The Struggles I Had To Endure Just To Apply For A New Prosthesis

42 82
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blog

Two weeks ago, mom and I, along with my nephew, had gone to Cebu to process my prosthetic leg. Although I never wanted to go back there due to traffic and pollution, I still had no choice as it was required to have my presence there. The trip was successful, but the process was not easy, especially for my situation.

Since it was a heck of a journey, allow me to share with you how it all went.

Day 1 - March 11

We left home early in the morning coz mom doesn't want to be late. We departed around 6 am and surprisingly, it was fast enough that we arrived at 9:30. Since we already have contacted a grab driver, we didn't have to worry about the transportation. As soon as we arrived at my sister's apartment, we decided to get some rest and just process everything on Monday.

Day 2 & 3 - March 12-13

We just stayed at home for two days and ordered food.

Forgot to take a photo of the ube cake though

Day 4 - March 14

It was around 10 am when we decided to go to DSWD for the prosthesis. I was accompanied by my 9-year-old niece. When we arrived, we were told to drop by at their office first.

This was different from the last time I went there. Back then, I would simply go directly to the person who was responsible for the prosthesis and discuss everything with him. There was no third party involved at that time.

Now, we need to talk to someone from DSWD and answer several questions related to me, of course, and the people around me. I was also given a list of documents that I need to present to them before I could proceed to the next phase. These were the documents that I needed to submit by the way.

At first, I was worried because I left my previous documents at home coz I thought it was no longer needed as I had already presented such when I asked my sister's boyfriend to have my prosthetic leg repaired. I told them that I already emailed it to them last February but when they saw the email, they told me they needed a new set of documents because the previous ones were intended for repair. The new one should indicate that it is meant for getting a new prosthesis.

I almost lose hope coz they wanted a new set of papers. I then asked if I could process the documents in Cebu instead of Leyte, where I reside, but the other lady said it should be from Leyte since I currently live there. Good thing the lady who did the interview asked for my ID and when she saw my PWD ID, she realized that I am a registered voter in Cebu. I also told her that I had stayed in Cebu for more than 10 years before I resigned from my job last 2019. After hearing that, she then permitted me to process the other documents there, such as the Barangay Clearance, Case Summary, and the Medical Certificate. The other two were attainable, though, so I got no issue about them.

After the interview, we decided to leave to get the Summary Case in DSWS. Unfortunately, when we arrived there, we were told to get the other documents first coz they won't provide us the summary case without complying with the other requirements. So we left and decided to process the Barangay clearance first. It was just a walking distance but due to my situation, it took us a while to reach there. I almost got fainted, too, due to heat, but thank God I managed.

After a little interview at the Barangay Hall, I finally got my first paper out of 5. We then walked home and had rested for several hours before we visited a clinic nearby for the medical certificate. When we approached their personnel and explained what we needed, the lady suggested to us that we should verify first whether we are required to see an orthopedic or we can settle with any doctors.

I immediately DM the DSWD personnel, and she then told me to find an orthopedic or physiatrist for the said matter. So grateful for that lady from that clinic, though, coz we would have wasted $10 for nothing.

Day 5 - March 15

Mom and I went to Cebu Doc to see a doctor and get a medical certificate. We first visited the building at the back of the main hospital, hoping to see an ortho. Unfortunately, there was none in that area, so we asked the guard and told us to visit the next building and the next after. We found an ortho in the second building we went to, but the doctor was out. So we had no choice but to visit the last building, and finally, we found one.

We had to wait for 2 hours or so, though, coz the doctor was a bit late. While waiting, I grabbed the opportunity to play Axie while mom was playing her usual word game. When the doctor arrived, and it was finally our turn to see him, I immediately explained to him everything that I only needed a medical certificate. Surprisingly, he didn't charge us for consultation and only billed us for the medcert, which only cost $2.

After the stressful hunting for orthopedics, we decided to eat across the street. Then we took a cab and went to DSWS to submit the documents. I had to deal with the interview portion first and then waited for more than 1 hour until the personnel handed me the summary case.

I was so happy that we finished everything and still got enough time to submit the required documents to DSWD. As soon as I got to submit everything and they approved the papers, I then asked them if I could get my measurements done that day. She was hesitant at first coz she told me there were still many pending clients and doubt if the guy would be ready for another.

But I was so persistent and told her that I needed to do it that day. So she told me to see the guy and asked if it would be okay with him to get my measurements done. We went to see him and after telling him my side, he agreed to do it. We also exchanged numbers so I can easily contact him for updates.

This guy is not the same person who did my prosthetic leg before, but he seems like a nice person. After getting all my measurements, we finally bid goodbye. We went back to the office to inform them about everything and was about to give my advance payment, but they told me to pay them during my next visit. So this time, we thanked them and left.

Day 6 - March 16

I felt amazing, knowing that we were already done with everything we needed to process. On the 6th day, I decided to go to the bank to withdraw all my remaining savings, so I could pay it to mom. Thankfully, it was a smooth transaction, and went home after.

Day 7 - March 17

We had no reason to stay any longer, so we finally went back to Leyte with our baby boy. Thanks to my nephew, we don't have to take the bus. We just texted the grab driver to take us to Danao. Of course, it was my sister who paid for it so we got to save for the fare.

On our way to Danao

Closing thoughts

Despite all the stress I encountered during those days, I felt so relieved that I was finally on the waiting list. I just hope I won't have to wait too long, though, coz my current prosthesis is dying, and I badly need a new one.

Entry 10: March 25, 2022


27
$ 8.07
$ 6.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Olasquare
$ 0.10 from @George_Dee
+ 14
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Blog

Comments

You're blessed to have a mom who supports you in every journey of life. Make good memories with her😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aguyy! Ang dami namang documents na kailangan pala bago maka.proceed sis, ano? Well, though nakaka.stress nga siya pero natapos lang din. Ganun naman talaga, at the end of the day, lahat nang pagod, sakripisyo, at paghihirap, matatapos din yan. I hope you will get your prosthetic na sis. Take care..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. Lagi ko yan sinasabi na lahat ng stress and worries, me katapusan rin. Kaya thankful ako na tapos na yung kalbaryo ko at waiting na lang na magawa at matapos yung sakin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it is high time they understand that you are a queen that shouldn't be stressed, you deserve to be pampered always.

Sorry about the stress, I am glad you were able to achieve everything you went for.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I'm the Queen of Stress. HEHE. Stress here and there. But at least, I'm all good now. Just waiting for him to contact me. I just hope it won't take that long though.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God you finally succeeded in the registration, it must have been stressful going around with the old prosthesis leg, I'm sorry I didn't know how it happened, maybe it was an accident, but I hope the waiting for the new one won't be long

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Inborn. But yeah, I hope it won't take too long for him to finish mine coz I've been struggling with my current one. It's killing me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiles... I'm sure it won't take that long again...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So satisfying talaga Sis pag natapos na ang mga gawain, lalo na pasahan ng mga documents, nakaka stress pero worth it pag finally approved:)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa. Nakakapagod pag rejected tas uulit ka naman from the start.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You faced the stress of so many days to get to processes for prosthesis. I hope now you get it soon. You are a brave girl, always be happy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you, sis. I do hope soo, too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is always the administrative procedures that make a process that is thought to be simple to be so complicated. Thank God you finally solved everything. Now just hope that you get your new prosthesis in a short time. I enjoyed reading your story and knowing that in spite of everything you still have a good mood. That makes me very happy because you reflect being a brave and constant person in your personal struggles.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank God, indeed. Now, I'm just gonna wait for his call. At least when it's time for me to return, it will be for fitting and claiming.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy to read it all ended well and that the stress you had gone through wasn't for nothing. Hopefully you don't wait long for the final part. Good luck!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hopefully. So I can be comfortable again in walking. For now, it's killing me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was such most unstoppable days of you. If I were a real place, I will be dead meat already. Hopefully everything will be ok as now. Good wishes for you BMJ

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I was almost dead meat at that time but I had to survive just to complete everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Buti nman at nakuha sa pakiusap yun ibang pinuntahan mo sis kasi super hassle yan kung babalik pa kayo the next day,,

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Kaya nga, sis. Iniisip ko nga if di ako nasukatan tas pababalikin lang ako ng Cebu para ma measure yung size tas balik ulit sa Leyte. Kakapagod nun tas aksaya ng pera and time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek jud sis and struggling din on your part.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede ra diay land travel ang Cebu to Leyte sis?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Nope, sis. Bale nagsakyanan ra me from Cebu City to Danao.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At least may progress pero anyway, baka not too soon you can have what you need

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. At least, waiting na lang ako. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every wait for the result will be worth it, I hope your waiting time will be short and you will get what you want as a result, worth the difficulties you have overcome.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. I hope so too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This must have been a really difficult ordeal but you achieved it nonetheless. I'm so glad for you. My best wishes for you!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. It was, indeed, difficult but at least, I did it. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap yan ate pero thanks God successful naman.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True. At least, okay na. Waiting na lang talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every new job has to go through a process. You completed it perfectly. that's really great.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ang hirap ng condition mo madam..pro buti may new kna

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yun nga e. Mas lalong mahirap dahil masakit na siya gamitin kaya sana soon meron na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So much pressure on that, you were bombarded with stresses. It's tiring but thankfully the problem was solved.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank, God. All I need to do is wait.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yay! Tiring but worth it! Hope you get your prosthetic soon!!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hopefully. I can't wait to finally have a new one so walking won't be an issue for me anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry you had to go through a lot of stress, but it was worth it in the end. At least the new guy turned out to be nice...

I'm interested in that food up there in second frame.. haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

HAHA. That was just ice cream and pizza. HEHE.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doesn't matter... they're both my favourite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago