Change of Plans

8 28
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

We live in a world where reality hits us in the most unexpected time and places. Today, as we celebrated my Grandfather's birthday, I decided to have a reality check and change some of my plans.

What really were my plans? I set up a plan for December especially the holidays that I will spoil myself with the things I want; shoes, a shirt, etc. Mostly material things. But then after seeing the situation of my Uncle and Grandfather, I realized that I should allot my money on more important things since I still have a lot of clothes in-store.

Upon arrival at my Grandfather's place, we greeted him with a happy birthday. He was just sitting on the floor with a set-up bed. I saw his sore right foot and because of it, he couldn't walk properly. I don't really know what caused that but he says that it might be arthritis. He was using crutches to help him walk. I even joked about how much he saves since he only wears one of his slippers for his left foot. We told him to get a check-up and to consider stopping smoking because it might add up to the current condition of his foot. I even scared him that if he doesn't stop smoking and his foot gets infected, the only option will there be is amputation. He is just a really hard-headed person.

As we were talking, my Grandpa noticed that there was something on my Uncle's neck area. It was a lump on both sides. I feel bad for not noticing it and thankful for my Grandpa that he was very observant with my Uncle. He told us that he got it from working. They were building a fence and at that time they were already rushing to finish it and the cold might be the reason why he got lumps. I kept telling him that he should go see a doctor but just like my Grandpa, he is also a hard-headed person. He doesn't even listen to his wife which already told him to get it check-up.

Money. Money is the problem. I think that was what my Uncle worries about. He kept self-medicating with antibiotics that it can cause antibiotic resistance in the long run. They are experiencing financial problems since he is just working as a construction worker and it will not be sufficient to feed his family and for his medications (if there will be). He even told me earlier that he was trying to ask for an advance salary of one thousand pesos but his employer didn't agree.

There was a sudden change of plans because instead of spoiling myself of the things that I want, I will just accumulate the money that I will be earning here and I'll give some to him and to my grandpa for their medications. Money is worth spending if there is a reason and since I have BCH earnings, I will allot some of it to help them.

To be honest, I don't feel sad at all with my decision because there isn't something that is giving me the reason to have second thoughts. I help other people which aren't my relatives and do not know me at all. And I wouldn't want my relatives to be left hanging, I will help them because I love them and I want to see them grow old as I achieve my dreams and eventually help them. My life isn't something to be worth living if there will no longer be present. There is no material thing that can even replace them. I am going to help in the best ways that I can.


Author's Note:

Hello, thank you for reading and commenting on my articles! You are the reason why Rusty visits me. Advance Merry Christmas!

Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty

Check out my previous articles:

8
$ 5.27
$ 5.16 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Ayane-chan
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
+ 2
Sponsors of WanderingMedStudent
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for WanderingMedStudent
2 years ago

Comments

Family is indeed our weakness. I spent all of my BCH here for my family and I haven't even spent a cent for myself ever since I started writing here. It's still worth it, though. At least, I can see them live without worries in their minds.

By the way, happy birthday to your grandfather.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What matters the most is that our help/efforts goes a long way and we also benefit from the happiness of others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy Birthday for your grandfather!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, Plint!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the happy news that your grandfather's birthday. Slightly change the plan. If you can make everyone happy, then it is better to change the plan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for your kind words.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's a good plan buddy,try to see into the affairs of your grandpa and uncle and make them stay healthy,they are important try to cater for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! I will try to looked into it and try to convince them get check up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago