Beliefs Can be Harmful Sometimes

24 82
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago

Sorry for the inactivity (again), I’ve been battling with myself lately. Thanks to @DennMarc for being my support during these times.


Last time I shared how satisfied I am with the latest season of Stranger Things, and I told you how empty I felt after watching the last episode. 

Image source

I decided to watch season 3 of Umbrella Academy to fill in the gap in my heart. This is also one of my favorite series on Netflix, and I waited for two years just to watch season 3. However, in the end, I was dissatisfied with the overall story. It looks like the whole season could be compressed into two to four episodes, but they decided to stretch it into 10 episodes. For me, there are lots of irrelevant scenes, which makes it boring. There’s also the part where you can feel the tension rising, but it will eventually go down. Do you know the feeling of overstimulation where you will later find it tiring and boring? I don’t know if my opinion makes sense, but that’s what I just feel. My friends also share the same opinion. Despite that, I will still give them the benefit of the doubt. Maybe they shot it during the pandemic since I noticed that the majority of the story happened only in one place. 

Though this season ruined my expectations, one of their episodes gave me a realization of what is currently happening in our society. If you haven’t watched Umbrella Academy yet and you’re planning to binge-watch it, continuing to read this will spoil your enjoyment. 

After saving the world from the apocalypse, the Umbrella Academy arrived in the wrong timeline, where they met their counterpart, Sparrow Academy. This has caused a time paradox and a kugelblitz (black hole) that consumes and destroys the world little by little. 

Image source

Grace, a female robot that is designed to become an acting mother in the academy, was the first one to discover the kugelblitz in the basement. Since then, she treated it as something miraculous, a gift from God. Grace continued to worship the kugelblitz despite seeing one of the members of the sparrow academy consumed alive. This strengthened her claim that this is God. 

Image source

In the latter part, the other members discovered the destructive black hole. They planned to destroy it, but Grace got in the way and flame-throwed the characters. She insisted that this is God and she must protect it from the people that want to destroy it. From that moment, I realized something. 

In this part, I think that this is a metaphor for what’s happening in our society. There are certain beliefs that spread the stupidity and that stupidity can cause harm to others. And I don’t limit these kinds of beliefs to religion alone. There are too many to mention. For instance, the belief of Nazis that Germans are superior and the other races, especially Jews, inferior. This belief resulted in hatred and eventually state-sponsored killings, also known as the Holocaust. Another thing is the belief of other people that climate change is just a hoax. If this stupid mindset were spread continuously, we would put humankind in danger.

What do you think we should do? 

During the commotion caused by Grace, one of the main characters in the series, named Number 5, was able to teleport the robot to the other room and kill it by breaking its neck.

You might interpret that I am trying to justify killing just to correct something wrong. Killing is morally unacceptable. We can look for other ways to stop these kinds of beliefs and stupidity. 

We should always use our critical thinking. Our brains are located at the top of our heads for a purpose. We should always think deeply and consider the consequences.

Because we aren't always right, we should always be open to new ideas and ready to change our minds. There are times when what we believe and think is incorrect. Admitting that we're wrong and listening to others can help us discover the truth and grow.

Being empathetic can also help sometimes. When you think about the welfare of other people and not just about your beliefs and principles, you're making a difference. 


You can also read my other articles....

Reach me on:

Noise.cash | Telegram | Twitter

13
$ 2.32
$ 2.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Ruffa
+ 4
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I hope you're okay :) It's good that you have DennMarc to support you.

I don't watch this series now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang gusto ko panuorin po yan. By the way, some beliefs are truly harmful especially when it has no factual basis. So we should be open-minded and just believe in the things that matter.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Come again? You are dissatisfied? Well, I am too. Like if I'll rate it t 10 then I would give 5 or 6. It's not actually trending because of its poor scenes, script and plot. Hays.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, I noticed it too hahaha. Parang irrelevant sila ngayon :((

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wuy, basahin mo pm ko. Hahaha. Asap.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahahaha 🤣 salamat!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Diko pa yan napapanood. Lalo ang hahaba pala nyan by season ee. Pero maganda if may mapupulot na lesson. I should try this no hindi yong puro ako lovey lovey aigooo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wag na din panuorin ate, medyo madidisappoint ka lang sa season three hahaha. May mapupulot namang aral sa mga love story ah — na hanggang pantasya lang tayo kay crush hahaha 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is true sometimes the beliefs can be harmful and It's too hard to accept the truth about the beliefs when you grew up with it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree 💯. This is why we should correct children while they are still young

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dami din pala mga pag kakataon na nabubulag na ang tao sa sarili nilang paniniwala kahit may mga mali na

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Omsim, nakakalungkot lang

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Like I have seen the movie so many times but I haven't watched it because I thought the series won't be interesting, maybe I will check it out and know the whole story line. B

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I wish I didn't spoiled the stories to you 😅. The season 1 and 2 were great!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aaackk Umbrella Academyyyy fav ko too nakakapagod mag-antay talaga hahaha. Anyways, I'm totally impressed. Ang galing lang how you were able to recognize such important lesson that our world is needing and I agree with you. Sobrang focus ko lang sa mga ganap sa series hahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you 😊. I am glad na naenjoy mo pa rin yung season 3 ❤️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang it is a matter when to break your principles for the sake of the many, ano?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Omsim, ganun nga

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tapos ko ng panuorin ang Stranger Things, hindi ko muna binasa ng buo article mo kasi papanuorin ko pa yang umbrella academy, maganda raw yan.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Oo panuorin mo muna hahaha. Save mo muna tong article ko para mabasa mo later :)))

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes it's hard to accept corrections but if you after learnings, you will set aside your pride and accept it to learn more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Agree 💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haven't seen that movie hih. Pero sabi nga nila maganda nga raw tlaga yan. HIhih Have you tried the 100? Maganda din yun sobra.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ay di ko pa napapanood yan. Sige try ko icheck mamaya

$ 0.00
1 year ago