Basic Things To Know When Starting Your Own Wikipedia Page

22 62
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Wikipedia

Did you know that you can create your own Wikipedia page right now? No need to be a professional in this field. You can do this job as long as you can write an article, know where to research, and are patient enough to fix the issues. It would be best if you also had a computer or laptop to work on this.

Disclaimer: I am not a professional Wikipedia creator/editor, but I have already made several Wikipedia pages, mainly in Italian. Also, I published one each for Portuguese and Russian Wikipedia (not my content, though).

So in this article, I will give you the basics. Remember, we all start from the basics, which can lead to more as we continue. So if you are ready to learn, be sure to continue reading.

Create your own Wikipedia account

First, you need to create an account in Wikipedia. Creating one is very easy, and once you have it ready, then time to explore the platform.

Find a topic to write

The topic should be something that is not published yet in Wikipedia. Luckily for you, my fellow Filipinos, I have a few on them. I will list some of them below, and then you can try one. These topics are Hindu-related stuff, though. You can, however, refer to the English version and write your own.

You can write any of these:

  • Sharad

  • Vasanta

  • Durga Puja

  • Mahishasur 

  • Vijay Dashmi

  • Ramlila

  • Dussehra 

  • Ravana 

  • Golu

  • Dandiya

Write it in a Wikipedia way

In Wikipedia, there is a style guide to follow to make the content easier to read, use, write, and edit. 

  • The article title must be in a singular form.

  • Do not use abbreviations in your title.

  • Don't forget to add headings and subheadings to make the page easier to read.

  • When using an image, use captions to explain the photo, which must be related to the article.

  • Use bullets or numbers when you have a list.

These are just the basics. For fully-detailed rules, you can read them here.

Linking to other Wikipedia pages

Linking to other Wikipedia pages, also known as wikilinking, helps readers find related information more manageable. So when you create a new page, make sure to do this.

In the example above, I linked Hindu to its own Wikipedia page. This way, readers who want to read more about it can click it and be directed to that page.

Cite your references

Creating a page without references is a no-no in Wikipedia. All text written must be cited for its reference that will prove your content is accurate and not mere hearsay. When searching for books as your reference, you can search them here.

Helpful videos you can watch

Wikipedia pages I wrote and published

I have a few pages and published content written by others.

Written by others

PS: You won't get paid if you create a Wikipedia page on your own. However, by doing so, you will gain knowledge and experience in Wikipedia that you can use in Upwork.

Closing thoughts

As I have said, I am no expert here. I am still learning, so forgive me if I don't have much helpful information to share. Feel free to ask if you have something basic to know. As usual, if you have something in mind, let me know.


Feel free to follow me on:

noise.app | noise.cash | Publish0x | Hive | Torum | Twitter


16
$ 1.77
$ 1.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @btcfork
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 4
Sponsors of bmjc98
empty
empty
Avatar for bmjc98
Written by
1 year ago
Topics: Wikipedia

Comments

Well-done. I have an account that is almost six years old. But I made some edits. Two weeks ago, I received a job to create a Wiki page for a retired physics professor. But, the amount was not worth it. I offered some free tips and thanked the client!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yay! That is so nice. How much did your client pay you? And how long did you finish it? Good luck to us, and may we have more projects to come.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I didn't do the job because it was low for creating a new Wiki from scratch. I thanked the would-be client and offered some free tips in my reply message.

Thanks for your reply.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You said the title should be in singular form, what does that mean? Does that mean single word? If so then why Andrea Matteo I Acquaviva as it has more than one word.

Anyways it is a nice and informative blog I liked it and I will take help whenever and wherever needed in creating page

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's a person's name. This means that if you want to write something about cars, your title must be car.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohhh, okay okay ... got it... Singular Thanks alot sister

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is this part na din ng freelancing job ate? Ang galing. try ko sya aralin soon. Not now muna dahil stress pa me sa mga case studies.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oo. Aralin mo to one day. Additional income din to. Ehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Time to start learning on this field ate, for future clients natin. Sana masundan ko! 😊

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks cherry. Buti na lang nakita mo to. Hehe. Oo, aralin mo to pag me free time ka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sa pag create ng page sis, laptop din ba gagamitin? Or you can create kahit phone lang gamit?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Laptop pa rin sis. Kasi need mo mag research din e. Try mo mag create ng wiki page gamit phone with one of these topics na na mention ko. Since di mo naman need isulat ng marami unless gusto ni client na marami kang nilagay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May earnings ba here, Ate? Haha chars. Ayan talaga tanong ko since then ih, kadami kasing gumagawa ng contents jan. Though di ganoon ka-accurate kasi editable.

Kapag marami na akong free time, try ko 'to. For now, will save it muna. 🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me earnings kung me client ka. If wala, at for learning and pang portfolio purposes lang muna, din wala. Oo, one day, aralin mo to.

Yung mga di accurate sa wiki, I think blinablock nila. At di naman approve kung mali mali ang nilagay mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

In fact, I got banned because I entered the wrong reference hahah it was my stupidity in the past mj

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Aw. So you tried this. Yeah. I think I know someone who also got banned because of this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

1 account 1 ip hahahah you have to use a vpn then it can be rich mj I don't dare anymore I'm afraid of being banned again

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think it's enough information you shared with us. It's good that you share it doesn't matter you're in learning stage or an expert. Do you know how to make a website?

$ 0.02
1 year ago

I know how to make a website.

https://club1bch.org

I created this too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's good I'll check this later

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was really waiting for your article to know us more about the wiki account. Thank you for sharing I would try once I polish my writing skills more. I want to know if we could get finance if our page is accepted by Wikipedia??

$ 0.05
1 year ago

You're very much welcome. Unfortunately, if you write your own page on your own, you won't get paid for it. It's like you are just contributing your work to the community. However, you will gain knowledge and experience in Wiki that you can use in applying in Upwork.

$ 0.00
1 year ago