Knitting 101: A New Start

16 69
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Knitting is the one that got me into crochet. I badly wanted to knit things because of my excess yarns and too much free time back when the pandemic has just started.

I remember that I had so much drive to learn it then that I used what I have on hand as my knitting needles. I used pencils as a substitute the most times. But there were times when I tried using chopsticks, and BBQ sticks.

That being said, I made a lot of knitted squares. I did not start any projects and just practiced swatching and knitting because I barely have any yarns. Sadly, most of the pictures I have of those projects are gone since my old phone broke down and I was not able to back up my files.

This picture is the only one left. It is when I was fairly starting out. I used a pencil for these which is why they look so wonky and dirty. Still, I remember being happy about them. I really thought that they look okay for a beginner back then haha. But now I am not so sure.

I actually wanted to pursue knitting further but crochet caught my interest because of amigurumis. Since then I have barely paid attention to knitting.

A new beginning

Then I finally decided to buy some practice needles. I got this 55 needles set for only $2 plus shipping fee. They are small so I doubt they can be used for much but they are perfect for me since I am still not sure what needle size to buy.

This set enables me to try out different sizes with my usual yarns so that I know which one to buy when I want to do a knitting project.

I started relearning how to hold the needles. I think this is actually harder than I thought it would be. I was thinking it should be easier since this is not my first time but it was hard. I eas so used to holding a crochet hook that the knitting needles felt wrong on my hands.

Still, I managed to push through. This is what it looked like before I cast off.

This is the end result after an hour of knitting. Yes, it took me an hour to finish this small square. I had to stop sometime to search things again because I had forgotten how to do it.

Closing words

I think I would knit some more squares sometimes just to faniliarize myself with the weight of the needles. However, I will be honest, I much prefer crochet over knitting. This is probably because I am so used to crochet now since it has been a few months when I started taking it seriously.

Also, one of the reason why I do not want to focus too much on knitting is that there are knitting machines already. So everything I can knit, a machine can do faster and probably neater.

Crochet machines do not exist yet. So every crochet items are all handmade. I think this just makes the products I make more personal. Moreover, there are crochet stitches that I can use to imitate knit stitches. So if I want a knitted item, I can somehow imitate the texture of it using crochet.

But I will still continue trying to master knit stitch using stitch needles. I don't know, maybe I will find some projects where it is better to knit than crochet. Also, knitting uses less yarn than crochet so that is a plus in my book.



If you want to have a new friend to talk to about random things, feel free to reach out to me:

Telegram: @zehrasky

noise.cash: ZehraSky

Tumblr: Zehrasky


Thank you for reading this article!

If you want to read some more articles of mine, I have monthly summaries here:

July 2021 Articles Summary

June 2021 Articles Summary

May 2021 Articles Summary


To show my appreciation for the support that I have been receiving, please accept a small gift I prepared for my first reader.

https://branch.wallet.bitcoin.com/Evw34ulZmjb

19
$ 10.43
$ 10.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 6
Sponsors of ZehraSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZehraSky
2 years ago

Comments

I think you should get new yarns hahaha because I still want you to surpass the ones you made last month. Well done, my friend.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Naging hobby ko ang pag kniknitt nung highschool ako. 😁 skl.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh, I always thought knitting is the same as crochet, thank you for the clarification. I’d like to learn how to crochet too, but I don’t know how to start.😅

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I used to think like that as well! It just changed when I finally started to get more interested. If you wanna learn how to crochet, the best place to start is by getting a yarn and a hook. You can find cheap ones online just so you can stop it if you did not like it. Then try to perfect making chains, as well as single crochet. With just those two, you will be able to make a lot already.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the useful tips sis, actually a friend of mine is encouraging me to try this one,and she’s going to send me some of her extra yarns and needles so that I can start my journey in crocheting. Goodluck to me.😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are so beautiful mate. And best luck for the new work. Good afternoon. Hope you are doing well!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Halaaa! Nainggit ako bigla. Gusto ko din yan itry. Pwede din yan pagkakitaan hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Try mo rin po hehe. May mga murang needles naman at yarns para if di mo magustuhan, di masyado malaki gastos mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mother do this too. She always make socks and caps for every new child in the family.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes praktis lang din tlga.. Taz you can make patterns parang sa love mong crocheting hehe

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I admire ppl who are so matyaga sa pagkniknit! Kudos, sis! Ang galing mo!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

May mga gamit din po ako pang knitting kaso tamad ako kaya ndi ko magamit gamit🤧btw buenas dias!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Gamitin mo na po yan HAHA di po sila gagalaw mag isa jk

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Though you said you've forgotten how to knit, you still did it well. I'm sure you will get more used to it even as you continue knitting.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I like knitting. I always saw my aunt doing it and I am always curious how did she do it. I did watch some tutorials about it but haven't started yet coz I wasn't able to buy all the things needed.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope that you enjoy knitting once you do start doing it

$ 0.00
2 years ago