One color at a time

4 40
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty

If there is anything that really stuck with me last year, it is the lesson of not chewing more than I can bite. Year 2021 was a year where I pushed the boundaries I know and I had been as productive as my body would allow me.

While this was manageable at first, after a few months of stretching myself thin the toll it took on me finally started showing. I had a bit of a relapse of my anxiety and depression (although thankfully, I did not need to seek therapy again). After all, I decided to rest when I felt that I finally reached my breaking point.

This year, I only have one goal: to finish painting this illustration my elder sister gave me on Christmas.

Paint by Numbers

This is something that I am fond of. I actually have a book of paint by numbers collections. Anyway, this is my first paint by numbers on a canvas. It is actually larger than whaf I am used to painting.

The inclusion of this paint by numbers kit are the framed canvas board (where the number guided illustration are printed), 3 brushes, set of paints, and the frame hangers with screws.

There is an instruction of how to use tbis kit for those who are new to this kind of thing. Basically, you just paint the corresponding number on the canvas with the numbered paint. By doing this, the illustration slowly fills out.

This is what it looked like once I got the canvas out of the box. The other materials are at the back which are secured there by the plastic.

Once I removed the plastic, I got the materials. You can see that the paints are not packed in large quantities. I believe that it is a bit more than what is needed for some colors and then for some it might just be enough.

I think the paints are acrylic since it is easily dried but can be reactivated by water. Unlike oil paints which are great to use but are difficult to work with.

Today, I decided to pain all the number 1s that I can see on the canvas. This is the result. I wanted to start with the second color but I had to do other things so I stopped.

The illustration

This is the illustration that I am working on right now. As of now I only have bits of the highlights on my canvas.

As I am working on illustration, I had a feeling that I could finish it in a week or less if I really wanted to. However, I decided to make finishing this illustration as my only goal in 2022.

Why?

Well, as I mentioned earlier last year really took a lot out of me. Many responsibilities I have are actually still carried over to the new year. So I already have a lot on my plate already.

So for 2022, I want to still work on what I want but slowly. This time, I do not want to work too hard or for too long. I want to get ample amount of rest in between working.

Closing Words

This year is the time when I set easily attainable goals. I do not want to stress myself about New Year's resolution because for all I know, the required summer class will take the last bit of my sanity.

I do not want to feel bad when 2022 is about to end and I realize that I did not do many things on my to do list. So yes, when I finally finish this illustration, I will consider this year a blast already haha.

What about you? What are your goals for this year?



Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

December 2021 Articles Summary

November 2021 Articles Summary

September 2021 Articles Summary

August 2021 Articles Summary

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for the first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/cGojnUxksmb

9
$ 2.35
$ 2.19 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 2
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

My goals are simple. For the prosperous life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Goals is not the very important, all we have to do is to do an action that will make our journey wonderful 🤗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

For 2021, I had a lot of unfinished business and unattained goals. But I must move forward. For this year, I just want to be more calm and get more patient because it's going to help a lot with everything that I am working on. By the way, the Paint by number is pretty interesting. Seems like it can help me be patient enough.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yup, all we can do is move forward. Good luck on your goals this year. I hope you find something to help with your patience hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago