Now it is your turn

26 80
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Apart from 2008 global recession that affected almost all the countries in the world, I think we haven’t been in any harder time globally in the 21st century than the current situation we are experiencing today.

Prices of commodity are soaring up and inflation has hit major life necessities like cooking gas, kerosene (aviation fuel), petrol (motor spirit), energy price and basic food.

Added to the bitter economic situation already on ground is the recent fall in price of bitcoin and major other cryptocurrencies. Billions of US dollar have been wiped out due to the bearish market. Despite all the optimistic view, for a month now there hasn’t been any major change or bullish run.

A lot of people are in serious financial dilemma, many companies or organization are finding it hard to run and many are letting their staffs off.

The war in Ukraine

One of the major contributing factor to the global economy crisis is the war going on in Ukraine. For those who don’t know: Ukraine is the second largest exporter of wheat grain only trailing to the United States.

With the current war and siege of the major ports of Ukraine by the Russian forces. Many wheat are stuck in the silos as they cannot be exported, this has been a cause of alarm for many international bodies as the lack of wheat export would affect a lot of countries that rely on Ukraine grain.

Many countries in Africa and in the middle east rely majorly on Ukraine’s grain. Wheat is a staple food in the world, if not the most important. Out of wheat; all flour based products like bread, biscuit, cake are made. Even foods like pasta, noodles and many more are made from wheat.

There have been cries that if those wheat aren’t exported there might be global food scarcity and lot of other issues brewing as a result of the scarcity.

Now it is your turn

Away from Ukraine, what prompted me to write this article was a post by one of my cousin that goes like this;

You hated your uncles and aunts cos for being stingy. Now it is your turn… How is the generosity going my friend?

That sentence carries a lot of meaning, it’s a reminder of how difficult adulthood is. I remember as a kid I used to wonder why my parent aren’t wealthy. I used to feel bad thinking perhaps they didn’t make the right choices or that they did something wrong.

I also feel extremely happy when an uncle or aunt visit and gift me some money or items and I feel bad about those that don’t leave any gift.

It is also the same feeling when parent refused to purchase what we want to buy, perhaps due to lack of fund, but we as kids hardly understand.

Now that I am an adult, I am beginning to feel the burden not totally yet because I’m not totally independent yet. But I now understand how hard it is to gift money out of one’s pocket.

I realized my parent not being rich doesn’t translate to not being hardworking or that they did something wrong. I now realize that a lot of things are involved and now I'm now in their shoes to make things right for my coming generation

I have long learnt that Life isn’t; "what if", it is; "this is". There are no fairly tales in life. A lot of things are happening that can affect one. Imagine a father that got sacked from work and a child demanding for a bicycle or him visiting a nephew and the nephew expecting gifts from his favourite uncle.

Me being an adult, makes me appreciate more the sacrifice my parents and other parents are doing, as they work tirelessly to put food on the family table and also educating the kids, paying for utilities and upkeep.

Thank you for reading and Happy Sunday

20
$ 2.73
$ 2.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 20
Sponsors of Tomi-Ajax
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Tomi-Ajax
1 year ago

Comments

Hahaha i can remember writing about how i hated my uncles and aunts because they don't give me money back then. Now i know better. omo e no easy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Of course it isn't. We now know

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i used to think so too. Why weren't we rich? but when i grew up i realized how hard life is. And I realized that I owed a lot to my parents. they are very devoted

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We do owe them a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Definitely dude

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Adulthood isn't a joke atall, the sound of my younger siblings listing what they need and they expect u to get it for them, you needing to survive in a far away land where your parents aren't there it takes grace

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same condition as my country, all commodity prices rose uncontrollably. cooking oil rose almost three times more expensive than the previous price. Finding a job is a very difficult thing in these conditions, so this is my turn to share with anyone I can, to lighten the burden of life for those who are less fortunate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I got to understand the difficulties of life when I entered higher institutions, at a particular point I stopped giving begging face to my uncles and aunties because life is really tough and they have their families to attend to too.

Sincerely, if anyone give you money now, it deserves testimony!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes oo, no matter how small it is we need to appreciate it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's now me too understand the reason behind all these no money at the moment. So many I will get back to you that I have said to my brother and cousin and that's because it isn't easy out there. Our parents are really trying, a big kudos to them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We have been ranting every now and then, that our parents aren't doing enough. It's now our turn, the world is watching!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are now the ones to take over

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Apart from adulthood, it like the world is becoming hard to live in, especially those in the third world country or underdeveloped country. The statement your cousin made is just the main truth. Even I that I'm a big cousin bro now.. If I visit my younger cousin and they look for me to drop something.. Dudes, there is nothing currently and I have plan for everything i want to spend, I'm so so sorry...😥😥

Currently, this isn't inflation, his is hyperinflation

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just like you said it isn't just inflation but hyperinflation. Every day the prices of things are increasing

$ 0.00
1 year ago

when you are adulting, you will realized how important to manage your finances.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Money management is really key in adulthood

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The article I am writing currently is something related to this. Like we use to always judge our uncles and aunts now look at us

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are now facing the reality

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes we are

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah stepping into the adult life was hard in each steps. You will realize how hard the life is the money, stress, and all the things in your environment really affects everything. Like in money it was really hard to deal with the increasing prices of everything. That's why I am also so grateful when someone remember giving something even a simple thing for me because I know how hard life is and same as you are I also feel a little bad when I can't give something back for them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is a great thing of joy when people gift you but greater when you gift someone

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And it's one reason why we need to thank those that got debited to credit us. It's not easy. Adulthood isn't easy and I'm facing little of it right now. I pray that God blesses us to be able to take care of our parents. They have tried. Jah bless our parents

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I say amen. I hope we also get to be successful in our endeavors

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Adulthood the hardest phase for a human. We suddenly realise how many responsibilities are awaiting us and how difficult it is to survive in current world. And these past 3 years have been the worst which I have seen for common people it's like everything wants to torture or punish them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

These are trying times my friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your truly right that doing good is good to do, I am ok I do good. Happy sunday also friend TomiAjax.

$ 0.02
1 year ago