The Power of Naps

20 56
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Nap, Sleep, Learning

August 19, 2021

When you feel sleepy, a nap is better than drinking coffee - experts say. 

I think this article is very timely today. Since online classes are opening, I am expecting that students are bombarded with different academic activities thus making them stressed and sometimes sleep deprived. 

So for today’s article, we are tackling naps and how this thing can help you better instead of drinking beverages with caffeine. Are you ready? Let’s go!

Being a student or a busy person like you, sometimes I can’t cope up with the tight schedule. Sleeping or taking a nap is not an option for me since 24 hours is still inadequate for flooding tasks. So instead of taking a short nap, I just drink energy drinks, coffee, or other caffeine beverages just to make my brain function and be active. 

However, according to Sara C. Mednick, PhD, sleep expert, napping is still better than drinking coffee. It is true that caffeine can make you feel alive but it decreases your memory performance. 

There are five types of naps.

Recovery Nap 

  • This type of nap can be taken to help you fulfill your sleep deprivation. For instance, you had to finish a very important project thus making you awake the whole night. You might take this nap later on to recover your missing sleep. 

Prophylactic Nap

  • This nap can be used as a preparation for sleep loss. For example, you’re on a work shift that requires you to stay awake the whole night. You may take Prophylactic Nap in between your work shift to avoid sleepiness and maintain mental alertness. 

Appetitive Nap 

  • This can be perfect if you’re having a bad day, or something comes up that makes your mood shift to an unpleasant one. In my case, when sadness suddenly kicks in, I will take an appetitive nap to improve my overall mood. 

Fulfillment Nap

  • This type of nap is critical to toddlers or childrens as it helps them in their development. To anyone who experienced being forced by their parents to sleep during the midday, that’s a great example of a fulfilling nap.

Essential nap 

  • When you are sick, taking naps is considered essential. This is because your immune system is fighting infection and requires more energy. 

Now that you know different types of naps, how long should each nap last?  

According to Sleep.org, 10-20 minutes of nap is already enough. Anything beyond that ideal length will make you feel sleepy and groggy. That feeling is called sleep inertia. Sleep inertia happens when your body enters deep sleep but you are suddenly interrupted. 

Nevertheless, essential naps are an exception to this. Since your body needs more rest, sleeping or taking longer naps promote faster recovery. 

On the other hand, people with insomnia are discouraged from taking naps as it may further disrupt their sleeping schedule.

Benefits of taking a nap. 

The technical phrase for the sense of being sleepy is homeostatic sleep drive. It is identical with the desire for food that we feel. Your homeostatic sleep drive is low when you get up after a good night's sleep. The pressure gradually rises during the day until we feel sleepy in the evening. Sleeping at night reduces sleep pressure, and the cycle starts over the next day.

Source: https://www.sleepfoundation.org/sleep-hygiene/napping

Taking a nap is very ideal when you are already feeling sleepy but you still have many things to do. 

In my case, while writing this article I am already feeling tired of squeezing my mind to produce some English words. So I decided to take a short nap to freshen up my mind. 


Charan! I'm not feeling groggy! Just enough to increase my mental alertness. My sleepiness is also gone.

I took a nap for this article. You can see my commitment here 😂.

Aside from increasing mental alertness and reducing sleepiness, taking a short nap can improve learning, aiding memory formation, and regulates emotion. 

Big companies also acknowledge the importance of naps. Google and Apple already put nap pods instead of lounge rooms. 

I think schools should also put nap rooms to improve the learning of their students. What do you think? Let me know your insights in the comment section.

However, scientists also found some disadvantages when it comes to napping. As I mentioned above, people with insomnia are discouraged from getting naps as it may affect the flow of sleep. 

Another study says that adults who napping longer than ideal length are prone to depression, diabetes, and heart disease. 

To take the best nap, the following are the tips you can do:

  • Set an alarm

  • Nap early

  • Create a nap friendly environment

  • Reflect on why you’re napping

References:

https://www.webmd.com/balance/features/the-secret-and-surprising-power-of-naps

https://www.sleepfoundation.org/sleep-hygiene/napping

https://www.healthline.com/health/guide-to-power-naps#The-ideal-power-na

You can read my recent articles...


21
$ 9.15
$ 8.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 6
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Nap, Sleep, Learning

Comments

Instead of drinking coffee to stay alert, it is better to take a 20-minute nap. This will not just help our body to rest but also boost our productivity throughout the day! I usually do this during exam week or I need to finish a requirement that would need me to stay up all night. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love you article it is very clear and informative. I wish I could always have those recovery nap. Because I often get lacks of sleep almost daily. But since we have lots of kids at home its not always possible to take a little nap.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article. I love articles that talks about naps and sleeps ahhahaha. Gash! This is so informative as well and di pala nap yung ginagawa ko huhuhu sleep na pala yun jusko 2 hours yung nap ko eh hahaahha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ever since I stopped relying on coffee (due to its effectiveness even after the 10th cup of black coffee), I found taking naps much more efficient in helping me be alert. Although, like you said in the article, when I missed my alarm and slept for over 20 minutes, I woke up more sleepy which leads to longer naps which means more skipped responsibilities haha. But I think of those as recovery naps since I am always sleep deprived.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do try avoiding naps as much as possible even do I don't take any fluid to keep me awake.

I stopped when I noticed that I do have a migraine and am sometimes not productive when I force myself to stay awake. Things changed when I started giving myself an hour or two hours nap, I became healthier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di nauuso sa akin ang power nap huhu, pag kasi ako nakapikit, deep sleep with loud snores agad huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganto rin ako hahaha pero kailangan disiplinahin sarili kasi kailangan tapusin mga school works hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But for a student like paramg ang hirap isingit ng nap diba. Ao no choice kundi mag kape aaguyy ahaha. Pero ako sa tanghali sinisikap ko maka idlip kahit mga minutes lang ba. Kaso ang hirap din talaga ee. Lalo na ang daminh epal tsk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabagay ate medyo mahirap din talaga pag sa sched ng student. Dapat talaga pwedeng umiglip sa school eh hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama pag pagod pahinga lang..pero ako kadalasan coffee yung libangan ko pag gusto kong tapusin yung ginagawa ko sa gabi hehe..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka, kpag may edad na eh dapat iwas na sa pagtulog sa tanghali ng mahabang oras kasi heart disease saka high blood din daw. Kaya ako gat maari eh 1 hour nap lang,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nahihirapan ako sa pag take ng nap ay. Pano ba naman, kahit antok ako or gusto ko hindi ako makatulog. Hindi ko alam kung sa alinsangan or ingay, tulad kanina. Sumasakit lang ulo ko madalas. Kaya swertehan din ay.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my senior high school days when we made our film, after a month of stress, almost no sleep, and being depressed because of a tight schedule, I take a nap, a peaceful nap.

But one day, when I got stressed out because that day, some of our act was missing due to the messy files, I didn't get enough sleep to create some idea that day I got blackout, I don't know what to do, I don't take a nap too, I just keep my mind busy what todo.

After that stressful week, we finally made out the movie, and that day also I take a nap, a recovery nap in the school, it's like I can freely do what I missed out on.

Thank you for this article though, it brings backs time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag nagmomodule ako, mas marami ang higa kaysa sa pagsagot which resulted me to procrastinate all day. Sa lahat ng end weeks ng every quarter ko nung g11, lagi ako nagagahol sa deadline. However, hindi naman ako masyadong natatambakan since I lessen some of my works, but I couldn't help but to procastinate overnight haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko nanaman nung high School ako talaga lahat ng free time ko ginugugol ko talaga sa pag tulog, maaga din akong natutulog. Sa hapon naman eh halos gabi na ako kung magising. Kung sino gigising sakin makakatikim ng padyak sa paa ko 🤣 Simula nung naadik ako sa kape ay wala na akong tulog tapos puyat pa hanggang 12-2 am 🤦🏻‍♀️try ko nga din matulog sa linggo itutulog ko lahat ng puyat ko pakiramdam ko dina healthy yung mata ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i understand the benefits of taking naps but it is hard for me. i rarely take naps as in once in a blue moon. huhu. even though i really want to, my body can't cooperate. maybe because i always drink coffee.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pa swertehan nalang kung makakapag take kapa ng nap dito sa'min HAHAHA andaming bata tas ang ingay pa. Tignan ko lang kung dika ma babadtrip araw araw WAHAHHAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hirap niyan Hahaha 🤣 jusko sa gabi kalang ata magkakaroon ng peaceful time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya minsan sa gabi lang din ako makakapag sulat ng article eh yung tulog na ang lahat. Kaya yung breakfast ko naging brunch na 😭😭😭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wawa naman si mareng lika dito hug kita 😭 diba sila pwede natahimik kahit minsan lang?

$ 0.00
2 years ago