Our generation today...

51 65
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

November 24, 2021

"why make me achieve what you didn't achieve before?"

"Sometimes parents do wants to put a leash on my neck that it becomes so tight, I can't breath"

"I am so freaking done with my parents and how they want to manipulate me"

Our generations today really did hold a lot of emotions and some emotional baggage with them unlike the oldies or the 90's babies.
Sorry but this is just me giving my opinion about some trends today or some GenZ as they say that are circulating mostly in the internet.
I handled youth in my community so I heard some of their rants and complaints mostly about their parents.They always post some emo phrases like "I want freedom", "Can't I decide what I want?" "I'm 15 for F**k' sake"
As a parent and a daughter I need to balance and be careful on what I'm about to advice to them for they might get back at me if I say some offensive words because generations today tends to over react.

As I was scrolling some Tiktok videos I found a cryptic videos meant for teenager who made an acrostic poem for his parents.
She said in her acrostic poem that she had enough, she has no freedom at all, she didn't enjoy her youth, she's stuck in the house doing modules and house chores when she should be having fun and going home late at night being drunk or wasted. She shouldn't be pressured on her education when she can chose the paths she wants to without being nagged at. Her parents wants a prim and proper daughter while she wants to be high and rebel.

Then that video was being shared by a Cebuano Mom, telling the girl that she shouldn't have said those words. What if her Mother saw that? What would be her reactions? Bet she'll question herself if she really did raised her child wrong. She then addressed the girl that if she wants freedom then she should study hard and after she graduates she then can go to her dream job. And when that happen she can lived separately from her parents and do all that she wants to do and funds all her wants and needs. The Cebuano Mom also commented that there are many youngsters whom are giving birth at an early age and whom are the people blaming because of that? Not the daughter though, but the parents because they never guided their children enough that they became like this. All this will be point out to the parents when in fact it's their children that became rebellious.

You see, I was a brat before but I did have my limitations. Yes my parents were really strict during our elementary and high school days. As the three of us siblings are all girls so Papz is very strict towards us. Yes we hate him before because of doing that. We can't even go to disco because he is firm with his reasons that we are still minor and still studying. We are being controlled for ten years without having freedom. And we all swore to ourselves that after we graduate high school we will ran away from the grip or our parents.

But after we graduate, guess what? Papz told us that we can do everything we want since we already graduated. (Yes we graduated same year because my my other sister transferred and our eldest stopped studying for a year when she went to Manila). Papz told us to go get drunk and have fun with friends. He just wants us to graduate high school and then we are free.

We then realized that what our parents did to us is their way of giving us better future. To secure that we had proper education. So that no one will trample us just because we had no diplomas or we have no proper education. We realized it and we are thankful to them for doing those to us.
And even if you hate them they're still looking out for you and always thinking of you.

check out my amazing sponsors too...
Sponsors of mommykim
empty
empty
empty

Special mention to Doc @LykeLyca for the renewal of sponsorship, she is just too generous uwu uwu uwu saranghae!!

After we graduate, yes we had our first shot of gin, we went to disco (accompanied by Papz) and we get home drunk. Then Mum will just give us remedy for our hang over the next morning with her favorite lines when nagging at us.

For those youngsters out there who feels pressured and being caught up because of their parents. Try to understand them first, they simply just wants what the best for you.You might not understand it by now, but I know you'll realized it once you finished your studies and land in your favorite job.

I understand that they put a lot of pressure on you and they keep on wanting you to not go out late, to not date while studying, or to not drink out with friends and just wants you to stay at home. That's because you're still studying and you need to prepare for your future because not all the time they're around to guide you and catch you if you have many struggles. They're securing you're future first so that they'll be at ease when they leave you sooner or later.

And a mom will never unloved her child, she carried you for nine months and give you all the attention and the utmost care when you can't still do it on your own. Her selfless love for you is unwavering so don't even think that you are not welcomed in this world. You are loved.

Okay, to make it clear, this is just my opinion about that post. And I shared also my past on how my parents mold us and made us to what we are now. Sorry if I offended some. It is merely my personal opinion. Sorry

Thank you for reading!
Keep safe & God Bless!
Fin!

25
$ 11.78
$ 10.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
+ 13
Sponsors of mommykim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for mommykim
2 years ago

Comments

Pag nakakabasa ako ng mga teenagers ngayun naku naku talaga.. yung puso ko para sa mga magulang nila nakukurot ay. :(

Ang lakas din ng influence ng social media at ng mga nappanood sa tv.

I think yung feeling na "strict parents ko" is not new.. but it has become a lot harder to discipline kids these days kasi nakakauha ng kapareha ng narardaman sa soc med and it would seem na merong mga nakaka "get their way". So lalong nakukumpara nung bata na bat yung iba pwede at sya hindi.

Kaya grabe ang saludo ko sa mga moms and dads these days who keep firm with disciplining their kids specially teenagers. Grabe yung nakapatong na responsibility sa inyo!! May God bless your hearts with huge love that only seeks to discipline their kids for their good.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

kaya nga bilib din ako sa mama ko kasi siya guardian nang mga bata ngayon...makikita talaga na yung ginawa nilang pagpapalaki samin yun din ginagawa nila sa apo nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao pod aho nabantayan mommykim. Di nalang jod ko mag tell kay basin ma bash ta. Ambot nalang jod sa musunod pa na generation

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kinahanglan na jud sila ug guidance

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ngayon lang ako napad pad dito sis pero mag comment din ako , parang napanood ko din to , ang opinion ko din since nanay na din ako , at sa totoo lang dalaga na din anak ko but thankful lumaki siyang napamatured mag isip. Kung ako lang ha mas gusto ko gawing bestfriend yung anak ko para hindi na mag hanap ng mapag sasabihan ng about sa feelings nila dapat yung friends dapat kaibigan ko din ganoon lang yun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

mas better nga yan sissy,, in that way makikita mo mag grow ang anak mo at malalaman mo rin anng nararamdaman niya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sissy sa ngayon ldr pa kami pero alam ko lahat ginagawa niya .minsan nga sinasabihan ko siya na mamasyal kasama kaibaigan niya ayaw niya mas gusto niya sa bahay lang at mag mo modules.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

may pag ka introvert din pala anak mo mamsh hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never wanted freedom to misbehave... I just didn't want to do chores at home... My parents would have none of that no matter how well I did in school,,, or in other areas,,, this one area on the end is the reason I may never go back home again... I'm free now,,, and I've still never tasted alcohol... I'm simply not interested... I don't go around with girls or anything... I try to be polite and respectful... I have my flaws,,, but my parents have never gotten a single bad report about me... So I don't think everyone wants freedom so they can misuse it... I think parents would focus more on the strengths of their children and build on it once the basics of morals have been imbued in them rather than trying to condemn relatively unimportant stuff they can do without..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

it only depends on how well the parents trying to raise their children their way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am a 90's babies too. And I love how my parents strictly discipline me. Honestly at that time I also hate them for being so strict., I have a curfew, I can't joined my friends when they jam..and many more. But all of it that they did to me was for my own good. I just.realized all of that as I graduated in college. Im grateful and thankful to the both of them. Because if they didn't did it maybe I have a son or a daughter at an early age.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

true,,we should never think that our parents being strict to us will only benefit them..we should also think that they're only doing everything for our sake

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely right😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To be honest, next generation is super cool. But their responsibilities & respect for the elders are too low. They think that our forbidding is restrictions of life. I mean we had our lives with the restrictions of our parents but we never disrespected them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

true

respect would be the first in everything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I saw the video mommykim and I feel sorry for her parents. Unsa kahay mafeel sa iyang parents kong makakita sa video. Nagdako man sad ko nga istrikto ang parents labi na kay ex military akong tatay. Pero wala man pud ko nagdumot nila. Yes, naa juy time nga masuko ko. Pero karun, I realized nga tanang nilang gibuhat kay para ra sad namo. Siguro kung wala mi giaanad ug buhat sa mga lihikon sa balay, makaingon jud timgale ko sa akong kaugalingon nga useless ko nga pagkababaye. It's so saddened nga ing-ana na ang pamatasan sa bag-ong tubo ron no? Dili na magpabuot sa ginikanan.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

kaayo beb...kung wa palang ta gi disiplina ug maayo sa atong ginikanan siguro bisan mag traynta na ta mag salig lang gihapon ta niya mag sige tawag sa atong mama... naglagot jud ko niya naminaw oi lami kaayo duklon bataa ai...kasakit sa dughan jud kung makita to sa iyang mama

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mother is being strict din po talaga samin ng Sister ko noon and even my Grandpa and Grandma po talaga pong hindi nila kami pinapayagan sa mga bagay na alam nilang hindi pa dapat namin ginagawa at ako po ay naiintindihan ko po iyun. Ngayon po na nasa hustong edad na nga po ako sila pa ang nagsasabi sakin na itry ko na daw po ang mga bagay na hindi ko nagagawa noon kaso ako naman po ang ayaw haahha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

kasi nasanay tayo na di ginagawa ang mga bagay na yun kahit sinasabi natin dati na gusto nating subukan ...i feel you on that kasi niluwagan lang ni Papa ko yung pagiging strikto niya nung nag college na ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opo tama po. Siguro dahil sure na rin po sila na alam na po natin yung tama at mali kaya hindi na po nila tayo hinihigpitan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eto din yata Yung I article ko mommy. Yung Bata bang nakablack shirt na nagrarant?

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

oo mommy yung nag acostic poem about sa paghihigpit nang parents niya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spoken poetry mommy hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

oo yun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kita sad ko bitaw ato na video sa TikTok mommyyy, naguol jud ko what if makita tu sa iya parents jud ba. I understand her frustrations naman pero over rasad to na video para nako. Hays, kaguol sa GenZ.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

gani baby ...nakahilak biya ko nag huna2 kung unsa bation sa iyang parents pag makakita ato lalo na iyang mama...di jud lalim mahimong ginikanan ay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mu agree jud ko anang over ra kaayu mu react ang generation karun beb ay. Ambut lang jud. Gamayng kasaba ra, jusko mag rebelde dayun. Murag nakita ko ng ginaingun nimo nga video and medyu nitaas jud akong kilay naminaw. I mean, sure you can do whatever you want pero make sure ha nag di ka mngayu sa imuh parents. Ahahha. Sorry beb. Makasurok jud og dugo 🤣

$ 0.03
2 years ago

maski ako nangangha beb oi...lalim tong niana xia nga natuok na kuno xia kay wa na xiay kagawasan aguy naman lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naulaw ang ginjkanan nga perting paningkamot

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaayo niya para lang nila nga way puangod gyud

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naging makulit din akong anak noona at naging macomplain din ako dati pero now Gets ko na kung bakit sila ganon samin. 🥲 Ampanget na nga ng generation ngayon at mas pinapanget pa ng mga nagtretrend hays

$ 0.03
2 years ago

yan main reason kung bakit ayaw ko magbabad sa social media baby gerl...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This generation is really changing and parents also need to follow the trend and tend a little bit to the change we're evolving, not everything must be dictated

$ 0.02
2 years ago

well as a parent there's no trend in raising your child to be a good one., and parents tend to dictate their children if they're not well enough to stand on their own...it's for their own welfare though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know, when they get ols jan nila mapagtatanto ang lahat why their parents have to be strict to them. I know, naranasan ko kay mudrabels. Ans after some thinking, what if naging rebellious kid ako beforw masaya kaya ako ngayon? Kasi masaya ako ngayon at thankful ako sa mga pangaral ni mudrabels noon kahit oa ang dami kong sama ng loob sa kanya before. Wala na un lahat coz I become adult and doon ko nalaman na di ko pa talaga alam ang patakaran sa mundo mg mahika. Ay tekaaa ahahahaha, basta yon na noonabelsssssss hahaha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

buti nalang at kahit may sama ka nang loob di pumaibabaw yung pag rerebelde sa isip mo baby gerl

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The more the generation improve then i think the more the next gen lost respect ang a right view of life. Restrictions from parents is natural, they're the parents so i guess no parents will prohibit her children when they think it is right, right? All we need is to understand them show our respect and that if we could finish our study then we could have the perfect time to do whatever we want.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

a better understanding and right judgement and a good communications will always make it better for the both sides

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents are very strict po talaga. Napapalo ako dati Pag naka 24 over 25 ako sa isang test. Madalas akong napapagalitan but I know my limitations po. Okay lang mag damdam ganun tlaga. Pero dapat slam natin ma ginagawa lang Nila yon para sa atin din. Look at me now po. I'm proud of myself and it's because of them, my parents

$ 0.02
2 years ago

and we should be thankful pa nga na dinidisiplina tayo nang magulang natin..it means may paki sila sa future natin kaya ganun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trueee mami.. Need po talaga na sundin ang parents since sila ang mas nakaka alam for us...Pero yeah, generation nowadays are becoming toxic dahil na din sa mga peers and other factors. Yung kahit pinalaki sila ng maayos ng mga magulang nila but, because of the bad influence ng mga friends, addictions and etc, there are some instances na masisira at nagrerebelde sila.. I'm not criticizing them but, hopefully at the end they can realize how their parents suffer from them and trying to give them a better life ....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kaya nga eh...una na talaga jaan ang social media

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabi ko na nga ba. Nakita ko na din un video na yan. Daming insight sa comments. Naawa ako sa bata e. Baka kulang lang talaga sa communication sa parents nya or kung ano man ang nangyayari sa family nya na di natin alam. Kinukumusta din kaya nya parents/guardian/family nya?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

yun din...pero grabe kasi siya maka husga sa magulang niya eh...parang sa tingin niya lahat nang ginagawa nang magulang niya sa kanya puro mali

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not all children are in a hurry to get rid of their parent's control. To some extent, it is even convenient for them! After all, they think for him and solve all his problems.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

me for example

I don't want to be separated by my parents

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes mommy tinuod gayud ni. Dapat sundon gayud ang parents kay para lang gayud nas kamaayuhan. You're right mommy, na if gusto niya ug freedom, tarung sa gayud eskwela para maka graduate kay walay lain gi huna² ang parents kundi ang future sa ilang mga anak.

Ako mommy nagdako gayud ko na strict ako mga parents pag ayo. Never ko nakatry disco o inom. Thankful ko kaayo. Hangtud karun 24 nalang ko mommy wala pa gihapon ko ka try inom cguro kay mao pud ako naandan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ako na experience ko na but together sa akong papa, like kung mo inom gakuyog mi sa akong papa,, na disco mi kuyog akong papa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao ba mommy ka alegre c.e..😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, trying to understand our parents is the best advice we can give. Coz parents have their own logic, the best logic to protect their kids. As a parent myself, now I understand so many things which I used to brag about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

exactly my point..maybe the kids couldn't understand much but they should also try

$ 0.00
2 years ago