Importance of family dinner.

21 49
Avatar for Trofi01
1 year ago
May 04, 2022
Wednesday

Recently, on Monday I guess, or maybe Sunday our family went for a family dinner. And, before I dig further I want to shower light on the past. Financially we belong to a very humble family and because of that, we do not use to enjoy the perks of many things like eating out or so many other things I do not want to dig into the detail. And all our mentality was on saving every penny. But, since my brother starts working he nudges us to go for a family dinner once a month at least. He is very close to the mother and he deeply cares about her and shares her sufferings, and that's why I believe he knows what my mother desires and what she used to sacrifice.

We often say or talk that if we love someone then we know their desire without them saying but, it's not true for each and every scenario. Sometimes, due to the lack of discussion things may fall out of our minds and we do not pay attention to what is unsaid. And then these unaddressed desires get dormants. I come to know that my mother likes ice cream so much it's only because my brother brings ice cream for her and before he had the job she never revealed her desire to eat ice cream or anything else because she was busy saving the money for the education of her child.

Now, imagine after some fine years when our loved ones are called by the gods/goddess and we never get to know what they desired truly and what were the things that gives them extreme joy. And, they always used to hide their desires or suppose they were mentioning them in some of their personal journals. When we get to read that journal and we just cannot forgive ourselves that our loved ones wanted to go to some theme park or wanted to start a small cafe but couldn't. The guilt trip that we experience will eat us alive.

So, when I was having dinner that day in the restaurant and found my family cherishing the moment and laughing and talking even about things that have no sense. I felt that my mother enjoys this family time together so much. See, my mother is someone who does not even go out of the house I told her many times that please go out for a stroll or anything but she never goes. And I can imagine the burnout one must be experiencing living in the same room for days after days years after years.

I have often observed that whenever we go out for the dinner we put on new energy into the family bond. And when the bond is cherished with a positive energy then the person automatically gets energetic for the rest of the time because of the satisfaction that one enjoys. I have observed that my mother enjoys it when I or my brother brings ice cream every other day, I often see her cheerful when I cook for everyone and ask her just to take some rest.

Image source

My mother has experienced a lot and has had great suffering when she was around I guess she lost her mother and get a stepmom but she did not treat her with the love, she did not get to study what she wanted to and when she was married, she still did not get to enjoy the life because we were not financially strong. Her energy which she should have been invested in taking care of herself and nurturing herself was channelised into taking care of other people only and now what she is left with is us and we cannot bring her lost time nor can we make up for it but it would be very shameful for us if we fail to give her the happiness of the little life that she is left with.

Last but not least I would only say that life is very short, no one knows when are we going to lose our loved ones. We can never pay off the debt of our parents that they did for us. So, rather than being a part of the 'rat-race' and pursuing materialistic success put your energy into making your life joyful by investing in the relationship that you already have. No matter how much busy you are, take out some time from the day and sit with your loved ones, parents, and all those who kept and supported you.

21
$ 2.24
$ 1.78 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 11
Sponsors of Trofi01
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Trofi01
1 year ago

Comments

Yes in India spending time with family is utmost priority..... I agree with u...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are such great children and indeed blessings to your parents. There are also times that we'd love to have a family dinner at times when my siblings are at home and parents also seemed to enjoy such a splendid moment, knowing my siblings have been better because of their sacrifices.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Someday I too will take my family out for dinner. I can't imagine the joy I would feel in that day.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes, they might won't say the hidden emotions but they will love it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your mom is lucky one to get responsible children. My mom is sick now. For this reason i don't went for gossip with friends in eid holiday. My mom is first priority to me.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed, mom is, and should be the first priority

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your mother is actually very lucky. He is devoted to his children. She sacrificed for them and now her children are fighting for her happiness. I wish you all nights out with lots of ice cream.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

that's so very sweet wish, I was witnessing the beauty of this comment. Thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a good idea, to go out for family dinner once a month. Maybe I should do that too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Your article remind me my time.ahhhhh! I had the same scenario with my family. But now we have good enough financial condition. Now we use to go out ones every month.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

We should really try to fulfill the wishes of our dear ones life is temporary we must spread smile on other face as much as possible

$ 0.01
1 year ago

A great reminder for all of us my dear brother. Thanks for sharing about this. For me, having a quality time with our loved ones is the greatest thing to be cherished here. May it having a meal together(dinner) or just sitting on the living room and having a good talk, that's more than enough.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You have get the point loud and clear sister. Because it is very relatable to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess you have known me more brother.. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Maybe I am the CIA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha. You gotta be kidding me brother..😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I do not like jokes neither i do jokes

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ohh I see... :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not just eating outside, bit spending time fun with family is another effective medicine for the soul

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Eating outside for dinner is one of the most cherished time. It is one way to have a quality time together with the persons you love and family is the first among the list. In my own family, we go out for dinner for the first time. Looking forward for the second one.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

One important of family dinner is it helps to solve problem for instance the whole family are eating dinner comfortable some one may say out his problem either financial and another person will bring out the solution

$ 0.01
1 year ago