Building A Career As A Wikipedia Editor

35 65
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

After having a few successful Wikipedia pages written and/or published me, I decided to focus on this career and get more experience with different clients from now on. The only thing that hindered me from applying for more Wikipedia tasks back then was due to lack of experience.

As I mentioned, I only had one client before I met Elisa, the second one I worked for recently. After I fixed Elisa's page, I somehow got the courage to pursue building a career on this, and who knows, doing so would help me financially.

Although I'm not a pro, as I have said before, I know the basics. I have written a few myself, and even published articles in different languages. Those successful articles are still active up to this day. And after my second client, Elisa, I realized it was about time to go for more related jobs.

Furthermore, writing on this platform no longer gives me enough lately, and I feel like it's time to find an alternative way to earn more. For me, my best shot is Wikipedia. Here are the reasons why:

  • I don't need to do all the work. I can accept job offers or apply for a specific Wikipedia task, wherein the client provides the content, and all I need to do is cite the sources and other basic stuff.

  • Offers are pretty good, depending on how long or urgent the page is. I charged Elisa $60, and it only took me three days to finish it. I could have completed it in 2 days if my nephew wasn't distracting me.

  • Since not many know how to do Wikipedia, I have more shots of getting a client. In my case, the clients are the ones who message me rather than me applying for them.

  • Lots of job offers on LinkedIn. I received a few, but since I didn't open that account, I didn't get the job.

Now, after a few days of contemplating, here are the things I need to do once I get back home, where my PC is waiting for me:

  • Update my Upwork account. I plan to separate my portfolios as a content writer and Wikipedia creator/editor. Then I will add all the samples I have per client. This way, it's much easier for future clients to see my work.

  • Retrieve my LinkedIn account. I got suspended for some reason, but I can easily retrieve that account. I don't have the time to do it right now, but I will as soon as I get home. This way, I can add my samples to LinkedIn and monitor for possible clients.

  • Create a WordPress account where I can highlight my service. This will be a separate one from my blog site, where I only share random read articles. This time, it will be more formal and intended only for my freelancing career.

Although it sounds like a lot of work, I am already excited just thinking about it. At least I have new reasons to do something interesting while waiting for the market to recover.

Related articles:

Closing thoughts

Who would have thought that a simply frustrated blogger-wanna-be would have a chance to work as a Wikipedia editor? As someone whose only experience in writing was during the darkest moments of my life, I never thought I would get to experience doing such things that I thought only intelligent people could do.

I guess you don't need to be smart. However, you must learn how to explore the other sides of the freelancing world. You'll never know what's on the other side if you are afraid to get out of your comfort zone.


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.app | noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter


14
$ 3.96
$ 3.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
+ 7
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Not only you, everyone is experiencing this because of the high rise of goods in the market

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes. We all experience this since we are all consumers.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I didn't know there is a job like this although I am aware the one can post anything there just create an account.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Gora na Lee! Aralin mo muna tas if gusto mo iexplore, gawa ka ng own page pang portfolio purposes na rin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Would try to follow those it is amazing and very interesting guide. I like it.

Hey sister, have you observed the 1100? Your subscribers ?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yes. I noticed it now. Just busy in the real world tho. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! yung mga ganito na job ay para talaga sa mga magagaling magpublish ng blogs eh huhu and I think okay itong job na ito para sayo ate!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Need mo lang ng PC, okay na internet, at masipag ka mag research ng sources. At yes, dapat magaling ka din mag article kung ikaw mismo gagawa ng lahat. Kaya gusto ko edit lang para sila na nag provide. Kunting adjustments na lang sakin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations sis. Lots of opportunity surely comes to those people who are determined and positive

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love how you are getting out of your comfort zone to build something for yourself dear. I am really proud of what you are doing and I wish you all the best.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. Salamat Ola. I hope I can build a better career here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have absolute trust in you that you can pull this off. Well done, darling

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is really inspiring! Good luck with your new chosen field.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow good good good luck sis., ako bitaw balik send2x ug proposal sa akong upwork account. Basin makakita rako kadugayan ug client. Bahala ug data entry ra gud.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ganahan sad kog data entry pareha sauna kay mao jud ni ako trip kato first account nakus upwork kaso lisod kaayo madawat ani sa kadaghan mangapply. Pero good luck sa atoa sis. Apply apply lang jud ta kay Ana jud na. Kita may nag need.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

mao ra pud kaya nako nga work sis.mao pud akong mga experience before.mao apply2x lang hantod naay makuha nga client

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede man sad ka article writing sis. I flex ni imu mga samples diria. Ako bitaw, puro blog posts naku sauna akoang samples.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aw pwede diay sis hehehe.sige try nako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Best of luck in this new adventure. I'm happy that you are excited for it You are far from being a wanna be blogger MJ, you have inspired and touched a lot of people including me. You have the smarts and are intelligent that is why you are in this position :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aww. Thank you for kind words, Bob. I am trying my best to get a decent client because it's not easy being broke. Haha. And I have bills waving at me every month. 🤣🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Just need some in your hand to wave back at your bills 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess you touched on a need topic. I also would like to mention today a friend posted a constructive comment on my last blog that assist me in improving my skills

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh, constructive comments are a must to help us improve ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really good that by providing our skill online we can earn good amount of money. Good luck ❤️

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you. Yeah, we need to upgrade our skills in order to get a better source of income.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Best of luck MJ ako naman eh sa content creation muna ako.. since I lack experience pa talaga before I study other skills. Pag tyagaan ko muna..para maka gain enough experience. Good luck to us in Freelancing mahirap na talaga umasa sa tip lalo na bear market.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

True. Mas okay na gawing pastime lang ang read. Not main source of income. Altho pang pastime ko lang naman talaga ang read since di ko to ginagamit as main panggastos ko. And okay na yan content creation kasi tataas din rate mo niyan. Dito muna ako sa wiki since sila na nag offer ng job. Dami ko ng offer dati na nirereject ko. Ngayon, dito na ako mag focus.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

buti ka pa may offer .. sana all hehe! true di na maasahan income sa read grabi naman kasi ang bear market..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hindi pa kasi exposed ang wiki. Kaya more chances talaga dito. Di ko nga inexpect na me offer sa LinkedIn ko. Sige lang matotonan mo rin to. Madali lang naman.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ahhhh bear market is not yet over! 🥺.

Goodluck in online career MJ

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sadly. It will take time to recover the market. Hopefully, it will next year tho.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well hoping for that too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations on the decision to work as a Wiki editor.

Let's connect on LinkedIn :) https://www.linkedin.com/in/debeshchoudhury/

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I will connect with you once I retrieve my account. It is still suspended. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago