Tangible or Intangible Gifts? Which Do You Prefer?

92 1726
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Most of us probably received a gift in the past. Who wouldn't be happy when receiving a gift?

I'm the happiest when I receive a gift, even though it's just a simple thing with low value. Who cares about the value? It's the thought that counts!

Most people values gifts so much that even though a long time has passed they still keep the gift. It's because most of us gives more value not to the gift but to the person who gave it.

There are many reasons why people give out gifts maybe it's for an anniversary, graduation, to congratulate someone or to simply show 'gratitude'. Now that ber months have come, this is the time that people are into gift giving. But wouldn't it be more meaningful when someone gives us a gift with no particular reason at all? It means that the person thought of us even without any special ocassion.

Gifts can be tangible or intangible. 

Tangible gifts are those that can be touched or has physical appearance. Usually these are the gifts that can be purchased and can be wrapped  such as clothes, toys, cellphones, bags or any item that is on someone's wishlist.

Intangible gifts are those that cannot be purchased.

It feels good to receive a material gift, but personally, I love intangible gifts more. Those are the love from people that matters to me, the time they give so we can do meaningful things together and the support and encouragement coming from my friends and loved ones.

But the most important intangible gift that we have ever received is the gift of life. In this day and age where a lot of people from around the world are striving and fighting hard so they can live, it's basic for us to be thankful for the life that we have. Be thankful that we are not one of those who are fighting just so they can still enjoy living their life. Because we are alive, we have the freedom to enjoy the beautiful things in life such as good food, good music, good friends and of course the other material things that we have.

There is no doubt about the happiness that we feel whenever we receive a gift be it tangible or intangible gift. But there is more happiness and satisfaction if we are the gift giver instead of being the receiver. Just as Jesus Christ said: "There is more happiness in giving than in receiving." It feels wonderful seeing someone smile because of a simple gift that we gave and regardless of the reason for giving a gift nothing feels great than giving a gift that comes from the heart - those are special and indeed the best.

How about you? Do you prefer tangible gifts or the intangible ones? Share your thoughts on the comment box!

Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty

Please leave a thumbs up, comment & consider subscribing 💕

118
$ 4.35
$ 4.30 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Yen
$ 0.02 from @Jane
+ 1
Sponsors of esciisc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for esciisc
3 years ago

Comments

A Gift Card is also a good idea. Thanks to the fact that we are sure that the gift will be checked. So if you are looking for a good gift idea, a Gift Card is a good idea and I recommend buying in this store: https://royalcdkeys.com/products/steam-gift-card-15-usd-prepaid-cd-key

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow very nice post I appreciate your post I like it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ugh! you have a spammer here.. Copy pasting again..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Actually we receive intangible gifts everyday but we just don't notice it or we don't bother. A mother who prepares your meals everyday, a father who works for your needs everyday, a sister who smiles for you and shares your gossips.., a brother who carries your load whenever you need someone to do it for you. A lil sis and lil brother who plays with you and throws naughty prank at you. Those gift we can't find in any famous department stores. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefered the tangible one.Its sounds materialistic but, I felt like Im happy with it because you can touch and see it everytime you need it.Wow! We share the same thoughts. I also consider a hand written letter as the most precious gift, l like gifts🎁🎁🎁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefered the tangible one.Its sounds materialistic but, I felt like Im happy with it because you can touch and see it everytime you need it. Anythings its iether cheap or not as long as the sincerity of the person who gave it is there.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good article . Thank you so much . All is well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Goof article i liked it and keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I find your post a bit chaotic. I have a hard time figuring out what you mean to say after I read the title.

Personally, I do not care about gifts. I do not like to be overloaded with things I don't like, want, or need. I want my house as empty as possible because it feels better to me. Piece of mind. For sure I am not going to save something I don't want or like. If people give me such a present it means they do not know me. A bad gift is not a sign of appreciation or someone did his best for you. Not where I live. If you do your best you are creative, know what a person likes or needs, and/or you make it yourself. It's easy to go to a shop and just buy something or order it online just to give something. In the world where I live it's common and the easiest thing to do although many no longer bring along a present. If you are invited you no longer bring flowers or food along as a thank you for the invitation.

The gift of life is not a gift and if you ask me it has nothing to do with the title you choose. Life is not a gift, you are put into the world by someone out of a selfish deed. Because your parents want you, need to prove they love each other because they do not care because they need a donor for the other child because someone wants to adopt you because they can sell you because they need children to work for them, take care of them when they are old, and so on. There's no gift in it just expectations, a hard life, frustrations, the battle to survive, depressions, fear and if you are lucky a better life without abuse and hunger then fellow people.

If it comes to your title: A gift you can see, touch, or a gift you can not touch... A gift should one notice, be able to touch or smell or hear. It doesn't matter if it's a song sung for me, someone makes my bed or washes the car, bakes cookies or helps in the garden or babysits. A gift I need to make up in my mind is not a gift. At least not a gift given by someone else. To me it sounds like a cheap trick..."pretend I gave you something".

A small gesture is a gift to, it is something people will save forever because it does good but "gifts" like "I love you" or "I gave you life" I can not appreciate.

👍💕

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I want a tangible gift with an intangible meaning💜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exchanging gifts is actually exchanging love to each other.. Gifts can end up th enmity between two person it lessens the angry part of a person.

I love to accept gifts more than giving gifts to anyone hahaha😅😅😅😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometines no need for solid gifts ,if you show your feelings other people, but it is kind to give solid gifts sometines to make other people happier.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Reallyty

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like gifts and i would prefer intangible. Grace is something we get everyday and we take it lightly.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article Dear, pls subscribe me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think I prefer the intangible gifts more than the tangible ones. Time and attention can't be bought with money. Things such as these are the ones which are truly priceless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefer intangible gifts. Love, trust, care, and many other things that people can give us, are much better than everything what can be bought. I think that everything what can be bought is very cheap actually.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like intangible gift

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is nice.. I'm not a materialistic person so i'd rather choose time and presence of my loved ones. 💖💓 being able to love them and love me is more precious than anything. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most of us probably received a gift in the past. Who wouldn't be happy when receiving a gift?

I'm the happiest when I receive a gift, even though it's just a simple thing with low value. Who cares about the value? It's the thought that counts!

Most people values gifts so much that even though a long time has passed they still keep the gift. It's because most of us gives more value not to the gift but to the person who gave it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a wonderful article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me I prefer intangible gifts because material things are not important especially if it can’t give real happiness to the person the important for me is to show your true intention through real action

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you don't have experience in everything, you will never be able to do it. Keep clam

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow amazing topic you choosed 💗💗💗this will be in trending soon ...and every peoples received gift from someone and some gifts are like so presious that we cant explain and i also have received such gifts 🥰🥰🥰 The best gift I ever received is none other than my parents, given to me by God on my birthday. Nowadays, not every child is fortunate enough to have both parents to nurture them. As for me, I am lucky to be raised by two loving parents. They provide shelter and care so that we can live comfortably.💟💟💟

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Receiving gifts is wonderful but giving something from a good heart makes us feel very good, gifts remind us of how important we are to that person, I like receiving gifts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess everyone likes receiving gifts. But like you said we will feel better if we are the one who gives out from a happy heart. Thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great article sister.. post more and more.waiting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reading this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like gifts.. i would even love to give to anyone because I'm a very appreciative person... I have a generous mind..haha! because my generosity stays there - on my mind only coz I don't have the money to buy material things.. :D but you know, whenever I want to give to someone, I would work hard for it..still it doesn't matter to me if it's expensive or not, it's the thought that counts, anyway.. it would be up for that person if he/she appreciates my effort..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I totally agree with you that it's the thought that counts. Like you I also love giving gifts but I don't have much money to buy tangible and expensive gifts 😅 So I think of other ways instead.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is more in giving and receiving giving a gift by any individual it just a matter of the needs or the value of the gift anyways I appreciate any kind of gift I receive it not kind of easy except for love to give out to people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Being appreciative is also priceless. Not all people appreciates the simple things others do for them and give them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well I understand that too very well, I do consider within myself to thank who every has shown a hand with giving and kind of gift no matter how small, I believe the gift would fill a large vacuum .

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Every gift counts as long as you deserve to give or to receive without nothing to expect as long as they give you those gifts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's right. When giving a gift from the heart, we will be happier if we gave something without expecting anything in return 💕 Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really nice article. I subscribe you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for reading the article and for subscribing. I will read your article too and decide whether to subscribe or not.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always refer intangible gift because it's always special that's why it's my opinion dear....What's about you dear friend??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a nice choice friend. I also prefer intangible gifts but if someone will give me a tangible one I will also appreciate it 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah dear😍☺💜💜💜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice, Already subscribe you. Please subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for subscribing. I will have to check on your articles first before deciding to subscribe back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most of us probably received a gift in the past. Who wouldn't be happy when receiving a gift?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gifts from our love one's are priceless, the excitement, love and appreciation that we can feel is too much. It doesn't matter if its tangible or intangible but the most important is how we appreciate what they give. Even if its big or small, cheap or expensive, we don't care about that. As long as, we love it is from them 🙂.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's absolutely right! What matters most is how the receiver show appreciation of the gifts he/she received, be it tangible or intangible.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

most often, I would prefer the intangible ones.. I treasure it a lot.aq din,khit maliit na tangible things, I really appreciate it. I also keep them, coz it reminds me of the thought and effort of the giver

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We're on the same track. I also keep gifts even though it's been years since it was given to me. I even keep memorabilia of those simpleng panlilibre sakin haha, for example yung balat ng cone ng ice cream or yung bilog na nasa ibabaw ng cornetto tapos may date kung kelan nilibre 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my opinion i like both. Tangible and intangible because as you said we value the person who gave the gift to us. I really appreciate simple gifts, written letters are one of the most precious gifts i can receive. As for tangible, i can receive this through simple things and memories that's why i love to receive both😁❤

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow! We share the same thoughts. I also consider a hand written letter as the most precious gift, to the extent that I promised myself that I'll get married to the first guy who will give me a hand written letter 💛😆

Tangible or intangible both are precious 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahha i actually wrote bunch of letters to someone. I decided to give it to him on our graduation when our college is over, too bad we didn't reach that point and the letters are kept there in my box together with our memories.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice idea dwar

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm not a kind of guy that focus on materials or things. So, I prefer Intangible gifts. I want something that will make a strong commitment and relationship. But if someone gives me something I will accept that.😆🖒

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha As for tangible gifts who are we to decline those gifts right? It's actually hood to receive tangible gifts especially those that required effort.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In my 30 years of existence here.. my tangible gifts that I've received can be counted, but the intangible ones can't. Everyday is a blessing, every single thing we have in our life is a blessing, every day you woke up and night you go to bed is a blessing, the job you have, the foods, clothes, families and friends is a blessing.. but people often consider those things as normal, they don't give value onto those intangible gifts God gave them. They're more happy receiving tangible gifts than appreciating every blessings we received everyday, and those are the most important intangible gifts we ever had.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to give an upvote to this comment but I'm afraid we'll be penalized for that 😅

First, I'm surprised to know that you're already 30. You look 27 or 28 on your avatar lol. I agree, we can never count the intangible gifts that we receive everyday and most people usually takes those things (the ones you mentioned) for granted. Some complains about their life but that life they complains about os actually what someone badly wants. Others never value the job they have but that's the job that someone's working so hard to get. So we have to be thankful regardless of what we have and what we receive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly..many says they're being practical, but in this world what matters most is the blessings we always received everyday.

Btw, bout the upvoting thingy, i think they lifted that "i upvote you, you upvote me" rules, because i tried to upvote my sponsor's articles, so far i didn't received any penalty..haha.. but it's okay if you won't upvote my comment. As long as I gave positive comment for your article.. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Last week I got penalized for that haha The penalty was just lifted this week so I'm trying my best to be very careful. That's why i refrained myself from giving upvotes last week. I'm anxious about getting a penalty 😆

I really appreciate your good comments 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

But not sure it it's really lifted 😅

And thanks for appreciating my comment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Be thankful that we are not one of those who are fighting just so they can still enjoy living their life

  • Life is the most precious gift that God has given us so used our life in this world wisely and with purpose.

It feels wonderful seeing someone smile because of a simple gift that we gave and regardless of the reason for giving a gift nothing feels great than giving a gift that comes from the heart - those are special and indeed the best.

  • The feeling is great when you give that comes from your heart. Giving money to the beggar is the same feeling when you let the older people sit on the bus instead of you.

Tangible gifts is important nowadays but for me I preferred intangible gifts. And you know what? I already recieved those gift. It is both intangible and tangible hehe.

My brother gives my little one an allowance. He said it for the snacks of my baby - Its tangible

Then during our conversation he thanked me because on those time that he needs help Im there with him so he said its just payback time - Its intangible .

Both are gifts but I am touched with the intangible one hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

It's really good to receive a tangible gift along with tangible ones. I'm happy to know about your experience as well. I hope my siblings will do the same too when the time comes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Im sure they'll do that :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Is there anyone who doesn't like to getting gifts ?? Everyone like to getting gifts and less like to to gift others. Any kind of gift it is precious to all.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right. All gifts are precious be it tangible or intangible. It depends how the receiver values them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It feels good to receive material things but more rewarding are intangible gifts, no one can take that away from you, it will always be with you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is it fine loving both intangible and tangible gifts? Because I'll choose both of them. I like tangible gifts because I am a too sentimental person. Maybe this will shock you but I still have the gifts I got when I was in my grade school. I always keep the gifts they have given to me.

But, I also love intangible gifts, they are priceless. The support, affection, care, and love I get from important people in my life were to be treasured.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, we have the freedom to choose what we want haha. I you prefer both it's okay. Tangible or intangible both are good especially if it came from a happy giver.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Absolutely!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

for me both. Tangible gifts like food, alcohol, face mask and vitamins are very important now a days because a lot of people need it right now. Intangible gifts like time and love are also important specially that we can't go out that often due to corona virus to visit or to be with our love ones who is far from us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Both are actually good and it depends on the receiver how to value those gifts. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefer both❤️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can't disagree with your preference. Both are good 💕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I prefer tangible gifts😂..specially if the person who gave you that gift spend so much effort, time and money just for you appreciate their effort to give you presents.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tangible gifts are also good and just like what you said if the giver exerted a lot of time and effort just to make that gift - it's priceless.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly my point esciisc...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me, the most valuable gift is Intangible. I'm not into material things the memory and presence is enough for me it was priceless

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We share the same perspectives when it comes to gifts. Memories are indeed priceless and needs to be treassured more than any material things.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed. I'm glad that we're on the same track. Char haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Intangible gifts was most matter and valuable, but also physical gifts showing also as intangible because it shows also love and worth to a person that was given

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are right.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

For me is Intangible gifts

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a good choice! Intangible gifts are indeed the best 🙂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yup.

$ 0.00
3 years ago