My DeFi F̶a̶i̶l̶e̶d̶ Pet

19 87
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

August 22, 2021

Due to the two big consecutive issues on My Defi Pet, users are now doubting the future of the game.

My DeFi Pet is a blockchain-based lifestyle pet game with 3D created, animated, and interactive pets. Furthermore, the game includes cutting-edge features that are ahead of their time.

Unlike traditional gaming, My Defi Pet offers DEFI and NFT in a single platform where users can earn from doing battle with other players. 

The game was launched on May 14, 2021 but already acquired hundreds of thousands of token holders, and millions of transactions and egg purchases. It is indeed fast growing!

Reference: https://finance.yahoo.com/news/defi-pet-shooting-sky-converging-102000984.html

However, due to the two recent major issues of My Defi Pet, several players, including me are already doubting the potential of the game. Many expressed their disappointment and established their decision to just sell their pets when the marketplace is released. 

August 10- 11, 2021 - the developers of the game announced a maintenance update to the game thus making their server inaccessible for more than one day. They explain that this update is for the preparation of the upcoming boss event. In this event, players are given a chance to fight a monster in the game and for every damage dealt, there’s a corresponding DPET token award. 

However, after their update, a rollback issue has happened. In this situation, affected accounts went back to level 1 with zero resources. Luckily, all of the pet transactions were recorded on the blockchain thus marking our pets safe from losing. 

During their Ask Me Anything (AMA) meeting, they explained that the 5 percent of the whole user population faced the rollback issue that according to them was caused by unexpected server hacking. They promised that they will compensate the affected users with enough resources to rebuild the lost progress. 

I received my compensation afterwards. I am able to level up my pets up to level 15 which is far way higher than my previous level which is level 12. I never complained because I know to myself that the developers were working hard to satisfy their players. 

Though I am already good with the compensation I received, several players are still asking and complaining to the devs why they’re not yet receiving any compensation from the game. The admins provided a google form for those people and promised that they would immediately take action. 

Aside from that, also read some opinions from others on how incompetent and noob the developers are for not having a back-up server incase problems, including hacking, happened. While others are pointing out the absence of a backup server, others think that the developers only used hacking as an excuse to cover up the mistake they have made during the maintenance.

Several days after, even though the other players are not yet compensated, they again announced a server update that is specifically for the upcoming update which is the Boss fight. 

This is exciting news for the entire community because for the first time we can finally use our pets for other exciting stuff besides farming, getting silver, and building cages.

This update lasted again for more than one day (as far as I can remember).  

While they’re updating the server for the boss fight, they continue hyping the community by posting different teasers. Even me was excited so I tried my really best to farm as often as possible to make my pets stronger. 

On August 17, they released a statement about the boss fight and how it will be played. However, the mechanics of the upcoming event were kind of confusing. They did not explain it thoroughly. As a result, the community was left jumbled, dazed and confused. 

https://mydefipet.medium.com/my-defi-pet-boss-fight-tutorial-e58220efab68

Different individuals tried to seek help asking some clarifications to the admins. We got some answers but we feel it's still lacking.

August 19, the day we are waiting for. I woke up early just to check the community for any news about the event. I saw someone flaunting his pet asking for our insight if it can defeat the boss. Everyone seems excited!

Despite that, a few minutes before the event, the server suddenly crashed. I think this is because their server wasn't able to cope with the large volume of users. The website became laggish and can’t progress into the main event. 

The problem persisted for an hour leaving us with no choice but to wait for the update and statement from the developers.

At exactly 12:03 pm, My Defi Pet team announced that they will update the server just to sort a couple of things. 

People are starting to be annoyed given the hassle of the event. Others complain why the developers will update the server during an event. They added that the developers have an ample amount of time to check if things are running smoothly but choose the other way. 

By almost 3 pm, Philippine time, I was able to enter the game. I thought they fixed it completely but I was wrong. 

Everytime I try to deploy my pets, my Metamask transaction keeps on failing. The most painful part is for every transaction, I am still paying a gas fee. 

My $6 Smart Chain was consumed completely without me maximizing the game. I earned only 2 DPET tokens which cost about PHP 300 or $6 each. In total, I earned $12 minus the gas fee which leaves me $6. My potential profit on that event if everything is working fine is $48. 

Frustrations from different users overwhelmed the Facebook group, Telegram channel, and Discord server. The admins have no choice but to mute the community. 

The silence from the developers adds to the outburst of users. This is where the others started to call names, saying that the developers act like students, this game is just their thesis project, and so on and so forth. Others express their criticism and suggestions on how the developers will improve the event. FUDS also stand out and spread fear among the users thus making the value of the coin plummet. 

Later that day, they released a statement apologizing to the community. They also announced that they will temporarily postpone the event and will compensate everyone who spend their gas fee for failed transactions.

Despite My Defi Pet team’s statement, various users still continue expressing their disappointment and frustration to the said game. On Reddit alone, there are several discussions about the recent issues of My Defi Pet.

For me, the screenshots below are the discussions that really makes sense.

Link to thread: https://www.reddit.com/r/mydefipet/comments/p7hgrx/a_devs_pov_on_how_hilariously_defi_pet_devs_failed/?utm_source=share&utm_medium=web2x&context=3

My take on the issue:

I'm not gonna lie when I said that I am impressed to the future plans of the developers in this game. Except from its play to earn in the future, they're also looking forward to integrate your pets to your lifestyle, have an augmented reality real world hunting, and additional playable environment.

If you want to check the whole presentation, click here.

I really like the game and to be honest I still support it despite of what happened. I know they're are trying their best to improve the game. Another things is, they just launched the game four months ago so its pretty understandable.

Before investing in the game, I read the whole whitepaper just to know the risk I am taking.

Read the whole whitepaper here

Now that I know the risks, I already prepared myself for the possible loss of initial investment to the game. This is why I only used the money I can afford to lose.

If ever things go bad, just take a sigh and move one. On the other hand, if the game continued to progress to its original plan, better and thanks because my investment where not put into vain.

Just another thing I want to add: The facilitators of the community is rude sometimes. There's a case where someone gave his suggestions and criticisms to the game but he was blocked and remove form the Discord server. They should be open to criticisms if they want to further improve the game. To be frank, without us, they're are nothing.


You can read my recent articles...

22
$ 12.12
$ 11.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.10 from @MegaKyodaiBanrai
+ 12
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Feeling ko pressured ang founders ng My DefiPet dahil dun sa temporary success ng Axie. Since Axie made a loud bang to the people the creators of My DefiPet might have thought to create a similar one na itatry ng iba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not into this kind of thing but it seems that they are competing with Axie ..bago naman sila pareho may mga dapat pang ayusin..at sana maayus pa..sayang naman kung mababalewala .and dapat they are open for criticism .lalo na pag suggestions .paano maiimprove yung community ay pag close minded sila..magkakaroon pa sila ng haters pag ganun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun lang din talaga ang mahirap lalo na pag bago palang ang development, maraming pwedeng mangyari na risks. Medyo pakiramdam kong late na ako pagdating sa mga play2earn na crypto games haha pero tinitignan ko parin kung worth it ba na maginvest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala talaga kong alam sa mga games.😅 kahit paulit ulit ko basahin walang nag fufunction sa utak ko.😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all maraming alam sa laro huhu, sana all din matalino 🤧 ano ba kasi vitamins mo dati kli4d? 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same sa axie bato sir? Lagi din nag system maintenance ang diba? By the way, congrats po. Maka sana all nalang ako nito. Congrats din sa 1bch niyo po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, marami na sigurong nag bebenta ng DPET Clipuuuuuuu kasi bumababa ang price nya, hmmmm. Pero sana naman maayos na nila. Ang dami ng player ee. Sayang naman if di maaayos, sana bago sila nagpa events ayosin muna ang dapat ayusin. Para namang sinasabayan nila ang AXIE ee. May events din un ee, big anh prize pool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this😇. Ni recommend din to ng friend ko sa FB na dating author din dito. Nag tanong ako about this game, at okay naman yung sagot niya. Sabi niya na parang ito daw yung susunod sa Axie and ma afford ko daw kaysa sa Axie. Kaya ayon nagka interest ako but sinearch ko siya sa YT, naghanap ako ng mga flaws sa game. At nakita ko din doon na marami talaga ng dadoubt sa game. Sabi nga nila wag daw muna mag invest ang daw kasi ng issue. Kaya hintay2 lang ako. Hehehe I hope mag sulat ka ng update about this game sa susunod. Hehe thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I was one of the players, I would be annoyed as well. Naii stress na nga ako habang nagbabasa dito pano nakang kaya king isa ako sa nag aabang na maglaro haha juskkkooo di kaya ng puso.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

buti nalang di ako na fomo at nag jump sa project sa lakas ng hype nito, i'm not happy the dev failed tho ganda pa naman ng project nila. pero parang magandang opportunity na rin ata ang fud ngayon para pumasok dahil sa pagbaba ng price ng dpet token at mas riskier na rin... let's wait and see what the dev team will do next

$ 0.00
User's avatar Oz_
2 years ago

Mas maganda iupgrade muna nila system. like magput muna sila ng limitstion sa mga users na pwedeng makagamit until maging okay yung buonh sistema ng laro. Jasi while naguuldate sila ng aguupdate tas padami ng ladami users di kaya itake ng client server un na pwede mag cause ng crashes. At dapat aware sila sa mga pwede nilang marinkg galing sa iba.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Agree! Eto din yung sabi sa isa kong nabasa. Dapat talaga tinesting muna sa mga ibang players bago nirelease sa lahat. Parang di nga naisip ng devs kaya maraming nagalit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just create 1 pet just for testing and I was surprised that this game has gas! Does Axie have that too? Probably because it is running on ETH. Know what? There's a game without gas when you play, it's called Splinterlands! lol

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmm I bought some splinterlands token because I think its a good game. However, I am still studying how it works hahaha. Another thing, im not a fan of card games

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kailangan nila talaga mag update ng server di nila nakayanan nung dami ng user noong nag release sila ng boss fight...kami nga po we spent more than 400 pesos sa gass fee pero 1.4 DPET lang na gain namin Tapus ang masakit pa may bago ata silang release na game ulit (chissmis lang ni kuya 😂)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay di ko pa naririnig yung chismis na about sa bagong game na irerelease nila. Hmm, kaya siguro di nila masyadong maasikaso yung dpet hahahha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes your right kli4d, they should learn to accept criticism for the improvement of the game. My partner join this too but he finally sell his pets because of what happened.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Im also planning to sell my pets soon if ever the devs dont take any action to improve the game

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I'm hoping this game will be going okay kli4d. 🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago