I Don't Call Them Pets, I Call Them Furbabies

57 101
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

Here's my second entry for @JonicaBradley's Writing Prompt #10: Pets.

I was supposed to write my entry the day Jonica published her article. But priorities come first, so I had to delay my entry for days. I hope I'm not too late, though, so here's mine about Pets.

I wrote a few articles about them, so feel free to check the links below:

I also created a community called Animal Lovers, so in case you want to share your pet-related articles, you know where to submit them. Feel free to do so, please.

Anyway, let's get into the main topic and why I call them furbabies instead of just pets. Most of you know that I am a furmom. I have five dogs, of which one of them was our rescue. Most of you also know that I don't call my dogs pets but rather furbabies.

Furbabies, because for me, they are all my babies. I treat them like my own flesh and blood. It may sound weird to you, but most fur parents are like that. It's not just me, man. Not just me.

With little Kiah

Most of my real-life friends think I'm too obsessed with them. Maybe I am, but who cares. I just love my furbabies so much that I don't mind if I spoiled them a little much. Besides, they make me happy. They are my stress-reliever in so many ways. They are the reasons why I no longer think of quitting life.

So the basic needs and a little spoiling won't hurt. It's more of an investment to me. When they are happy, it also makes me feel good about myself. So whatever I gave them also comes back to me in many folds. It's a win-win case.

So why do I like dogs?

Don't get me wrong, though. I love animals. Okay, not really a big fan of reptiles, but I do respect them, and I don't like seeing them killed for fun.

However, dogs are more special to my heart. Aside from being so cute, they are very sweet, protective, and can love you unconditionally. There is more to say, but why not just get yourself a puppy, and you'll understand why. Of course, I do understand that not everyone likes puppies or dogs in general.

Anyway, allow me to introduce to you my furbabies.

Meet my furbabies

Let's start with the Queen Mother, Kiah. She was three months when I got her in 2014. I bought her from a friend of a virtual friend. She was so tiny back then and very chubby that when I first held her, I already knew I would love her for real.

She is also the reason why I quit my previous job. Yes, you heard me right. It happened days after New Year in 2019. After that day, I felt like it's time to quit coz I don't want to leave her anymore.

I think I'm going to write a separate story about this one. Let's see, one of these days.

Kiah had already given birth 3 times and delivered a total of 9 puppies. Unfortunately, only 5 survives. Out of these 5, only 3 are living with me, and 2 are with my neighbors.

Let's meet the other 3 that are still with me and our rescue pup.

Taki, the surviving eldest of all, was originally named Zoey. She was renamed after I gave her to my sister-in-law. Taki was born when Kiah was already 3 years old. Just like her mama, she is also a mother now and had given birth 4x already. The last one was last February.

Taki is the sweetest of all. She's quite a big dog compared to her mama. Though she's mixed Shih Tzu x Maltese, she doesn't look like her mama. She got her looks from her father, which was an Aspin (local breed in the country). Despite not looking like her mama, I do love her so much. Oh, I forgot to mention that I got her back when her brother, Toby, died.

Kiara

The next one is Kiara. She's the youngest in her batch. When Simba, her brother, died, I decided to keep Kiara instead. She was a quiet type when she was a puppy and the second fluffiest too. I could have shown you all their photos when they were little, but I lost everything in 2020 due to my stupidity. Probably the worst thing that ever happened to me during that year.

Kiara is no longer a chubby puppy now. She has grown into a skinny one, but her sweetness remains. Whenever Kiara sees me, she would always want to cuddle. She also lets me play with her roughly and never gets tempted to bite me. LOL.

Little Maki

Of course, the youngest in the family is Maki. The chubby Maki is the bossy one in the family. He barks everyone, even if he knows the person. LOL. He's a little bit aggressive, but not to me. He's also a good boy with the kids. I mean my nieces and nephews. I think if there had been an intruder here, Maki would be the first to attack him.

Lastly, we have Zebia, our rescue dog. We found her outside scared when she was super tiny. We decided to adopt her, and though my sister was against it, she had no choice but to accept her. Zebia is now my niece's dog.

So yeah, these are my pack, my furbabies, and my loves. Anyway, feel free to participate if you want. Here are the rules:

  1. Join PromptlyJonica here

  2. Write anything on Pets

  3. Write 100% original content

  4. Tag @JonicaBradley

  5. Have fun!

Closing thoughts

The best thing about having them is that I don't feel alone anymore. Yes, they may not be able to speak, but the way they show their affection towards me is enough for me. 

There's a hidden treasure included. Be the first to claim it.

This article is 100% plagiarism-free. It has been checked and double-checked on Grammarly.


23
$ 8.18
$ 7.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
$ 0.10 from @Princessbusayo
+ 11
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hello from the future. I ended up here for the contest you're doing now ahah. I had not seen this, so you asked me once if I had a puppy, when I showed my cat. I loved them!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing read, I only wish there were more people with such a big heart who understands how much these angels need a home. It’s almost like the world doesn’t deserve them. Fortunately you found each other and its become a more loving and bigger family. Can anyone ask for more…

$ 0.02
User's avatar aw
2 years ago

Yeah, sadly, some people think they're just nothing. Whenever I see on the news people abusing animals, not just dogs, it would break my heart. I'd wish to be a criminal sometimes and hunt them all down. Lol. I believe that animals are almost as equally as important as humans, too. Or am I just biased coz I love them all?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i also know someone who call them furbabies.. i know people who spoil their furbabies.they consider them as their babies indeed... just like you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. People who call them furbabies are those who treat them like their own flesh and blood. Hehe. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would never trust someone who does not love dogs, is that these beautiful animals are four-legged angels, they just need to talk to be perfect, you have some very beautiful pets, and I'm glad they have come into your life, because we need more people like you, who love, who want, who care and respect these animals so innocent, my respects beautiful friend, I wish you all the best, you are a great woman, God always take care of you and those beautiful furry, they look adorable, greetings

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Aww. I think they are already perfect. But yeah, if they could talk, then that would be awesome. How I wish they could though. So I assume you're a dog lover too. That's great if you are. Just like you've said, the world needs more people who love and care for these furry ones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your dogs are lovely and cute! True furbabies indeed! :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are absolutely gorgeous. My furry ones. 🤗💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel so happy when I see posts about animals. Your furbabies are lovely makes me want to have mine as well

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should. It's nice to have a little four-legged furbaby always following you around. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aweee that would be so adorable 🤧❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oohhh ang cu cute naman po ng furbabies ninyu 🤗🤗. I love there names din. Kiara is my favorite, her name sounds like a princess 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I got her name from the Lion King. Her siblings were Nala and Simba. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aahhh ang cute naman ng mga firbabies na yan. Ako din may dog at cat ako. Malalambong din sila mga babies ko din yun. Yung binibigay nilang saya kasi pagnaglambing sila is so priceless. Keep up the good work furmommy. 🤗 More furbabies ro come.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di kami pde mag cat dito dahil ayaw na ayaw ng mga furbabies ko ang cat. Pag me dumaan na cat sa labas ng gate, para silang nakakakita ng Criminal. HEHE.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha ayun lang. Yung akin kasi magkatabi matulog eh hahaha ngayon lang naghiwalay kay ang ahu dog tua nila mama . 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unsay breed?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just as we treat human being nicely and take care of them, so we need to do so to animals because they have feelings and blood flowing in their bodies.

Many times when I see people from your side talking about pets especially puppy or cat, I do admire and wish to have one of them and understand the reason why you feel so close to them. It's good to take care of animals like your own blood.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I heard people who love animals are compassionate. I see that in my nieces and nephews.

And yes, people should respect animals of any kind. I understand some people don't like animals, but I hope they won't harm them for no reason. It breaks my heart how some people treat them like they don't matter at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woahh... they are so cute...I treat them as my siblings ..not only a friend..because I'm only child..My furbabies as you've said are very energetic and kind.😊 They love to cuddle.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Cheers! I love people who love dogs. I think most dogs love to cuddle. 🥰🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the loyalty of the dogs and they are great playmates too. We have Charlie and Cheeky now. My baby Saoirse wants to play with Cheeky.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, true. Well, as for the playmates part, i think not all dogs are willing to be a playmate. Lol.

Kiah used to hate my nephew. She doesn't want to be touched by him. She would growl and sometimes, acted like she would bite him. No harm has ever done tho. But recently, she let's my nephew touched her and kiss her. 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I guess so. Now I miss our old dogs. Perhaps next time if I have my own furbaby may sarili na kaming bahay so hindi awkward sa iba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama yan. Mas okay pag own house niyo para walang masabi ang iba.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ever since, I love dogs. Specially when they were just a little cuddly babies. 😻

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love puppies too. Well, puppies or not, I'm in love with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woahh people really love to pet dogs and even cats nowadays, your furbabies are so cute, I wish I had one furbaby even just one I would probably keep it, sorry I don't know the feeling to have furbabies, even though I really like to have one my mom won't let me, because it's bad for my health condition, their cute flappy fur will trigger my asthma, ahhh life is so ironic, I want things that will make me happy but same time could make me feel bad. Anyways keep flexing your pets, thanks for sharing this, it feels like I already have furbabies while reading this.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. That sucks but your health is more important, too, so better not to have one to avoid problems in the future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oww thanks for your concern, yet I'm still hoping I could have furbabies just like you someday, I just want to experience what you've experienced with your furbabies.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think you could still have dogs even when you have allergies. I heard there are specific breeds whose fur won't trigger someone with asthma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True! Most of the people won't understand how much we love our dogs. I have 3 dogs and many cats din po and I call them my babies. And kucute po ng mga alaga nyo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Salamat. Yes, only fur parents can understand. Hehe. Kaya I don't mind people telling me about this and that. After all, I'm the one who feeds them, spends money on vaccines and other things, so their opinion doesn't matter to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Korek! ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Little Maki, what a cutiee 😍 They're indeed stress-relievers and will love you unconditionally ❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Absolutely! Their loyalty is more than enough.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your fur babies are really cute🤗 But in my part I don't like having pets in the house. I just dont like the fur from the dogs and cats. Lucky you that you find it as ur happiness. Im hapy for you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well, cleaning is the key. Hehe. Pero it can really be annoying sometimes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahha truly enough!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have this good vibe with your fur babies, I do call them pets but I believe that they are more than just a pet when you have a bond or connection with them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. When you have a great connection with them, you will no longer see them as just pets.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm also a dog lover and fur mom, I sacrificed my life for them like you! :) Your babies are beautiful, I greet everyone! :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know. Cheers! And your dogs are very beautiful and very cuddly. 🥰

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They are all so cute. We have a saying, that the dog is the best friend of the human being. You can trust them and they feel all your emotions.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly why I love them. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you feed a dog they'll treat you as a family, I love dogs that they do show how grateful they're, and they do not gonna lie on you. Continue helping animals madamm

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. That's why I love dogs more. Pero as much as I wanted to help them, it's just hard. Pero I'm doing my fair share to help them. Kahit papano.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Furbabies indeed!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The babies with fur. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The babies with fur that are cute :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They got it all from their mama. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep she is still cute ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My best friend, they don't have kids yet so they have fur babies and they are proud parents too just like you! 😁 you have lovely babies Bhe!!!! Andami. 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, momma. Yes, mejo madami sila. Hehe. Kaya monitor ako pag red days nila para ma inject agad ng di nabubuntis. Ayoko na kasing dagdagan. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe! Nakakabilib ka! 😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life of being single. Lahat na momonitor. Hehe. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago