My Simple Life Became Complicated Because Of Social Media

29 35
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Ever considered waking up without the thought of your phone, no social media, messages and calls. No going to work, school or visiting the park; just you and your pet. That's the type of life, I lived two years ago, I had to distance myself from social media, that is why, Until now I still haven't gotten an account on Instagram, Facebook and recently opened a telegram account. Am not really the type of person that wants everyone to know about the happenings in my life, and so I noticed at the whole trend of fashion craze, low self exteem and inadequacy.

Uunsplash.com

Though not a regular user of social media but the menace that this stuffs caused, make us realize). Most chances are spent on the phone either online or offline. One day a fight occured with my neighbour, my version of the fight was in favor of me. I know you are wondering why I fought, she tried to open my messages without my permission, which got me angry and I fought. I had no profile picture which made it difficult for people to identify me, whereas my friends where always uploading new pictures and videos. I always wanted to do same, but my love for privacy will not allow me.

All these were done outside the urban busy life, I was just okay staying with my grandmother in her little house, far from the busy life of the urban dwellers. All I wanted was just tranquility, privacy and adequacy, so growing up with her , shortly after the death of my grandpa wasn't a big deal. So you see why I was never interested in social media or even owning a phone.

I still remember being satisfied with my little rural job of managing a poultry farm for a family friend, and how much I treasured the job, making use of my earnings for food and few clothing, but my introduction to social media placed me in a competition against the world, I felt not good enough and my earnings were just too small. A trait I never possessed from the beginning .

I preoccupied my mind with being the best and living for the fame, never stopped to ask myself if that was really the kind of lifestyle I wanted, or how helpful will my supposed lifestyle be to others ? I was just being insecure, without asking myself what I really wanted.

Few months ago, I was introduced into this platform from a friend on telegram, she talked alot about the site and so, I decided to give it a trial. And I must confess, it is the best thing that has happened to me, maybe because everyone is busy trying to be useful to others and no time for display of wealth like in other social media.

Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty

Am so grateful for my amazing sponsors on this platforms, I couldn't go this far without your supports. I truly am grateful for being a part of my story . Thanks to all those who find time to read my articles, likes, comments and tip them, I really appreciate .

Lead image : Unsplash.com

12
$ 1.21
$ 1.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Marts
$ 0.02 from @cinderella
+ 6
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

πŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘ŒπŸ‘πŸ’πŸ˜˜

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ever since I knew about this platform, I have not visited my social media accounts. I am not feeling the absence though cos here is much more better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And I know you are really enjoying yourself

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very well I am.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We don't have control of everything around us, but within ourselves have the capabilities to take good control all over social media. I'm also grateful to know this platform through my sister-in-law.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That was so kind of her

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One should never read anyone's personal messages. Because it's very non sense behaviour. We must forbid others to do this.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Atleast, you knew about this platform and an amazing journey starts here :) Goodluck to us, and I hope that social media won't complicate things againd.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hope so too dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear Wrinkle, I totally agree with you. Going on social media gives us a sense of competition and insecurity. I sometimes wish I was not a member of any of the social medias...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But then you will be devoid of some privilege like being on this great site

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You can always find positive things on social media depending on what you do on your social media handles. There are even a lot of earning sites that we are yet to hear but we'll get there as time goes on. We just widen our social media use

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very thoughtful of you, social media isn't as bad as I thought

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We don't have control over other people. But we can control how to act and react. It's okay to keep a private life. Anyway, this is our life and we can live it the way we want it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this wonderful contribution

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Me too I live a simple life in the mountain near to nature before but now we are now living in a crowded place and social media is so common. Upon seeing post of our friends sometimes we felt pity on ourselves for having the same with them but still I am grateful for what i have.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Am happy, you are contented

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Social media depends more on how you use it. If you use it positively it would definitely work well for you. Good thing you found one that you can relate very well with

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear and that is this social media

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This platform has a big difference with Facebook and other sites, we don't just post here with what is trends but we post with sense and based on our effort to create a useful blogs. I find it here such a comfort virtual world, a place to learn and have some unique virtual connection.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's why am still here..the maturity and composure is unique

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am amazed how you spent two years without using social media, i am a person who couldn't spend even a single day without Facebook, whatsapp and Instagram.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, start living with them dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

How much you avoid social media, but it will always be hunting you and you have no choice but to use it once in a while. I like private life too, but when read cash entered my life. I started to share my life with y'all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, you are right. Social media is helpful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I too love my privacy than exposing everything. Indeed social media is really helpful which push us to know everything about the world but on the other side it has lots of side effects this is why I love to live far away from social media because I love my mental peace more than anything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this contribution

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Trying to keep up with the people on social media will only drive us nuts! There will always be people "better" than us. It will be a never-ending catching up. So don't bother :) A private life doesn't mean a boring life :) Cheers!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Words on marble😎

$ 0.00
1 year ago