I Think It's A Silly Reason

29 67
Avatar for itsmeCguro
1 year ago

I've been a plantita for quite some time now, and whenever I see a caterpillar on my plants' leaves, I always jump for joy!

Those cutie caterpillars, even if they eat a lot of my plants' leaves are wonderful creatures.

Imagine, your plant becomes a part of the caterpillars growth, that will soon become a lovely butterfly! Ahh, that's a privilege!

But not everyone's happy to see a caterpillar on their plants' leaves.

Image from Unsplash

There's this thing that I can't help but to react on negatively. While I was taking a break and scrolling through my Facebook feed, I chanced upon a post of someone asking for an advice on how to kill some caterpillars.

Really? Kill?

That question alone made me raise my eyebrow. Why would someone want to kill caterpillars?

Well, I admit, we killed some caterpillars when I was in high school because of an insecticide/pesticide experiment that we're working on. We're competing for a research project and we need to test whether our insecticide/pesticide was effective. It's heartbreaking to see those caterpillars die in front of us.

Although, I am with the farmers who really wants to get rid of those caterpillars because it might destroy their business.

Back to the Facebook post, I didn't screenshot the picture of her plant because I don't have her permission to post it here. Her plant was almost leafless.

She was asking for ways on how to kill those caterpillars who keep on eating her plant's leaves. Apparently, there are several caterpillars who are eating the leaves and somehow made her plant looked as if it is dead because of the eaten leaves. She was more concerned on her plants' physical image because it's infront of her residence and it's the first thing the people would notice when they walk through.

A lot of people commented. Most of the comments are negative. Well, I do agree with their reasoning.

That's why when I encountered that post, my first reaction is it's a silly reason to kill caterpillars, although I get her point that it destroys the image of her plant.

Caterpillars play an important role in the ecosystem. Even if they're eating your plants' leaves, let them do that. Leaves will eventually grow back in time.

Or, if you really can't take it, at least transfer them in other places where they could still eat leaves, grow, then become a wonderful butterfly, without destroying your plants.

Caterpillars are living things too. Remember that when you kill one, you're also taking away the life of a soon to be beautiful butterfly.


How about you, what do you do to the caterpillars that you encounter on your plants? Do you kill them? Or do you let them eat your plants' leaves?


August 3, 2022

9
$ 1.00
$ 0.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jento
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 4
Sponsors of itsmeCguro
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for itsmeCguro
1 year ago

Comments

Caterpillars are really lovely though they are the destructive stage of butterfly. I don't think it's wise for us to kill it, because if they are no caterpillars then they won't be any butterflies and our plants won't be pollinated anymore

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Caterpillars are not friendly most time but we need to under, they birthed our precious pollinating agent the butterfly. I don't appreciate them a lot but I can't kill them.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree, the sight of caterpillars make it a bit off but for the butterflies, spare their lives 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm also agree to you.. Even seeing the caterpillars eating my plants naiinis and sinasabi ko napapatiyun ko sila.. Even though na sinabi ko iyun hindi ko pa rin magawa.. Kasi iniisip ko na they need to eat leaves para sila ay mabuhay.. Then nagbibigay din sila ng saya sa mga tao kapag paro-paro na sila..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nakakaawa rin kasi tlaaga eh no

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I understand the frustration but caterpillars can potentially damage the plants. Although I agree to them, killing those caterpillars is not the right thing to do. Sooner or later, they'll turn into a beautiful butterfly that would add colors to the world. Instead of killing, I suggest to transfer them to some areas. I'm amazed with that huge love you have for organisms. Indeed, killing them because they pose damage is a silly reason. You have my respect. Salute to you maam.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for the udnerstanding! I do agree, they can damage the plants as well

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Totally agree!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Once we learn to appreciate that we are all connected, humans, nature, plants, insects, animals, weather, earth - everything in this planet, then we will have no reason to kill. Let us educate and not hate :)

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Luv the last part, educate not hate. The people commented there negatively, some left negative comments just to bash the owner while the others were trying to give her options instead of killing caterpillars.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A caterpillar will turn into a butterfly soon that will make our world colorful and beautiful. Likewise, we are caterpillars who needs to grow more so that at end of the day we will turn into a beautiful butterfly that will paint color in the world.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Parang takot ako pumatay ng caterpillar dahil baka tumalsik yung juice haha! Pero if I see one, I just let it go hehehe

$ 0.01
1 year ago

wahaha naiimagine kita Ji! Oo nga naman, parang kadiri pag tumalsik un haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, my mom's a plantita too. But she never kills those caterpillars living and eating freely her plants. But, I am guilty of it 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm not a plantita but take time to understand other people. What if some people grow vegetables and they don't take enough profit from it because the plants can't survive anymore without leaves?

Just a piece of my though though

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm with those who lives with the profit, but for the sake of the plants' physical image, I think it's a silly thing to do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have no right to kill other living souls, I know caterpillars harms a lot to the plants but they just eating those plants in order to live in this world. They are just eating those leaves not harming them, so we should not kill them because after a certain point they will stop doing so.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I remenber when I was became a plantita too. There where a caterpillar and I let it out on the leaves but I didn't kill it. Sorry for that!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Well it's okay sis as long as they're still alive haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede naman siguro tanggalin sa halaman dahil nakakasira ito sa mga dahon pero wag naman patayin pede ilipAt lang ng lugar magta transform payan into a beautiful butterflies

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ganun nga sis, pero syempre iba po pag talagang taniman na ng gulay or prutas

$ 0.00
1 year ago

NoNo I am very fond of animals but of plants yes, however plants attract many animals, that is why I do not usually have plants

$ 0.01
1 year ago

If it's a farm that plants can't be transplanted to other places, then it becomes difficult to allow the caterpillars to destroy then. We face this problem often in my home village when it's planting season. Although, when the plant grows, then th caterpillar would have less effect on them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, when the plant becomes healthier, the caterpillars would just be another living organism there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh no! It's not just about the image, it's about the overall health of the plant. Unfortunately, there are just plants caterpillars love to feast. And I am one of them who fancy the looks of the butterfly but not so much with the caterpillars... hahaha! sorry. I do encourage the building of ecosystem because this is what I am doing on deck, lucky there are enough leaves for them to feast on but it's the bird who made my roof deck their playground. I hear them singing in the early morns, brunch and dinner but often leave when i got up there.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh yaaa, I remember your garden when you shared it before! Unfortunately, the owner who posted it was just so concern about the image 😁 not the overall health of the plant haha. The plant is placed in front of their house so the people could see how awful it is that's why she wanted to kill those caterpillars.

Oh no, I guess you better deal with the birds than with the caterpillars 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are feeds I scatter around that's the reason for their visit. The birds are pretty harmless since my fruits - bitter gourd and cucumber are not ravaged yet! hihihi. I love the feeling of keeping them around. Kinda magical like that of Cinderella or Beauty, where birds abounds their scenery. I think it's good to keep them around for the worms and snail should there be some showing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes I happen to kill them accidentally. Though I let them eat leaves outside our home, I never let it consume the whole plant and just transfer them.hahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Glad to know that! You're not a caterpillar killer haha you spare their lives!

$ 0.00
1 year ago