A Bird Yearning for Freedom

13 68
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

August 03, 2021

Independent or dependent? If I ask you about this question, you may respond with different answers and reasons. However, some of you may answer in confusion and may ask, what is the context of the question.

As far as I can remember, @Eunoia I created an article about being independent. He said being on yourself is not that easy and can bring a struggle on the individual if dealt without thorough thinking. I 100% agree that being independent is not an easy thing to do but it won't stop me from doing it.

The Curse of Being Alone and Independent

For almost 19 years of living with parents, the majority of my decisions were somehow influenced by them. The university where I will study, the senior high school strand I will take, how I should perform with my academics, what job I should get, and even socializing – all of that were controlled by my parents. Actually, not totally controlled but they would manipulate me into thinking that my decision is not right. And when something goes wrong, they will start to guilt trip me.  This is why as I grow up; I tend to have trust issues with myself.

I don’t want to make my parent’s image bad for my readers. In fact, I really understand that they just love me and are really concerned for my future, and I am thankful for that. But like you and any other individual on this planet , we seek freedom, to live without being held by others. 

It is natural to human pursuit for freedom. For instance, the Philippines were colonized by the Spanish for 333 years and for that long time, our country had a series of civil wars and revolutions just to be free in the hands of the colonizers.

Click the photo for the source.

In my case, I feel like I am strangled in my own home. The words ‘privacy’ and ‘personal space’ are not a thing to my parents, I often find myself in a toxic situation, I can’t do the things and decide on my own, etcetera. This is why I thought being independent in terms of all aspects would be good to me. It feels like I am the Philippines and my family is the colonizers, lol. I am screaming kalayaan!

If I am given a chance to be independent right now, the first thing I will do is to find a house that is suitable to my budget and needs. 

This is pretty hard, I think. Finding a house rent that is budget friendly is scarce. I mean, you can find one but I am not sure with the ambiance of the surrounding. I don’t want to live in a stressful environment because it just voids the main reason why I want to be independent - peace. 

On the other hand, If I continue my plan of going to college this year, I won’t be bothered with the budget because my parents (I think) will be the one who will spend for my dormitory if I choose to live separate from them while studying.

Find a full time or part time job 

Of course, if you want to be independent, you should find a source of income. What a shame if you want to separate but you’re still financially dependent on your parents. 

If I am given a chance to be free right now, I will print out my resumes, as many as I can and pass it to different institutions who are hiring applicants. The more resumes, the more chances of winning 😂. 

Or maybe if I am lazy enough, I can just use readcash and noisecash. Here on this platform you own your time. There’s no someone pushing or forcing you to write. It’s on your freewill when to publish works. Isn’t it amazing?

Given that I have my own home and job, I can finally do all I want including dancing and singing alone.

Yes, I am a frustrated dancer and singer. I don’t really know how to dance- I just go with the beat. I neither sing. I can carry a tune but my voice is not pleasant to the ears. If you hear me sing, I might disrupt and destroyed the whole ecosystem.

Here in my house, my movement is just limited. I am not comfortable showing my goofy side. I just became me when they’re all asleep. If you will put a secret camera in our house, you can see that I lip sync across the room and act like I am that specific singer. Just imagine a singer performing on a stage, I’m just like that. 

So, if I have the chance to be independent, I will have the freedom to show the real me without being judged.

Aside from that, I can finally go with my friends without someone restricting me. I appreciate my parents for not allowing me sometimes to make friend getaways because they are just concerned with my welfare, but I am already 19 and I want to decide on my own. I also believe that socializing with other people and exploring the world will help me to be life smart. 


Living on your own doesn’t mean you need to cut your ties with your family. I want to be independent because I trust myself enough that I can grow more if permitted to go out of the cage. I believe that I have something bigger to offer. It feels like there's a character that's waiting to be unlocked and it's to me when and how will I unlock it.

Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty

Thank you to my sponsors, upvoters, silent readers, commenters, and critics for keeping me motivated in writing 💯. I am just a speck of dust floating in the wind without you 

Ending remark:

Hello, thank you for reading my work! This is my last article for the rainy day as I am not able to create these past few days because of busy schedule. Regardless, thank you very much for reaching this part! As a way of saying thanks, click this link for the reward :))


You can read my recent articles...

16
$ 8.30
$ 7.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Nyctofiles
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 11
Sponsors of kli4d
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kli4d
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Beware and be guided once you get your freedom, I was once like that, being alone and independent doesn't always guarantee's happiness or freedom, sometimes it's a lurking longing to family, especially when your not feeling well,. You would wish again I'd rather be home. Hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes po, I will always take note of this. I am aware na iba pa rin po talaga pag kasama pamilya. Pero yun nga po we will never grow we keep on depending on them :))

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay din naman yun for experience, kaya sabi ko dun lods, mapag matyag at wag magpadala sa biglang kalayaan, yung wala nagbabantay, pero mabait ka naman cgurong bata. Pray kalang palagi, at e ess phone sur mo ako.,. Okay na yun hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sound be like an adult soul is hiding in the teenager's body huh. We must absorb the fact that parents will not be there forever, and you will not see their faces every time. At some point, we will really be out of sight and roam and see what is the world outside the comfort zone. That's good you give your mind the idea of being the bird you want, the Eagle that is the symbol of bravery and independence. Fly and aimed to conquer the skies of your dreams.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess being with myself all the time makes me reflect more and thing about things deeper hahaha. I am still not life smart kaya I guess I am not matured as you think. Matured siguro sa salita pero not in kilos hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i consider me, myself as independent. lalo na at since g8 dinako umaasa sa parents ko. Nagbibigay nalang rin ako ngayon sakanila para panggastos nila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ganto rin yung gagawin pag naging independent na ako nakahanap ng work. I will not forget them :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo tama, nakakaproud kaya ung ganyan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Growth is found outside of our comfort zone. You cannot grow in a place where you are already familiar. If you are already in a legal age, then I think moving away from your parents in order for you to be independent is right. But just remember that it'll never be easy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll take note this. Thank you po :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I considered myself independent now since I have my own family (that if we talk about parents). Regarding marital status, it's 50/50 because there are things that limits you to do the things you usually do.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I think ganun po siguro talaga. Ganto din daw po si mama. Nakwento nya kasi sakin na nung na kay lola pa sya, she tend to depend too much. Pero nung lumipat kami ng bahay here in Cavite, napilitan po syang maging independent para samin. I guess, the experience will teach us talaga

$ 0.00
2 years ago

go for it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago