Eating Fast Food Out

37 115
Avatar for Unity
Written by
2 years ago

I know most of you don't eat fast food.

Who doesn't know that eating fast food is not good for health? Some people refer to these foods as "junk food." Those are food items available in restaurants.

The most notorious junk foods are available with temporary roadside vendors.

  • Sometimes, these junk food sellers move around the suburbs on a hand-pulled (or pushed) four-wheeled van. We may often see them on cute vending stylist motorized vans with easy vending windows on one side of the van. These are common in the towns of most Asian countries, such as India, Bangladesh, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, etc.

  • Temporary fast-food sellers are not uncommon in developed nations. I had seen these types of vendors even on the lanes of Tokyo. The difference between the junk food vendors in Tokyo and India is in cleanliness and politeness. I found the sellers in Tokyo are more polite than those in India.

In April 2016, I had eaten Mexican fast foods on the roadside of Baltimore, MD, USA. I also had eaten some Iranian-style fast food outside a railway station in Ukraine in October 2016.

The purpose of the article is not to encourage you to eat fast food.

  • The small purpose is described below. Will you read further?


I can't say I like to eat junk foods out

  • I can't say I like eating out, not even in a posh restaurant. I generally don't buy such foods unless circumstances compel me. These foods are not tasteless yet not very tasty. Still, I buy fast foods once in a while.

You may ask me "Why do you buy those fast or junk foods once in a while?"

  • Everybody would agree that the quality of food can't be maintained in a temporary food vending stall or van. Thus, one can't expect high quality and tasty fast food from them. They are somehow managing the food preparation in a minimal facility available in a make-shift vending stall/van.

Suppose most people reject fast foods, and then what would happen to the business of these people? How can they survive and earn their livelihood?


I buy fast food from roadside vendors once in a while to support their business

There are large numbers of temporary food sellers on the roadsides of third-world countries. Most fast-food sellers are young. and a few are older.

  • Most of these roadside vendors have come into the fast-food business because they haven't found any other way to earn their livelihood.

  • Selling fast food is not their choice. They don't have other career choices. Their nations' governments haven't done anything to create enough employment opportunities.

Sometimes, I go to these roadside vendors and buy their hurriedly prepared egg rolls, noodles, fried rice, momo, etc. Maybe once in two weeks, I buy fast foods from them.


See how they prepare a typical fast food item

During the early days of December 2021, I went to buy egg rolls at a roadside roll counter in Kolkata, India. It is a small stall put up beside the footpath of the main road.

These shops generally open in the evening and remain operational till 11 pm. The shops are adjacent to the crowded marketplace. Thus, these shops get enough customers.

When I expressed to snap a video of the preparation process. the shop owner gladly agreed. Making an egg roll is not difficult. We need proper utensils.

  • First, the big iron pan is heated and wiped with oil. Then, the flour preform is put on the heated pan. Next, one egg is broken and poured on it. The item is then vigorously rotated on the pan with a spoon.

Graphics 01: Preparation of egg roll - GIF created from a video captured by me.

When the item is appropriately fried, it is then placed on a table and is stuffed with salad and tomato as well as chili sauces. Finally, the item is rolled and covered with tissue-like papers.

Graphics 02: Stuffing salad and sauce - GIF created from a video captured by me.

The final product is covered with a special variety of tissue-like papers. I am not fond of fast food. Despite I must admit that the taste of these egg rolls is good. I have known the shop owner for about five years. He makes a decent earning, somehow enough to run his daily livelihood.


Selling fast food is a bread-earning business for many

I am not fond of buying and eating fast food from roadside vendors.

Although my partner and I regularly cook, once or twice a month, we buy fast food items from roadside food sellers

It seems that our family doesn't dislike eating egg rolls, momo, etc., purchased from the temporary fast-food sellers.

I consider it as a contribution to my fellow citizens in earning a livelihood from their fast food selling business.

I hope some of these vendors may be able to save enough money or take an entrepreneurial bank loan and create a traditional restaurant.


Conclusion

I have written why we buy fast food from the temporary roadside vendors.

I have tried to give a glimpse of how they prepare and serve their customers.

I consider it my small contribution to support the businesses of the fast-food sellers. It is their career they made out of necessity.


May I ask my ReadCash VIP connections to offer their opinions about buying fast food from roadside vendors? Do they support these small business holders?

@Amjad_Ali_Waince @Ayane-chan @cmoneyspinner @Duvinca  @Ellehcim @ErdoV @Eybyoung @Jane @Janz @nomadghada @Oikawa @Olasquare @SolarPhasing @sj0820 @Talecharm

All names have appeared in alphabetical order.


Postscript

  • I work in the STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics) field. My interests now become STEAM - Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Mathematics, because I have added: "Arts" and "Fine Art" to my interests.

  • I develop solutions for password and cybersecurity relevant to cryptocurrencies, blockchain, and other block-less distributed ledgers.

I thank all my sponsors, whose names appear in the "Sponsor" pannel.


Cheers!

Text Copyright: Unity

Lead Image: GIF image created using the text from the title and a photo I snapped in a fast food shop in December 2021.

All other graphics and videos (if any) are credited just below it.

Disclaimer: All texts are mine and original. Any similarity and resemblance to any other content are purely accidental. The article is not advice for life, career, business, or investment. Do your research before adopting any options.

Unite and Empower Humanity.

I am also on Noise.Cash ... click the link if you are there.

March 26, 2022.

28
$ 6.38
$ 5.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @SolarPhasing
$ 0.10 from @sj0820
+ 18
Sponsors of Unity
empty
Avatar for Unity
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Well, if you asked me. I am also one of those who liked purchasing street foods... and even fast foods..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Only, the street food vendors have to improve the cleanliness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although I don't have a cooking degree, I love to cook, I always prefer to eat food prepared by myself, even if it's junk food, because sometimes I prepare hamburgers among other things at home, other times instead of going to a restaurant with friends, the I invite them to my house and I cook for them. I enjoy serving, and more so when it comes to food. However, like your friend of mine, whenever I have cash and opportunity, I also collaborate with these micro-entrepreneurs, well, sometimes I myself have resorted to selling some dishes that I prepare via delivery and I can put myself in their place. Glad to hear you an me do the same. 👏🏻👏🏻 God bless you! A big hug!🙏🏻🤗🤗

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You added good points. We also have a few home food delivery businesses run by men and women from their homes in our locality. In a seashore city called Goa, India, there are home fast food counters available from the homes of locals. They sell fish curry rice to the tourists. I had found these types of home restaurants in China as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love fastfood , haha, guilty of this. But I agree that one should prefer homemade, as they are healthier, and cleaner.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If the fast-food sellers can improve the cleanliness and quality of oil, then it is okay once in a while.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I support it and respect their hard works. If health cautions are followed properly, then there’s nothing bad in it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, the fast-food sellers must stick to cleanliness and good quality oil.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always prefer to eat homemade food, it's easy to prepare, no need complicate recipes and also cheaper and healthier! So all advantages... sometimes on Noise I post some of those good dishes made easily and "fast" by me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

So nice to know about your home food. We also prefer home food. I think about the business of the small roadside/mobile fast food vendors. Can they survive?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know how they can survive, I suppose because of laziness of some people... mainly young people who prefer anything on the road.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These small/mobile fast food joints also serve the tourists and other occasional visitors. They should try to improve the cleanliness and quality of food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well it depends on vendor how hygienic he is and his workplace. I also eat street food rare but selectively from good ones.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is a valid point to judge the cleanliness and quality of the food preparation of the vendors.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

O i think i am fonder of fast food i don't know why but i always take care of health and eat junk food once a week

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good to know. Thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are foods that can't be prepared at home or let me say it demands a professional hands to prepare it, so I prefer tobuy it outside than to struggle to prepare it via Maybe YouTube teachings,,, which I might end up preparing r*bbish 🤣. Also, those food in restaurants serve as a fast means of eating just at the name implies, when someone is tired and don't feel like cooking

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with your viewpoint. Professional hands prepare it better. I have written about the roadside smaller/mobile food vendors. Have you eaten there?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only thing which Indian local vendors like this lack is I think is cleanliness. As some of the vendors make tasty ones but cleanliness stops me from going them. And I don't eat much of outside food. But the thought of supporting people like this strikes I won't deny it crosses me. As in some stalls we can even see the kids helping their parents, as it's the only way for them to survive. Not fond of restaurants as a kid the prices are too much for me, haha. And now in a month I only eat junk food once or twice, I think during lockdown I lost the appetite of junk foods earlier I ate 3-4 times in a week but now, my stomach hardly requests me.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Oh yes, we may advise these roadside vendors to improve the cleanliness. I am sure some vendors will try to improve it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aigoo! I love eating fast foods. Even others may called it junk foods, I still find it taste good my friend. Especially burgers and pizza. Ohh! I want to tried eating that. I mean, the one you have shared in there. I bet, its delicious too..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am glad to read your comment. What do you call "egg roll" in the local language?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know either.. But it looks like a "Shawarma" my friend..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Okay, thanks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In the past, I spent a lot of money on fast food, but my focus was more on established businesses and restaurants. During imposed lockdowns and the pandemic scare, however, I ate out less and became more discerning about where I spent and what I ate. Today, I support smaller, fast food roadside businesses for two reasons, because I like what is on offer and because I want to support their business. The life of a small business is not easy. Roadside vendors often do not have the deep pockets and resources of large establishments to manage branding, marketing, sales, etc., and the income they earn is very often either reinvested into their business or spent on their day to day lives. It is important to support them.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I had seen the roadside vendors worrying if they would have customers during the restricted hour open market due to lockdowns. Those small businesses suffered too much due to the enforced lockdowns. We can suggest them to improve the service, such as cleanliness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like to eat from roadside stalls or mobile restaurants. These kinds of places have their own flavors. For example, kokorec

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Those mobile/temporary food vendors are serving many people. And, unless people buy from them, how can they sustain their business?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I always eat in fast food before when I was working in the city due to busy schedule I wasn't able to cook. I love eating due to they can prepare as fast as they could. Its saves my time eating because I always manage my time wisely

$ 0.01
2 years ago

And, you support a small business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

absolutely, by doing small things I support people who do small business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Before the pandemic, it was safe to buy street food. Not anymore now..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ironically, the number of roadside fast-food vendors increased because many people were laid off during the pandemic. I wouldn't say I like fast food. I also understand fast food is not good for health. I occasionally buy to help their business. I don't care about the so-called pandemic (or "PlanDemic").

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't like fast food. Its unhealthy for health. please avoid it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Please read the article before rushing to comment! I haven't recommended eating fast food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its looks delicious egg role my friend unity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also like fast food very much, Although it is very harmful to health, Outdoor fast foods are often made in unhealthy environments,

$ 0.00
2 years ago