Way Back When Alcohol is Life

20 50
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

As I mentioned in my previous articles if you have read about my latest topic with alcohol, I had a high tolerance since I was introduced to it at a very young age, plus the genes, maybe?

When I was younger, my impression of alcohol is always at the negative. It was instilled in our minds that alcohol is next to illegal drugs. The elderlies have always conserved the youngsters from the dangers of the environment.

Our parents have always taught us to be responsible with ourselves. Everyday, they are equipped with teachings and warnings against any possible harm that might come towards us. As we continue to grow, the teachings never stopped and it changes and upgrades as we age.

I have grown as a simple and conservative lady. Even make up is strictly prohibited except for special occasions. Same with alcohol. I grew up with authoritative parents where you follow their rules. They set up your time, when you can go out and whom you can be with. You can never escape to the kind of parents that I have, especially my father.

It is unexpected that at a young age some people were able to take the chance to give me a single sip of an alcohol despite the strict rules of my father. If you may read my previous article Liqour and the Memories, I have mentioned when I started to taste an alcohol, which ones I have tasted and the different memories I had with them.

It's funny that as I grow, alcohol beverages has become a great part of my life. I mean, isn't it? When all my life as a child, I never expected that my parents would ever allow us as they have always repeatedly said that alcohol is bad.

On my journey to becoming an adult I have experienced the different effects of alcohol and the kind of people it can make you which I previously wrote on Types of Drunk People and Binge Drinkers. I also shared the most mind blowing experience which I never thought would ever happen to me in The Most Embarrassing Moment : Alcohol Effects.

The Most Memories of My Life

I have so many different flash memories of my childhood. Except from fairy tales and childhood adventures, alcohol gave me the most memories of my growing younger self.

It seemed like my puberty stage had rolled around the world of liquor. Highschool is always fun. Even if I keep my grades high and stayed as a good student, I also go out with trusted friends just to have fun. We drink liquor but only with the supervision of adults. I always play safe by drinking with people whom I can be sure of my safety. This only happens in random occasions.

When I stepped into college, things got a little bit different since, I can now go out with friends after my last class period. I only go with the closest friends which mostly came from high school. Drinking always has limits, my brain still believes that education is priority and that I should always have to make my parents proud. That is my goal and not to drink. As liquor tempts me to take a sip of it, I gave in to it's lure, still always with limits.

Alcohol is not new to me. I was so young when I started drinking. My parents never knew even if I'm with my cousins. We are a mixture of different genders and personalities but as 1st degree cousins, we are so close to each other. We are more than just cousins, we treat each other as brothers and sisters. We go out together and drink with moderation but there are some of us who easily gets drunk so, some would slow down to carry the others. We always make sure everyone is safe.

this was taken in one of our outings

My aunt has a rented house were we, cousins, as students stay together and the elders take responsibility of the young ones. We help each other in every house chores and have fun together afterwards. Most of the time, we drink at home or somewhere near the house so that no one gets in trouble.

The old days with them was really fun. When the older cousins left the house to work, I was the only youngest to follow their steps. Everything changed because I have no batchmate. The young ones are too young and I felt left alone. We still go out sometimes but most of the time they are already out for work.

After College: It all started with a heartbreak

During my college days, I was allowed to go out during school events. My parents ask for the names of my friends and make sure they can entrust me to them. Most of my close friends are boys. They call me one of the boys, boyish, lesbian but I'm not. They were like my brothers and I'm their little sister. My friends never broke my parents trust and they take responsibility to take me home each time we go out for a drink.

I was close to these boys because we were schoolmates in high school and I'm their friend's girlfriend. That friend (my boyfriend) is always absent and always in front of his computer. He stayed at home and lost interest in his studies. I kept my patience for 4 years and assisted this guy to fix his school problems. But he seems to really don't care about his future. We had an "on and off" relationship. His friends never left me and pulled me up as he pushes me down.

Eventually, we broke up before graduation which was the saddest moment of my life. I was close to his family and everyone knew me, but he seemed to be overwhelmed by it. I think he didn't like the way his mother asks me about his status in school. He found a friend in computer games and kept his focus on it until he found a real partner there. I was fine with it, but when I knew they were already together for more than a year while we were still together, I had a total breakdown. His mom called to comfort me. Of course I cried a lot, I would rather be replaced by a game than be fooled for a year. The information came from a common friend and that's even worse. 💔

After graduation, I went on a vacation for two weeks. When I came home, I met an old friend, my elementary classmate who invited me out for a drink. That day was the day I arrived and the ex-boyfriend called telling me to come to his house for a short talk. He returned some of my gifts but I refused and I immediately left. I then went to the bar where my old friend told me to see her.

I saw the girl drinking with two guy friends with her in a cottage. Went straight to them and she introduced me to her friends. I was a little scared of the guy with a hole in both his ears, they called it ear tunnels. He had lip piercings and I never befriended someone like him. I felt unsafe that time, but I trust my friend.

As we spend the whole afternoon in that bar, I was starting to enjoy their company. Maybe I judged them too quickly. That day I found out my friend was heartbroken from her 5 year relationship. Guess, I'm in the right company since the guy with ear plugs also came from a heartbreak.

We drank rum and beer the whole afternoon 'til night time. That night more of their friends came who are mostly my friends from elementary and high school, too. I had no dull moments with them. We started to open up our own heartaches when one opened up the topic. Some started crying. Lol!

they're so good at mixing

That was the time I started joining hard core parties. Drinking all night, waking up early in someone's house. My personality shifted to the one that was kept for years they call as "dark side of me". Despite that circumstance, I still stayed respectful and respected by those who knew me. Alcohol changed a little bit of me but not the way I act towards other people. I just wanted to have fun and be free as I am.

My parents allowed me to go out since I already graduated and was job hunting at that moment. Meanwhile, I continued going out with the new found friends. The guy with ear tunnels, he was the only guy who is always present. We are all girls in the group and he comes as my friend always wanted him to join us. This guy is a good listener and good at giving advice that's why she's fond of him. He was actually her ex-boyfriend's friend.

Most of the time, they come to my house to eat and drink when there's no space at the bars. I have my own room and sometimes I'm left alone at home so I ask permission from my aunt to host a house party. We always enjoy the grill n' drink sessions. We play loud music, we talk about funny things when there's power interruption and we drink 'til morning. We enjoy a lot with each other's company.

they love to stay at my room before going out at night to party

One time I had the chance to talk to mr. Ear plugs and indeed he is a good adviser. We became good friends and the group go out every night with him. I'm starting to feel comfortable talking to him.

That was April when we first met. We started to get close to each other. It was one night on May when one of our common friend who happened to be my batchmate in the Youth for Christ (YFC) got really drunk, we had a little past before when I was active in the YFC. Not that we had a relationship but I heard rumors that they tagged me as his admirer. Ew! 🤮 haha! 😅😅 I was never attracted to that guy. So, he thought I liked him and that time he was heartbroken, I can sense that this drunk guy is trying to prey on me. Good thing my new "close" friend took my hand and brought me to one of the benches. We were both tipsy, and everything happened so quickly. He kissed me. 😍

I went home with confusion. Next thing I knew, he was already my boyfriend because of that one kiss. We kept our relationship secret for a while. We still go out with the group without them knowing about us. We still act as if we are just friends but he stays a lot near me. My friend sensed it, I know, and I smell jealousy in her. 🤣 Lol! 🤣

Then one day in an island, I got really drunk and lost my mind for a while. Lol! Everything was revealed and they were shocked and thought I was a good secret keeper for not telling them for a long time. But I got drunk and everybody looked at me like 👀👀👀👀. I woke up in shame the next day 😜🤪... You can read the story here.

I had a really big problem at that time that I lost myself in the influence of mixed alcohol. I drunk too much, that was the first time I lost control of myself. I was in total black out and all I can see is flash memories of what happened on that day. I thought everything was just a dream. One of my best buddies in college was there. He was the one who carried me while I was out of control. After that incident he told our college brothers and they sort of warned me about going out with that group including my boyfriend. 😔

They told me he is not good enough and that they don't trust him. I can feel so much love and concern as they were too overprotective. But my boyfriend, he said "I don't have to prove myself to anyone". So, I let him be. He was a chain smoker, a drinker but he was a sweet person. He looks different and "informal" but I can see he is a nice person.

I never actually got attracted to him, in fact I never thought he'd become my boyfriend. He never courted me, he just implied this relationship through that one kiss. He was never the ideal guy I was looking for after that serious boring relationship with my ex. 🙄

Concerts

As we were revealed by my recklessness, we continue to go out with the same group but now we are free to show affection in front of them. We watch concerts and gigs together. I can say that alcohol really played a big role in my life. It opened up my mind. I mean, I was just playing safe going out with my cousins before. In college I only had few trusted friends whom I call brothers. And now, I'm taking the risk of getting in trouble with this "bad boy looking" guy. I felt so alive, with him, with my friends and liquor.

Jay Contreras of Kamikazee during the T5 concert

We always get into the front of the stage in every concert that we join. This liquor thing is so much fun. We meet new good friends and enjoy the night. You forget about family problems, you forget about what people say against you as long as you are with friends, you'll never feel alone. I forgot about the break up that easily. I even found someone who makes me happy.

Bamboo singing the famous "Tatsulok"

Alone with Him

We consume boxes of beer and never get drunk. Even until I got a job, we still go out like this. But I make sure I wear hoodies and no uniform or office logos. Until the girls started to fix their lives and went away to fulfill their own dreams. They got their own job went really busy and we seldom go out.

I was stuck again but this time, I have company. My boyfriend stayed with me. We watch movies, eat and drink. He introduced me to his own group of friends. They were great company as well. He has a bestfriend whom we also jam with every time he comes home for a vacation.

We continue to meet new people in the world of liquor. After two years we got married and now we have two children. We go out on weekends as our quality time as a couple. Now that a pandemic is going on, we stopped going out and stocked up beers and gin on our fridge. We drink whenever we want to. But this time, we are having health issues, so we set aside those beers for a while. I don't think I'm ever going back to drinking but I really missed those days.

I was inspired to write this story upon reading I Got Tipsy But Never Drunk by @Eybyoung from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs drunk moments prompt . I know I'm too late for this but I still want to share my story. This article stayed for days in my drafts and I really wanted to finish this one. How about you? You can also share your drunk moments with us.

Thanks for reading!

9
$ 6.49
$ 6.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
+ 4
Sponsors of kat2x
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for kat2x
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Experience

Comments

A long one but I really enjoyed reading it. I already sensed somethinf with Mr. Ear plugs from the start. Hehe. Oooohhhh. Alcohol. I miss drinking and passing out. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aahaha! Same.. It's a mixture of the best and worst feeling 🤣 It's the only drink that makes me the most confident human being in the world.. Haha!,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. I agree. I remember that I even had a few shots of alcohol before I went to some job interviews in the past 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I experienced that, too.. Hahah! And though I passed the interview, I didnt't accept the job coz I'll be given long term contracts to travel in different provinces alone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Travelling sounds good but I am also not up for it yet. Hehe. I remember there was one company I have worked with in the past. They said that I had to be open to wherever store they would assign me even in provinces. After thinking about it, I submitted my resignation few months after 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is okay to drink alcohol but not too much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same, liquor might not be good but I cannot deny it gives me great memories haha YOLO lang. But things are different now kasi mga may asawa na tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course focused tayo sa pamilya na eh.. Pero may mga jammings pa din kami mgpipinsan and since nasa malayo na yung iba, minsan at konti na lang din kami.. Kahit papano nakakamusta namin isa't isa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's the Kamikazee and Bamboo pictures for me. Hehe. Di ako mahilig umattend ng concerts eh. Crowds are too overwhelming for me but for sure it was a fun experience for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakapunta lang ako sa mga crowded places when I'm with people na alam kong safe ako.. 😊 This is the part of my life na hindi ko inakalang magagawa ko.. Hehe.. I mean I've watch concerts before but not like this. Napakapormal noon kasama ko auntie ko palagi.. Hehe..

I've entrusted myself to people na hindi ko nakasama ng matagal. Sa iksi ng panahon na sila kasama ko naging comfortable ako agad tapos may isa pang naging instant boyfriend ng dahil lang sa galaan at inuman.. Haha! Medyo risky din yun kasi pano kung mga kriminal tong mga to.. Iba hitsura nila sa mga nakasama ko lalo na tong bf ko. 🤣 Ito yung time na, gusto ko lang maging masaya kaya bahala na... 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. That's part of growing up madam. You wouldn't be the person you have become right now if it wasn't for the past experiences you had.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ng sarpa ng ganyan, yun kainuman mo si husband. Before nun di ko pa asawa husband ko eh kainuman ko din sya, barkada kami. Pero nun mag asawa na eh ayoko na sya kainuman. Panay tanong sa mga ex ko tapos magseselos, hahahahaahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah! Ganern? Pag ganyan e ayoko din talaga sya kainuman.. 😅. Etong hubby ko naman inaasar ako sa mga ex ko.. Tapos pinagtatawanan lang ako.. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, naku seloso kasi husband ko. Dati andame kong friend na biys pero simula nun nagsama kami eh nawala lahat, hahahah..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami kasi nung nagmeet parehas na kaming may kanya kanyang friends hinayaan namin isa't isa na maki jam sa mga friends namin..alam niya na mga lalaki na friends ko sa school at parang mga kapatid ko na sila.. palagi niya sinasabi sakin "hey i don't do jealous, not being jealous doesn't mean i don't labyu" 😜 ayeee! Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana all ganyan, asawa ko dati kapag naglalakad kmi tpos may biglang mapaatingin sa akin, sasabihin agad ex ko, hahahaah.. Parang ang ganda ng asawa eh😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman po pala, pero maganda din po un kase naexperience niyo po ang maraming bagay. Sabi nga nila you only lived once kaya dapat ienjoy ang buhay, wala naman pong masama sa paginom hanggat nakokontrol at alam ang mga nangyayari. Sadly, di ako nainom hahaha good boy po tlaga ako.😆😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

heheh.. buti naman kung ganun , ilang taon kana ba? Mas maganda yan wag kang titikim ng alak at baka pagsisihan mo din..hehe.. hindi maganda sa katawan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry you're not late po. I'm happy nanyou use my prompt as your article ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang dami kong relate kasi pagdating sa ganitong topic.. it happened 10 years ago, ngayon asawa ko na kainuman ko..heheheh

$ 0.00
2 years ago