Re-wearing is Okay!!

35 104
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago

My Own

Good evening my lovelies. How are you all doing? I have been pretty busy from morning as I had a doctor's appointment this afternoon. A week ago, I and my daughter had gone to give our blood tests and the results came on the same evening. But because of her exams last week and other medical issues we faced through out previous week, we could not go to a doctor for consulting. And today, we went and thank God, we were the first ones to reach the hospital. Unfortunately though, the doctor came an 30 minutes late to her prescribed time and it made our lunch so late. Is it just in India or even in other countries, the doctors are always late? let me know in the comments. There is a saying in our regional language that a "Doctor can wait for the patient but a patient should never wait for the doctor".. I wish the professionals in medical field realize this.

Anyways, while I was waiting in the consulting room, one of my friends from my previous work called me to say hello and I came out of the hospital to attend the video call. After our basic hellos and hi's, she looked at my dress and went like "oh, that's a very old dress of you, I remember it very well of you wearing and coming to the office.. are you still wearing that??"and I went like, "Yeah, it is not torn, the colours have not faded badly and the quality of the fabric is nice, so why throwing away??" and she went like,

"I don't know girl, if I have such old clothes, I would probably wouldn't wear them because they are so out of current fashion and all wrinkled and stuff"

I did not answer anything and smiled and moved on with other stuff because 99%, I try to avoid drama, that too with people with whom I wouldn't even contact once a year.. Not gonna lie, she sounded so entitled.. I mean, what is wrong with re-wearing clothes?? I have so many clothes, few even before 15 to 20 years ago I'm still keeping and wearing them even today and I'm actually glad they are fitting me okay. As long as those clothes are not torn, I would wear them until the end. I'm not a cheap steak??? I know that because I have given away a lot of my own clothes and my daughter's clothes both old and new which costs thousands of money to charities and never felt bad for that. But if I like few clothes or if I have some sentiments attached to the clothes, like I have a dress which my dad brought me, that I would not exchange or throw away because I miss my dad who passed away a couple of years ago...

www.researchgate.net

I even kept some of those clothes, very old ones, like that of 20 years ago for my daughter just because the fabric is absolutely gorgeous and not ruined at all... why am I supposed to throw them away or keep buying new clothes when old ones are fine??. what kind of stupid pressure is this to keep up with lifestyle and standards that society set for us??. Didn't we all study during our schools about the important of the 3 R's... Reduce, Reuse and Recycle... We should always remember to follow the economics rule "Optimum/Maximum utilization of resources" which explains to both the consumer and the seller to use all their available resources towards the maximum levels so that it will have the best "ROI" which means "Return on Investment"..

On a final note, just because someone is there our judging me and my lifestyle or someone is insisting me to throw away my old clothes and buy new ones, am not gonna do so.. you know why?? because I want to get maximum benefits from the resources that I have and also that I do not give one living frik about other's opinions on my life and my decisions because at the end I'm the one who is going to live my life and not them... right friends????

That's all for the post guys, please do add your opinions about this? do you like to re-wear clothes or buy new ones often?

Thanks spons, ya'll the best

Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty

Yours bloggingly

@Theblackdoll

22
$ 9.41
$ 8.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.10 from @Peter-Molnar
+ 13
Sponsors of Theblackdoll
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Theblackdoll
2 years ago

Comments

Well in my country too doctors that work in government hospital sometimes do come late.

On the issue of reusing clothes, ma'am you're just like my Dad and I like your ideology. We must learn to manage what we have and we shouldn't throw away things unnecessary when they are still good to use or wear.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sometimes feel weird about re-wearing some of my old clothes but there is actually nothing wrong with it. We shouldn't put unnecessary pressure on ourselves because we wanna pls observers. lol..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't just know whats between women and the thirst for more clothes, shoes and bag.... Never knew you were a great economist, your partner would definitely be proud and have a lot of peace of mine since you wouldn't always bother him about new shoes and bags 😂 reminds me of my mom . I use most of her clothes today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right most of the doctors are birds of feathers meaning they are all the same even here in Nigeria. Imagine waiting for 4 hours to get Doctors' attention😢.

As for the clothes as long as the clothes are still okay and have not faded, am still going to wear them. Moreover, I bought it with my money, I can throw it away anytime I like.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

4 hours?? that is absolutely ridiculous omg

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Guess what? I am still wearing the shirt I bought 10 years ago lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha because we are smart like that :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

absolutely hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I also have the same policy. Rewearing is not wrong. Most of the time the dresses we have used for many times gives us a splendid look. When we are comfortable with it we don't need hear anything from anyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing is wrong with re-wearing clothes, not when it hasn't faded, torn or out of fashion. It's only celebrities I know that most times do not re-wear clothes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes true.. because they sell it off or don't know whatever they do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are absolutely right Blackdoll. When I buy clothes I look for quality ones and not following the trend. I have clothes from 20 years back and I proudly wear them. You know why, they still look fantastic and I am unique in those clothes as nobody else wear them. The other thing is when people ask me where did I get that trousers they look so cool I say I bought it like 20 years ago. They are like wow. We have a saying "if those t-shirt, trousers, shoes etc. could speak..." yeah they would tell a lot of stories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sounds like a cool brag lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These days, it's better to be practical. I know that even some people who are rich only wears one tshirt actually, like Mark Zuckerberg haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes exactly... even the super rich wear just casual clothes.. I hate show offs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as long as they are presentable why throw them out.. money is not easy these days and yes... might as well enjoy the item as long as it is ok... these days you have to be frugal and wise on your spendings..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

especially considering the pandemic situation

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am As a neighbor, I am proud of you, not only of you, but of all who do such things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks dear :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indian girl, salute for this. And you are right. We are not Ambani's. What's wrong in reuse? I prefer that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually love to re-use because many of my quality dresses were bought by my dad 15 years ago now he is not here... I would proudly wear them because my dad always went for quality

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What? She's so insulting and yeah like you said felt so entitled, who is she to question what you wear? Who cares of it's old when you can still utilize it, mostly my clothes are old too. I don't buy dress too often just a waste of money. You are doing great sis, that's how practical woman is doing 3 R's.. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis, whether I buy new stuff or no, it kills me to throw away good quality stuff regardless of age.. I have a dress bought by my father who is no more, I do not fit in that anymore but I saved it for my daughter.. because it looks like I just bought it.. so why throwing away?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh sis, the doctor things is worldwide I think, over here is the same unfortunately.

The clothing thing, I mean, not only what is wrong with using old clothes, I think, would anybody who complain that I'm wearing old clothes, buy me new ones? I believe that we should wear what we want, what makes us comfortable, what makes us fell good. My old clothes savee when I stopped having the money to buy new ones, and I still can do it properly so I still have my old clothes, a d even use some of my dad's shirts. There's nothing wrong with that, and believing otherwise is one of the reasons we live in a overly consuming world.

Sorry for the long comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ayo, why sorry? I actually admire you for taking time and saying these meaningful things.. Love your comment sis!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are to keep up with the latest clothes, we will realize that we spent so much money on minor things, clothes can be worn anytime and there's nothing like old or new.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

clothes that are hitting these days are very cheap quality compared to old ones.. I would proud to hold old ones

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friends like that should be avoided. Her intention was to shame you for repeating the same cloth which to me isn't bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so true! I was once that person who was so shy to reused things and stuffs but as when I get older I totally realized it's totally fine to use old stuffs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish more people would wake up and realize this. Also, how judgemental! I get frustrated too. I'm 32 now and when I was a child I was overweight so I wore mom's clothes or things from the adult section. I now still have some of those clothes and wear them 🤣 I don't care if I wear the same things. I will spend my money on things which will improve my life and my family's life, I don't need name brands or all the other things that go with a new wardrobe. Thanks for sharing this!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and here I am who is wearing all my brother's discarded clothes hahaha I only have 2 t-shirts and 1 jeans of my own otherwise everything is of my 2 elder brother.

BTW, I wanted to ask how do you cash out the BCH I asked because I am also from India and I still do not know how to cash it out

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Download Zebpay dear... app available in google store, get it verified and send your bitcoin to zebpay wallet.. from there, sell the BCH and within few minutes, you will get rewarded the balance... now, you can transfer that balance to your bank account that you added in zebpay wallet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thanks sister )) I will see the charges and all))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right and there is one thing you say I particularly like; you say that "I want to get maximum benefits from the resources that I have". I always think so, with all kinds of resources.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, this applies to everything we own, not just fashion.. we need to use everything we own in a smart and consistent way

$ 0.00
2 years ago