Who is DAO? Or… What on Earth is it?

25 80
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

It is a new day again today and I just learned and understood a new concept native to cryptocurrency. I have read a lot of articles here and in other sites mentioning, promoting, and advocating some kind of DAO.

I didn’t really pay attention to it because I thought it was just another kind of token like NFT or something. I thought it was just an asset that I haven’t heard nor I will ever need in the future. Today, I decided to rid myself of the ignorance with regards to DAO and I learned what it is, at the very least.

What is a DAO?

So is he the guy from the original meteor garden? Okay, if you got that reference, I feel you! If not, well, let us just move on and forget that I ever even thought about that.

I thought that DAO is another asset, in a sense I am not wrong, but it wasn’t asset like BCH or BTC that I can keep on my wallet and trade for, it is an asset of the economy for the future. Lol, did that work?

DAO stands for Decentralized Autonomous Organization. And no, it is not a coin or a token that is readily available on the exchanges. A DAO is a group of people connected online to pursue a specific purpose.

Also, not to get confused or anything, DAO can also refer to the software application that enables a DAO (group) to exist and to function. And we are talking about cryptocurrency so when I say software application, I am referring to smart contracts running on the blockchain.

Decentralized

As native to most blockchain applications, decentralization is almost always a requirement. This means that a DAO doesn’t have a “base of operation” and it lives solely on the blockchain and over the internet. You can be part of a DAO while you are in your bedroom and you can participate with its activity whether you go out of your house or not.

Autonomous

DAO is a self-governing entity. It does not answer to any higher authority. The rule that the DAO writes for itself is the rule that it will follow. No third-party or human intervention is needed to monitor or to make the DAO works.

Unless, of course, it’s been hacked.

DAO doesn’t also need a chairman, a president, or even a leader to function. Every member of a DAO holds a voting power. Every decision and every action made by a DAO is decided by the members collectively and democratically through voting.

Organization

As true with the sense of the word, a DAO is a group of people that shares a common purpose and all work together to realize and achieve that shared purpose. A DAO’s purpose can vary from collecting NFTs to raising funds for charities. What any group of people could do, a DAO can do it better.

How to join a DAO?

If you are interested and if you think that you want to join a bunch of people to serve a specific purpose and if you think that it could give meaning to your life, you can join a DAO.

Most DAOs are open to anyone that who wants to join and being a member is quite easy. All you have to do is buy the DAO’s governance token and you are already a member of the DAO.

MakerDAO is one example of a DAO that is open to anyone. You can buy their token MKR and you will already enjoy the perks of being a member of their DAO. You can even vote on the decisions that the group will face.

Some DAOs aren’t that open though and run on a private side of the spectrum. You can’t buy their governance token anywhere, and I don’t know how to join one. As a matter of fact, I can’t name a single private DAO. If you know any, an invite will be much appreciated.

Also, if you think that your cause is something that is novel, you can make your own DAO and recruit like-minded people. It’s as easy as making your own cryptocurrency. Maybe I’ll try creating one. What would that DAO’s purpose be? I am open to your suggestions.

Hi!!!

I hope that you are doing fine today. And at the same time, I have cleared another term about cryptocurrency for you. I just hope that you picked up something a bit informative today.

Thank you for joining me once again in trying to learn various things in the cryptoverse. I really appreciate you being here.

That’s it from me and until we read again…

Cheers!!!

Author's Links

Noise | Torum Twitter | Hive Publish0x

Telegram: meitanteikudo

Would You Like to Earn Some More?

Passive income with your internet (gain $5 instantly by using my referral link)

Play some games and earn.

Watch, learn, and play while you earn:  (Use my code for $5 bonus)

Series    : All About Crypto
Title     : Scammers Gonna Scam
Published : 02-Mar-2022
Author :  © RB

References:

A. (2022, January 4). What is a DAO? Aragon’s Blog. Retrieved March 1, 2022, from https://blog.aragon.org/what-is-a-dao/

Bove, T. (2022, February 17). A DAO outbid a billionaire for an original copy of the U.S. constitution last year and nearly won. What a DAO is, and how it could change the future of business. Fortune. Retrieved March 1, 2022, from https://fortune.com/2022/02/15/what-is-a-dao-explaining-decentralized-autonomous-organizations/

Decentralized Autonomous Organization (DAO). (2021, September 24). Investopedia. Retrieved March 1, 2022, from https://www.investopedia.com/tech/what-dao/

Ethereum. (n.d.). Decentralized autonomous organizations (DAOs). Ethereum.Org. Retrieved March 1, 2022, from https://ethereum.org/en/dao/

18
$ 4.20
$ 3.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

Hey thanks so much now at least I've learned something knew, I feel like learning about anything related tp decentralized way of income investments or anything else is really hard to get but thanks to you I'm learning new things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wow. thanks for such kind words. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're welcome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friend, your article was very informative and useful. DAO was a new topic for me, and I had never heard of it, it's so interesting, that groups of people can form a DAO for a specific purpose. For the subject of forming a DAO group by you, I can suggest DAO authors or DAO Read Cash members... 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oooh.. that sounds interesting. We can make it as a foundation or a charity or..something. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice reference to the actor lol! I encountered DAO somewhere but did not really pay much attention to it. Now I have a bit of understanding.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

heheh . Thanks for dropping by and I'm glad you picked up something... :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got me at DAO from meteor garden hahaha. Thanks for sharing this one. I'll use this as a reference and try it once I have time to learn more about other crypto.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehehe nice, another one from my generation.. :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just heard this term DAO, hoping that everyone will be richer using this trend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

well, if the DAO's purpose is to get rich, yeah why not, but some DAOs work as a charity, if they become rich, then..something's fishy. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakahodl lang din yung DAO ko noon pa. haha yan din sinabi ni Yonong noon eh wala daw may ari nyan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oooh dami hodl. haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ow I was shock that it doesn't need a human resource just to make it work. Maybe because it's online or the system itself makes it work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yep, just like bridges and other crypto platforms, it makes use of smart contracts..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You got me in DAO prof from Meteor Garden hahaha. Ang ganda lang purpose nila kuya at honestly akala ko sa DAO ay yung token sa smartBCH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

heheh baka DAO din un. Di palang ako familiar dun...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're welcome. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now I know I'm already part of DAO lodi, hehe I've been holding $DAO since it was lunch on SmartBCH.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice! You never voted for anything yet?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never voted also. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paano dun sa legion ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay oo pala! nakalimutan ko un. haha nagsend nako request sakanila.. hintayin ko muna. Di pa din maclaim ung LGX dun sa app.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤍🤍🤍

$ 0.00
2 years ago