To study yes or no?

41 64
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

In some places, I have read writings where people say that it is not necessary to study because, in the long run, it does not bring them the certainty that they will be successful people.

I want to give my personal opinion without wanting to belittle other people's thoughts, I just want to say or express my feelings about it.

When I became aware that I was studying to educate myself and not others, I was already 15 years old. Just at that time, I decided to study a career that would make me generate income to get out of my condition as a poor citizen to a middle-class citizen. In my country, there were three categories, poor class, middle class, and upper class.

When I knew that I had to get out of poverty and that I had to study and make an effort to achieve it, I studied hard to deserve the prizes that at that time were won by students. I was not an excellent student but I was always at an average level, where I always passed the subjects in my final exams and some of which I didn't need to take because I was excellent.

Both in my first career and in college I always excelled on my own merits because I knew that I would strive to get what I most wanted.

When I got my first higher technical degree I decided to work and not continue studying but I was far from thinking that everything would end there. Little by little in my mind was introduced the little worm of knowledge and I wanted to continue learning after 4 years of working I decided to go to college under my own means to continue studying.

Each time I learned things that I would not have learned if I had not gone to college. The lessons I learned have helped me to improve my quality of life as a human being and as a professional.

I am now a senior citizen and I am still learning. I am still reading about pathologies that I did not know before and about ways to face situations that I did not know before.

Every time I see pathology in a patient I feel the need to go back and read some more and understand a little more about how the human organism works. I think this will never stop boiling in my mind. I feel that I will never stop having questions and looking for the answers in books, in writings, in congresses, and in seminars.

I feel that I am eternally grateful to God for allowing me to have this part in my mind that always wants to learn new things. I am not a wealthy woman but with what I have I have been able to raise my life since I turned 15 years old, without having to depend on anyone.

Am I a wealthy, rich woman? No, I am not, at least I don't consider myself that way, although others who see me think differently.

That I am a successful woman? That also depends on what is considered successful.

That I have been able to obtain everything I have wanted to buy in my life? Yes, I have. Always working hard and with effort, I was able to get everything I planned to have.

I can say today that I am at peace with myself because I am not afraid of anyone and no one is looking for me to settle debts. I am happy because what I learned to be a professional also taught me to grow as a human being.

I learned to believe in myself and to have more self-confidence even though I still have some introvertedness, but I got out of that condition almost 70%. I learned to respect everyone equally and to value myself as a professional and as a person. To live calmly with my son and not wait for others to come to me but to go after them.

Thanks to God, today I am free to think and enjoy what I am and I thank my knowledge acquired during my years of study.

So personally if I were born again I would do the same career with some corrections but feel fulfilled as a person and as a professional.

The photograph is from unsplash.

I am @gertu13 from Venezuela to the world.

 

24
$ 8.81
$ 8.13 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 16
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
1 year ago

Comments

Most people undermine the power of education, because studying is a subset of the universal set itself, any man who studies will be able to face his troubles in times of adversities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least the individual develops more capabilities in the face of adversity. On the other hand, it is not the same without him having more knowledge from the studies carried out.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Study "to show thy self approve" says the Holy book. Study exposed one to different life situation that will add meaning to life

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The study took me to different and interesting worlds to enjoy to the fullest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I totally agree with you. Studying is a great wealth. It adds value to self

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We can't underestimate the power of studying because the more we know, the more we realize we need to know more

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree with you. That is the little worm of knowledge.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Study is really important so you don't lose some opportunities that might arise later in life. With study, we would acquire knowledge on how to go about things and that could differentiate us from one who didn't.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I like your definition, that of not missing opportunities.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life should be a constant learning experience, and I feel that you are really enjoying it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The passion to do what we like makes us enjoy our studies my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like that you are a person who still likes to learn even though you are already successful in your job. Life is too short to learn everything, there is always something new that we can learn and I think that a person should learn while is alive. Although my studies did not bring me much business success in a direct way, I would choose to study political science again for personal satisfaction because it indirectly contributed to my business success and happy life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is what I am referring to, the personal enrichment that comes from being a student. No matter what level of studies we reach, what matters is what we manage to acquire in order to feel full of life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Education is important, how are we going to teach something to children if we don't understand or lack knowledge, even though we are rich but we might suffer from fraud and so on. Success is not measured by education but provides opportunities to get something in life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

What is success, when you feel successful? A college degree does not apply to being successful. Success depends on the glass you look through.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Study is important because it gave us lesson about basic learning about the morality ethics and values. The importance of the education can be denied

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It will always be important to study in educational institutes but that is what some of us think because there are many people who think it is a waste of time and they can learn by being self-taught.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning is a continuous process whether we are in school or not, exploring and wondering more of this vast knowledge that this life have has a huge impact to our learnings and living. Even scientists ornother professionals still learning and still wanting for more infos and knowledges.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Education not only meant by getting into a higher profession in the future, but it is also about learning on how to cope with everything and education is no boundaries that even we are getting old,learning still on the process.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Here I am only referring to education in institutions with books or learning instruments, the rest is part of the education that many young people want to do on their own because they do not want to waste time in higher education.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning is never-ending. It does not necessarily have to be formal education, but if we want to continue growing as individuals, we must always be open to learning new things, and empower ourselves with knowledge that does not always depend on books.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is to this knowledge that I refer, that of books. We learn every day without a doubt, but the knowledge that is in the books is the one that today people reject for not being useful to them according to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Learning never ends and there is no age bar. Acquisition of knowledge is something we cannot stop if we are interested to explore more.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You have said it well, if we are interested in learning. The reality is that people today refer to studying as a waste of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very true Mam

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That goes with the saying, "Life is a never ending learning process." And I should always look forward to learn things in this very earth especially those that I didn't know yet..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is very nutritious to learn new codas every day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Education is unending process. A student couldn't stop learning after they graduated. Even a teacher who already took doctorate degree still needs to continue learning.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is what I think but it terrifies me when I read the opposite in publications of the youngest.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would love to learn new things. I am actually eager to understand and research new knowledge that is unknown to me before.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Studying after your higher studies will never be a waste of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't finish college but I'm happy that I'm able to send my siblings to school. They know how I want to finish with a degree, to be called a college graduate and to have my diploma. So when my sister graduated and pass the CPA licensure exam and got a job she wants me to go back to school. But I did not. Because I got a job at that time. I regret it. I want to be a Carer here. I love the job of looking after the elderly. If in the future I have to learn new things. I would give it a go.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Madam, my 6 months studying for Caregiver.. Yun kinuha ko.. Pwd ka mag training jan if you want to get a license 🙂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is never too late to start, I believe that if things are for you they will seek to guide you so that you achieve your goals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life is a series of unending education. We learn whether intentionally or not, formal or informal. Either way, it would somehow help us in the long run.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Success for you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i am still young and studying. i know i have many things to learn and to absorb in this world. i am pursuing what i want which is electrical engineering.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I wish you much success. I pray to God that all doors open for you to achieve your dreams.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agreed, well education happened in all the time not just on school but also anywhere. I want to study more; it feels like I had tons of cope that I haven't yet learned so far. 🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, we always believe that we can learn more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago