Yer bum’s oot the windae

51 82
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

18th November 2021.

Hello to you beautiful awesome reader. Have you told yourself that you are flipping awesome today? Well say it now, on three, one two three, I AM AWESOME.

Right here we go, let's have some fun today, it is a wonderful day. Seriously awesome.

In fact, today has been Pure dead brilliant (Exceptionally good). Rangers have signed our new manager. Only our 17th manager in 150 years!

Every time I try to plan an article, but the time in the evening I sit down and write it I have changed tack and am writing something totally different. Sataboot?

Sataboot?

Do you know what this word is .... Sataboot? Remember in Scotland we say aboot for about. So Sataboot now is Sat about ... and Sat is a quick way to say What's that...

So Sataboot is What's that about! Now try to say it fast and it sounds like Sataboot.

Do you remember these two articles that I wrote:

Let me entertain you with a wee bit of Scots

Haste ye back!

In there I put some simple Scottish words like maw, coo, heid, chuffed and dreich plus some others.

Well, I was chuffed today with the new manager announcement so I thought let's give you a few sayings to say in your articles, who knows perhaps this might be part of the #ChristmasChallenge2021 . You do know I want to give my regular readers a chance as a reward for being loyal. (This will be our wee secret wink wink)

Today was a dreich day! (Today was cold, damp and miserable!) but it’s a braw bricht moonlicht nicht the nicht (It’s a brilliant bright moonlight night tonight)

This was a song from long ago sung by Harry Lauder, but we only really say that expression to tourists lol.

If there was no moonlicht (moonlight) you want to say that it's Black as the Earl of Hell’s Waistcoat! or that it's Pitch black!

Do you believe in fate? I am a firm believer in Whit’s fur ye’ll no go by ye! meaning What’s meant to happen will happen.

Now then for all of you parents out there, here is one for you! If you have a child that is being a wee bit naughty you might want to say to them if you don't behave I’ll gie ye a skelpit lug! or in English I’ll give you a slap on the ear.

Are you keeping up @Jelena you did want to hear some more Scottish slang or expressions! You can practise then when you are on the toilet lol.

Lately we have seen some plant articles from @Eylz2021 and @gertu13 , so when you look at some of their plant pictures you could point and day Whit dae ye cry thon yin? so you would be asking them What do you call that one?

Do you follow my nature articles about the park animals and Dafty in particular, I know @Sequoia likes too :)

Dafty is the Pomerian duck in the picture below, I name him Dafty because he is silly or daft. Gowk and Dighted also mean daft, but I couldn't really call him Gowky it does not have the same ring to it!

Hey Dafty is your name Gowky?

That was the response of Dafty when I asked him if he was called Gowky, he shook his head no!

Did you see how he was shaking his head, he was Gieing it laldy meaning he was doing it vigorously.

I told him Yer aff yer heid literally You’re off your head meaning you are a little bit daft.

Dafty told me to Haud yer wheesht! which means Be quiet.

So I told Dafty to Keep the heid! meaning to Stay calm, don’t get upset.

Dafty then said I’m fair puckled! meaning I’m short of breath.

I wanted to say to Dafty Hell mend ye meaning “it serves you right”! but I didnt, so I said Noo jist haud on! meaning Now just hold it or slow down, take your time.

Dafty said Ah dinnae ken meaning I don’t know.

I said to Dafty Hell slap it intae ye! meaning it’s your own fault!

Dafty said Am pure done in meaning I’m feeling very tired.

I said Ah umnae meaning I am not.

Dafty said Ma heid’s loupin’ meaning My head is sore.

I said Yer a pure nick meaning You don’t look very presentable.

Dafty said Yer bum’s oot the windae meaning You’re talking rubbish.

I told Dafty Yer aff yer heid meaning You’re off your head or a little bit daft.

Dafty said Ma heid’s mince meaning My head’s a bit mixed up.

Meanwhile Ah let wan go meaning I broke wind or I farted

Dafty did a Do yer dinger. meaning Loudly express disapproval.

Then Dafty said Gonnae no’ dae that! meaning Going to not do that.

By this time, I had to go and we said good bye, but before we went our separate ways I said to Dafty Lang may yer lum reek! meaning May you live long and stay well.

Before I say The baw’s on the slates meaning Game over. (As kids we played football in the street. If the ball landed on a roof, the game was over.)

Just remember that :

  • Failing means yer playin! meaning When you fail at something at least you’re trying!

  • Mony a mickle maks a muckle! meaning Saving a small amount soon builds up to a large amount!

  • Dinnae marry fur money! meaning Don’t marry for money because you can borrow it cheaper!

And last but not least let's remember that We’re a’ Jock Tamson’s bairns! meaning We’re all God’s children, nobody is better than anybody else – we’re all equal.

I hoped you enjoyed today's ramblings in Scottish:)

Copyright @TengoLoTodo 2021 and yes All Rights Reserved. All images, words, and ramblings are from the author unless otherwise stated.

100% original content from this mad Scotsman!

And don't forget ;)

Haste ye back meaning return soon

21
$ 9.78
$ 8.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 17
Sponsors of TengoLoTodo
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for TengoLoTodo
2 years ago

Comments

Lots of new words to learn and use in my daily speech! 😂 Thanks for this!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe now I will be Impressed if you use any Elle , very impressed 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Here goes sir Ed again lol! Thank you for this entertaining way of educating us with your Scottish slangs :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe did you laugh? I hope so 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course I did po, I was imagining the swans really talking the slang..They'd be so cute if it can happen in real life. I am not sure if my mind twisted or was it my tongue while reading those slangs haha..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You should hear the swans talking to the leprechaun Glessa 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I couldn't imagine how funny it would be sir Ed!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love how language you use and translate. It quite difficult but later on you explain it well.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Thank you, I am glad you enjoyed it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm going to have to read everything again and very calmly, hahaha. Because I love learning phrases in other languages, especially if they are funny or with bad words.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe there you go, you can speak Scottish now! I am the same I love new languages, and bad words are the first we learn!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am lost lol! I like Dafty better than Gowky. It would be interesting to hear you say all that.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe yes Dafty is much better kuya. Maybe I shall read a conversation out one day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Eyyy. I miss thatttt handsomeeee pomerian duck over thereee DF. Helloooo Daftyyyy. I felt so happy when I saw your picture. Lang may yer lum reek!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe you said Scottish, that is awesome and yes the handsome pomerian duck saying hello DF!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just love the conversation right there haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe salamat Mrs P :) and thank you for the sponsorship renewal, have a super Sunday !

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I have a lot of time on the toilet, I will practise for sure.🤣🤣🤣🤣 It doesn't matter that ma heid’s loupin’ and that am pure done in. Ah dinnae ken how my child succeeded to make me feel so tired but I will try to keep the heid! I really enjoyed reading your article. 😊

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe well done, you used some examples, that made me so chuffed I am reading your comment and laughing! Hvala :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

is this a joke?? i have to say no, this i have to give appreciation that you can talk to animals and i am amazed. I asked myself, can I do it? may have to wait quite a long time, but you did well. This is very nice

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you for that, I love animals and do have fun talking to them. I am glad you liked this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This learning is deeper, you really talk to the duck, he hastened to say no.... To say someone stinks: You smell like a boat rope

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe yes I talk to the ducks and swans. This duck is the noisiest and talks to me when I visit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahahha i really like your conversation with dafty the duck.. Scottish is interesting language. I like the sataboot..😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe thank you, did you say Sataboot out loud 😋

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I repeat the word"whats that about" so many time and faster, and yeah it really sound "sataboot", i had fun reading your article sir.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh brilliant you got the Sataboot, thank you for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have learnt something new today sataboot.. new Scottish word tanks for teaching me and congratulations to your club and you on signing a new manager

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Sataboot hehe thanks bro, it is fun to learn new things and yes will be interesting how he gets on

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I love the language I hope I could learn more

$ 0.00
2 years ago

woah this is a whole new level coming from you Uncle

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe it was fun to write Kim

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha.. I had fun reading this.. I learn a lot and I should save this article haha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Haha thank you Jane

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good evening uncle. I tried to say what's that about fast and it did not sound like sataboot. Maybe I am doing it wrong? Hahaha.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Good morning wee singer, hehe well say about as aboot and then you say wiht no silent hand really fast and it will almost be nothing so left with sataboot hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Today's Scots lesson is too deep, lol I will read it again after dinner to see if I can remember something! 😂

$ 0.03
2 years ago

hehe enjoy your dinner and I shall hit the sack

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! sweet dreams:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for mentioning my plants. I love your duck. I have passed photos on noise.cash about my brother's farm animals. He has those chubby ducks there. Hehehe. Good that you are encouraging the challenge. Hopefully you'll agree to do it together.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

oh I shall have to see those photos. Oh yes we will do the challenge together for sure :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm excited that we do something that excites us and makes some people happy with a physical prize. Hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

and eylz said Am pure done in .... hahaha

have a suggestion why don't you add some voice in it.. so we also know how to say it.. just a thought tho. good eve Ed!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Agree with you, sis. @Tengolotodo has to record voices with this, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahahaa thanks sis for the support haha we have to hear it so we can pronounce it right lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I doubt that even if we hear it, we can be able to pronounce it.🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sure you can pronounce it 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

hahaha at least we have an idea how to pronounce it hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I might just do it 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hehe good morning Eylz, ah voice yes I could do that one day right enough :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

am still sleepy... sleep is so elusive last night

$ 0.00
2 years ago