My Poor Kiara Was Diagnosed With Distemper

64 76
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Dog, Distemper

Two weeks ago, I was so worried about Maki's health condition when he suddenly got rushes that turned into wounds. I had no idea how he got those as he was on a leash all the time, and the only time he can leave the place was whenver we had to take them out for a walk to do their potty thingy. Perhaps I should write about this one of these days too. Well, to make the long story short, Maki survived and now, he is back to his jolly self again.

During those days, I noticed that Kiara was showing a different symptom. She started sneezing, and there was a bit odd about her too. I thought it was just one of the normal sneezes but last week, it was different. She started showing signs that she got a cough. Although she still eats food normally, she started feeling so distant from the rest of the pack. After several days of planning to visit a vet, I was finally able to go there this afternoon. And the moment the vet saw Kiara, she already suspected that my poor little furry one has distemper.

So what is distemper and how serious this illness is for dogs?

Distemper in dogs is an extremely contagious viral disease that is often fatal. This airborne disease is incurable and can affect multiple organs, including respiratory, gastrointestinal, and even its central nervous systems. Based on my research, adult dogs that are diagnosed with distemper have a 50% chance of survival than puppies who have absolutely no chance at all.

Distemper is very dangerous that any dog can have it, anywhere they go. Since this is airborne, the risk of getting infected is very high. Coughing and sneezing are some of the ways to get infected. Sharing food and water is one of the common scenarios too. Dogs can also get infected through sexual intercourse. Furthermore, the virus can also be transferred to shoes and clothing, which gives more stress to the owners.

There is no cure for distemper. However, you can prevent this from happening by making sure your dog is updated with their vaccines. If you have a puppy, make sure to get your little furry one vaccinated on time. The same goes with adults as they are still prone to get this virus.

To know more about distemper, feel free to visit these links below:

Medications

We went to the vet this afternoon and the moment she saw Kiara, she knew right away that it could be distemper. She didn't allow us to get inside their clinic but she still did the test outside. The Canine Distemper Virus Test cost me 650php or $13, and after 10 minutes, the result came in positive.

Since it is incurable, she only prescribed us 5 meds: CO-AMOXICLAV, BRONCURE, POLY NERVE, ASCORBIC ACID + ZINC, and DEXTROSE POWDER. I have 4/5 meds since POLY NERVE is out of stock in all pharmacies here. I guess I need to ask my cousin's wife to buy it for me as she works in the city.

These meds are just to boost her immune system so she can fight back against this virus. So far, she still eats normally, but I pray that she will really survive this and none of my other fur babies will experience this too.

Oh, and after 2 weeks, I will have to send all furbabies to the vet so they too would get vaccinated. They all need to be vaccinated just to keep them all safe from any canine health problems. Yes, it's going to cost me a lot but their health is more important than anything else. Now that we have the pet clinic here, there's no reason to skip their monthly, quarterly, or yearly vaccinations.

Challenges

Since this is extremely contagious, I am so worried about my other furbabies here. I have 2 in the same house as the others are staying in my soon-to-be house. Those are safe I guess but not Kiah, especially Maki.

Kiah was vaccinated with distemper when she was a pup. She completed her vaccines for 3-4 years until we came here to my province where a pet clinic was a rare sight. Although we have now the pet clinic here, these past 3 years, Kiah and the rest haven't had vaccinated yet ever, except for the anti-rabies.

Now, the challenge is how to keep Kiah and Maki safe. What I'm doing right now is I put Kiara inside my room. She is not allowed to leave the room without me. I also now put Maki on a leash again just to make sure he won't get near to my room. As for Kiah, I plan to keep her in one of the rooms whenever I need to take Kiara out to pee.

I also need to make sure the house is clean and well-disinfected. So this afternoon, instead of going out with the family, I chose to stay to clean the house and mop the floor with chlorine and Zonrox for 3x. So tomorrow morning, I'm going to mop the floor again and will continue this routine until she and the rest are safe.

Another problem is Kiah. She always sleeps next to me and now, she can't stay in my room for weeks. Earlier, she wanted to cuddle, but I chose not to get closer to her because I was with Kiara and it's not safe yet unless I took a bath.

Closing thoughts

When I heard the vet say the word distemper, I almost shed tears but, of course, I needed to be strong for her. I'm so worried about her condition, but I believe we can get through this as long as she takes her meds on time. I also need to make sure she is isolated so that the others won't get infected.

Moreover, not having mom around is making this whole thing very complicated coz it means that I need to do all these things alone. I can't rely on my sister coz she's not really into dogs, and she has kids to attend to. Nevertheless, I will do my best to keep all furbabies safe.

However, I kind of blame myself for this. I got so busy online, especially on Discord that I forgot to monitor them. I knew she's sick but I wasn't really paying attention to her health and now, she's the one who's suffering big time. Lesson learned: it's better to be paranoid than assume that everything is normal.



31
$ 11.43
$ 10.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
$ 0.10 from @ExpertWritter
+ 22
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Dog, Distemper

Comments

I've never heard of this before and it's scary reading about it because you have to do more in keeping them apart from each other since it is contagious. Maybe you would have to keep the vaccine of the other two updated so their system can fight it because they have been with her for a while before you got to know about her condition.

So sorry, I know how worrying this can be because I am a huge dog lover.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

According to the vet, if they don't show any signs for 2 weeks, I can take them back to the vet for vaccinations. Keeping them apart is not easy. Kiah is sad that she can't get inside my room. She used to sleep next to me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's a lot of hard work I must say and yes, Kiah would be feeling hard done by. ☹️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping for your furry baby to recover soon. Delikado talaga ang distemper sa dogs pero with proper care makakasurvive si Kiara mo🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yun lang nanghihina na siya. Hayst. Tas di naman lagi kumakain. Sa gamot naman, ayaw uminom. Natatakot naman ako iforce siya kasi walang hahawak sa kanya. Ate ko mejo matatakutin. Okay sana if andito mama ko kaso nagbakasyon pa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat talaga ma force feed siya lalo n sa water at medicine. Gamit ka po ng syringe para isang push lang habang pinepet mo siya sa ulo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hopefully ma ok na si Kiah. Si mama gani grabe ka problema basta magsakit ang iro namu..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Uso man sakit sa mga iro ron ui. Daghan kaayo mga iro diria na naay sakit sakit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mao pud gani drie sa amo.a

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ingon lagi sila ang iro daw ang na takdan pag maayo sa covid. Atut na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhuhu 3 of mt furbabies die because of distemper ateeee. Wala juy naka survive sa ilaha tawun. Sakit kaau kay sunod2. Ta sdili pasad ko aware ananv skita na atu nga time. Unta maayu na si kiara te uy.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hayst. Mao jud ni akong gikakuyawan. Kay usahay makagawas si Kiara unya mag tapad pa jud sila sa uban. Atut na. Pero so far, way man noon issue pa sa ilang Kiah ug Maki pero kato noon mga iro namu na naas pikas balay nag stay, mao noon nag kasakit. Ako na noon gipainom ug vitamins.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh dear! Sad to hear that. I hope her immune system may fight better. Poor Kiara. And dear, love to see your concerns for the pet.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I do hope so. I hope she will fight back and win this sickness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray Kiara will get better, ms. Bmjc. I don't know how to take care of a dog tho because I don't have one but I feel for them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat. Unta ma okay lagi siya. Bisan mao na lang ni akong whole year gift.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That last sentence sums it up. It is better to be paranoid than to procrastinate or be inattentive. I hope that everything gets better. Since I have my kitten, I take care of him a lot and we are always looking out for him at home. My wife has taken an affection for him that you cannot imagine.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you. Yes, I hope everything gets better and that she will survive this and none of the other furbabies will experience the same. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh no, poor kiara...Wala talaga gamot ang sakit na yan sis. Try mo alternative medicine. May fb page about herbal meds. Lualhati name nun creator ng page. sa kanya lang ako humihingi ng mga gamot or ways na magamot ang dogs ko..

get well soon to Kiara..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sige sis hanapin ko. Salamat dito. Sana makaya pa niya to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wag mo sukuan sis gat di sya sumusuko...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really do hope she gets well soon

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Luh get wl soon Kiara 🥺 please stay strong baby.. labanan mo yang sakit mo kaya mo yan.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yun lang parang ayaw niya na lumaban. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Poor Kiaraa.. I hope she'd get better eventually and don't coung nor sneeze anymore. :(

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sana talaga. Anyway, salamat, sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries.. Keep faith in God and take care of others furababies. Just don't give up and gives proper treatment.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Will try my very best. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh sorry to hear that sis... hopefully, she'll be better soon... also i hope no other doggie can catch the virus.. magastos man d ay pod ang dogs uy mahal kau ang test ba...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Mahal mo lang. DMD ang gastos but I don't mind basta ma okay lang siya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mao jd na ang love sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, sis! I'm so sorry to hear about your poor Kiara, I hope she can hold and I pray for the rest of your furbabies to be safe.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, sis. I really hope she'll make it through this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i see the medicine of kiara costs , hope for her the soon cure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

At first when I saw the word distemper, I thought Kiara was having problems with her temper, but from what you have explained it's a very serious disease. You should probably isolate your other furbabies from Kiara, since the disease is airborne. I hope she survives this and comes out of it stronger. Stay strong Mj 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Kush. Keeping them apart sounds easy but it's not. :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, I feel for the poor kiara, I pray her health is restored back to normal.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your prayers. Much appreciated.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very sad when you see that your oppressed animal is sick, the situation becomes very difficult, but be sure that dear Maki, will get well soon, don't worry, dear friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hoping she gets better the soonest, thankfully there is a vet clinic nearby

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat, sis. Hoping she'll recover this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh how sorry. I pray that your pet gets better soon.🙏

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Diana. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyyyy unta ma okay na sila ateee. Looy kaayu masakit atu alaga dile lalim

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Tinood ui. Dili jud lalim. Sakit sa dughan. Magtan aw ko murag ambot lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's bad. I hope your fur baby gets well soon

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I do hope so too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After Maki's illness now kiara is come positive for distemper,I can understand your worries. But I appreciate the way you are doing effective steps to save other furbabies.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The problem is, they still managed to get closer. So far, the other two are not showing any signs. I hope I won't see anything forever.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Poor Kiara, I know how it feels to take care of a fur baby who's been diagnosed with distemper. Wala talagang makakawala sa distemper kahit na fully vaccinated. Parang covid lang yan sa mga aso. Hays. You can quarantine muna Ate SI Kiara tapos monitor niyo lang palagi and the two other dogs. Disinfect lang palagi and kung maaari, huwag niyo na ipasok sa bahay yung footwear na gamit niyo sa labas para iwas virus. Get well soon ,Kiara. ❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Eto yung problem kasi yung artificial ko, isang sapatos lang gamit. Minsan kasi nakakatamad mag palit. Baka isa din to sa cause. Although hindi naman ako masyadong naglalabas ng bahay. Usually hanggang front yard lang ako. Second, problema ko is nakakalabas si kiara sa room. Minsan di ko na napapansin, magkatabi na sila ng mama niya. Araw araw naman ako ng mamop ng sahig at me zonrox pa na pure talaga. Hayst.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really sorry to hear that your beloved Kiara had distemper. After reading through the article the first thing I thought was ivermectin, since it was used to treat animals. Unfortunately there was no studies showing about ivermectin treating distemper.

I hope that Kiara will be able to recover. This is the first time I see dogs have such disease. I wonder what causes it the first place, how did Kiara get infected?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

It's airborne so it's easy to get infected. I also noticed that some dogs here are getting sick lately. Not just Kiara, Maki was sick, too, prior to her but the good thing is that he survived. My previous dog, which was rehomed to my sister-in-law, got sick as well for 2 weeks. Now, he's starting to get well. I hope Kiara will recover too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Laban lang po ma'am makakasurvive po si baby kiara ❤ pray lang po 🙏

$ 0.03
User's avatar EJ
2 years ago

Salamat, EJ.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh no, get well soon Kiara and Kiah..I hope they all won't get infected...I wonder if this is the same case with our dogs before na sina Zack and Helena, they died.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Ano symptoms nila, sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hinihingal sis, tapos naglalaway ng sobra tapos kumakain ng soil..Nagdidig ng soil...:(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! Sorry to hear that sis..malimit kong mabasa sa FB group namely ASPIN LOVERS PHILIPPINES yang about sa distemper at mga home remedies...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hayst. Nakakalungkot sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kumusta na sya sis?..

$ 0.00
2 years ago