The Curse of Being Alone and Independent

26 73
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Be careful what you requested, the thing that looks like wasn’t that shown as real. Being unparalleled and stay out from your annoying parent and noisy family is not freedom but for some, it's a curse. Living just by yourself is a hex.

https://unsplash.com/photos/mOCBjqdhjoA

On the foregoing days I get sickled I realized and reminisce something unforgettable from the past worth sharing. That happened during my sophomore year of University days of my life. When I was stuck in the hurtful and huge burn situation.

Still young we assume being alone and independent is the best key to be freed from our parent’s strict hands. We often think that if we stay out from them we will be lived comfortably, no one will tell us to do that or those things. No one will give a commandment you need to obey. Life is yours and always be yours.

But when the times appear, you just want to go home. I enrolled in University 2 hours’ drive via commute, the thing in my mind is to be freed so I chose the miles away rather than nearby university. I can’t cook my food, I can't do my laundry because my Mother is always there for me, and when I choose to leave I think I can’t survive and just go home immediately.

The hardest thing during my college is when I got sick and my friends weren’t always there to accommodate me. Of course, even they want to, they also like me as innocent as a child. The first word I describe is the Mama, you can call me mama’s boy if you want but it's happened four years ago, and the experience I encountered is presently like fell yesterday.

I don’t know what to do; I just had to lay in my bed and depend on what meals my friends could provide. I stay in that position for a week and my parents didn’t know, for I want to be alone and independent. What I grasped blessing from staying out ended as a curse.

What If OFW (Overseas Filipino Workers) Would Do If They Sick?

Another financier of mine during my college days is my elder sister, she decided to went to the Middle East in my second year and she says she will provide some of my allowance and expenses at the university.

Is your parent or someone from your family are working domestically? Did you ask them what they were doing when they get sick or something uncomfortable on them? If not here what they mostly do.

If it’s not that severe, they will just continue their normal daily routine. Of course, they need to earn money for their family to live comfortably even they don’t get the same thing. And if its’ hurt and can’t move their body, all they could do is to sleep and cry. For they may dream that could have a family to take care of them. This may Imaginary but it’s happening to them.

In the happy smirk, they gave there is dropping pain and sorrow, there is a curse they willing to embody and endure just to give their family the best and only the best. Some are willing to be hungry so the family she/he left has something to fill in their stomach. Are you aware of the curse they suffer?

What If Homeless Would Do If They Sick?

When we were sick we just want to stay at our houses or room to rest, but how about those people who don’t have any room or home to stays? Those street dwellers and risk-takers to have a piece of the spot to rest even just for hours to slept.

They are humans too, they could felt the same thing we were, and they were getting tired and burn their bodies because of fever.

In the time we were unwell it felt like were cold even we used the 2 layers of blanket, how about the people who don’t have even just one piece? What they do?.

The Curse of Being Alone and Independent

Everyone wants to be indecently alone, travel, or live just with themselves. We want to traverse the limitless of being independent. Gain and use our money, and besides not all the time we will have our parents on our side. We need to stand in our own one pair of legs.

This gives me such a great realization. Besides I also had the plan of accomplishing overseas, and use my knowledge and skills in modern farming, that’s why I also eager to learn a foreign language specifically English so when the times come. I could talks and express my words in the right manner.

Overseas wasn’t a joke, and some wishes to leave the country because we think most opportunity waits in other nations because our country wasn’t yet advance to have my dream career.

Away from dreaming such a thing, I also knew the consequences of what happened next. Stays out from the family, lived my own, and do the thing on my own. Be dependent on me, even we were in sickness or health.

One thing for sure in my head is that there is a curse of being alone. “No man is an island”, be careful what you wished for, never wished that you will be alone, never crave to depend only on yourself. The minute that happened, it’s become our curse.


Recent Stories:



21
$ 13.95
$ 13.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Yen
+ 8
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I always wanted to be alone and currently working abroad. Pro hirap tlga magkasakit kpg malayo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako po, hanggang maaari, umiiwas ako sa kanila kasi masyado silang nakakatrigger ng anxietues at ayaw ko na napagsasabihan ako haha. Lagi kong gusto magkulong sa bahay kasi doon ako sanay pero amboring rin ng buhay ko kung wala ang presensya nila. Nakikiinteract rin naman ako but not kinda haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap talaga mag isa Lalo kapag may sakit ka. Dati akala mo Malaya kana once na nagseparate ka ng bahay sa parents mo Kasi magagawa mo na mga gusto mo pero kapag mag Isa ka nalang mamimiss mo din Yung mga nagluluto ng almusal for you. May mag aalaga pag may sakit ka. May kakwentuhan ka habang kumakain o nanunuod NG tv.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

I honestly had those thoughts, too. I just want to live independently to avoid everyday nagging and sermon etc. But when I also contemplate on it, no one could take care of me better than how mom does. My family completes the naturally lonely me. Even I always long to be alone (that's just who I am), I always want their presence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, we really need other people to survive. And in terms of our family, I would definitely say that there's no place like home. However, sometimes we also need to step out from our comfort zone in order to grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"No man is an Island" yes, it's hard to be alone and independent. There are times we need help from the others. There's nothing wrong with that because we're not perfect. The most important is we need to help each other. More articles and God bless sir.😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We want to be independent but its not a easy step to take

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the famous line from John Donne which I would never forget, No Man is an Island. True! Kahit nga nung ojt namin nung practice teaching namimiss ko na pamilya ko agad. May mga times na gusto natin mag isa pero kung palagi nalang kasi mag isa, ang lungkot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oww Lumabas ba sa LET yan ma'am? Hehe balak ko din kunin ang LET kapag natapos ko soon Educ Unit

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di nga eh pero part yan ng review namin. 😅 Wow! For sure pasado na yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is indeed true. "no man is an island", its not bad to seek help for others sometimes. Its hard to be independent alone and away to your family. But i salute you, you were able to survive being away from your parents and taking care of yourself. I also have relative whos ofw and whenever they feel sick they dont have a choice but to continue their work and no one is there taking care of them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed the hardest thing to be an OFW

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you're feeling uncomfortable at your home and you're always annoyed with your parents, talk to them. Nicely discuss the problem with them and suggest your opinion on what to change in their attitudes or assure them they shouldn't be worried too much about you. Sometimes communication is the key.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great and superb write up Captured all necessary fact about the story. Yeah! I can also relate to this well, my day at home were so tiring and boring. I had always wished to be out of home and also find my way to stay all alone. I never thought of the consequences that would come after that. Not until I got Sick and was deprived of the care and attention I got from home. No one cares about my health. The little attention I could get was on phone all from my mom. Parents are really trying a lot and should be appreciated for all they do for us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, that's the crucial thing. when we get sick and no one will offer help. we just want to get home LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Presently, I miss home as you remind me again lol 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think it's a curse to someone who is fit to take responsibility and be on his own especially when he or she is ready to settle down in marriage with his or her partner.

Here in Nigeria, we believe that we should be independent to lessen the burden of our parents who have taken care of us and we should go out to work, get a house to ourselves and once in a while, visit them.

To me, I love to be independent and it's not a curse to me because I don't want to end up living on my parent's money but to go out and find job to help them too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

it's really nice to listen for another side of the story. thanks for sharing your thoughts and I guessed in your place being self-dependent is a blessing for they been prepared you for that. have a great day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been living independently since I was in my early college days. Though there have been times when I stayed with my mom when my daughter was still a baby. Been sick as an ofw and I swear, it's tough. I have been living alone for years since I graduated. Being a lone wolf can be very difficult but also very rewarding. Difficult in meeting new people. Rewarding 'cause you have more time in developing your skills and in acquiring more knowledge and stuff. I won't consider it as a curse tho. It's my solitude.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course, for a lone wolf like me maybe a curse. for you mentioned it's not a hox I think you had been evolved to she-wolf alpha. Thank you for reading ateng..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kasla baliktad kan sa, kabsat haha. Di ba no lone wolf, most likely loves being alone. I am a full blooded loner ;) You could be an ambivert. You're welcome, deng.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha basta ajay lattan ateng hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

cge man lattan haha. mayka ta agkape ta pay, deng

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the problem with being alone, nobody will take care of us if we get sick. Two or more is always better than one and no one is an island, we need other people around us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

indeed, maybe that's the reason why elders annoyed us to get partner as soon as possible LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha yes maybe because we need companions as we grow old especially if they'll be gone

$ 0.00
2 years ago