I Told You Not To Look Outside

19 49
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Short Story

When I got home from school, I went to my room and changed my clothes. I noticed that I am the only person in the house. The place is quiet— except for the sound of the wind coming from the window that was left unclosed.  Maybe my family went somewhere and didn’t decide to invite me. I don’t care if they don’t want my presence; I still enjoy my own company. 

I went downstairs to proceed to my father’s workplace. Since they are not home, I thought of sneaking here. He won’t know, by the way. The computer here isn’t crappy as my old laptop and the kitchen is just next to this room. When I feel hungry I don’t need to go up and down just to get some food. Aside from convenience, the place here is quite comfortable; perfect for concentration.

I need to finish the project I am working on. My stupid teacher just announced that he will make the deadline tomorrow instead of next week. As a person who’s accustomed to doing things late, cramming on a project isn’t on my plan today. My initial plan is to play with my friends and sleeps at my girlfriend’s house. 

Several hours has passed and my stomach started growling. Maybe this is the sign to feed the monster lurking inside of me. I went to the kitchen and open the fridge to find something to eat. I decide to choose the bread that was living there for days. With a dark red and thick strawberry jam filling, this will surely be a great combination. Seeing the knife is covered by a red sticky substance, reminds me of something. 

Going back to my father’s workplace, I didn’t notice that I'm about to finish. Maybe this is the reason why I choose to cram my task instead of working on them early; I am more efficient under pressure. 

I cleaned the place before leaving. I don’t want anyone to suspect me of doing something here.

I head towards my room when I noticed the time — 2:30 am and still no shadows of any person here aside from me. Where the hell did my family go? Did they go on vacation without me?

I just shrugged it off. I already feel sleepy and the stress I got from finishing my project is already enough. 

Upon entering my room, I noticed that the windows are closed and it was already covered with think curtains. I don’t remember closing that earlier and I seldom use cloth coverings. Maybe it’s my mom who put that? Is she already here?

“Mom, I said don’t enter my room without my permission!”, no one answered. I am so pissed off that I slammed the door. 

I just went to my bed and laid my tired body. I was starting to doze off when I heard a notification from my smartphone. 

“It's a beautiful night tonight. Look outside.”, it came from an unknown number. I have no idea who is this. Maybe wrong send? 

I just disregarded it. However, a few moments after, I received another text message from another unknown number. 

“Do not look outside!”, after that I heard a weird noise coming outside of the window. 

I was on the edge of opening it when I received another message.

“Curiosity killed the cat.”

I think my brother is making fun of me. I know it, maybe he installed a camera in my room so he can see what I am currently doing. 

I rushed to his room. The door is locked. It's obvious that he’s hiding inside. I got my duplicate key and used it to enter his room. However, I find nothing. I was wrong. He was not there. 

I decided to go to other rooms but there was no one in the house aside from me.

This leaves me confused. Going back to my room, I heard a weird noise again outside my window. I am starting to freak out. 

After a series of scratching noises, it temporarily stopped. Then it was replaced by crying and screaming. Even though I cover my ears, it doesn't go away. 

Several familiar voices suddenly came out of nowhere. They are screaming in excruciating pain. They’re begging for mercy. I know them. Those voices are from my parents and siblings. 

I opened my window to help them out only to find out that they were hanging in front of me, soaking in their own blood with mutilated faces. 

The only next thing I heard is a gunshot. 

I found myself laying on the floor trying to stop the bleeding from my chest. The only thing I remember is a man entering my room. He is carrying a knife and a strawberry jam. He came closer to me and whispered, “I told you to not look outside.”


Final remarks...

Oh geez, I miss making this kind of short fictional story. I am inspired to create more. At the moment I have another draft that maybe will be published in the next few days. Tune in :))


CHECK MY RECENT ARTICLE 🤩

You can also read my other articles....

Reach me on:

Noise.cash | Telegram | Twitter


8
$ 2.29
$ 2.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
$ 0.02 from @Cogamedia
+ 3
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Short Story

Comments

Ay grabe ang galing👏, feel ko kasama ako sa story. Nag enjoy ako sa story nito, maka totohanan talaga Siya,, can you write more like this? Na imagine ko yung twist ng story. A big round of applause 👏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po! Nakakatuwa naman po na may nakaka-appreciate ng gawa ko hahaha. Opo, may mga naka-draft pa po akong stories :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Publish mo na yan, excited ako sa next story. Hehe. You did a great job naman talaga kasi. How I wish ganyan din imagination ko, kaso puro foods lang naiisip ko

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tamang basa lang ng mga writing prompts para ma-stimulate imagination hahaha. Pero parang want ko din foods, penge hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

wow great dude. It was exciting and scary. I will be looking forward to the other

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my Gosh. Ang intense. More of this please. Kinabahan ako doon sa idea na ganun ang makikita sa window, parang hindi ko kakayanin. Mauna pa akong mamatay sa sakit kesa sa gunshot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

HAHAHAHA ako din feeling ko mahihimatay agad ako pag ganun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice. Love the twist hihi. Well, really thought that it was him who killed his family. You got me there hihih.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank youuu! Its up to the readers to conclude who's the killer ;)))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naysuu! Ang ganda naman nito, bet ko yung twist sa dulo ah. Mabubuhay pa ba sya? Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahahaha its up to the readers kung anong trip nyong ending hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Houyyy gabi na huhu bat naman ganun makapigil hininga ackk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahaha hinga ka muna saglit baka maasthma 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Muntik ko na nga makalimutan huminga ulit hahaha cheret

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is cool, and a creative writing by you. Kudos! Keep it up. Best wishes.

Cheers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Damn, sound scary, especially the part of screams, one can't resist coming out, especially when the voice sounded familiar

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! Hoping I can create more stories like this :))

$ 0.00
1 year ago