That One Teacher That I Will Never Forget

54 82
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Yesterday, I read @Pinkchic's It is so exhausting but very worth it! article. It is about her teaching profession and how she loves being a teacher, even though it can sometimes be exhausting. Seeing her photos and how she is loved, cherished, and respected by her students inspired me to write this.

I am not a teacher, even though I wanted to be one, but I was once a student, which means I had a few favorites too. However, one stands out among the rest, and this article will be all about her.

To my dearest teacher, Mrs. Paulina Diaz, this one is for you.

I was in 1st grade when she became my teacher. She stands 5', I guess. Don't underestimate her height, though, because she was one of the most terror teachers I have ever met. I was pretty scared of her back then. She looked like a dragon who was ready to burn you alive. It sounds exaggerated, but that was precisely how I felt towards her as a kid.

I always tried to avoid making eye contact with her. I was not too fond of the feeling of her looking back at me. I was also scared that she would call my name in front of the class and that I won't be able to answer any of her questions.

Image source

Mrs. Diaz was a terror teacher who would throw an eraser or chalk straight at that poor student whenever she would catch someone sleeping in her class. If she saw a student not paying attention to her, she would pinch their side until it would make them scream or shed a tear. My brother was one of her favorite victims, by the way, because he used to sleep a lot in her class.

Behind her strict image, Mrs. Diaz has a soft heart. 

During my first few weeks as a grade 1 student, my parents would carry me to school as they won't let me walk with my crutches. They were scared that I might fall or the kids would accidentally bump me, mainly because I was still trying to master how to walk with one crutch. Those were one of my first struggles in life, to attend school without being able to walk on my own.

Thankfully, Mrs. Diaz was there for me and helped me survive my 1st year as an elementary student. She would carry me whenever there was a school activity, so I could witness what was happening outside. Every time there were feeding programs, she would take me, so I could also try those healthy treats, chocolate/milk drinks, and other food available for the students.

I felt embarrassed about that, but she always made me think it was alright. To show my gratitude, I would agree to take her gray hair every after lunch while she would take a nap. I enjoyed doing it because that was the least I could do to make her feel I appreciated everything she had done for me.

I felt terrible for Mrs. Diaz, though. One time on a Friday afternoon, she forgot about me and locked the classroom while I was still inside. My mom came a bit late that afternoon, so as my teacher, she was supposed to wait for my pick up. I guess she was in such a hurry that she had forgotten I was still inside her classroom. My bad, though, because I was too shy to speak up and call her attention. She locked the door, and I was sitting at my desk, thinking about what it would be like to be alone at night in the classroom.

Image source

That night, after my dad learned about the incident, he went to her house to discuss it. As a father, he got furious and threatened my teacher for her negligence. I think the situation was also a blessing in disguise because, after that, my parents allowed me to walk on my own. Still, I felt terrible that my dad came to her and said unpleasant things to her.

Closing thoughts

I honestly don't know if Mrs. Diaz is still alive now. I hope she is, though. I pray that her health is still in good condition and that her family is too. I have not seen her for a long time now, but she is that one teacher I will never forget and will always cherish for all her kindness to me when I was still a grade 1 student.

Life is already tough for people like me, but teachers like her give us more reasons to continue learning, keep chasing our dreams, not be afraid in the big world, and be the person we want to become.

To my teacher, Mrs. Diaz, thank you for giving me a memorable year that I will forever treasure until the day I die. Of course, to all my teachers and all the teachers out there, Happy Teacher's Day!


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter



28
$ 7.01
$ 6.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @emily2u
$ 0.10 from @Pinkchic
+ 13
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I have so many teachers that I will never forget din ate, mamabait sila halos at napaka sipag magturo.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Dami pa rin talagang mababait basta mabait ka din as a student. Share mo rin sila dito for your next article. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's so nice that you have a teacher you're grateful for. I've taught at some point in my life and I hope that some students will remember me like you do Mrs Diaz

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. I'm sure you have students whom you have touched their lives.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I attended a couple of schools, and in each, I have at least one teacher I won't forget. They helped me settle as a new student and made learning fun.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Perhaps, you should write something about them too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I already have something written in my diary. Perhaps someday I will publish an article on that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This Is truly a touching story, though she appears tough but deep down she is carefree, and made your elementary days much easier, God bless her kind heart wherever she is, and God bless you too dear ❤.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naa gyud tay mga fave teachers way back. I have mine also, my Math Teacher when I was in 1st year highschool, she is the best for me. She may looked terror, but it was for us all ra gyud.

Kahadlok sa experience malock sa classroom, dayon bata pa kaayo ka.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Bet sad naku amung Math teacher sa high school. Siyay rason why ganahan kog algebra kay maayo mutudlo. Imbes bugo kog math since elementary, na improve jud ko pag abot HS.

Na locked ko sauna sis pero wa jud ko nahadlok. Atut, ngano kaha wa ko nahadlok ato or bisan nakuyawan man lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Talaga sis? Na experience mo yung na lock ka sa room. Pag ako nun sis iiyak ako kasi kabahin at matakutin ako. May mga teachers talaga tayong di natin makalimutan sis.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oo, sis. As in umalis na talaga yung teacher sa school premises. Mga more or less 5 minutes din ako dun. Meron akong kuya pero na excite lumabas so nakalimutan ako. Pero nung time na yun, di talaga ako umiyak or natakot or kinabahan. Iniisip ko lang nun saan ako matutulog. HAHAH

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ganun ba sis. Napaka tapang mo sis. Ako sis huhu takot na takot na ako nun kasi sabi nila pag school daw daming ghosts. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang bait nya madam para tyagain kang kargahin, nakakatouch

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oo nga e. Buti na lang at hindi buong school year yun. Nakakahiya rin e. HEHE.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You remind me of a teacher who was never soft in heart, yesterday was teacher's day and I remember that sir for whom I had to study even if I didn't want haha

You literary give me a topic to write. Thank you haha

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yay! Can't wait to read your version. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wrote yesterday. If you have time so you can read! Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Link, please. Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much. I'll check on this. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have also strict teachers during my elementary days, I really remember then all and I'm happy that they became part of my education experience. Now that I'm already in college, the days before seems different, everything is different but I still have professor who really cares for us. Anyways, I returned here after a month of being inactive, hoping that my account is not spammed.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Ui. MIA ka rin pala. Welcome back! Dami nating nag MIA ha. And congrats, your account is still perfectly fine. Wag ka ng umabsent. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww, thank you so much sis. We all have that terror teacher talaga, pero sa totoo, when I was still studying, I really love terror teachers pero soft-hearted kasi dahil sa kanila, I learned to be obedient and respectful. Like gusto lang talaga nila is prim and proper, my salute to all teachers like Mrs Diaz. If she is still alive now, surely she is so proud of you. Thank you so much for the greetings sis.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Ako sis, takot talaga ako sa mga terror pero maganda din yun kasi natuto tayong umobey at makinig. Dun ko sila na appreciate nung me teachers na akong easy going lang. Yung papasok lang sa school tas wala man lang activity. Sayang kasi bayad sa school tas wala ka namang natutunan from that teacher.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just wonder how we grew up to like the strict teachers for disciplining us ♥️😍

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I used to dislike them, though, back when I was still a child. But growing up, I realized they have reasons why they had to be strict.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She clearly had a soft spot for you 💙

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes, sis, and for that, I will always be grateful to her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She's such a very kind teacher. I hope she's doing fine too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also have a teacher who until now I have never forgotten because he is the best and most memorable teacher until now I miss him but he is dead.🥺

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. I'm so sorry to hear that. May he rest in peace, though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

thank you very much dear, actually many of my teachers have left but the most memorable one is my elementary school teacher.🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have this teacher that we really love. Nakakamiss lang ano.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Nakakamiss lang talaga yung old days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh nooo MJ... you should have voiced out as the doors were closing...I'll also write about teachers today, inspired by you.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ems. That was how scared I was to speak out. Haha. Even when I needed to pee, I held it until my mom arrived. I

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Luckily you grew out of that! :-)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I salute your teacher. No doubt without their guidance and teaching, we are unable to succeed in our life.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Totally! Cheers to all the teachers out there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww. That's tough love sis. She seems nice. She just display that behaviour so she would look strict in the surface. It's nice to have a teacher like her.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yup, sis. And okay na rin ganun kasi magseseryoso talaga ang mga bata pag strict yung teacher.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung kinsa pa to'ng terror sis mao pa'y magpakita ug simpatiya sa atua. Ing-ani sad ahung teacher sis, kadtong grade three ko. Mamato ug eraser ug ag pinakasakit nga experience jud namo tanan kay kadtong bunalan among kamut ug stick. Matugaw na jud mi ug muingon nato'g "Hands on the desk". Hahaha.

Pero bisan paman, daghan kaayu ko'ng nakat.onan atu, labi na when it comes to sayaw-sayaw kay maayu man sad to musayaw siya bisan tambokon. Tas maayu sad mutambag. Hangtud karun nga tua na siya sa laing school na.assign ug magkita mi, magtagad gihapon tas basta uie, ganahan gajud ko atua ni Maam Catherine.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Lahi ra jud ang teacher na maayo ug naay pagtagad sa mga estudyante niya Sis kay di jud malimtan ilang kaayo.

Pero wa jud tawn ko kasuway bunalan ang kamot. Kahadlok. Akong na try na pa squat kog 1 min or 2. Aguy akong papa naglaho, giadto akong maestra. 3rd HS ko. Atut jud ui kay akong kuya sumbongero.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yes you are also my teacher i will never forget you

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Haha. Me? I'm not a good teacher, though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

the teacher is still a teacher dear because the teacher is not bad everything is good depends on us whether we appreciate it or not

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meron talaga tayong teacher na Hindi natin malilimutan no dahil more than a teacher pa Yung Turing nya sa mga students nya.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Oo. Grade 6 teacher ko, ang bait din samin. Pero bet ko din yung Algebra instructor ko nung college. Pero yung grade 1 talaga pinaka me impact sakin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was a terrible experience but she did not do it in purpose. That must have been scary for a young kid, being lockep up accidentally. We all have that one great teacher, whom we won’t forget. I saw mine a few months ago after so many years. Her first words to me were “here is she, my favorite student”, while smiling and almost giggling. She was my 6th grade teacher who inspired me and pushed me to get out of my comfort zone. Me being a shy and silent school kid making my first ever public speech in our school. Lol! Thanks to Teacher Jo.

$ 0.10
1 year ago

Yeah. I am certain she didn't do intentionally. She had been so good to me and was patient enough to teach as I was really shy back then. I hope I could see her again though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She's very kind to you sis, there are teachers who really have a good heart like what she did for you.

I know a girl little kid who is like you sis, she was in grade 1 now, she's also treated very well in her school.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Nice sis. I think mas open-minded na ang mga kids ngayon unlike before. Dati grabe ang bully pero feeling ko mejo okay na ngayon. Or baka feeling ko lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago