My Pain Of 24 Years

23 48
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

I just regained consciousness after 3 days of being in coma, opening my eyes lazily I could see him, lying on the bare floor and my grandma sitting on the only chair in the room. I felt guilty of causing him more harm than he could ever prayed for. Then a thought came to mind, what if I should just wake and run away. Run far from him, to a place he will never see me again, am just tired of seeing him go through pains .

Hi! Am Lisa, am 24 years and a sickle cell patient. Been living this way from birth, cursing everyday for the mistake my parents made. Yes! I often see myself as the worst person on earth. How could there be so selfish, what type of love did they felt that prompted them to get married even when they were not medically fit. Little wonder how a Professor and a lawyer were so cruel to bring me to this world. I was born sick and have been that way for the rest of my life. 

I got to know about my condition after series of being deceived by my parent, it was normal to fall sick, I was curious to know why was i always the only kid felling feverish, cold or having pains in my joints every time.  Doctor what's really wrong with me, I asked keenly, my grandma looked at me, and for the first time, I saw her tears. As a chikd, I always felt grown up don't cry but here was my grandma shedding tears for the mistake of her stubborn Romeo of a son. He was hesitant but later gave me an answer. An answer that made me change the way I looked at everyone, an answer that made me hate my parent for I saw them as murderers. You are a sickle cell patient, and those pains you do feel are called crises. 

Can I be cured, why haven't I been cured for all the times have been here? I was so eager to know. He shook his head, explained everything to me, talked about my parents grievous mistake,  then I knew I was never going to be heal.   You need to take your medications and never skip a day if you really want to stay healthy, he said .  I nodded in affirmation, knowing that was my only chance of being alive, alive only for my grandma because she was never in support of his marriage to my mom. I went home feeling relieved but also feeling unloved, if they really loved me, why were they married. Few hours later, the lovebirds returned from work, all laughing and playing like their first time they met, the only thing I admired about them. How was your session with the doctor today my little angel, dad asked. 

I got to know the whole truth today, I replied. What truth, they both asked in shock. That I will never stay without being sick, that I am an expensive mistake of my parent and nobody really cared about me. I said amidst tears. They knew I now know the reason why I am always sick. Am so sorry darling, I can explain everything to you, you are not a mistake,  all I did was to save your mom from being heartbroken, dad answered. And you never considered if I will ever be fine ? I answered.  I wasn't able to bear staying with the people who were the reason for the pain, I moved to stay with my grandma.  She consoled and made me felt loved, at least genuinely. 

Hello! Am Richmond, a voice called from behind. Seems you are new in the street. I turned to see someone beaming with smile, a smile I couldn't get off my mind. Yeah! Just moved in with my grandma, I replied coldly. We began talking, I wasn't scared to telling him about my health. At first I thought he will avoid me, until the day he asked me to be his girlfriend. I couldn't contain my joy, I ran home to tell grandma. My number one cheerleader was so happy for me. 

Things moved well between us, except for my incessant body pains and fever.  The good part was, I had two people who really cared for me. At first I was enjoying it, the attention and everything . can I ask you a question, have you ever been happy to the detriment of others ? Probably not, but here I was, being happy Richie missed his lectures to stay with me during my crises. The once intelligent Richie was now struggling with grades, I was so pathetic to ever felt happy. 

The last thing, I could remember was during our last visit to the doctor with Richie, after complaining about my sudden pain in the chest, test were carried out and it was confirmed I had acute chest syndrome. I took everything like it was just normal, probably nothing sounded new to me anymore. Just last week, I was diagnosed of acute renal failure. We left the hospital heading home. Held by the traffic, we spent almost 2 hours there, and suddenly, the pain in my chest began, this time I couldn't breathe, so I was struggling. That's all I could remember and Here I was, waking to see the face of Richie, the man I wanted to destroy his future because of love just like my parent did to me. 

Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty

I shook my head and fought back tears, I knew I was never going to be happy. Maybe I may not survive for long but I need to go, I really wanted giving Richie a future, he truly deserved. I had also wanted to stop stressing my grandma. I sneaked out of bed, pass the reception and ran with all the strength I had left to the train station. Entered the last train heading to where I have no idea but definitely it was going to a destination far from the people I cost so much pain.  Though I will miss them both, especially Richie. The train got to it's final destination and everyone got down, except the sick girl who ran from the hospital with a canula in her left hand for I had no where to go.

Was I wrong to leave Richie and my grandma ? If you were Richie or grandma, will you ever forgive me ?

Lead image : unsplash.com

Video : YouTube.com



13
$ 0.33
$ 0.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @sj0820
$ 0.02 from @Ellen.he
+ 3
Sponsors of Wrinkle
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wrinkle
1 year ago

Comments

I feel sorry for every sickler out there. They are going through a lot of pains. I wish a total cure can be found for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I could feel the emotions through the words, you did justice to this article, though I pray it wasn't a real life occurrence but I also know this depicts the true feeling of someone with sickle cell.

And for the question, yes leaving them is more hurtful than staying, you could stay and keep making them smile. However I hope God heals cause I've heard of miraculous healing changing blood groups.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for this amazing contribution.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your story is so touching.. Your question: I won't leave If I was grandma or Richie I will try hard to forgive you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really feel bad for her. She was even scared of losing those people that cared for her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Wrinkle, your story had a lot to say. I was really impressed. My heart burned for that girl and the pain she always has to endure. Due to the irresponsibility and ignorance of her parents, she has been forced to endure such a fate. I wish no one in the world had to endure so much pain and illness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks dear.. I wish same

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, I guess I can understand her pain, but that hatred for her parents wasn't warranted plus it didn't solve anything. And why is it that we always look for validation in other people, why aren't we ever enough for ourselves?, a question I can never truly answer. So she experienced something similar to what her parents did which led to her being born hmm. If I were to be Richie I would forgive her considering I get to know the reason why she ran away. If I were to ever love anyone the way u described Richie's love for her I don't think I can ever stay mad at such a person I'd forgive her definitely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She was scared of making the same mistake her parent made, that was why she left

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, but then she must have seen that it wasn't an easy decision for her parents as well staying together despite knowing the repercussion of that, and the pain of having to run away some people aren't strong enough to do that. So hating her parents was not necessary.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She made those decisions at the worst state of her life, I wish she had weigh the consequences

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well we do tend to act irrationally when we are in our feelings, we don't think things through even though we think we've thought things through.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really a tough decision. But if I were Lisa, and I see my loved ones being tortured by pain of seeing me suffer, maybe I'd do the same thing. Though it depends too. I can also show them that I am fighting so in the end, they'll know that I have fought the sickness I have with all my best.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So Lisa didn't make a mistake leaving ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Interesting story! Is this the "love is mind" that made the dad to get along with the mom even though they knew they were not compatible? OMG!

Running away from home will cause more pain, pain to the body when the finance is not there to take care of the body, also pain to the people that love you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All she wanted was to stop seeing them get hurt

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I would richie I shall forgive you although it is hard sister 🤣. It is quite interesting story with two diseases of learning acute renal syndrome and Sickle Cell Anemia.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A doctor will always look out for diseases😂, enjoy your celebration oh.. Thanks for the contribution..am waiting for my share of the ram

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I were them, I am.surely.worried if where Lisa go, I can see that Rich really loves Lisa and I know he couldn't be happy knowing that shes nowhere to be find.. It's better to see someone you love dying than to not know her whereabouts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The last part is so touchy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow sis! There's a lot to digest. The thing about life is... it's interwoven so intricately that we may miss to see a lot of things. That even if we are interconnected, we still have our own reality to live. Lisa left without but it was her choice. The thing is, she is actually repeating the mistake her parents did, by falling to Richie but in the end did everything not to make another mistake by leaving. However, Richie and grandma already got involve and there are a lot of things - tangled. Though, Richie can either choose to look for her and be heartbroken or choose to bounce but... It's all in the future. While grandma will either be relieved or sick worrying about her, of course she is her granddaughter. I'm not sure. It's just complicated. But I do understand her, but one thing lead to another. I'm sorry all these happened.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She did all she could just to help them from being hurt the more

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes indeed...

$ 0.00
1 year ago