Une tasse de café

29 64
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

I was never a fan of coffee, but two days ago I decided to try out a 3 in 1 product. It was a mix of milk, coffee and sugar by a popular brand in my country. I added some liquid evaporated milk to make it thicker and my tongue responded with positive sensation to the coffee drink.

Yesterday I was tempted to buy it again and I think I am beginning to love the taste and smell of coffee. The main reason I drank coffee yesterday was to prevent me from sleeping early as I needed to draft my article (which I am currently doing now) in the early hours of today.

I remember during exams period we students do buy coffee particularly popular brand call "Nescafe" to keep us awake as we read throughout the night. We have different ways of taking it, some mix the bitter tasting Nescafe only with water, and I think some will lick it without putting it into any water or into any drink like me (lol).

Battle of staying awake

Drafting this article is a constant fight between staying awake or sleep. Well it seems no matter the coffee intake one can’t cheat nature. Sometimes I just blank out while my finger is on the keyboard. When I wake up from the short slumber I would see some thing like this in my draft “iiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii…” much longer than that.

I think it is necessary to add that; the paragraph above was the last thing I wrote that midnight as sleep won the battle.

The inquisitive me

For those who might not know I'm very inquisitive in nature. And I really love to know why or how something originated. This morning I decided to check Wikipedia about the popular brand called "Nescafe".

The brand called "Nescafe" is a product of the giant food company Nestle, I knew that already because I'm very fond of reading the information on the wrapper of every food product I eat or use.

What I learnt from the search was that the brand name Nescafe was a portmanteau of the words "Nestle" and "cafe". For those who don't know; café is a French word for coffee. Those two words were combined to form the name "Nescafe".

Portmanteau

If you're inquisitive like me, you might be wondering what a portmanteau is? I guess just like I was before the word must be new to most of my readers. Therefore I find it important to have it explained to you all.

A Portmanteau is a combination of two words; usually, in linguistics, two words blend to produce a third word that has meanings from both of its parent words.

So, for example, when you combine "breakfast" and "lunch" you have the portmanteau "breaklunch" (or "brunch") — something that combines both breakfast and lunch

There are many words used in English language today that are portmanteaus, as they originate by the combination of two words. For example: Motel is from motor and hotel, Smog is from smoke and fog.

A short info about coffee

Coffee is drink brewed from roasted coffee beans. The coffee plant and seed is said to have originated from Ethiopia and the culture of coffee drinking began with the Arab countries within the red Sea region.

It was from the Arabian peninsula it was spread to Europe and India. From Europe it was spread to the continent of America both north and south.

Coffee is one of the largest if not the largest traded and exported agricultural product in the world. As there so much demand for it, most especially from the developed countries.

According to Wikipedia and stats around the world, Brazil is said to be the largest coffee exporting nation in the world account for 15% of world export.

Coffee and health.

Coffee contains caffeine, therefore coffee have stimulating effect in humans. Caffeine is a brain stimulant that relieve pains, or can prevent drowsiness or can increase the alertness of the brain.

Caffeine is used in Medicine as a treatment for varieties of diseases so therefore drinking coffee is quite medicinal and it comes with health benefits. But remember to drink it moderately, as drinking too much of coffee can have side effects just like overdosing any drugs.

Prendez une tasse de cafe (take a cup of coffee).

Thank you for reading

25
$ 1.77
$ 0.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ling01
$ 0.10 from @Giddyboy
+ 18
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

I hate coffee my friend TomiAjax. I drink bearbrand milk or milo or ovaltine.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Everyone has his or her like and dislike. I also like chocolate drink more

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bon appetit I love coffee, but when I overdo it, I get severe headaches.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Too much of anything isn't good

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You won't believe I've never tried this coffee before but I think I'm going to try it out now

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There is a first time for everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Coffee's enriching aroma is one of the best smell you'd not want to miss.. it a taste that'll make one want more and more of it..not a fan of coffee but I love the smell nonetheless.. thanks for the brief lecture they are well taken note of.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Glad you enjoy the lecture, hope you learn one or two things

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah sure did...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That coffee no dey work for me o, if I take am, na smooth-sailing sleep be that

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Enjoy a cup of coffee, my friend. You gave very good information. I read these for the first time. thank you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Enjoy yours too crypto man

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Coffee is always good to take every morning, it's nutritional!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is, especially taking it with rich milk

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So Nescafe works for you? Wow! During those days, the nights I took it were the nights I slept more deeply 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would say; yes and no. Sleeping in the afternoon helps, but the effects of Nescafe too is noticeable but may not last for long

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my goodness 🤣. This made me remember when i used to intake nescafe for the purpose of studies, i used to mix it with just water. In my tongue it taste bitter a lot. No matter how i use it, after 3 hours it has expired, sleep will start coming. Truly nature can't be cheated. .

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I love caffeine, I can say I'm a fan of caffeine when I was in school back then as I needed it to stay active so I can read at night

$ 0.07
1 year ago

You must be a scholar back then in school.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Still, I am not drinking coffee. I still prefer hot cocoa or hot tea. Hehe. I totally love it. I am palpitating when I drink coffee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It seems coffee then doesn't suit you then. I normally take hot cocoa on a normal day and I am not a fan of tea.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am a coffee lover especially black coffee, it will really help me to focus on work.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The 3 in 1 is like taking tea, the caffeine content won't really keep you awake. You should have taken that Original Nescafe probably one or two, add Sugar and water and sip while you work. Effective💯

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm.. I think you right. I was also thinking of buying the original Nescafe maybe I should try that too. But the 3 in 1 is kind of pocket friendly though as you don't need to buy milk again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Na wa for you and this your french Oh! Btw was it Nestcafe or Cadbury 3 in 1?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is even neither of the above. It was cowbell 3 in 1. I just tried Nescafe 3 in 1 yesterday night and it was great too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I see coffee as my magical saving drug. If i don't want to sleep, i prepare the dark delicious drink and take a sip gently. Coffee's great.

$ 0.01
1 year ago