I Would Never Take A Pet Again In My Life

30 59
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Wait why! Oh, it's not a serious issue in fact I do feel happy and excited seeing pets but I will never own them. Don't worry it's not some arrogant biased talk but rather a sensible talk that will clarify my stand of not owning any pets in the future till the end of the post.

Pets are one of the best companions of humans and for some, they are like a family. The definition of a pet was cruel in history. Where pets whether it's animals or humans their only purpose was to follow their owners or masters orders but things have changed and pets are now part of the human family. We now live, eat, and sleep under the same roof.

My Pet History

I had only one pet in my entire life which was a parrot after that with my first pet history I never thought of having one again.

Why?

In my neighborhood, two houses had parrots as pets of course in cages. Big, beautiful, furry and they even used to mimic voices. I enjoyed a lot talking with them without understanding anything, haha. They can spell words like "What Did You Say" in Hindi 'Kya Bola' and some names like Meethu, Rupu, etc. It was very funny hearing their mimicking voices. Having such experience with other's pets I decided to have one. After a bit of researching my uncle told me they had seen a nest of parrots in a tree nearby and can get one for free. I immediately agreed.

Don't judge me as a kid I didn't realize I agreed to a cruel act.

As a kid, I wanted a pet and nothing else mattered to me, I even scored well in my studies just to get one. I got one. Soon those two neighborhood people came to see what type of parrot I have. By seeing it they told me that this is a low variant parrot that will not grow that big and its voice is also not soothing for mimicking. I became very disappointed but seeing the little creature I didn't mind their words.

When it was an infant, it used to bite me a lot but with time. It realized not to bite human fingers but not to spare lady's fingers, lol.

This isn't the one, mine one has a black Circle mark in his neck and was bigger. It's a random one which I met in previous year rainy season. It's wings were wet so it wasn't able to fly.

After a few months, it started growing like crazy and it got a black hair collar-like structure which was a sign of a high-class breed, lmao those neighbors' faces were hilarious when they saw its transformation.

I taught him words like 'Who Is It' in Hindi 'Kon Hai'. Whenever someone used to knock on our door, the parrot used to reply it like that and the person standing there would be totally surprised, haha. I used to put it in a cage. When it was growing my parents advised me to cut its feathers so that it won't fly away, I completely didn't let them, and someday while I was feeding it out of the cage it flew away. I became very sad and depressed but after a day it came back to our door, but was very hungry. Then another time while my parents were feeding it, it flew away and came back after 2 days, this time also the parrot got very weak as if it didn't eat anything after flying away from the house. And the third time, when I was away for a week in summer vacation due to not seeing me it fly away when one of my cousins was feeding it and it never came back for a week. When I came back I started searching for it because the bond was too much and I had hope that I will find it. I find a similar-sounding parrot in a big Banyan tree, I whistled it and it whistled back. It was the confirmation that it was my parrot. After whistling a lot of times it fly away to a nearby building and I ran to another's house terrace saying please let me in my parrot is on your terrace, they were shocked but didn't stop me. Finally, I found it, it flies back towards me. It was a lovely moment. The parrot was shouting like crazy as if crying and saying something, I took it like that to our home.

After 2-3 months I again went to my village for two days to celebrate a festival and this time the parrot flew away again, and when I came back I didn't find it anywhere. I was sad and broken. I cried every day for a week as I was still around below 12th age. Days passed and it never came back nor I found it anywhere.

My Speculations about What Could Have Happened

You must be thinking about why your pet doesn't have a name. But believe me or not, I have completely buried that past as it's very hurting to me to the point I don't even remember it's name, such a shame but sorry my dear first and last pet. The bird was meant to fly high and couldn't live inside a cage that's why it flew many times when I wasn't around. And the fact that I caught the bird in empty stomach conditions shows that the bird had zero survival skills and it didn't know what was food or what was not and I think it died due to starvation.

Sponsor Of This Article:-

Image by Unity, Follow NoiseOdyseeLinkedIn, and an article for more info.

Final Thoughts

This scar showed me not to take pets anymore as the emotional bonding formed is very strong and it haunts me for the rest of my life and they aren't supposed to live for long like humans. Also, I can't ignore the fact I stole someone's children after their birth only.

Rest, don't get much emotional if you are treating your pet well and it's happy. Then there's no guilt to have.

These are just my words and thoughts and I wouldn't hate people having pets but if you are treating them badly then I will do some black and white magic through my eyes, lol.

Miss you Nameless Parrot! Man, I wrote a big post this time.

Author Links:-

Noise | Hive | Instagram | Telegram | Noise.app

24
$ 4.54
$ 2.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.01 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
+ 16
Sponsors of TheGuy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TheGuy
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Sad. I love seeing parrots and playing with them but I don't like to have either. Kinda risky to own one and it requires some special treatments. I just like owning dogs and we often have one at home ever since I was a child.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Every pet needs special care I guess, maybe my mind will change by my kids, haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really you got horrible experience by parrots. Actually we become used to as a family member with pets and whenever they flew/ go away we feel the lackness of his existence. Pet birds / animals mostly died with hunger after escaping from cages because they never learn hunting/ searching the food like others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, I have pet dogs struggling to survive in natural habitats after being left by their owners.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh man you just made me sad. But I do understand how broken hearted you must have been.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I love to have pet's too and when i was a child i want to have a lair of pigeon in my home but my dad never allowed me to do so and reason is they're bird's and God made them to fly freely here and there and Bird's are not made to be kept in cage.

Now I've cat's which freely move here and there all around in my house. But if i had a bird as a pet than they always live in cage 😐

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm sorry about what happened my friend. I had a lot of pets also but they died and it was really painful. I cried a lot my friend.🥺😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes it is really difficult to lose pets because they are like our best friends...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its hurts a lot when someone left you whatever it's parrot or a human 😭😭

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Very much bro losing someone whom you used to see and interact daily is very painful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

At least it knew what love and care is from what you have shown it. I hope it didn't suffer in the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah, yes that it got and so I have less regret for its loss.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Can imagine your situation. Because evw3n we had a sweet and sincere pet cat for two years. It was always here at our door for food. How much ever hungry it never streals anything. But it was attacked by a dog who killed it one night. It is really nice to hear a parrot speak

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, very hurting. They actually sound very funny and almost mimic and reply on every word you spoke.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm so sad for the Parrot. But why you didnt just brought it with you?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's not easy to take pets in public transportation infact it's illegal and that time in my family nobody had even a two wheeler.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ouch, it really sad to lose something dear to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While talking about it my mood went to melancholy mode.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I usually have a pet like parrot, but this one died because we didn't know the food to give it although it was new we just buy it from the owner, dreams like I have many things to teach it, but now your flew away all is well

Thanks for the article!.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Be wary of what their needs are while taking pets, they can't speak and communicate we have to take responsibility of their everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Birds are too much delicate regarding to their environment. They can't bear stress at any rate. You can adopt other animals as a pet. Strong Bonding and love with animals are permanent.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are lots of options but I think the pain to lose them I am not ready to experience that again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just remembered when one of our dear puppies died, and I was holding him until his last breath. From that moment, I decided not to get close to any of our pets anymore. It hurts.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The loss experience is painful and traumatic so I have boycotted them, haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

aw losing a pet is tough. I, too, have that feeling of not wanting to take in a pet for now.. again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Just to avoid pain, I will just enjoy other's pet for the time being, hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know how you must have felt, having to lose your pet but take it easy dear. Your pet could be somewhere happy and wishing you were there too. It could be it lost it way and could never come back to you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would have think like that if I wouldn't have found it in empty stomach situations, still I hope he survived and lived freely.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It hurts so much when someone loses one of their family members, and when you keep a pet it means to everyone a lot and it is considered a family member. I have been through this process and lost my pet too, year back

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can imagine the pain, it's very hurting. And the lifespan of pets is also less.

$ 0.00
1 year ago