Fixed My Client's Wikipedia Page For $60

53 96
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

One of the skills you can learn in Upwork is becoming a Wikipedia Page Creator or Editor. You can tell from the title that the task is about creating a new Wikipedia page or editing an existing one. The goal is to ensure that the community will approve the Wikipedia page you create or the edits you make.

I will write a separate topic about this one. I will share with you how I got my second Wikipedia task, the topic, and so on. If you are interested to know, be sure to continue reading.

How did I get this client?

On October 30, Cherry told me there was a job invite from a client named Elisa. When I learned it was a Wikipedia-related task, I was initially reluctant but decided to give it a go. Honestly, I wasn't confident with my few months of experience in Wiki. Although I have already created 4-5 Wikipedia pages for my Italian client, those weren't enough.

This message was her first:

The task is to fix her Wikipedia page due to several issues. Here's the problem:

  • No references are quoted or cited in this article.

  • This article needs to be adjusted to conform to Wikipedia's quality standards.

Since the job was only to fix the issues and not to create a whole new page, I agreed to do it myself. She then asked me how much I charge for my service. I honestly didn't know how much, but I decided to charge her $60, minus the 20% Upwork fee, so that would be $48 left for me.

What was the topic?

On November 4, I received a job offer from Elisa. Again, the job is to fix the article and explain the issues, as she also wanted to learn how Wikipedia works.

The topic I need to fix is Navaratri, an annual Hindu festival observed in honor of their goddess Durga. You can find its English version here, but the one I did is in Tagalog.

When creating a new page already published in different languages, you don't need to copy the entire thing from English or any other language. You can create a simple version if you want. It doesn't matter if the English version is written with 5,000 words while yours has only 500. As long as you pass the Wikipedia standards, then you are good to go.

Things I did to complete the task

Despite having the content ready, there were still a few things to do to complete the page. Since the previous freelancer that was first assigned was new to this, that person failed to do even the basics:

  • Did not use Headers/Sub-headers on the page

  • Not enough references/citations

  • Used other Wikipedia pages as reference

  • No images

So I fixed the headers to make the page look decent and added two free-to-use photos. However, I need to do a lot of research to add more references. Initially, there were only two sources, and those weren't enough. Now, I have 13 more. I also removed three paragraphs that were hard to find sources and changed them instead.

Here's the look. Unfortunately, Tagalog Wikipedia doesn't have a Content section like the one in English.

After three days of working on her page, I finally finished this afternoon. I am now waiting for her feedback. She replied to me this afternoon, asking for a quick chat. She wants me to help her understand the issues and what to do next time. She hasn't paid me yet, but hopefully, she will send it to me later or tomorrow.

Closing thoughts

Creating new Wikipedia pages is quite challenging, especially if you are the one to write and search for everything from scratch. Editing an existing page is much better, but it depends if you edit an entire page or add a few lines. Either way, Wikipedia is another good skill to add to your portfolio. Not many know how to do it, so there are more chances for you to get this job one day.


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.app | noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter


22
$ 1.93
$ 1.62 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @LucyStephanie
+ 8
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Naiintriga na talaga ako dito kay Wikipedia, Ate ah. Bet ko ding i-try pero thesis is life pa eyyy ~ 🙈

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Explore ka lang pag keri na sa sched mo. Late reply. Sensya na.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa Christmas vacay sana, Ate makapag-explore ako. 😍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay wowes nman miss MJ... Khit pala mga freelancers d pa din maalamz sa mga basics na namention mo ano.. parang interesting din itong c wiki since madami k matututunan aside sa pagsusulat

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Ang iba kasi lalo na pag VA tas writer, sinasabak sa Wiki tas wala pang experience. Pero jan tayo nag kaka experience e. Kahit ako nuong dati, wala akong kaalam alam nito. Yung client ko din, di masyadong marunong pero supportive sakin lalo na pag italian sinusulat ko. Siya taga review dahil mali mali ang translation ni google. Try mo to one day, sis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting and interested aketch jaja., Pero how...bka jan tau mahahasa jiji

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Youtube is the key sis. Andun pano gawin ang Wikipedia. Keri mo to for sure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Great job MJ, you are indeed awesome 👍.

I hope, by the time she would have released the payment as agreed.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thank you. I've just sent her my work. She can't pay me without that. So I'm just waiting for her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She will come back soon to you with that... Good luck

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really come to know about this kinda opportunity for the first time. I believe you have done well and you will receive your payment soon.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I just sent her my work and I hope she'll get it ready soon. She's a verified client so I'm positive she would send the payment soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dakoag kaltas diay sa upwork sis ba. Pero payts gyapon kay maka kwarta man gyapon. Idol gyud kaayo ka basta online jobs na sis ay 💪

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Dako jud sis. 10% ra jud tawn na sauna. Unya free pa tong pag apply. Karon naa nay connects. Me gali daghan kog connects. Pero murag refill refill na ron. Maningkamot na ko sis ui kay intawn akong mga bayranan, puro pending.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naks. Good job. Hehe. Sipag ah.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Bills are waving kasi kaya need mag effort. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing naman. Kung stable lang sana ang net dito sa amin maaring pagkakakitaan nag pagresearch research at pagsusulat... Haizt. Sanaol na lang. 😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Mahirap talaga pag mabagal ang net. Nung 2019, bwisit na bwisit ako before dahil ang bagal ng net. Yung aabutin ka ng siyam-siyam ma load lang yung page. Yung sakin dati puro research pa naman kaya kaka imbyerna talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I need to come to you for lessons, MJ. It's not as easy as most people think because you have put a lot of hardwork into this.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I'm not the best person to ask but I know the basics so I'd be happy to help. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are always the best for anything hahaha because if you don't know, you will still point me to the right direction.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang ang hirap gawin kasi puro research ang gagawin mo.. May naencounter ka na ba sis na maling info ang nakuha mo sa pagreresearch kasi di ba not all na nababasa mo sa internet is true and tama?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Kaya hindi pwede ang Regular blogs sis. Dapat news, magazine, books, etc. Legit na source. Di nila i-approve yan pag di sa tamang Source.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na curious tuloy ako kung pwede ko din bang subukan na aralin ang Wikipedia 😅. Pero naisip ko din na baka sobrang mahirapan ako kasi paggamit palang sa computer hirap na ako, panu pa pag ganito na yung task?😂 Baka sumakit na ulo ko. Anyway sis hopefully mabayaran kana. Akala ko jan pay muna bago service. Hehehe

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Fixed kasi to. Hindi hourly. Pag fixed kasi, need ka muna mag send ng proof sa work mo if tapos bago sila mag send. Wait ko pa kasi feedback niya. Pero pwede rin send na ako mamaya. At write ako mamaya pano gawin ang work na to.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Having all this necessary kids do come in handy sometimes

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Having basic knowledge on writing comes in handy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes ma

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang galing nyo naman. Diko talaga alam pano mag umpisa 😭

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Me account ka na ba? Upload ka samples mo sa writings mo dito. Kaya yan. Tyiga Tyiga lang talaga mag apply. Pero kung swertehan ka, sila mag send sayo ng offer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Meron na. May first landing job nako before pero project based lang. Gumagàwa panga ako ng pang portfolio

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Aw, tyaga tyaga lang. Sample ko dati yung blog site ko na patay na ngayon. Additional skills din yun na marunong ka mag wordpress.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

dakoa ug charge ang upwork sis oi.akong boss ky direct na siya sa iyang mga client wa na muagi sa upwork..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Mag try kos LinkedIn puhon sis. Actually, last month, pag open nakus akong LinkedIn, daghan offer kay lisod lisod baya ning Wikipedia. Kaso wala sad ko nakabantay map late na kaayo. Lagi mahal na ang upwork. 10% ra na sauna ai. Nag 20% naman noon unya naa pay bayad per apply.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

naa gani koy account sa LinkedIn sis pero wa na nako maatiman

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Magbalik-loob ka sis. :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kailangan mo pa lng matyga magresearch dyan madam

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Sinabi mo pa. Dati first task ko ancient wine. Putra, Pati ibang language need ko isearch lalo na pag greek, Italian, Roman. Kaya yun sobrang stress ako. Haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kailangan tlga matyaga ka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Are you into VA , MJ? Did you undergo some trainings?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

No trainings. But I'm kinda like a VA.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay ,naq diay ing ana sis no?Anyway congrats kay nahoman na nimo ,unta mag bayad na siya unya hihi.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Wa pa ko nag send ug proof mao di pa siya makabayad. Wait pa kos iyang feedback. Or I'll send her the proof.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations. I have been on Upwork for some time now, but have not received any job offer. I guess there must be something I am not doing right.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I hope you'll get one soon. Did you add your articles here as portfolios? Honestly, I did not apply for my first upwork client. They just send me an invite, and this one too. I guess if you have enough portfolios, they'll just invite you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see when anyone have skill then he can get more dollar in a short period of time like you are in professional in making website and any new project demand website.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Not a website, though. It's just a page. Although I also have basic skills in how to create your own website.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ka amazing kay active kaayo ka sa Upwork. Minghoy akong Upwork karon. Huhu

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Di ko active ui. Pero murag gusto ko mu balik ka active. Adto kos LinkedIn mag try. Daghan nag offer naku didto kaso di ko active mao late na ko kita.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm amazed to know that you're also professional in doing website task too. But i don't know about these as i think i can't do anything complex about computer or internet

$ 0.05
1 year ago

It's writing and researching job. It's quite complex, though, but with the basic knowledge, you can do it. Anyone can.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes everyone can do this but after learning as we know earning isn't possible without learning

$ 0.00
1 year ago