Music to My Ears

40 62
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Itch. My fingers are feeling that sudden itch as of the moment. They're tingling in excitement and restlessness. They're just raging to write. I would like to tame them by writing something but I really don't have a particular topic in mind that's ready for publication. So let me just close my eyes and pick one.

Nothing. There's nothing really sticking to me currently. That's what I thought and I gave up eventually. But closing the eyes for a bit is really relaxing. I feel rested and a bit fresher.

Music. Maybe part of the reason why I can't stick to just one topic is that I can hear songs playing from out of the window. I can't seem to focus on myself and the sound, the lyrics, and the melody of the song just creeps into my brain like an invisible worm. Oh, I know, let me just write about music then.

Infancy. I think this is the earliest time we were acquainted with music. Our parents would sing us lullabies to help us fall asleep. Some would use real music from players and make us doze off peacefully and musically. Some of us even heard music while they're still forming in their mothers' wombs. Some people believe that making an unborn child hear classical music can improve brain capacity and that they will become smart kids.

Lullaby. I have seen somewhere that lullabies weren't invited as good things. I think it was from old Japanese folklore. They said that lullabies contained sorrowful and dark messages from servants who were forced to look after others' kids because they were not allowed to go home to their families. That's certainly a dark view of those calming songs designed to make children sleep.

Instruments. The topic of music isn't completely discussed without talking about instruments. I remember when I was little I tried to study playing the piano along with the flute. I was able to follow and play a few melodies but that's just it. I never learned how to play well nor how to read music. The only music sheet I could read were song hits.

Song hits. That's what we called those periodic publications that contain song lyrics and their corresponding chords. These magazine-like papers contained several articles too about singers or bands that are famous and some of them up and coming. And that's how I learned how to play the guitar. A little bit. I could play some songs but not good enough to perform.

Guitar. I think the first song I was able to play with the guitar was When You Say Nothing at All by Ronan Keating. It was a simple song to learn since it only uses 3 basic chords and a really simple strumming. I think it was just a D-A-G-A-D chord pattern with a down-down-up-down strumming pattern.

String. Have you ever experienced playing with a broken string? I haven't too, but the broken string played me. You would never believe how sharp and how painful that string slap across the face can be. Maybe it's because of the intensity of my passion when I play or maybe it has something to do with the wrong way I was winding the strings.

Violin. Violin was also a dream instrument of mine. I really wanted to play it, but until now, I don't know where to even begin, although I am quite sure that the first step is to acquire a violin. There's this classical and evil vibe you can really feel from the violin. I like how dark it can get. Also, Sherlock Holmes plays the violin, even Shinichi from Conan can play it.

Hi there!

Thanks for visiting this page and reading this random article of mine. This is just a free writing exercise that I did in an attempt to loosen my fingers up and to try to shake my mind up a bit in the hope of having something interesting drop from the tree of wisdom and knowledge.

I was just really trying to relax cause I was feeling a bit tired and fatigued after taking a long hot bath.

Since we are on the topic of music, what kind of music do you like? What genre do you always listen to? Can you sing? Can I hear a bit of that? Is there a song that you particularly like as of today? This may really sound morbid but, is there a song that you want your beloved to play in memory of you?

Anyhow, I really appreciate your presence here and as always let me show you how much I appreciate it. I have a full mug of beer here and let's drink to that ...

Cheers!!!

16
$ 7.78
$ 7.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
+ 8
Sponsors of meitanteikudo
empty
empty
Avatar for meitanteikudo
2 years ago

Comments

lol. This is a writing exercise similar to ones I have done many times in the past. Although I never thought to publish them, though from time to time ideas were generated from doing them that were expanded into longer pieces—published on other sites of course. I have only been here a short time.

But I like that you DID publish this, because it can probably be fairly helpful to a good number of people just staring at that empty white space on their screen, badly wanting to write SOMETHING, and this could be a way for them to do exactly that.

There's a lesson in this post of course, and I am happy that you shared it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so very much for these kind words. :) I really appreciate it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've always wanted a violin for myself but I just don't have enough to get it. Now that I'm on this platform, let's hope I'd make enough money for it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

ooooh!!! I'll be looking forward to that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like your way to introduce all instruments in uniqueness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm more on listening to country and pop songs especially if it's Taylor Swift made 😊 She literally raised me.

As of today, I am hooked on her song titled 'Better Man' and BTS's 'Life Goes On'. Both are meaningful to me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oooohhhh on behalf of all the Swifties... Thank you. Heheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Music brings different healing to my soul especially when I am down. I somehow know how to play guitar but I am not a pro tho hihi.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You must know that we will be asking for a sample for that. Hahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha my gash. I need more practice bhahhsah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the lullaby ones, lagi ako nakikinig kasi inaantok ako ayun lang rproblema insomia jusko

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha wala effect?? Nakakatulog ako dati sa new wave..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No doubt when you have nothing to do but you have lots of pains in your heart and can't do anything music plays great role in relaxing you . Some lyrics seemed to be written speacially for us and those are soothing

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's just well said! :) thaank you...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no worries

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The genre of music I am listening to is Jazz and Pop. I also want to learn how to play a guitar. Sometimes I am watching videos on the internet and maybe I can learn a little bit.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ohhh yeah! Those vids are very helpful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love music. The beats, guitar, violin, piano, all make music more captivating and reaching the place of the soul. Sometimes from the lyrics of music, life's problems are solved. Music is food to the soul.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

oooh, food to the soul. That's just it!. It goes straight to our depths.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

no piano or organ? LOL yep i remembered song hits used to use it why my bro while were having a jam ...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, I tried the keyboard.. I didn't even get to memorize any song.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, my day wouldn't be complete if I can't listen to the songs I repeatedly played over the years. Hahaha, I also dream of being an expert in playing guitars, piano, and drums, but unfortunately, it is still just a dream. I didn't really have that leisure time to learn any of those instruments.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

what's your top 5 songs of all time?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm... Let's see...

  1. Sugar Crash by nansi (just for now, still have lss with this)
  2. Daijoubu by RADWIMPS
  3. Zenzenzense by Radwimps
  4. Gyutto by Mosawo
  5. Leaves by Ben&ben

These are just the songs I repeatedly played this month, hahaha! I feel relaxed and light-headed when I listen to those, so I can't really get rid of them. 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Daaaang. I see some kiminonawa tracks on there. Epic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, yeah. I never get tired of it. Hahaha 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love music😇. I can't sing like a singer but I can play some instrumentslike guitar and uke. I also play piano sometimes. And I found it that instruments make the song sounds well and better 😇

$ 0.02
2 years ago

the ukelele is pretty interesting, you can sing a sad song with it but it still sounds cheerful.. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah😅 but I can't really sing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lullaby, Ganon pala yon. I don't know about lullaby kasi ang akala ko lang talaga pampatulog lang talaga sa bata yon, aigoo may nalaman nanaman ako 😳

$ 0.02
2 years ago

haha pero hindi naman sure un, baka myth lang din.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am fond of listening music too ever since I was a child. And I grow to love my grandma's favorite playlist like the old ones. And as o now, they're still my favorite and they never go out of style.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wonder what your grandma was listening to, motown? Frankie? Engelbert?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Frankie and Engelbert ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The classics. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Violin is also my dream instrument as well as piano and guitar. Unfortunately, i don't know how to play them all and even impossible to have one 🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

lol, "impossible", it's not that impossible, you can buy a cheap one from music stores.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True. Back the when I was a kid I do remember my mom would always play 90's boyband songs like Westlife and so I grow up liking those songs until now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ohhh that's nice. My Love is always gonna be epic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago