't understand when you talking about all the crypto thing but I was there. Now we all get busy. It's nice to say hi to you and write this!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, got melancholic a bit earlier and shared some of the old memes in TG.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kakatakot yung bonfire madam. Grabe yong mga tao, parang ang lapit nila sa apoy?

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yung isa my safety barrier yung dalawa wala kaya kapag may biglang dadaan tapos dun pa malapit sa bonfire ay para aking aatakihin sa nerbyos na malaglagan. Kakatakot din talaga madam ang layo layo na namen pero grabe ang baga, as in pati ashes nasa ulo namin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga eh tapos parang wala lang sa kanila. Parang ang takaw nila sa apoy? Deprived kase sa mainit na panahon siguro. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You guys had so much fun and that's a very massive bonfire. Good to see Jigz and Tia with your massive beauty too, momma. 😘😘😘❀️❣️πŸ₯°πŸ€©πŸ€©πŸ€©πŸ’•πŸ’•πŸ’‹πŸ’‹

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Haha you really are a charmer, my dear. We had a great time. 😁πŸ₯°

$ 0.02
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ₯° I am glad you did, momma. Keep being awesome. 🍾🍸

$ 0.00
1 year ago