Happiness is not a utopia.

36 56
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Many times we want to be like other people. We like the way they socialize, the way they behave. There was a time when I myself imitated some classmates because I wanted to be as nice as them, since I was very shy and not funny at all.

So I tried to be like other people. Little by little I took a little bit from here and a little bit from there and so I was able to define my best way of being in order to please others. Later on I would learn that we don't have to please others, we have to please ourselves instead.

From unsplash.

To have peace in life we need to be at peace with ourselves. We need to feel good about ourselves. If we are not, if we do not feel in harmony with our self, then we will not have inner peace.

We live in community. Even if we say that we feel good being cooped up in our house, more specifically cooped up in our room and occupying ourselves with our computer or laptop.

We like living in our privacy, even though we share with the community, because we were not born to be alone. We were born to share, to be with other people in a community or place.

We know that since ancient times people have always come together in groups, like herds, because we feel safe and supported when we are in a group.

I have many groups I belong to, groups formed to solve community problems, groups to participate in an event, groups of colleagues to greet or participate in matters important to all, prayer groups, condominium groups, groups to go to the gas station as it happens in my country… and so there are many types of groups.

The best way to function is when we share ideas in groups. In our family when we are small they don't take our opinion to do household chores but as we grow up and become adults then we are asked for our opinion when important decisions are made. This happens in most family groups, because everything has its exceptions.

But the fact that we have so many groups that we belong to in order to solve the problems we have in a community does not mean that we are people who always want to be in groups.

I like my solitude. I nourish myself in it. I read, I participate, I write, I give my opinion from here from the pleasant comfort of home.

 I have met many people in my life who only think about going out. When they are at home they walk from one place to another thinking about what other things they have to do outside their home, but I’m the opposite; I think a lot when I am on the street about the time when I return to the tranquility of my home.

From unsplash.

I knew a person who woke up at 4:30 in the morning every day and got her children ready for school. She would get everything ready for lunch and she would leave for work. Then she would come home and after her lunch she would go back out to take her kids to some homework like music class, dance class and so on, and then she would come back at night to make dinner for the family. To then get ready for the next morning and do the same.

I would watch all that while I was typing on my computer and then spend the whole day busy at home. Sometimes I would go out shopping or pay for some things at the office, but always looking forward to coming home.

This is the personality I developed. I like the quietness of my home although I have many groups where I share tasks and opinions, apart from the platforms where I write. Of course, all this when the internet allows me to do so, because my internet is definitely not what it used to be and now it suddenly goes away and God knows with what excuses the public servants tell us why it happens.

What I want to say with all this that I have written so far is that we are people to live in groups in a community. That we develop different types of personalities in the course of our lives, that although we adopt forms of behavior that seem to us to be related to our behavior in the end we stay with the personal characteristics that we like the most.

We should live as we want, doing what we like, dressing as we feel better, not because of fashion or as others dress. Fashions are for a group of people, not for everyone. We should live to feel happy with what we do.

Even if we live in a community we must find a way to live in perfect balance with our environment. Look for the job that makes us happy and the people with whom we like to share to nourish ourselves with them and that they feel the same way about us.

I remember that I once heard from someone that if a person lives to the age of 70, he or she sleeps approximately 8 hours a day, which means that he or she sleeps 30 years of those 70 years. Then he said that it is a waste of time if we do not have a good mattress to sleep those 30 years.

Then he said that we also work 6 to 8 hours a day, which implies 30 to 40 years of work and if this work is not to our liking we will have lost those 40 years of bitter 8 hours. That is why the best thing is to do a job that we enjoy, so these 40 years will be a memory of the pleasure we feel when we work.

 I want to say that I'm a happy person if that's what it comes down to. I have the pleasures of my life which are my job, my plants and my writing. I have my closest friends and my family of God. This is why I am happy every day of the world.

I have my life friends with me all the time, not in presence for now. I have my home, with my son, my pets and my beautiful plants that I occasionally share around here.

In my years, I think it is now that I am spending more hours of my life being happy than with problems that have no solution.

All the time we will have problems, obstacles, roadblocks and impediments to getting a task done in the quickest way, but it's up to us how we look at the obstacles.  If you take it calmly with the wisdom that everything has its solution in time or if you decide on the contrary to be angry and throwing tantrums because of the mishap you are having.

It's all in your mind, be happy, don't destroy yourself with unmeasured anger and tantrums of long hours that lead to nothing.

Everything in life costs a little effort and being happy costs you a lot. Because you will only get it when you realize that it’s within you and in the circumstances that surround you.

Look for your happiness. A good mattress and a good job, because everything depends on what is inside you.

I'm @gertu from Venezuela.

16
$ 15.52
$ 14.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Jeaneth
+ 14
Sponsors of gertu13
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for gertu13
2 years ago

Comments

I, myself like the feeling of being at home despite the things that would bother. Being at home just feel so so comfortable and peaceful. If I would hear the nagging of people that I live with, I would just pretend that I didn't heard them at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're very much welcome☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I too gert had copied someone's behavior when I was on my college later I learned all the things I don't have and then I made my own version and it came natural in me. It's because I am not also a sociable individual way back college and my roommates always asked me if I am okay. And tell me things I do need to change. At first I immitate and time gone I naturally have those attributes.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, we are like wild animals we copy many behaviors. But then you realize who you really are and if by copying you accept yourself. You will see that by being yourself you will feel much better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed much better. Happy Sunday gert 🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I myself also tried to portray others just to feel that I belong to them and so that, somehow, I can adopt to the society which I felt I belong. Probably, we have reasons thou, but as a matter of fact, we don't really have to do that anyway. As you said sir, We don't have to pleased others, instead, pleased ourselves.

It is great to felt accepted by others but knowing that you're not really that person on your own, its quite unsatisfying.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Fight for what you want to achieve in life and in that fight try to be happy. Because life is running out as the days go by. Then you realize that you wasted a lot of your life waiting to find this and that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will definitely agree with you sir. Thank you so much for uplifting my spirit..😌

God bless you!😇 Happy Sunday.☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

"To have peace in life we need to be at peace with ourselves. We need to feel good about ourselves. If we are not, if we do not feel in harmony with our self, then we will not have inner peace."

True, it will always start within ourselves. Because we are the only one who is responsible of our own peace and happiness. Also, we cannot give to others what we don't have.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Very true what you infer. We cannot give what we lack.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I could feel that somehow this is related to my latest article. Is this inspired from it? 😅

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Somehow I connect with some of the publications I read. I identify with them. I had my 4-minute post. I read other posts and got ideas. I don't know if it was from yours that I took something about fashions, about how to dress. And also about how to relate to other people. I don't remember who I read them from. Because ideas come to my mind and I write them down and then put together something concrete. I have several written posts that have not yet come out because they lack filler. When I find a phrase that I like because I identify with it, then I develop it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Certainly, we are beings who need the warmth and human contact, the ideal is to grow and be happy together no matter how easy or difficult it has been. Our inner stability is also important, because if we don't support ourselves, why will those around us? Let us be happy, let us live and let others live...

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, my dear friend, you have to be happy and let others be happy too. I totally agree.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Happiness is sometimes in our comfort zone, and sometimes in our adventures, often in the contentment of what we have at the moment. Yet, we have to go for new things, new learnings and new dreams.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If that search is your happiness, welcome, if it doesn't make you happy... why should you look for something else?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because there is nothing constant in this world, pursuit for happiness is a never ending journey for some especially the young.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Greetings this way! I am one of those who change all the time. Sometimes I'm fine and enjoy being alone. I've been in Margarita for 3 months but the loneliness is killing me and that's why I'm going back to Cumana. There I share with the neighbors. However, I must return to Margarita with my grandson to spend his vacations with his dad and us as a family.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

But that's your own way of being happy. If that is how you perceive it, look for it and enjoy it my dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was younger, I would have that thought, to fit into the groups that I don't necessary choose to be in but due to circumstances such as in school or at work. But as I grew older, I no longer care about others as much. And my circle of friends now are online friends which I appreciate because we do not need to be someone else to fit in :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is a good way to make friends my dear. I can't complain about life because it has brought me many good friends. In presence and also by these ways.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the quote, happiness is a journey, not a destination... (Oh this is good for an article) We found happiness along the way not in the place we dream of.. And we meet people that make us happy 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jane I think I wrote an article about 3 weeks ago somewhere about that line. If you have not read yet.

https://read.cash/@Peter-Molnar/happiness-is-not-a-state-it-is-a-process-a85c0ae2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's how you say it. Happiness is those little moments in the right place at the right time. We enjoy them and then we move on to another moment that may or may not be happy but we have to enjoy it all the same.

My apologies because my internet has me behind in reading. I have many articles to read. But every day the situation is getting worse. I hope with faith that this situation will someday change for the better and not continue to worsen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If we focus on material things as our source of happiness, then it is costly and expensive. There are more things out there are are free. To be content is to be happy. To be content is to be at peace. Look beyond what money can buy and you will soon realize that it has to start in you. We can buy all the things in the world but we can never be happy or at peace if we don't appreciate what we have.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Happiness has nothing to do with money or the material goods we have. It is in our heart. To feel peace is to be happy and that my friend is priceless.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with that we should live the way we want and wear clothes we like and not to please others. We should not care what others think or say about us.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, but that is a behavior that we achieve as we mature. Because when we begin to relate to others we are motivated to be like others. Sometime we realize the mistake we are making and we accept ourselves. There begins our change to happiness and inner peace.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, sometimes we can get angry due to many mishaps and obstacles. But the best way to overcome them is with clear mind.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Of course my friend because we are human beings and we have the right to get angry and to say our opinion. That does not take away what we have experienced. But to think that getting angry takes away our inner peace helps us when you get upset to think a little more. Stop and think. Will getting angry bring me a solution? or will it just take me out of my comfort zone? You think about your peace and then try not to let your anger be something too drastic that leaves a bad feeling in your heart. Getting angry is a life decision. Peace or restlessness? your choice.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I like your advice! Especially the one to look for a good mattress, hehe. But now speaking seriously. You are right, we have to be happy with who we are. Don't rant all day because that gets us nowhere.

I hope your internet connection problem is solved.

Have a happy weekend!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes, we must have a good mattress to rest on for those 30 years of our life.

You don't have any problems with the internet? maybe I live in another country? it's terrible here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe, that's how a good mattress is essential.

Yes, here we often have problems with the internet. In fact, for a year the ABA doesn't work nor the CANTV line and there hasn't been a way that they come to fix it. I got used to not having a landline at home. Now, we have internet service through INTER. Sometimes it's terrible, the signal comes and goes. But it's working so far. In the time of classes in the mornings, the signal is very bad but I suppose that it's the hour of more congestion in the bandwidth. Do you have ABA?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I have had cantv's ABA for many years. The cantv does not work for me but the wifi is getting worse and worse. I will have to consider looking into that option you say in the inter.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you have to try to find an alternative provider. I don't know if Inter works in the area where you live. But surely if they don't, there will be a similar service.

$ 0.00
2 years ago