An Uphill Hike to Hanginan

39 54
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Hanginan has been one of the most visited shrines and pilgrimage site in our place. Hanginan is a barangay that can be found on the hills of Maasin City, Southern Leyte. It is where the Chapel is located thus it is called Hangingan Shrine/Chapel - a chapel that is visited by Filipino devotees may it be Holy Week or just an ordinary day.

Since the shrine is on the hills of Hanginan which is 2.5 kilometers from the highway, you will trek for at least 2, hours or depending on how fast you trek or walk. But even with the given distance, there are still thousands of Pilgrims who go there to fulfill their promise to St. Francis Xavier for the favor granted or perhaps to pray and ask something from him.

Short introduction about St. Francis Xavier

St.Ā FrancisĀ XavierĀ wasĀ aĀ founding member ofĀ theĀ SocietyĀ ofĀ Jesus,Ā aĀ Jesuit organization.Ā OnĀ AprilĀ 7,Ā 1506,Ā FranciscoĀ deĀ JassoĀ y Azpilicueta wasĀ bornĀ inĀ Spain.Ā 

HeĀ diedĀ onĀ Dec.Ā 3,Ā 1552 at the age of 46 after becomingĀ illĀ onĀ an island inĀ China.

In connection, this morning we went to have an uphill hike to Hanginan together with my aunties and cousin. My aunt who was in Manila for many years has longed to go back to Hanginan since she arrived here last month to give thanks to St. Francis Xavier for her safe travel and quarantine so we planned to go.

We woke up at 4 AM today to arrive there early.

Getting ready

Of course, we would not like it if the sun was blazing hot. We just used our motorbikes to go there to avoid long hours of travel. We arrived there at 5 AM and started our trek. Glad that we brought motorcycle with us so we just parked there and continue walking at the cemented stairs all the way up to the shrine.

My two aunties and my cousin

We took pauses as we go since the aunties can't take long hikes without having a rest. Climbing up to 300 cemented stairs is not a joke but the sacrifice is so worth it. We forgot to bring water along with us so we were able to drink water almost near the chapel where a lot of mini stores are open.

the above view

When we were almost there, I stopped walking for a while and clicked some pictures of the above view. My photo can't give justice to what my eyes really saw. If you were there, you will be mesmerized by the view and get refreshed by the cool air. Just imagine how far we trek.

Inside the chapel

I could not take a nice shot since I found it uncomfortable to click photos inside here so I just click whatever angle it is.

When we were inside the chapel, I can feel the holiness which made me realize I should be serious this time and pray with all my heart's content. I won't tell you what I prayed for but one thing I include there is for this pandemic to be over.

I looked into my aunts' faces and they're very serious with their eyes closed. I can say that they must be praying hard for something.

After that, we rushed to the nearest eatery for our stomachs are rumbling. We enjoyed our breakfast there and bought some bibingka after. We rest for a while and then decided to go home.

On our way, I can feel spiritual relief that I have not felt for long. My aunties are also hoping that their journey of sacrifice will be answered.

This will be all for today. I apologize for my poor narration. Lol.

Happy first day of October!


Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty

Hello everyone! If you have some useful tips or guide which can help me improve, you can let me know in the comment section. I may not know all about you now but I am eager to know you deeper. I will work hard so I can be like the amazing writers here. I have talked to some people and they are all amazing.

Thank you so much for reading! Comments are very much appreciated. Same appreciation goes to my upvoters and kind sponsors. Again, this is gwapojohn at your service. šŸ˜‰ Let's get connected!

All photos are mine.

|10012021|

@gwapojohn

12
$ 6.07
$ 5.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of gwapojohn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gwapojohn
2 years ago

Comments

Happy second Monday of October. šŸ˜‰ 300 steps Not sure if it was also 300 steps going up the grotto in Baguio. I think it was around 2009 when I last went up to that grotto. I was actually counting it but my cousins were too noisy that I lost count. Hahaha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh, i see. Maybe in your next visit there you can count again and just tape your cousin's mouth. Kidding šŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Uy ang ganda ng view sa taas ha. Gandang bungad din for October. ā™„ļø

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, super. Kaya lang di maganda pagkakakuha ko ng pix eh. Haha! Naman para maging maganda ang buwan nato šŸ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dugay na ko wa ka anha dah ,murag 2014 pa siguro tong last ko nakasaka diha .Happy new month diay nimo johnšŸ˜Š

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pagkadugaya naman diay. Balik na! Happy new month pd natong tanan šŸ™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sana taga dyan nalang ako tas road trip palagi HAHAHAHA. kaibigan ko kase nasira motor jusko miss kong gumala ng gumala habang nakamotor

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha punta ka dito manang. May rason kung bakit nasira motor ng kaibigan mo para daw matapos mo module mo hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap ng bibingka, kuya!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay oo, grabe. Punta po kayo dito hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

para lang ako tricycle, kuya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pahangin sa Hanginan šŸ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aguy bisaya? Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi naman. Marunong lang haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay hahaha! Akala ko pa naman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a nice start for October John. Nice unta ibalik diha basin dugay2 nasab ko makabalik diha puhon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, ms. Grace. May nalang kaloy an ta. šŸ˜‚ Balik na ms. Grace labon di pa kaajo daghang tao ddto. Mas safe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Niadto ko last July John bawal pa Gani mo hawk ni senior.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw bawal paman pd ron

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganahan unta ko puhon IG balik naku pedi na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do uphill hike without bike haha it's my daily routine to do this and still going upwards while using mobile

Happy 1st day of October and wish you productive days ahead

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! You must really be so fond of hiking that you would go even without a bike. šŸ˜ Yes, you too! Productive days are ahead all of us

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah just to do some Walk and maintain healthy life.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda ng motor šŸ˜ nakawin ko yan mamaya hahhaha kasi may gala ako šŸ˜‚

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha sure. Hiramin mo nalang para wala kang kaso kinabukasan hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhh ang saya ng simula ng October nyo ha. Pero, mas bet ko yong motor, knino ysn akin nalang šŸ¤©šŸ˜šŸ˜. But seriously, ang ganda jan ha. Pero ingat pa rin dapat, nag ingat naman siguro kayo.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes naman! Hahaha o pwede sabihan mo mama ko para kayo mag away hahaha Yes maganda talaga dito, lalo na yung view pag nasa taas. Ingat na ingat kasi kasama mga aunties. Alam mo na hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti hindi strict ang policy nila kahit covid?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Meron parin naman. Social distancing parin at mask at tsaka limited lang papapasukin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hiking or simply walking gives me that spiritual high :D I can tell the view is great from your photo. To see lots of greeneries like that is refreshing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yup but these clicks are way far from yours. Hehehe!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Just keep clicking :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makamingaw. Dugay2 nasad ko waka visit anha. Gimingaw nuon kos bibingka sa hanginan.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Balik na ms. Janz. Maolge lami kaajo bibingka samot na naay kape or tablia

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Puhon ug ma okay na ang panahon. Karun lisod paman oyyy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dili na diay strikto diha sa Maasin? I was planning to visit Hanginan too, pero lisud man ibyahe lagi basta naay bata.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di na man kaajo pd. Ay o lajo2 raba pd pero sa amo ari duol raman ari bukid agi.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na mabuotan na jod kay lain napod giampoan. Daghan na jod mopangga

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha para daghan tang kapit. Plus 10 sa langit hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago