My BPO Story - 8 years in the making

22 52
Avatar for buraryang1892
1 year ago

June 17, 2022

4:51AM

Hello, lovely people here in Read Cash. Thank God it's Friday and today is also my day off, so it's really a great day for me ahead. For some, it's really their last shift. Mine is my first day off until Saturday, and I'll be back at work this coming Sunday. Anyhow, it just somehow popped into my mind, and I just realized that I've been working in the BPO industry for almost 9 years already. Consider how time passes; it feels like I am still a newbie in this field of work. Many are asking why I am still an agent as of right now. Despite the length of time that I have worked in this field, it really might be considered having a great position already. Well, I once led a team before, at my first BPO company for quite some time, but I ended up quitting my role and looking for a greener pasture with another company. I am forever grateful to my previous companies because if it were not for them, I can say that I couldn't really make it this far. Now, allow me to share with you all the companies that I have worked with and my current one too. It seems like I am writing my resume here, though, lol. 

The Results Companies-January 2014 to September 2016

My first ever award in thr BPO Industry

During my final interview, I realized that the person who interviewed me was also my supervisor when I arrived at the Operations Center. She asked this tricky question to me: "How do you sell this ball pen without ink to me?" I was so shocked, and I couldn't even think straight after that. She gave me ample time to think because she noticed to my face that I really didn't have a definite answer to it (a very considerate supervisor indeed) and honestly, I forgot my answer to that, he-he. I was there for almost 3 years and was promoted as a team leader for a year. That company really taught me a lot. I grew there personally and professionally with the help of good people, who up until now have been my truly good friends. The reason that I left that company was that there was no salary increase despite being internally promoted. That's also the sad part if you get internally promoted, the salary is just the same, but if you are hired externally, they will definitely pay for your experience. Culture and the environment are both beneficial. It's just the salary, which is the most important thing of all, that sucks at that time.

Manulife-September 2016 to September 2019

The last team I've been with before I left Manulife

My second home after The Results. Everything is almost perfect there: the compensation, environment, and people to work with. I really love how the management treated us. They truly value the mental and physical health of their employees. There's a program that you're probably going to join because it's really a good one. The program that I really loved when I was there was their Sport Fest every year. If you read some of my articles, you will see that I am really active in sports, and all of my favorite sports are there during that event. Not to brag, but when it comes to this sport of billiards, they are really afraid of playing with me, and I don't even know why. I just know how to play it and am not afraid to play it with men. Well, it could be that most of the employees are really not good at that sport and were just amazed that a woman like me knows how to play pool. We actually were champions in that sport for 2 consecutive years. My reason for leaving this company was not a good one, and I am still bitter about it to this day, and that's fine. Life must go on. It's so personal, so forgive me if I can't write it here. 

My colleauge took a picture of me while playing Billiard during Sport Fest event
Sponsors of buraryang1892
empty
empty
empty

To my dear sponsors:

Thank you for the support. I appreciate you all. Continue to be a blessing to all of us and more blessings to you all as well. Check their pages everyone! Cheers!

The QWEST BPO Company - September 2019 to August 2020

My first experience with an outbound role. I had no plan to apply after I left Manulife, but since bills are still waving, I have no choice but to look for a job. I saw a post online, and it really caught my attention. It was an outbound role. I am always in an inbound role, answering calls and emails, but for this one, you're the one calling the customers. So then I applied and, to my surprise, they hired me despite the fact that there were other applicants who already had outbound experience. The compensation was good, there was no pressure at work, and another nonsense reason that I left this company again. Still, there's a little regret, but then again, LIFE must go on. I can say that I was in the midst of a crisis at the time because I couldn't concentrate on anything. I easily get distracted and disappointed with everything.

The Results Companies - September 2020 to March 2021 and TDCX - April 2021 to October 2021

You might have noticed that I combined those two companies. It's because I was there for just a little while only. I applied again with my first BPO company, but at that time, I had a bad experience. Not with the company, but with the account I was in charge of. Who among you has handled TELCO accounts? Comcast, AT & T, and Sprint? Anyone? I salute you all if you can stay with that account for a year or more. I thought that I was already immune to irate customers, but when I was in this account, I was wrong. The customers of this account are the worst ones. I understand it is really because they had problems and needed to be resolved, but since it's also a pandemic time, it made it worse because we couldn't send technicians to their places because of restrictions. You can't even continue your opening speech, "Thank you for calling...", because your customer is already shouting.

On TDCX, it's the opposite one with The Results. The reason I left there, is because of the management. For how many years have I been in this industry and I know that there is horrible management, but there? It's the worst ever. The worst, unprofessional, and evilest management ever. I almost filed an incident with DOLE because I sought professional advice and was told that I could file one and have a good chance of winning. The company ended up paying me and I accepted it because I no longer wanted to stress myself with them and just moved on, which I did.

24/7 Intouch-November 2021 to present

This was after typhoon Odette. All of us needs to go back to the office since no electricity at all.

The current company that I am working with. I've been here for six months and, honestly, this is the coolest and most chilling account/company ever. The account is good; there are a few irate customers, and both calls and chats are not always in queue. I can even access all my social media accounts and watch series and movies while at work. The compensation is also good. It's not as high compared to my last one, but it's still good. As long as I am not as stressed compared to last time. Money matters, but mental and physical health matters most. I am actually writing and reading all your beautiful articles while working. Aside from that, we are still allowed to work at home because some companies already let their employees go back to the office. 

Alright, that's how work life goes. But, if you might ask me this question, if given a chance to go back to your previous company, which one would it be? My answer is that I will stay with my current company. I am forever grateful to my previous ones, and it really helps me a lot to be here and will continue to grow with my current one. I might consider this one as my last BPO company. I have plans to work abroad next year. It's still a plan, but who knows?

Thank you for dropping by, everyone. I hope you are not bored while reading this work story of mine. Let's still be grateful that we still have work that helps us feed our needs and wants. 

PS: I don't have photos with my other previous ones because most of that time, I am working at home.

 Recent Articles:

Little update for the past few days

Busy days to live by

Hello June - LGBTQIA+ Pride Month

Transitions at Work and Stuffs

Until next time, everybody.

Ciao,

- buraryang

 

 

 

 

12
$ 4.55
$ 4.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 5
Sponsors of buraryang1892
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for buraryang1892
1 year ago

Comments

I like this your present job because it doesn't require much stress as you said you can do other things while at work. I love a non-stressful Job too. You have really worked a long way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's all about finding the right fit and good to know that you are okay to where you are right now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I salute all the call center agent out there. Thank you for your sacrifices. I am amazed by how long you've been in that field. I am sure that you are already an expert in this career hihihi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung ako din siguro ang tinanong ng ganun at biglaan pa hindi din siguro ako makakasagot sis, at malamang hindi ako makakapag isip ng pwedeng maisasagot hahahaha. Anyway sis marunong ka pala ng mag billiards? Parang bibihira lang sa mga babae ang marunong nyan, para kasing pang boy lang siya na laro. But anyway matagal ka na din pala sa BPO industry, ito talaga yung gusto kong work dati pa kaso di naman ako qualified 😅.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo sis, kasi may billiaran kami noon at mga driver ng tricycle, mga tambay lagi kalaro ko. Hahaha. Ka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's make me feel nervous especially when I'm oblige to give a response with a foreign language maybe if I'm being trained I could find that smoothly heeh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh what a tricky question by your previews supervisor, I can't even think of a strategic answer to it lol. I can see that working in the bpo companies is way more better nowadays.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Agree compared way back 2010. Hirap pasukin ng bpo before.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow antagal niyo na po sa industry na yan. Super secured na kayo sa pag apply. Ako binabalak ko na talaga mag call center pero feeling ko di ako pasado kasi di ako marunong mag english.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Try mo sis. Who knows? Fighting lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I've applied recently as well on two BPO companies here in our place for the first time but then, I got rejected hehe. I was so nervous in the interview that I wasn't able to answer the questions in an organize way hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako din naman until now. Nerbyos to the max. Style ko lang is to answer them as short as possible. Less words, less mistakes ika nga hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ahhh try ko po yan mag-aapply ulit kasi kami sa ibang company thank youuu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was amazed because you transferred from one company to another. I am already 12 years in this office. I used to work in private companies and the last private employment I had lasted for 3 years.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

As long as your happy and well compensated with your current company now, that truly matters. Tagal din ng 12 years, loyalty na yan hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Namiss ko magwork tuloy huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakamiss sis pero nakaka stress din haah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, kaya chat support lagi hanap ko sa bpo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

BPO din yung cousin(my boss) dati sa Convergys ,iba na name ng company na yan ngayon.yung account na hawak niya eh yung sinabi mong SPrint,ay naku mga tao sa labas ng bansa mga walang patience.my isa pang client si cousin na sinabihan siya na ayaw ng client makigpag usap sa mga foreign fuc*ers.At nung napromote as Supervisor ba yun mas malala yung work niya mas mahirap

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Concentrix na ata name ng Convergys now. Nabili kasi sila at Sprint ang isa talaga sa account nila napaka irate ang mga customers lalo na pag bill haah

$ 0.00
1 year ago

okay sis my isang cousin ako ng nasa Concentrix pero nakahome base lang siya.sabi nga ng ate ko eh nakaka stress daw ang account na yan kaya siya ng resign at ngayon eh freelancer na siya earning around 100k a month I guess

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How will I sell a bullpen without ink?

First I will sell you ink with a 50% discount because it's cheaper than others; you will buy, yet you can't use that ink pen. So I will give you the inkless pen with 50% up because you can't use that either way or sell it to others, haha.

I guessed you were fluent now in a foreign language then?

$ 0.00
1 year ago